ICE خارج وسط ولاية أوريغون

بعد ظهر الأربعاء ، وجدت نفسي في موقف سيارات في فندق في بيند مع حشد من 100 شخص على الأقل يحيطون بحافلتين من حافلات النقل التابعة لشركة ICE تحتجز اثنين من سكان وسط أوريغون الذين تم احتجازهم من قبل سلطات الهجرة والجمارك (ICE) في الساعة 5 صباحًا. وقفت عائلات وأطفال الرجلين المحتجزين داخل الحافلتين أمام النوافذ ، وتواصلوا مع أحبائهم قدر المستطاع من خلال الجدران السميكة ، واستغلوا الفرصة للتواصل والتوديع شخصيًا قدر استطاعتهم.

على الرغم من قانون الملاذ الآمن في ولاية أوريغون الذي يحظر بوضوح استخدام الموارد المحلية لإنفاذ سياسات الهجرة الفيدرالية ، هدد شرطة بيند وأعضاء فريق SWAT الخاص بهم بالتحرك واعتقال المتظاهرين لتمهيد الطريق أمام الحافلات لمغادرة ، لكن المنظمين المحليين دعا وأقنعهم أصحاب الفنادق بمنحنا الإذن بالبقاء. تم تداول أسئلة حول مايك كرانتز ، رئيس الشرطة الجديد المثير للجدل في بيند ، والذي كان في وظيفته أقل من أسبوع.

تضاعف الحشد على ما يبدو كل ساعة وكنت محاطًا بالوجوه المألوفة لـ ROPers! انتشر الخبر كالنار في الهشيم في جميع أنحاء وسط أوريغون ، حيث شارك مكة بيند ، وميركادو هيسبانو ليبر ، ووسط أوريغون لحفظ السلام ، ومشروع سنترال أوريغون للتنوع ، و Sisters Fight for Social Justice ، و ROP ، وقادة مجموعة كرامة الإنسان في وسط أوريغون ، المعلومات عبر وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. اتصل موظفو مكة بيند وجمعية المجتمع اللاتيني مباشرة مع العائلات لتقديم الدعم والتأكد من أن المتظاهرين يتبعون توجيهاتهم. سرعان ما اتصلت عائلاتهم بمحامي هجرة محلي و إنوفيشن لو لاب خارج بورتلاند ، وعملوا معًا بأسرع ما يمكن لتقديم أمر تقييدي مؤقت لإبقاء الرجلين في وسط أوريغون.

مع انتشار شائعات غير مؤكدة حول نشاط ICE عبر وسط ولاية أوريغون ، قام أفراد شرطة عمان السلطانية وقادة المجتمع في جميع أنحاء المنطقة بفحص المواقع لتأكيد أو رفض نشاط ICE ، وأبلغت قوات حفظ السلام المركزية في ولاية أوريغون وجمعية المجتمع اللاتيني المجتمع عنها مرة أخرى لتهدئة المخاوف. في الوقت نفسه ، اتصل منظمو وقادة ولاية أوريغون برؤساء الشرطة المحلية ورؤساء البلديات وأعضاء مجالس المدينة لتذكيرهم بالتزامهم بأن يكونوا مدنًا محمية وقانون الملجأ في ولاية أوريغون ، الذي يحظر استخدام الموارد العامة المحلية لدعم إنفاذ قوانين الهجرة الفيدرالية .

تصاعد الإحباط في العمدة سالي راسل أخبر المتظاهرين بالعودة إلى منازلهم ودع شركة ICE "تحافظ على أمان مجتمعنا". وصلت مستشارة المدينة بارب كامبل وأوقفت سيارتها بين الحافلتين مع العديد من السيارات الأخرى التي أغلقت مخرجها. حوالي الساعة 6:00 مساءً ، وضع العديد منا خطة لعقد مؤتمر صحفي. نظرًا لأننا تجادلنا بسرعة مع اثنين من أعضاء مجلس المدينة ، واثنين من المتنزهات وأعضاء مجلس الترفيه ، ومحامي مقاطعة ديشوتيس جون هاميل أمام كاميرات التلفزيون ، وجدت زر البث المباشر في صفحة الفيسبوك الخاصة بشرطة عمان السلطانية (أدركت أنني بحثت عنها أنني لم أفعل هذا من قبل). بينما غردت العمدة سالي راسل على تويتر بأن أفراد المجتمعين المحتجزين في الحافلة "لديهما مذكرات توقيف" ، قال كل من المدعي العام ومستشار المدينة الحاضرين إنهما لا يعرفان ما إذا كان قد تم إصدار مذكرة توقيف لهما من أي نوع. حتى لو كان لدى ICE أمر توقيف ، في كثير من الأحيان لا يتم توقيع أوامر ICE من قبل القاضي ويتم إصدارها للمخالفة المدنية المتمثلة في عبور الحدود بين الولايات المتحدة والمكسيك دون إذن. دأبت دائرة الهجرة والجمارك ودوريات الحدود على تمزيق المجتمعات في جميع أنحاء البلاد لسنوات, غالبًا ما يستخدم أساليب شديدة العنف وغير قانونية لاحتجاز وترحيل المهاجرين واللاجئين وطالبي اللجوء. في حين أن ولاية أوريغون لديها قانون ملجأ يوضح أنه لا يجوز استخدام أي تطبيق قانون محلي أو موارد للمساعدة في إنفاذ قوانين الهجرة الفيدرالية ، يواصل تطبيق القانون المحلي في جميع أنحاء ولاية أوريغون العمل بشكل غير قانوني مع ICE ودوريات الحدود ووزارة الأمن الداخلي. رأى شهود العيان في بيند ضباط ICE يخرجون من ضواحيهم التي لا تحمل علامات ويدخلون في سيارات شرطة بيند. سمحت إدارة شرطة بيند للوكلاء الفيدراليين بشحن هواتفهم في سيارات المدينة وقادتهم في جميع أنحاء المدينة.

أنشأ صديق لكلا العائلتين جمع التبرعات للعائلات للمساعدة في التكاليف القانونية ، والاحتفاظ بالطعام على طاولاتهم ، والسقوف فوق رؤوسهم (يمكن العثور عليها هنا و هنا) ، وشكل المتظاهرون درعًا بين الأسرة وكاميرات الأخبار حتى لا يتم تصويرهم. حمل أفراد الأسرة الأطفال إلى نوافذ الحافلة حتى يتمكنوا من قول وداعًا وإخبار آبائهم ، "أبي ، أنا أحبك". دخلنا العائلات إلى الفندق لاستخدام الحمام وتبادلنا معلومات الاتصال للتأكد من أنه مهما حدث ، لن تعاني هذه العائلات من الجوع أو تفقد منازلها. عند هذه النقطة ، كان الحشد قوياً بما لا يقل عن 1000 شخص.

بمجرد أن أدركت الشرطة أنها لن تكون قادرة على اعتقال أكثر من 1000 متظاهر دون رد فعل عنيف من الجمهور ، أصبح السؤال: إلى متى سيستمر هذا؟ قدمت Innovation Law Lab أمرها التقييدي المؤقت إلى المحكمة في وقت ما مساء ذلك اليوم ، لكننا لم نكن نعرف متى سيصدر القاضي حكمه. عندما بدأ الناس في إقامة معسكر ليلاً ، أقنع المتظاهرون الشرطة بالضغط على سائقي الحافلات الذين يرتدون ملابس مجموعة GEO الزي الرسمي والمقاولون الخاصون ، للسماح للمحتجزين بالداخل بالحصول على الطعام والماء لأول مرة منذ احتجازهم قبل أكثر من 12 ساعة.

مع حلول الليل ، سمعنا أن المزيد من العملاء الفيدراليين كانوا في طريقنا. بدأت التوترات في النمو. كم عدد الوكلاء؟ متى سيصلون إلى هنا؟ هل سيأخذون الناس من الشارع ويضعونهم في سيارات لا تحمل علامات كما هو الحال في بورتلاند؟ هل سيحاصرون الحشد بأكمله ويقبضون على الجميع؟ لا أحد يعلم. في وقت لاحق ، أبلغنا المدعي العام للمقاطعة جون هاميل أنه في هذه المرحلة من الليل حاول التوسط لإطلاق سراح الشخصين المحتجزين ، لكن عندما كان قد شق طريقه أخيرًا عبر الرتب إلى الرجل الثاني في وزارة الأمن الداخلي. ، قيل له تم اتخاذ القرار على "أعلى مستوى في الحكومة" ، و "لم يرغبوا في حل سلمي".

في حوالي الساعة 10:30 مساءً ، أكدت الشرطة المحلية أن ICE في طريقها وأن شرطة Bend لن تتدخل في تطبيق القانون الفيدرالي لأننا كنا نمنع حافلة فيدرالية. هربت شرطة بيند والعمدة راسل ، الذين وصلوا مؤخرًا فقط ، من مكان الحادث. نقابة المحامين الوطنية كانت تحت الطلب لتقديم الدعم القانوني للمتظاهرين. بدأ المنظمون في استخدام مكبرات الصوت لبناء خطة للعصيان المدني ، حيث يجلس المتظاهرون بسلام ولا يتحركون حتى يتم القبض عليهم. كان من المهم أن يكون لدينا اتفاق ومعرفة. وزعنا شحذًا ووزعنا رقم خط دعم نقابة المحامين الوطنية بينما قدم المحامون في الحشد معلومات حول المخاطر المتزايدة للأشخاص الذين ليس لديهم جنسية.

بدأ الناس في تبادل المعلومات: "الوكلاء الفيدراليون موجودون في مدرج ليس شواب ،" "هناك شاحنتان للعداء" ، "هناك قناصة على السطح!" صرخ أحدهم فوق البوق ، "إنهم هنا! اجلس!" 

بدأ الكثير منا البث المباشر عندما بدأ صف من العملاء الفيدراليين يرتدون الزي العسكري ومعدات مكافحة الشغب في السير نحونا ، وذكّرنا وشجعنا بعضنا البعض على "الجلوس!" حيث دفع الخوف والارتباك الناس إلى الوقوف على أقدامهم من أجل رؤية أفضل. توجه الوكلاء مباشرة نحو أبواب الحافلات. بدأنا ندرك أنهم لم يكونوا هنا لاعتقال المتظاهرين ، ولكن لأخذ الرجلين المحتجزين من قبل إدارة الهجرة والجمارك بعيدًا. بدأ بعض المتظاهرين يغلقون حول الحافلة. كلما اقتربت ، تمكنت من قراءة "دورية الحدود الأمريكية" على الزي الأخضر للعملاء الأقرب إلى الحافلة.

بدأ العملاء في استخدام الغاز المسيل للدموع ورذاذ الفلفل في جميع الاتجاهات أثناء الركل واللكم وإخراج المتظاهرين جسديًا من طريقهم إلى الحافلات. صرخ الحشد ، "دعهم يذهبون!" حيث قام العملاء بسحب الرجلين من داخل الحافلتين فوق الخرسانة والصخور إلى شاحنات صغيرة لا تحمل أي علامات مسرعة. حاصر المتظاهرون أفراد الأسرة لحمايتهم من العملاء الفيدراليين. الوكلاء الفيدراليون ، بما في ذلك حرس الحدود ، و ICE ، والوكلاء الذين يحملون شارات تقرأ "الجمارك وحماية الحدود" ، اجتمعوا في سطرين ، وخرجوا من ساحة انتظار السيارات وبدأوا في المغادرة في سيارات الدفع الرباعي غير المميزة. هرع المسعفون لدعم الأشخاص الذين تعرضوا للغاز المسيل للدموع. بينما كانت السيارات والشاحنات التي تحمل ملصقات Three Percenter تجوب ساحة انتظار السيارات ، اجتمع الجميع مرة أخيرة للمتحدثين بمن فيهم قادة الديانات المحلية لإصدار صرخة حشد أخيرة لن نستسلم لها ، وسنواصل الكفاح لإنهاء الاحتجاز والترحيل في ولاية أوريغون ، وأننا سننمي الحركة ، لذا في المرة القادمة سيكون هناك المزيد منا!

في صباح الخميس ، أفادت العائلات بأنهم لم يسمعوا بعد عن الرجلين اللذين اختفيا في شاحنات لا تحمل علامات. انضممت إلى ممثلين من عدة منظمات محلية وعلى مستوى الولاية في اجتماع مع المدعي العام لمنطقة ديشوتيس هاميل لمطالبتهم بفتح تحقيق رسمي في الحادث ، وجلست جمعية المجتمع اللاتيني مع قائد الشرطة لمحاسبته على تدمير ثقة المجتمع في أسبوعه الأول. بعد ظهر ذلك اليوم ، تحدثت مكة بيند ، وجمعية المجتمع اللاتيني ، ووسط أوريغون لحفظ السلام ، وكوزا ، وشبكة لاتينية ، وقادة دينيين محليين ، وشرطة عمان السلطانية في مؤتمر صحفي وحشد مرتجل لحوالي 75 شخصًا لاستدعاء التعاون بين الشرطة و ICE في انتهاك لقانون الولاية ، للاحتفال بالطريقة التي ظهر بها وسط أوريغون بشكل جماعي مع إشعار قصير ، ولمشاركة ما سيحدث بعد ذلك.

مساء الخميس، رفض أحد القضاة الأمر التقييدي المؤقت لأنه تم إخراج الرجلين من نطاق القضاء. علمنا اليوم أنهم نُقلوا إلى مرفق الإصلاحية الإقليمية لشمال أوريغون (NORCOR) ، وهو سجن عام له آخر عقد متبقي لـ ICE في ولاية أوريغون ، ثم إلى مركز احتجاز شمال غرب مجموعة GEO الخاص في تاكوما ، حيث تتزايد الحالات المؤكدة لـ COVID-19 يوم. يعمل المجتمع بجد لضمان عودة هذه العائلات المعينة لأحبائها في أسرع وقت ممكن ، مع بناء القوة أيضًا حتى لا تتشتت أي عائلات أخرى بسبب أنظمة الاحتجاز والترحيل العنيفة واللاإنسانية.

تدعو هذه اللحظة أصحاب الضمير إلى اتخاذ إجراءات:

  • انضم إلى عرض توضيحي لإرسال رسالة مفادها أن الوقت قد حان لإخراج شركة ICE من ولاية أوريغون! سيجتمع الناس في ركن السلام في بيند (1077 شمال غرب وول ستريت) ظهر يوم السبت ، في NORCOR في The Dalles (201 شارع ويبر) يوم السبت الساعة 1 ظهرًا ، وفي مركز الاحتجاز في نورث ويست في تاكوما (1623 EJ St) في 23 أغسطس. من 1-3 مساءً. لا يمكنك السفر إلى إحدى هذه المظاهرات؟ عقد مسيرة خاصة بك وأخبرنا حتى نتمكن من نشر الكلمة!
  • هل لديك أنت أو أي شخص تعرفه فيديو أو صور يوم الأربعاء؟ يمكن لأي دليل يظهر التعاون بين الشرطة و ICE والاستخدام المفرط للقوة أن يساعد القضية في إطلاق سراح اثنين من سكان أوريغون المركزيين الذين اختطفهم عملاء فيدراليون. الرجاء إرسال أي فيديو / تصوير فوتوغرافي إلى office@rop.org، لنا موقع التواصل الاجتماعي الفيسبوكأو Instagram.
  • تم البدء في جمع التبرعات لمساعدة عائلات الرجلين على دفع الرسوم القانونية والمندوب واستخدام الهاتف داخل مركز الاحتجاز في الشمال الغربي ، بالإضافة إلى رعاية الأطفال والغذاء والسكن. انقر هنا و هنا لدعم العائلتين مباشرة!
  • اتصل بمحامي مقاطعة ديشوتيس, قائد شرطة بيند, والعمدة سالي راسل للإجابة على سبب تعاون شرطة Bend مع ICE وكيفية التأكد من عدم حدوث ذلك مرة أخرى
  • اتصل بالمشرعين في ولاية أوريغون لتوسيع قانون الملاذ الخاص بنا لإنهاء جميع أشكال مشاركة المعلومات ، أو الدخول في عقود مع ، أو أي شكل آخر من أشكال التعاون بين ICE والشرطة.
  • انضم لا ريزيستنسيا في المكالمة لإغلاق مركز الاحتجاز الشمالي الغربي الخاص في تاكوما وإلي #FreeThemAll!
  • اتصل واكتب رؤساء الشرطة وعمدة المقاطعة عبر ولاية أوريغون للتأكد من أنهم لا يعملون مع شركة ICE وإذا رغبوا في ذلك ، فسيتم محاسبتهم من قبل مجموعتك ومجتمعك. فيما يلي قائمة مفيدة بالأسئلة لتبدأ بها!
  • بناء مجموعة لاتخاذ إجراءات في مجتمعك! الآن لحظة مهمة لإشراك الناس في حركة الكرامة الإنسانية! قم بإعداد أنظمتك لجمع معلومات الاتصال ، ووضع خطة عمل للأشهر القليلة القادمة ، ودعنا نكافح من أجل تعزيز الديمقراطية! تود شرطة عمان السلطانية مساعدتك في وضع خطة وإنشاء أنظمة والتواصل مع الآخرين في مجتمعك! بريد الالكتروني emma@rop.org أو منظم شرطة عمان السلطانية المحلي الودود اليوم!

لدينا رؤية لولاية أوريغون حيث يمكن للجميع أن يعيشوا حياتهم بشكل كامل بأمان وكرامة ، ولن تكون هذه الرؤية ممكنة حتى تتوقف دائرة الهجرة والجمارك ودوريات الحدود ووزارة الأمن الداخلي عن تمزيق مجتمعاتنا. قبل ليلتين ، أظهر سنترال أوريغون قيمنا المشتركة كأهالي أوريغون الذين يهتمون بشدة بمجتمعاتنا المترابطة بشدة وكرامة كل شخص يدعو دولتنا إلى الوطن. بصفتنا أوريغونيين ، نؤمن بالظهور لبعضنا البعض. ما زلت مصدر إلهام للطرق التي نتحد بها معًا لمواجهة القوى التي تسعى إلى تقسيم وترهيب وإسكات الأشخاص الأكثر تأثرًا بسياسات وتكتيكات الهجرة غير الأخلاقية!

العربية

ICE Out of Central Oregon

Wednesday afternoon, I found myself in a hotel parking lot in Bend with a crowd of at least 100 people surrounding two ICE transportation buses holding captive two central Oregonians who were detained by Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) at 5 am. The families and children of the two men held inside the buses stood up against the windows, communicating with their loved ones as best they could through the thick walls, making the most of the opportunity to communicate and say goodbyes in-person while they could.

Despite Oregon’s Sanctuary Law that clearly bans the use of local resources for the enforcement of federal immigration policies, Bend police and members of their SWAT team threatened to move in and arrest protesters to clear the way for the buses to leave, but local organizers called the hotel owners and convinced them to give permission for us to stay. Questions circulated about Mike Krantz, the controversial new Chief of Police in Bend, who has been on the job less than a week.

The crowd doubled seemingly every hour and I was surrounded by the familiar faces of ROPers! Word spread like wildfire across Central Oregon as Mecca Bend, Mercado Hispano Libre, Central Oregon Peacekeepers, Central Oregon Diversity Project, Sisters Fight for Social Justice, ROP, and Central Oregon human dignity group leaders shared information out over social media. Mecca Bend and Latino Community Association staff connected directly with the families to offer support and make sure that their direction was being followed by the protesters. Their families quickly got connected with a local immigration lawyer and Innovation Law Lab out of Portland, and together they worked as fast as they could to file for a Temporary Restraining Order to keep the two men in Central Oregon.

As unconfirmed rumors spread about ICE activity across Central Oregon, ROPers and community leaders across the region checked out locations to confirm or deny ICE activity and Central Oregon Peacekeepers and Latino Community Association reported back to the community to calm fears. At the same time, Central Oregon organizers and leaders called their local police chiefs, mayors, and city councilors to remind them of their commitment to being Sanctuary Cities and of Oregon’s Sanctuary Law, which bans local public resources from being used to support federal immigration enforcement.

Frustration mounted at Mayor Sally Russell told protesters to go home and let ICE “keep our community safe.” City Councilor Barb Campbell arrived and parked her car between the two buses along with multiple other cars blockading their exit. Around 6:00 pm, several of us cooked up a plan to hold a press conference. As we quickly wrangled two city councilors, two parks and recreation board members, and Deschutes County District Attorney John Hummel in front of the TV cameras, I found the go-live button on ROP’s Facebook page (realizing as I looked for it that I had never done this before). While Mayor Sally Russell tweeted that the two community members held on the bus had “warrants out for their arrest,” both the District Attorney and City Councilors present said they did not know if they had been issued a warrant of any kind. Even if ICE did have a warrant, more often than not ICE warrants are not signed by a judge and are issued for the civil infraction of crossing the US-Mexico border without permission. ICE and Border Patrol have been tearing apart communities across the country for years, often using extremely violent and illegal tactics to detain and deport migrants, refugees, and asylum seekers. While Oregon State has a Sanctuary Law that makes it clear no local law enforcement or resources shall be used to aid federal immigration enforcement, local law enforcement across Oregon continue to illegally work with ICE, Border Patrol, and the Department of Homeland Security. Eye-witnesses in Bend saw ICE officers exiting their unmarked Suburbans and getting into Bend Police cars. Bend Police Department allowed the federal agents to charge their phones in city cars and drove them around town.

A friend of both families set up fundraisers for the families to help with legal costs, keeping food on their tables, and roofs over their heads (they can be found here and here), and protesters formed a shield between the family and the news cameras so they could not be filmed. Family members lifted the kids up to the windows of the bus so that they could say goodbye and tell their dads, “papa, I love you.” We walked families into the hotel to use the bathroom and exchanged contact info to make sure that whatever happens, these families will not go hungry or lose their homes. By this point, the crowd was at least 1,000 people strong.

Once the police realized they would be unable to arrest the 1,000+ protesters without immediate backlash from the public, the question became: how long will this last? Innovation Law Lab filed their Temporary Restraining Order with the Court at some point that evening, but we did not know when a judge might rule. As folks started to set up camp for the night, protestors convinced the police to pressure the bus drivers, who wore GEO Group uniforms and are private contractors, into allowing those detained inside to have food and water for the first time since their detention over 12 hours earlier.

As night fell, we heard that more federal agents were headed our way. Tensions began to grow. How many agents? When would they get here? Would they grab people off the street and put them in unmarked cars like in Portland? Would they surround the entire crowd and arrest everyone? No one knew. Later, District Attorney John Hummel informed us that at this point in the night he had tried to broker a release of the two people detained but when he had finally worked his way up through the ranks to the second in command in the Department of Homeland Security, he was told the decision was being made at the “highest level of government,” and they “did not want a peaceful resolution.”

Around 10:30 pm, local police confirmed ICE was on their way and that Bend police would not interfere with federal law enforcement because we were blocking a federal bus. Bend police and Mayor Russell, who had only recently arrived, fled the scene. National Lawyers Guild was on call to provide legal support to protesters. Organizers began using a bullhorn to build a plan for civil disobedience, one in which protesters would sit peacefully and not move until arrested. It was important we all had agreement and knowledge. We passed out sharpies and distributed the number for the National Lawyers Guild support line while lawyers in the crowd provided information about the heightened risk for people without citizenship.

People began sharing information: “the federal agents are at Les Schwab Amphitheater,” “there are two sprinter vans,” “there are snipers on the roof!” Over the bullhorn, someone shouted “They’re here! Sit down!” 

Many of us began live streaming as a line of federal agents wearing military fatigues and riot gear started marching toward us, and we reminded and encouraged each other to “sit down!” as fear and confusion pushed people to their feet for a better view. Agents headed straight for the doors of the buses. We began to realize they weren’t here to arrest protesters, but to take the two men detained by ICE away. Some protesters started to close in around the bus. As I got closer, I was able to read “US Border Patrol” on the green uniforms of the agents closest to the bus.

Agents began using tear gas and pepper spray in all directions while kicking, punching, and physically removing protestors from their path to the buses. The crowd screamed, “let them go!” as the agents dragged the two men from inside the buses over concrete and rocks and into unmarked vans that sped away. Protesters surrounded the family members to protect them from federal agents. Federal agents, including Border Patrol, ICE, and agents with insignias that read “Customs and Border Protection,” assembled into two lines, marched out of the parking lot and began leaving in unmarked SUVs. Medics rushed to support people who had been tear-gassed. As cars and trucks with Three Percenter stickers prowled the parking lot, everyone convened one last time for speakers including local faith leaders to issue a final rallying cry that we are not giving up, that we are going to continue to fight to end detention and deportation in Oregon, and that we are going to grow the movement so next time there will be even more of us!

Thursday morning, the families reported back that they still hadn’t heard from the two men who were disappeared into unmarked vans. I joined representatives from several local and statewide organizations in a meeting with Deschutes District Attorney Hummel to ask him to open a formal investigation into the incident, and Latino Community Association sat down with the police chief to hold him accountable for destroying the trust of the community in his first week. That afternoon, Mecca Bend, Latino Community Association, Central Oregon Peacekeepers, Causa, Latino Network, local faith leaders, and ROP spoke at a press conference and impromptu rally of about 75 people to call out police-ICE collaboration in violation of state law, to celebrate the way that Central Oregon showed up en masse with such little notice, and to share what’s coming next.

Thursday evening, a judge denied the Temporary Restraining Order because the two men were taken out of the jurisdiction. Today we learned they were taken to Northern Oregon Regional Correctional Facility (NORCOR), a public jail that has Oregon’s last remaining ICE contract, then up to GEO Group’s private Northwest Detention Center in Tacoma, where confirmed cases of COVID-19 are growing by the day. The community is working hard to ensure that these particular families get their loved ones back as soon as possible, while also building strength so that no other families are ripped apart by the violent and inhumane systems of detention and deportation.

This moment calls for people of conscience to take action:

  • Join a demonstration to send a message that it is time to get ICE out of Oregon! Folks will be gathering at the Peace Corner in Bend (1077 NW Wall St) Saturday at noon, at NORCOR in The Dalles (201 Webber St.) Saturday at 1pm, and at Northwest Detention Center in Tacoma (1623 E J St) on August 23 from 1-3pm. Can’t travel to one of these demonstrations? Hold your own rally and let us know so we can spread the word!
  • Do you or someone you know have video or photos from Wednesday? Any evidence showing police-ICE collaboration and excessive use of force can help the case to release the two central Oregonians kidnapped by federal agents. Please send any video/photography to office@rop.org, our Facebook, or Instagram.
  • Fundraisers have been started to help the families of the two men pay legal fees, commissary and phone use inside the Northwest Detention Center, as well as child care, food, and housing. Click here and here to directly support both families!
  • Call on the Deschutes County District Attorney, the Bend Police Chief, and Mayor Sally Russell to answer why Bend police collaborated with ICE and how to make sure it never happens again
  • Contact Oregon Legislators to expand our Sanctuary Law to end all forms of information sharing, entering into contracts with, or any other forms of collaboration between ICE and police.
  • Join La Resistencia in the call to shut down the private Northwest Detention Center in Tacoma and to #FreeThemAll!
  • Call and write Police Chiefs and County Sheriffs across Oregon to make sure that they are not working with ICE and if they ever want to, they will be held accountable by your group and your community. Here is a helpful list of questions to get you started!
  • Build a group to take action in your community! Now is an important moment to be bringing folks into the movement for human dignity! Set up your systems to collect contact information, make an action plan for the next few months, and let’s fight to advance democracy! ROP would love to help you make a plan, set up systems, and connect with others in your community! Email emma@rop.org or your friendly local ROP organizer today!

We have a vision of Oregon where everyone can live their lives fully with safety and dignity, and that vision will not be possible until ICE, Border Patrol, and the Department of Homeland Security are no longer tearing our communities apart. Two nights ago, Central Oregon demonstrated our shared values as Oregonians who care deeply about our fiercely interdependent communities and the dignity of every single person who calls our state home. As Oregonians, we believe in showing up for each other. I continue to be inspired by the ways we are joining together to confront the forces that seek to divide, intimidate, and silence the people most impacted by immoral immigration policies and tactics!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English