كيف تتحدث مع جيرانك عن الهجرة

تحظى مقاطعة كولومبيا باهتمام كبير هذه الأيام ، من شرطة عمان السلطانية ، ومنكم وحتى من وسائل الإعلام الوطنية. هذا ما يحدث عندما تصبح "خطًا أماميًا" يتصدر عناوين الأخبار العالمية بأسلوب محلي غريب. الآن محرر أول في مجلة تايم يطير ليحكي قصة لماذا تستحق هذه المقاطعة اهتمامنا. Hoopla or not ، كرامة الإنسان تجمع مواطني مقاطعة كولومبيا من أجل الكرامة الإنسانية (CCCHD) و Latinos Unidos para un Futuro Mejor (LUFM) واضحان أن هذا جزء من رحلتهم لبناء مجتمعات شاملة.

بينما يبدو أن العاصفة المناهضة للمهاجرين في مقاطعة كولومبيا قد تدفع السكان اللاتينيين للخروج من هذا المجتمع الريفي وإلى المقاطعات الحضرية المجاورة التي تضم عددًا أكبر من السكان اللاتينيين ، فإن الحقيقة هي أن هذا أصبح مكانًا يختار فيه اللاتينيين الوقوف والمطالبة فخر الوطن. نعتقد أن القصة تحتوي على ما هو أكثر من الشجاعة ، وهو أمر لا يمكن إنكاره. نعتقد أن هذا أيضًا أحد أعراض ما يحدث عندما ترفع مجموعات الكرامة الإنسانية مثل هذه التكتيكات وتضع أساسًا مناهضًا للقمع في مجتمعاتهم.

في الأسبوع المقبل ، ستظهر LUFM لأول مرة مع موكب الاحترام والكرامة. جميع دعاة العدالة مدعوون للحضور! المسيرة هي عرض عام لوجوه المجتمع اللاتيني في مقاطعة كولومبيا التي تعرضت للهجوم على مدار الثمانية عشر شهرًا الماضية من خلال إجراءات الاقتراع 5-190 و 5-191. "نريد أن نظهر للمجتمع أننا متماثلون ، نحن بشر. قالت يسينيا سانشيز ، رئيسة LUFM: "نحن نحترم ونساهم في مجتمعنا ، ونستحق أن نُعامل بكرامة".

انضم إلى مسيرة الاحترام والكرامة
الزمان: الأربعاء ، 18 فبراير ، من 4 مساءً إلى 6 مساءً
المكان: في سانت هيلينز ، أوريغون. بدءًا من كنيسة القديس فريدريك الكاثوليكية في الساعة 175 س 13 ، وانتهاءً بمحكمة المقاطعة.
من: Latinos Unidos para un Futuro Mejor (LUFM) ، مع مواطني مقاطعة كولومبيا من أجل الكرامة الإنسانية (CCCHD) ، ودعم من مشروع التنظيم الريفي ، و CAUSA.
جهة الاتصال: cara@rop.org

بينما ينظم المجتمع اللاتيني في مقاطعة كولومبيا ، تواصل مجموعة الكرامة الإنسانية CCCHD حوارًا مع مؤيديها لفهم هذه القضية وضرورة أن يصبح الناس أكثر نشاطًا في مواجهة الظلم. لذلك ، بينما نسير في الأماكن العامة ، نتحدث على انفراد. تجري CCCHD محادثات صعبة ومدروسة مع مجتمعها وداعميها. (تم إرفاق رسالتهم الرائعة وهي مرجع رائع.)

كيف تجري محادثات حول هذه القضايا المعقدة مع مجتمعك وأعضاء مجموعتك؟

شرطة عمان السلطانية هنا لتقديم ما تحتاجه للتعامل مع هذه الموضوعات الصعبة.

ال 15 و 16 آذار / مارس المؤتمر الريفي وجلسة الإستراتيجية ستشمل محادثات وورش عمل حول القضايا الحرجة والصعبة والدقيقة - عدالة الهجرة هي بالتأكيد في تلك القائمة.

في الجلسة الصباحية ، ستكون الهجرة وحقوق العمال جزءًا من جلسة العدالة الاقتصادية: التنظيم بأمل في أوقات الأزمات.

وستتضمن جلسات استراحة ورشة العمل بعد الظهر جلستين مخصصتين للهجرة. ورشة عمل واحدة مع تقديم مجموعة من قادة عدل الهجرة المدروسين مع وجهات نظر مختلفة حول "ما هو الإصلاح العادل والإنساني للهجرة؟". ورشة عمل أخرى سوف تدربك على اعرف حقوقك و ICE والشرطة ودعمك لإعادة هذه المعلومات إلى مجتمعك وإخراجها إلى جهات إنفاذ القانون المحلية والمسؤولين المنتخبين ووسائل الإعلام قبل وعندما يكون الأشخاص غير المسجلين معرضين للخطر أو محتجزين.
 

يسجل الآن!

العربية

How to Talk to your Neighbors about Immigration

Columbia County is getting a lot of attention these days, from ROP, from you & even from national media. That’s what happens when you become a ‘front line’ acting out global headlines with local antics. Now a Senior Editor at Time Magazine is flying out to tell the story of just why this county deserves our attention. Hoopla or not, human dignity groups Columbia County Citizens for Human Dignity (CCCHD) and Latinos Unidos para un Futuro Mejor (LUFM) are clear that this is part of their journey to build inclusive communities.

While it seems like the anti-immigrant storm in Columbia County might drive Latino folks out of this rural community and into neighboring urban counties with larger Latino populations, the truth is that this is becoming a place where Latino’s are choosing to stand up and claim their home town pride. We think there is more to the story than bravery, which is undeniable. We think this is also a symptom of what happens when human dignity groups lift up such tactics and lay anti-oppression groundwork in their communities.

Next week LUFM makes their debut with the Procession for Respect and Dignity. All advocates for justice are encouraged to attend! The walk is a public demonstration of the faces of Columbia County’s Latino Community that have been under attack for the last eighteen months by ballot measures 5-190 and 5-191. “We want to show the community that we are the same, we are human beings. We are respectful and contribute towards our community, and we deserve to be treated with dignity,” said Yesenia Sanchez, LUFM president.

Join the Procession for Respect and Dignity
When: Wednesday, February 18th, 4pm – 6pm
Where: In St. Helens, Oregon. Starting at the St. Frederic Catholic Church at 175 S. 13th, and ending at the County Courthouse.
Who: Latinos Unidos para un Futuro Mejor (LUFM), with Columbia County Citizens for Human Dignity (CCCHD), and support from the Rural Organizing Project, and CAUSA.
Contact: cara@rop.org

As the Latino community organizes in Columbia County, long standing human dignity group CCCHD continues a dialogue with their supporters to understand this issue and that people must get even more active in the face of injustice. So, while we march in public, we are talking in private. CCCHD is having tough & thoughtful conversations with their community and supporters. (Their fantastic letter is attached & is a great reference.)

How are you having conversations about these complex issues with your community and your group’s members?

ROP is here to provide what you need to take on these difficult topics.

The March 15 & 16 Rural Caucus & Strategy Session will feature conversations and workshops on issues that are critical, difficult, and nuanced – immigration justice is definitely on that list.

In the morning session, immigration and workers’ rights will be a part of the economic justice session: Organizing with Hope in Times of Crisis.

The afternoon workshop breakouts will feature be two sessions dedicated to immigration. One workshop with present a panel of thoughtful Immigration Justice leaders with different perspectives on ‘What is Just & Humane Immigration Reform?’. Another workshop will train you on Know Your Rights, ICE, and the Police and support you to take this information back to your community and out to local law enforcement, elected officials, and the media both before and when undocumented folks are at risk or detained.
 

Register Now!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English