如何与邻居谈论移民问题

如今,哥伦比亚县受到了 ROP、您甚至国家媒体的广泛关注。当您成为“前线”以当地滑稽动作表演全球头条新闻时,就会发生这种情况。现在是高级编辑 时代杂志 飞出去讲述这个县为什么值得我们关注的故事。胡闹与否,人类尊严组织哥伦比亚县公民维护人类尊严(中国城市发展中心) 和拉丁裔 Unidos para un Futuro Mejor (LUFM) 很清楚,这是他们建立包容性社区旅程的一部分。

虽然哥伦比亚县的反移民风暴似乎可能将拉丁裔人赶出这个农村社区,并进入拉丁裔人口较多的邻近城市县,但事实是,这里正在成为拉丁裔人选择站起来并声称他们的地方家乡的骄傲。我们认为这个故事不仅仅是勇敢,这是不可否认的。 我们认为这也是当人类尊严团体采取这种策略并在他们的社区中奠定反压迫基础时会发生什么的一个症状。

下周 LUFM 首次亮相 尊重和尊严的游行.鼓励所有正义倡导者参加!这次步行是对哥伦比亚县拉丁裔社区面孔的公开展示,这些面孔在过去 18 个月中一直受到投票措施 5-190 和 5-191 的攻击。 “我们想向社区展示我们是一样的,我们都是人。我们尊重并为我们的社区做出贡献,我们应该得到有尊严的对待,”LUFM 总裁 Yesenia Sanchez 说。

加入尊重和尊严的游行
时间:2 月 18 日,星期三,下午 4 点至下午 6 点
地点:俄勒冈州圣海伦斯。从 175 S. 13 的 St. Frederic 天主教堂开始,到县法院结束。
谁:拉丁裔 Unidos para un Futuro Mejor (LUFM),哥伦比亚县公民维护人类尊严组织 (CCCHD),以及农村组织项目和 CAUSA 的支持。
联系方式:cara@rop.org

随着拉丁裔社区在哥伦比亚县的组织,长期存在的人类尊严组织 CCCHD 继续与他们的支持者进行对话,以了解这个问题,以及人们在面对不公正时必须更加积极。 所以,当我们在公共场合游行时,我们是在私下交谈。 CCCHD 正在与他们的社区和支持者进行艰难而深思熟虑的对话。 (附上了他们精彩的信件,这是一个很好的参考。)

您如何与您的社区和小组成员就这些复杂问题进行对话?

ROP 在这里为您提供解决这些困难主题所需的一切。

3 月 15 日和 16 日农村核心小组与战略会议 将针对关键、困难和微妙的问题进行对话和研讨会——移民司法肯定在名单上。

在上午的会议中,移民和工人权利将成为经济正义会议的一部分: 在危机时期带着希望组织.

下午的研讨会分组会议将有两个专门针对移民的会议。一个研讨会,由一群深思熟虑的移民司法领导人组成,他们对问题有不同的看法 “什么是公正和人道的移民改革?”.另一个研讨会将培训您 了解您的权利、ICE 和警察 并支持您将这些信息带回您的社区,并在无证人员面临风险或被拘留之前和之时向当地执法部门、民选官员和媒体传播。
 

登记 现在!

简体中文

How to Talk to your Neighbors about Immigration

Columbia County is getting a lot of attention these days, from ROP, from you & even from national media. That’s what happens when you become a ‘front line’ acting out global headlines with local antics. Now a Senior Editor at Time Magazine is flying out to tell the story of just why this county deserves our attention. Hoopla or not, human dignity groups Columbia County Citizens for Human Dignity (CCCHD) and Latinos Unidos para un Futuro Mejor (LUFM) are clear that this is part of their journey to build inclusive communities.

While it seems like the anti-immigrant storm in Columbia County might drive Latino folks out of this rural community and into neighboring urban counties with larger Latino populations, the truth is that this is becoming a place where Latino’s are choosing to stand up and claim their home town pride. We think there is more to the story than bravery, which is undeniable. We think this is also a symptom of what happens when human dignity groups lift up such tactics and lay anti-oppression groundwork in their communities.

Next week LUFM makes their debut with the Procession for Respect and Dignity. All advocates for justice are encouraged to attend! The walk is a public demonstration of the faces of Columbia County’s Latino Community that have been under attack for the last eighteen months by ballot measures 5-190 and 5-191. “We want to show the community that we are the same, we are human beings. We are respectful and contribute towards our community, and we deserve to be treated with dignity,” said Yesenia Sanchez, LUFM president.

Join the Procession for Respect and Dignity
When: Wednesday, February 18th, 4pm – 6pm
Where: In St. Helens, Oregon. Starting at the St. Frederic Catholic Church at 175 S. 13th, and ending at the County Courthouse.
Who: Latinos Unidos para un Futuro Mejor (LUFM), with Columbia County Citizens for Human Dignity (CCCHD), and support from the Rural Organizing Project, and CAUSA.
Contact: cara@rop.org

As the Latino community organizes in Columbia County, long standing human dignity group CCCHD continues a dialogue with their supporters to understand this issue and that people must get even more active in the face of injustice. So, while we march in public, we are talking in private. CCCHD is having tough & thoughtful conversations with their community and supporters. (Their fantastic letter is attached & is a great reference.)

How are you having conversations about these complex issues with your community and your group’s members?

ROP is here to provide what you need to take on these difficult topics.

The March 15 & 16 Rural Caucus & Strategy Session will feature conversations and workshops on issues that are critical, difficult, and nuanced – immigration justice is definitely on that list.

In the morning session, immigration and workers’ rights will be a part of the economic justice session: Organizing with Hope in Times of Crisis.

The afternoon workshop breakouts will feature be two sessions dedicated to immigration. One workshop with present a panel of thoughtful Immigration Justice leaders with different perspectives on ‘What is Just & Humane Immigration Reform?’. Another workshop will train you on Know Your Rights, ICE, and the Police and support you to take this information back to your community and out to local law enforcement, elected officials, and the media both before and when undocumented folks are at risk or detained.
 

Register Now!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English