كيفية إيقاف الانقلاب

عزيزي روب نت ،

نحن نقترب من انتخابات نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني التي يخشى الكثيرون من أنها قد تقود الولايات المتحدة إلى مزيد من الابتعاد عن الديمقراطية متعددة الأعراق التي نعمل جميعًا على بنائها. تشارك شبكة ROPnet هذه تقريرًا ملهمًا من شبكة التضامن مع شعب غواتيمالا (NISGUA). تعمل الشبكة على بناء وتعزيز الروابط بين شعبي الولايات المتحدة وغواتيمالا في النضال العالمي من أجل العدالة والكرامة الإنسانية واحترام الأرض.

تابع القراءة وأخبرنا برأيك! هل هناك حركات دولية أخرى تجدين فيها الإلهام؟ أخبرنا بردود فعلك أو أرسل لنا قصة عبر البريد الإلكتروني sam@rop.org!

بحرارة
سام وفريق ROP

كيف نوقف الانقلاب؟

تقرير من شبكة التضامن مع شعب غواتيمالا (NISGUA) 

من أكتوبر/تشرين الأول 2023 إلى يناير/كانون الثاني 2024، تم إحباط محاولة انقلاب في غواتيمالا بقيادة سلطات السكان الأصليين المتوارثة. وقاد "حلف الفاسدين" - شبكة ظل قوية من الموظفين العموميين الفاسدين - محاولة الانقلاب، مما هدد الديمقراطية الغواتيمالية. بعد أشهر من التضامن مع الإضراب الوطني الذي استمر 106 أيام والذي دعت إليه سلطات الأجداد، نشارككم تأملاتنا على أمل أن تكون مصدر إلهام للتضامن الدولي مع شعب غواتيمالا وخارجه.

  • قيادة الشعوب الأصلية اتبع قيادة المتأثرين بالأزمة، الذين لديهم هدف اجتماعي سياسي لمعالجة الأزمة، والقدرة التنظيمية على الفوز. على سبيل المثال، قد تدعو السلطات من السكان الأصليين إلى إضراب وطني، لحل النزاعات بالحوار، وغير ذلك.
  • إضراب وطني غير محدد المدة إيقاف الاقتصاد والحركة للضغط على الداعمين الماليين للانقلاب، وكسب اهتمام وسائل الإعلام. على سبيل المثال، حصار أكثر من 100 منطقة رئيسية، وتنظيم مخيم احتجاجي دائم.
  • المساعدة المتبادلة تنظيم المطابخ المجتمعية والخدمات الطبية وترتيبات النوم. فهي تبني المجتمع والوحدة الضرورية للاستدامة على المدى الطويل.
  • الروحانيات يجد الكثير من الناس مصدرًا عميقًا للطاقة في الاحتفالات والصلوات وما إلى ذلك. لا تستبعدوا هذه الأمور تلقائيًا على أنها تتعارض مع العمل السياسي.
  • الثقافة والبهجة الغناء والرقص والرسم واللعب والمرح. يساعد ذلك على تعزيز العلاقات الجيدة والحفاظ على الروح المعنوية العالية في اللحظات التي قد تتحول إلى سخرية وتوتر وتصلب.
  • القدرة على التكيف لا يوجد تكتيك واحد يناسب الجميع. فالتكتيكات هي أدوات في مجموعة أدوات، تستخدم حسب الضرورة. على سبيل المثال، بعد أسابيع من إغلاق الطرق، قد تتحول قيادة السكان الأصليين إلى مخيم احتجاجي أمام موقع رمزي واحد.
  • المشاركة الشعبية الجميع مهم لتحقيق هدف رئيسي. التنظيم في ومن خلال الاختلافات الاجتماعية والسياسية: الجيران، زملاء الدراسة، زملاء العمل، إلخ. ابحث عن أرضية مشتركة، ونقاط الضغط التي يمكن لكل منهم الاستفادة منها، والمهارات التي يمكن لكل منهم مشاركتها. 
  • التضامن الدولي يمكن للحكومات والمنظمات متعددة الأطراف والمجموعات الشعبية أن تدعم بالبيانات والعقوبات والإعلام والمواكبة وما إلى ذلك. على سبيل المثال، يمكن للأمم المتحدة أن تتوسط في المفاوضات، ويمكن للمجموعات الشعبية أن تقود التثقيف الشعبي.
  • وضوح الرؤية من الضروري تحديد المشاكل والحلول والرفاق والخصوم والعوائق بوضوح. التواصل مهم لتعبئة جماهير الناس. على سبيل المثال، وضح أنك لا تنحاز إلى حزب ما، بل تدافع عن الديمقراطية.

الاستماع إلى قادة السكان الأصليين

تعاون المعهد الوطني للسكان الأصليين في غواتيمالا مع مؤتمر أمريكا الشمالية لأمريكا اللاتينية لنشر سلسلة مقابلات مع شركائنا الغواتيماليين. تملأ هذه السلسلة فجوة كبيرة في التغطية الدولية للأزمة السياسية من خلال إجراء مقابلات مع جماعات السكان الأصليين، على الخطوط الأمامية للنضالات المتعددة، حول كيفية رؤيتهم لهذه اللحظة السياسية، وما ينتظرهم في المستقبل.

برلمان زينكا

سلطات الأجداد من السكان الأصليين في شينكا، الذين يقودون نضالًا للدفاع عن الأرض ضد شركة بان أمريكان سيلفر العابرة للحدود الوطنية، ومنظمي الإضراب. "أعتقد أن الوقت قد حان للتغيير ليس فقط لغواتيمالا، بل لمزيد من البلدان التي تعاني أيضًا من هذا الطفيلي [الفساد] الذي يقتل المزيد من الناس كل يوم." انقر هنا لقراءة المقابلات المكتوبة باللغة الإنجليزية أو الإسبانية.

أعضاء مجتمع شينكا يرفعون لافتة أمام المحكمة الدستورية: "لا للانقلاب. شعب الشينكا حاضر". 20 أكتوبر. 2023. الذكرى السنوية لثورة أكتوبر 1944. (غليندا ماريا ألفاريز سالازار. صحفية من مجتمع سانتا روزا)"

جمعية العدالة والمصالحة

منظمة الناجين من سكان المايا الأصليين من الإبادة الجماعية التي رعتها الدولة خلال النزاع المسلح في غواتيمالا، وقادة قضايا العدالة الانتقالية الرئيسية وشاركوا بنشاط في الإضراب. "نحن نحاول تغيير البلد. لهذا السبب تنتفض المجتمعات والمناطق - ليس من أجل حزب [سيميلا]، ولكن من أجل الديمقراطية. نحن لا نسمح لأنفسنا [أن يتم دفعنا]." انقر هنا لقراءة المقابلات المكتوبة باللغة الإنجليزية أو الإسبانية.

السلطات المحلية للسكان الأصليين المشاركين في الإضراب الوطني، في انتظار لجنة ممثلي السلطات المحلية للسكان الأصليين، الذين تمكنوا من وقف إخلاء السكن أمام مكتب المدعي العام. أكتوبر 2023 (خوان روزاليس)

رابطة المايا الدولية

منظمة المايا للسكان الأصليين، في الشتات، في طليعة منظمات السكان الأصليين للمايا، في طليعة الحفاظ على الهوية السياسية والثقافية والاجتماعية والروحية بين مجتمعات المايا المهاجرة. "نطلب من المجتمع الدولي أن يتأمل في نضالاتنا التي هي مقدسة. إنها لا تتعلق بالأطماع. إنها دفاعاً عن الحياة والكرامة والدفاع عن أراضينا التي احتلت". انقر هنا لقراءة المقابلات المكتوبة باللغة الإنجليزية أو الإسبانية.

سلطات الأجداد تسير في مسيرة مقاومة في غواتيمالا ضد انقلاب محتمل قبل تنصيب الرئيس برناردو أريفالو. (كارلوس تشوك، مايا قيقتشي)

سهل الطباعة، PDF والبريد الإلكتروني
العربية

How to Stop a Coup

Dear ROPnet,

We are edging closer to a November election that many worry could lead the US even further away from the multiracial democracy we are all working to build. This ROPnet shares an inspiring report from the Network in Solidarity with the People of Guatemala (NISGUA). NISGUA works to build and strengthen ties between the people of the United States and Guatemala in the global struggle for justice, human dignity, and respect for the Earth.

Read on and let us know what you think! Are there other international movements you are finding inspiration in? Let us know your reactions or send us a story by emailing sam@rop.org!

Warmly,
Sam and the ROP Team

How To Stop A Coup?

A report from the Network in Solidarity with the People of Guatemala (NISGUA) 

From October 2023 to January 2024, a coup attempt in Guatemala was stopped under the leadership of Indigenous ancestral authorities. The “Corrupt Pact” — a powerful shadow network of corrupt public officials —led the coup effort, threatening Guatemalan democracy. After months of solidarity with the 106-day national strike, convened by the ancestral authorities, we share our reflections in hopes that they inform and inspire internationalist solidarity with the people of Guatemala and beyond.

  • Indigenous People’s Leadership Follow the leadership of those impacted by a crisis, who have a social-political goal to address it, and the organizational capacity to win. For example, Indigenous authorities may call for a national strike, to solve conflicts with dialogue, and more.
  • Indefinite National Strike Halt the economy and mobility to pressure the financial backers of the coup, and to garner media attention. For example, blockade 100+ key areas, and organize a permanent protest camp.
  • Mutual Aid Organize community kitchens, medical services and sleeping arrangements. It builds community and unity which is necessary for long-term sustainability.
  • Spirituality Many people find a deep source of energy in ceremonies, prayers, etc. Don’t automatically dismiss these as incompatible with political action.
  • Culture and Joy Sing, dance, paint, play games, and have fun. It helps foster good relationships and maintain high spirits in moments that might otherwise turn to cynicism, tension and rigidity.
  • Adaptability No tactic is one-size-fits-all. Tactics are tools in a toolkit, to be used as necessary. For example, after weeks of blockading roads, Indigenous leadership might shift to a protest camp in front of one symbolic site.
  • Popular Involvement Everyone is important to achieve a major goal. Organize in and through social and political differences: Neighbors, classmates, coworkers, etc. Find common ground, pressure points that each can leverage, and the skills each can share. 
  • International Solidarity Governments, multilateral organizations, and grassroots groups can support with statements, sanctions, media, accompaniment, etc.. For example, the U.N. might mediate negotiations; grassroots groups lead popular education.
  • Clarity of Vision It is essential to clearly identify problems, solutions, comrades, opponents, and barriers. Communication matters to mobilize masses of people. For example, clarify you are not siding with a party, but defending democracy.

Listening to Indigenous Leaders

NISGUA collaborated with the North American Congress on Latin America (NACLA) to publish an interview series with our Guatemalan partners. This series fills a major gap in the international coverage of the political crisis by interviewing Indigenous groups, on the frontlines of multiple struggles, on how they view this political moment, and what lies ahead.

Xinka Parliament

Indigenous Xinka ancestral authorities, leading a land defense struggle against the transnational corporation Pan American Silver, and conveners of the strike. “I think it is time for a change not only for Guatemala, but for more countries that also suffer from this parasite [of corruption], which kills more every day.” Click here to read the transcribed interviews in English or Spanish.

Xinka community members lift a banner in front of the Constitutional Court: "No to the coup d'etat. Xinka people present." October 20. 2023. The anniversary of the October Revolution of 1944. (Glenda María Alvarez Salazar. Santa Rosa community journalist)"

Association for Justice and Reconciliation

Organization of Maya Indigenous survivors of state-sponsored genocide during Guatemala’s armed conflict, leaders of key transitional justice cases and were actively involved in the strike. “We are trying to change the country. That is why the communities and regions are rising up—not for the [Semilla] party, but for democracy. We don’t allow ourselves [to be pushed around].” Click here to read the transcribed interviews in English or Spanish.

Indigenous lxil authorities participating in the national strike, wait for the committee of representatives of Indigenous authorities, who managed to stop eviction of the encapment outside the Public Prosecutor's Office. October 2023 (Juan Rosales)

International Mayan League

Indigenous Mayan organization, in the diaspora, at the forefront of political, cultural, social, and spiritual preservation among Mayan migrant communities. “We ask the international community to reflect on our struggles, which are sacred. They’re not about ambition. They’re in defense of life, dignity, and the defense of our territories, which have been occupied.” Click here to read the transcribed interviews in English or Spanish.

Ancestral authorities march in resistance in Guatemala against a possible coup ahead of President Bernardo Arévalo's inauguration. (Carlos Choc, Maya Q'eqchi')

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English