如何让俄勒冈州的乡村生机勃勃——5 节课

当一家小镇报纸刊登头版报道,其中三位当地社区领导人也认同自己是同性恋时,这意味着什么——这是领导人和报纸的第一个故事? 城里的多厅电影院举办一部探讨美国农村同性恋恐惧症的电影,这意味着什么?周六早上 10:30 只有站立的人群才能参加? 当具有不同观点的观众通过眼泪和诚实而不是过去几十年的分裂政治来讨论这些差异时,这意味着什么?

当我读到当天的头条新闻时(无休止的战争、富人的更多税收减免、总统的佩林),正是这些小小的涟漪似乎为度过这些时代提供了真正的组织可能性。

俄勒冈州乡村的 OUT IN THE SILENCE 之旅是数十个这样的涟漪的时刻。 从 80 年代后期开始,全州范围内对 LGBT 社区的攻击的遗产是我们强大的关系、分析和技能网络,使这部电影巡演取得了巨大成功。

主办团体在巡演前辛勤工作了 3 个月。我们在学校董事会会议、市议会会议上发表演讲,在电视和报纸上发表演讲,与信仰会众交谈,尝试通过短信和 Facebook 进行组织的新方法。

我们如滚雪球般进行的对话以及我们自豪和尊重的信息达到了我们以前从未见过的数千人。 我们在这次巡演中举办了 15 站,在我们的房间里有 1000 人,并通过媒体、对话和在线接触了数千人。

巡演结束后,电影制片人乔威尔逊写信给我们:

“在我们的俄勒冈之旅中,我们仍然处于高潮,这种体验在无数方面超出了所有人的预期,让我们非常尊重 ROP 和其他团体在那里所做的工作。我们开始分享它的力量,以激励该国其他地区的人们,他们几乎没有组织或无法如此具有战略性地思考。这是非常积极和鼓舞人心的,很难用语言来表达。”

更多灵感——关注 这个链接 查看我们巡演中的照片,并在下面查看报道我们的新闻媒体的精选。

我们不仅在每一站都感到感动,而且我们学到了很多东西要发扬光大……

  • 得益于二十年来为自己抵御右翼攻击, 我们现在能够以独特而强大的方式为 LGBT 权利及其他权利动员起来。
  • 这些时代是深刻分裂的。但 当我们用我们的声音呼吁就即使是非常紧张的问题进行真正的公开对话时,我们的观众席也能坐满 与准备好进行尊重交谈的人。
  • 俄勒冈州农村的酷儿青年需要更多支持! 几乎在每一站,年轻人都抢尽风头。呼吁老一辈支持和指导,并呼吁年轻一代站出来领导。
  • 就像现在为移民基本尊严而斗争一样,所有人都应承担变革的责任,而不仅仅是那些受不容忍影响最大的人。 直系盟友对 LGBT 社区的支持是必不可少的。
  • 当我们学会识别组织机会时,我们的社区就会关注。 今年,我们针对青年自杀的悲剧精心设计了我们的信息——并发现我们能够利用这扇敞开的大门接触到新的支持者并扩大关于 LGBT 包容性的对话。

随着我们的团体继续在该州的每个角落促进 LGBT 正义,我们也将考虑下一步。 我们如何继续伸展我们的翅膀,弯曲我们的组织肌肉,并使用我们可以使用的难以置信的力量?

ROP 2011 年春季的年度核心小组和战略会议是下一次聚在一起制定战略的机会——尽快寻找日期并确保加入我们!

带着感激,
阿曼达。

附注。如果您错过了游览,您可以订购电影的副本 这里.您可以以 $50 的价格购买 5 份电影:保留一份供您放映,其余的出售以资助您的活动!我们很想知道您的筛查情况,并与您合作,使其成为重振您社区中对 LGBT 包容的热情的活动!

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

“在沉默中”激发农村社区考虑社会宽容, 南县聚光灯

即将上映的纪录片聚焦同性婚姻,赫米斯顿先驱报

纪录片解决农村社区的男女同性恋问题, KDRV 电视

“Out of Silence”将在 La Grande Life 的 EOU Huber 礼堂放映

电影探索在美国东部俄勒冈州农村长大的同性恋

 

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

How to bring rural Oregon alive – 5 lessons

What does it mean when a small town paper runs a front page story that features three local community leaders who also identify as gay – a first for the leaders and the paper? What does it mean for the multiplex movie theater in town to host a movie that explores homophobia in rural America? And a standing room only crowd attends at 10:30 on a Saturday morning? What does it mean when an audience with different perspectives then discusses those differences through tears and honesty instead of the divisive politics of the last few decades?

As I read the headlines of the day (endless war, more tax breaks for the wealthy, Palin for President), it is these small ripples that seem to offer real organizing possibilities for enduring these times.

The OUT IN THE SILENCE tour of rural Oregon was a moment of dozens of such ripples. The legacy of statewide attacks on the LGBT community beginning in the late 80s is our strong web of relationships, analysis, and skills that made this film tour a huge success.

Host groups worked hard for 3 months leading up to the tour. We presented at school board meetings, city council meetings, got on TV and in the newspaper, spoke to faith congregations, tried new methods of organizing via text message and facebook.

The conversations that we had snowballed and our message of pride and respect reached thousands that we had never met before. We hosted 15 stops on this tour, got 1000 people in the room with us, and reached thousands more through the press, conversations, and online.

After the tour, filmmaker Joe Wilson wrote to us:

“We’re still riding high from our tour of Oregon, an experience that exceeded all expectations in countless ways and left us with sooooo much respect for the work ROP and other groups are doing there. We’re beginning to share its power to inspire folks in other parts of the country who aren’t nearly as organized or able to think so strategically. It was so overwhelmingly positive and inspiring that it’s hard to put into words.”

For more inspiration – follow this link to see our photos from the tour, and see below for top picks from the news outlets that covered us.

And not only did we feel moved at every stop, we learned so much to carry forward…

  • Thanks to two decades of defending ourselves against right-wing attacks, we are now capable of mobilizing for LGBT rights and beyond in ways that are unique and powerful.
  • These times are deeply divided. But when we use our voices to call for real open dialogue on even very tense issues, we can fill auditoriums with people ready for respectful conversation.
  • Rural Oregon’s queer youth need more support! At nearly every stop, youth stole the show. There was a call for older generations to support & mentor, and for younger generations to come out and take leadership.
  • As with the struggle for the basic dignity of immigrants right now, responsibility for change is shared by all, not just those most impacted by intolerance. The support of straight allies to the LGBT community was indispensable.
  • When we learn to recognize organizing opportunities, our communities pay attention. This year, we crafted our message in response to the tragedy of youth suicides – and found that we were able to use that open door to reach new supporters and expand the conversation about LGBT inclusion.

As our groups continue to promote LGBT justice in every corner of the state, we’ll also be thinking about the next step. How do we continue to stretch our wings, flex our organizing muscles, and use the incredible strength at our disposal?

ROP’s Annual Caucus and Strategy Session in Spring of 2011 is the next opportunity to come together and strategize – look for the date soon and be sure to join us!

With gratitude,
Amanda.

PS. If you missed the tour, you can order copies of the film here.  You can buy 5 copies of the film for $50: keep one for your screening and sell the rest to fund your event!  We would love to know about your screening and work with you to make it an event that revitalizes passion for LGBT inclusion in your community!

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

‘Out in the Silence’ provokes rural communities to consider social tolerance, South County Spotlight

Coming documentary highlights same-sex marriage, Hermiston Herald

Documentary addresses gay and lesbian issues in rural communities, KDRV TV

“Out of Silence” to screen at EOU Huber Auditorium, La Grande Life

Film explores growing up gay in a rural America, East Oregonian

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English