我们还能承受多少分裂?

和您一样,我们对上周罗斯堡 Umpqua 社区学院的枪击事件感到悲伤、震惊和心碎。在他们的校园里无意义地杀害学生和一名教师,参加他们的课程,让每个俄勒冈人都感到震惊,问道, 为什么会这样? 更重要的是,我们所有人都在问, 我们如何回应?

随着我们的农村社区围绕着道格拉斯县的家人、朋友和盟友聚集在一起,我们能够看到哀悼社区聚集在一起互相照顾的悲惨魔力,我们还目睹了在工作分裂社区。

这个 ROPnet 由来自全州的人类尊严团体领导人合作编写,讨论了如何利用这一刻将楔子推入社区,并为准备采取行动以建立社区安全的俄勒冈人提供建议。

恐惧、愤怒和孤立的气氛

枪击事件发生后,道格拉斯县上空笼罩着一片猜测的阴云,人们在等着听谁会犯下这样的暴行。因为据说枪手向他的受害者询问了他们的宗教信仰,种族主义和仇视伊斯兰教的漫画与伊斯兰国的匆忙窃窃私语分享。由于枪手被揭露既不是中东人也不是穆斯林,关于枪击事件是一场骗局——“假旗行动”——的阴谋论不断响起。大量国家媒体涌入道格拉斯县,报道飞涨的枪支销售和人们对这场悲剧的反应。

奥巴马总统宣布他将前往罗斯堡 星期五 与悲伤的家人见面。 罗斯堡灯塔,一家宗教右翼报纸,在福克斯新闻上宣布道格拉斯县不欢迎奥巴马.这一呼吁得到了“爱国者”和民兵组织的响应,他们迅速召集了一场公开的枪支集会,以“迎接”奥巴马抵达罗斯堡。来自华盛顿、爱达荷、加利福尼亚和内华达的拼车人士前来参加。数以千计的种族主义、伊斯兰恐惧症和暴力信息已发布在 Facebook 群组和媒体评论部分,关于奥巴马的访问。

Westboro Baptist Church 宣布他们将在 UCC 枪击案受害者的葬礼上进行纠察,作为他们跳入国家媒体筹款的正常策略的一部分,从而引发新一轮的愤怒。

在邻近的杰克逊县,激进的右翼意识形态团体称 誓言守护者和 3%ers 组织了一场公然种族主义和仇视伊斯兰教的活动 10 月 10 日 在梅德福警察局前举行的“全球人类集会”活动是全国反伊斯兰教和亲警察行动日的一部分. (有关他们的运动和意识形态的更多信息,请参阅 ROP 对在俄勒冈州活动的“爱国者”和准军事组织的描述。) 反反弹, 团结起来反对仇恨, 同时计划让人们团结起来,争取每个人都有权有尊严和安全地过上自己的生活(更多信息见下文)。

国家新闻已经开始 道格拉斯县警长约翰汉林与誓言守护者和宪法警长与和平官员协会 (CSPOA) 的协会.在社区需要就安全和安保问题进行坦诚对话的时候,Hanlin 警长是 Oath Keeper 附属团体的成员,这对我们公职人员的中立性提出了质疑。

我们还能忍受更多的分裂吗?

当我们从悲剧中解脱出来并反思安全问题时,很明显,这是一个时刻,让我们的邻居应对我们面前的巨大事物的许多复杂性,有时甚至是矛盾。

在俄勒冈州的农村生活、谋生和长期居住并不容易。我们中的许多人都看到我们的生活水平几代人都在下降。我们的邻居正在努力满足最基本的安全、食物、住所和医疗保健需求。收入没有跟上,随着我们的社区继续被剥夺资金,基本基础设施正在崩溃。

这些大规模公然的系统性失败没有简单的解决方案,尽管我们都希望做出改变就像写我们的立法者一样容易。在不安全和恐惧的时候,很容易指责、瞄准或替罪羊。在恐惧中,很容易寻求支配和控制,而不是寻求相互尊重、问责和关怀。很难如此热爱我们的社区,以至于我们愿意为让他们团结在一起,每天生活和实践我们的民主价值观而奋斗。

许多俄勒冈人为我们的自给自足和农村的独创性感到自豪。鉴于这种强大的文化价值,人们很容易被孤立。当人们受到伤害并且我们的痛苦被用来分裂我们时,我们如何建立社区并团结在一起?感到安全实际上意味着什么?我们在一起努力互相支持,满足彼此的需求,建立集体安全——而不是孤立地挣扎和受苦。

作为俄勒冈州的农村人,我们以勤奋工作、寻求正义、社区建设的人而自豪,他们爱我们的邻居,即使我们不理解或不同意他们。在发生这样的悲剧之后尤其如此。但是,真的,我们能承受更多的分裂吗?

如果我们作为俄勒冈州的农村人开始向邻居敞开大门,真正深入了解正在发生的事情会怎样?如果我们建议共同努力满足植根于我们民主价值观的社区需求,会发生什么?

我们共同的农村价值观在行动

我们经常谈论我们的共同价值观——人的尊严、所有人的民主、公正和热情的社区——因为它们不仅使我们团结起来,而且因为我们的价值观引导我们采取行动。我们知道我们可以践行我们包容性民主的价值观,我们可以向我们的邻居表明和平合作以创建安全可靠的社区 一个选项。以下是此时此刻参与和响应的机会。请记住,我们致力于立即采取行动和长期行动,我们邀请您出现在感觉正确的地方。

加入快速反应网络: 在农村社区,安全来自社区成员的团结,无论是在危机和悲剧之后,还是为了反对仇恨和分裂。通过加入快速反应网络,您承诺与全州的俄勒冈人一起,在您所在地区发生种族主义、仇视伊斯兰教或其他仇恨活动时立即采取行动。 单击此处了解更多信息并注册.

加入梅德福的联合反对仇恨集会10 月 10 日星期六上午 9 点 在阿尔巴公园!这是对同时在梅德福警察局门前举行的仇视伊斯兰教和种族主义的“全球人类集会”的反击。

伊斯兰恐惧症活动背后的组织者正在使用关于支持执法和支持人类的隐晦声明。这些模糊情绪的前提是所有穆斯林都对执法部门和我们的家人构成威胁。

我们将一起聚集在梅德福警察局对面的阿尔巴公园(反穆斯林集会的地点) 9:00 AM 周六 早晨 10 月 10 日 带有促进爱、团结和宗教宽容的标志。我们将站在一起确认我们社区中的每个人都有一席之地,没有人应该因为他们的宗教信仰而生活在恐惧中或感到受到威胁。

– 为爱与团结组织守夜活动: 在俄勒冈州,人类尊严团体正在计划下周末的守夜活动, 10月17-18日,与道格拉斯县站在一起,并呼吁我们的社区在恐惧和分裂面前站在一起。

全州的社区都在问什么是安全感。在这一刻,为邻居们创造一个空间,让他们聚集在一起悲痛、记住那些失去的人,并在我们的爱和包容价值观下团结起来,这是开始为我们的社区建立安全的真正方式。

  • 单击此处获取方便的规划指南.

  • 邀请邻居在公园、街角或其他公共场所聚在一起。点燃蜡烛,举着呼吁团结和相互理解的标志。分享几句话,默哀片刻,或祈祷。

  • 组织是关于建立关系,而安全来自于人们一起工作以相互支持。我们如何建立关系并走到一起?我们是“呼唤”人们对悲剧的下意识反应,还是“呼唤他们”就我们的共同价值观进行更深入、细致的对话?

  • 在这一刻参与的一些关键人物包括信仰领袖、家长团体、学生组织和俱乐部、支持性民选官员和服务团体(例如 Kiwanis、扶轮社等)。

在这样的时刻,困惑、恐惧、愤怒和悲伤会让人难以抗拒。但我们也知道,与我们的朋友和邻居一起,我们可以克服分裂我们的分歧,我们可以创建我们想要和需要的社区。在我们的城镇中很容易感到孤立和孤独,尤其是现在,但我们记住,我们与你们所有人一起参与了一场为人类尊严而开展的充满活力和充满爱心的运动,并且在逆境中变得更加光明。这是我们无法表达的感激之情。

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

How many more divisions can we bear?

Like you, we are grieving, shocked, and heartbroken by the shooting at Umpqua Community College in Roseburg last week. The senseless killing of students and an instructor on their campus, attending their classes, has left every Oregonian reeling, asking, why did this happen? More importantly, all of us are asking, how do we respond?

As our rural community has come together around our Douglas County family, friends, and allies, we have been able to watch the sad magic of a mourning community coming together to take care of each other, and we have also witnessed divisive forces and narratives at work splintering the community.

This ROPnet, written collaboratively by human dignity group leaders from across the state, discusses the ways this moment is being used to drive wedges into communities and offers suggestions for Oregonians ready to take action to build community security.

A climate of fear, anger, and isolation

In the aftermath of the shooting, a cloud of speculation hung over Douglas County as people waited to hear who could commit such an atrocity. Because the shooter was said to have asked his victims about their religion, racist and Islamophobic caricatures were shared with hurried whispers of ISIS. Since the shooter was revealed to be neither Middle Eastern nor Muslim, conspiracy theories of the shooting being a hoax — a “false flag operation” — continue to ring out. A swell of national media has swarmed on Douglas County, covering skyrocketing gun sales and people’s reactions to the tragedy.

President Obama has announced he will travel to Roseburg Friday to meet with grieving families. The Roseburg Beacon, a religious right-wing newspaper, went on Fox News to declare that Obama isn’t welcome in Douglas County. This call has been echoed by “patriot” and militia groups who have quickly pulled together an open carry gun rally to “greet” Obama as he arrives in Roseburg. Carpools are coming in from Washington, Idaho, California, and Nevada to attend. Thousands of racist, Islamophobic, and violent messages have been posted across Facebook groups and media comment sections about Obama’s visit.

The Westboro Baptist Church has announced that they will picket the funerals of the UCC shooting victims, as part of their normal tactic of jumping into the national media to fundraise, generating a new round of outrage.

In neighboring Jackson County, militant right-wing ideological groups called the Oath Keepers and 3%ers have organized a blatantly racist and Islamophobic October 10th “Global Rally for Humanity” event in front of the Medford Police Department as part of a national day of action that is anti-Islam and pro-police. (For more information about their movement and ideology, see ROP’s description of “patriot” and paramilitary groups operating in Oregon.) A counter-rally, United Against Hate, is planned at the same time for folks to stand together for the right for everyone to live their lives fully with dignity and safety (more information is included below).

National news has picked up on Douglas County Sheriff John Hanlin’s associations with the Oath Keepers and the Constitutional Sheriffs & Peace Officers Association (CSPOA). Sheriff Hanlin’s membership in an Oath Keeper-affiliated group brings up questions about the neutrality of our public officials in a time where the community needs to have an honest dialogue about safety and security.

Can we bear any more divisions?

As we reel from tragedy and reflect on security, it is clear this is a moment to hold the many complexities and sometimes contradictions of our neighbors coming to grips with the enormity of what is in front of us.

It isn’t easy to live in rural Oregon, to make a living, to stay for the long haul. Many of us have seen our standards of living decrease over the generations. Our neighbors are struggling to meet the most basic needs of security, food, shelter, and healthcare. Incomes are not keeping up, and basic infrastructure is collapsing as our communities continue to be defunded.

These massive and blatant systemic failures do not have simple solutions, as much as we would all like to believe making change could be as easy as writing our legislators. In times of insecurity and fear, it is easy to blame, target, or scapegoat others. In fear, it is easy to seek domination and control rather than to seek mutual respect, accountability, and caring. It is hard to love our communities so much that we are willing to fight to keep them together, living and practicing our democratic values daily.

Many Oregonians take pride in our self-sufficiency and rural ingenuity. Given that strong cultural value, it is easy for people to get isolated. When people are hurting and our pain is being used to divide us, how are we building community and coming together? What does it actually mean to feel secure? We are here together to try to hold each other up, to meet each others’ needs, to build collective security — not to struggle and suffer alone, in isolation.

As rural Oregonians we are proud to be hard working, justice seeking, community building people who love our neighbors even when we don’t understand or agree with them. This is especially true in the wake of such tragedy.  But, really, can we bear any more divisions?

What if we as rural Oregonians began opening up our doors to our neighbors to genuinely dig into what is happening? What would happen if we suggested working together to meet community needs, rooted in our democratic values?

Our shared rural values in action

We speak often of our shared values — human dignity, democracy for all, just and welcoming communities — because not only are they what unite us, but also because our values are what lead us to action. We know that we can live our values of inclusive democracy, and we can make it clear to our neighbors that working together peacefully to create safe and secure communities is an option. The following are opportunities to engage and respond in this moment. Keep in mind, we are in this both for immediate action and for the long haul, and we invite you to show up where it feels right.

Join the Rapid Response Network: In rural communities, security comes from community members coming together, whether in the wake of crisis and tragedy, or to stand against hate and division. By joining the Rapid Response Network, you are committing to joining Oregonians across the state in taking immediate action if racist, Islamophobic, or other hate activities occur in your region. Click here to learn more and sign up.

Join the United Against Hate rally in Medford this Saturday, October 10th at 9AM at Alba Park! This is a counter-rally to the Islamophobic and racist “Global Rally for Humanity” scheduled for the same time in front of the Medford Police Department.

The organizers behind the Islamophobic event are using thinly veiled statements about being pro-law enforcement and pro-humanity. The premise for these vague sentiments is the idea that all Muslims are a threat to law enforcement and our families.

Together we will gather in Alba Park across from the Medford Police Department (the location for the anti-Muslim rally) at 9:00am Saturday Morning October 10th with signs promoting love, solidarity, and religious tolerance. We will stand together to affirm that there is a place for everyone in our community and that no one should live in fear or feel threatened because of their religious beliefs.

– Organize a Vigil for Love & Unity: Across Oregon, human dignity groups are planning vigils for next weekend, October 17th-18th, to stand in solidarity with Douglas County and to call for our communities to stand together in the face of fear and division.

Communities across the state are asking what it means to feel secure. In this moment, creating a space for neighbors to come together to grieve, remember those lost, and unite under our values of love and inclusion is a real way to start building security for our communities.

  • Click here for a handy planning guide.

  • Invite neighbors to come together in a park, on a street corner, or another public space. Light candles, hold signs calling for unity and understanding of each other. Share a few words, take a moment of silence, or have a prayer.

  • Organizing is about building relationships and security comes from people working together to support one another. How are we building relationships and coming together? Are we “calling people out” for their knee-jerk reactions to tragedy, or are we “calling them in” to have a deeper, nuanced conversation about our shared values?

  • Some key folks to engage with in this moment include faith leaders, parent groups, student organizations and clubs, supportive elected officials, and service groups (such as the Kiwanis, Rotary, etc.).

In moments like this, the confusion, fear, anger, and grief can feel overwhelming. But we also know that in joining together with our friends and neighbors we can overcome the differences that divide us, and we can create the communities we want and need. It is easy to feel isolated and alone in our towns, especially right now, but we remember that we are part of a living and loving movement for human dignity with all of you, and movement that grows brighter in the face of adversity. That is something we are inexpressibly grateful for.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English