俄勒冈州农村如何出现?

2014 年 12 月 1 日

亲爱的 ROPnet,

像你们中的许多人一样,我们的感恩节庆祝活动充满了对话,消化了弗格森发生的事情,迈克尔布朗发生了什么,以及这与我们和我们的社区有何关系。弗格森引发了一场关于种族的全国性对话,但这种对话并不经常进入主流媒体或白人家庭的客厅。

随着抗议、集会、示威和游行在全国(以及俄勒冈州!)与寻求正义的弗格森抗议者团结一致,很明显,我们中的许多人感到有必要采取行动——明显地为正义和我们的正义挺身而出。人类尊严的共同价值,即使是与我们的邻居和朋友展开对话。 Showing Up for Racial Justice (SURJ) 是一个由从事种族正义工作的白人组成的全国网络,召开了一次电话会议,讨论白人如何在他们的家乡社区围绕弗格森领导行动和对话,超过 1,000 人注册,近 500 人参与, 最大限度地提高通话容量。

很明显,人们渴望深入了解我们的社区在这一刻需要参与什么。让我们一起挖掘,分享我们自己的感受和我们在社区中看到的东西,并讨论俄勒冈州农村可以一起做什么。

在这一刻,俄勒冈州的农村和小镇如何成为人类尊严的代言人?
加入我们,参加 12 月 4 日星期四下午 5:30 的战略电话会议!

点击这里回复 我们会将来电信息通过电子邮件发送给您!

这是对希望组织起来的人们以及正在寻找工具与朋友和家人进行艰苦但深思熟虑的对话的人们的呼吁。

在如此两极分化和政治化的时刻,让我们找到方法来谈论彼此和我们社区的头条新闻。人类尊严团体长期以来一直是我们社区的道德指南针。让我们延续这个传统!

热烈地,
杰西卡

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

How can rural Oregon show up?‏

December 1st, 2014

Dear ROPnet,

Like a lot of you, our Thanksgiving celebrations were filled with conversation, digesting what’s going on in Ferguson, what happened to Michael Brown, and how this relates to us and our communities. Ferguson has sparked a national conversation about race that doesn’t often make it into mainstream media or into the living rooms of white families.

With the wave of protests, rallies, demonstrations, and marches materializing across the country (and across Oregon!) in solidarity with Ferguson protesters seeking justice, it is clear that many of us feel compelled to action — to visibly stand up for justice and our shared value of human dignity, even if it’s to open up a conversation with our neighbors and our friends. Showing Up for Racial Justice (SURJ), a national network of white folks doing racial justice work, held a conference call about how white folks can lead action and conversation around Ferguson in their home communities that over 1,000 folks registered for and almost 500 folks participated, maxing out the call capacity.

It is clear that there is a hunger to dive in and figure out what our communities need to engage in this moment. Let’s dig in together to share what we ourselves are feeling and what we are seeing in our communities, and discuss what rural Oregon can do together.

How can rural and small town Oregonians be a voice for human dignity in this moment?
Join us for a strategy conference call this Thursday, December 4th at 5:30 PM!

Click here to RSVP and we will email you the call-in information!

This is a call for folks looking to organize and for folks looking for tools to engage in the hard but thoughtful conversations with friends and family.

In a moment that is so polarized and politicized, let us finds ways to talk through what’s happening in the headlines with each other and our communities. Human dignity groups have a long history of being the moral compass for our communities. Let us continue that tradition!

Warmly,
Jessica

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English