عدالة الإسكان في بيند وكوتيج جروف

عزيزي روب نت ،

تتمتع ولاية أوريغون بواحد من أعلى معدلات التشرد في البلاد، وقد شهدت ولايتنا زيادة هائلة منذ بداية الوباء. مع ارتفاع درجات الحرارة في الصيف الحار، ناهيك عن الدخان المتصاعد من حرائق الغابات إلى المجتمعات، أصبح الحصول على سكن مستقر أكثر أهمية من أي وقت مضى. 

يدرك المنظمون في جميع أنحاء ريف ولاية أوريغون أن مستوى المعيشة المعقول هو شرط لديمقراطية مزدهرة، ويكافحون بشدة لحماية جيرانهم المشردين. يركز العديد من الأشخاص جهودهم على حلول مثل استخدام تمويل البنية التحتية الفيدرالية لبناء الملاجئ وبرامج مواقف السيارات الآمنة والإسكان الميسور التكلفة والمخيمات المُدارة والمزيد. 

عندما تأتي هذه الإصلاحات ببطء شديد، أو تفشل عمليات التعاون، تتخذ المجتمعات إجراءات سريعة لوقف أو تقليل الضرر الناجم عن مداهمات الشرطة للمخيمين. في وسط ولاية أوريغون، كان أفراد المجتمع ينظمون أنفسهم للتوقف عمليات المسح على طريق Hunnel في Bend وJuniper Ridge على أراضي المقاطعة بين Bend وRedmond. خلال ما تسميه إحدى الصحف المحلية "صيف الاجتياحات"، يستخدم المنظمون البريد الإلكتروني وSignal (تطبيق مراسلة مشفر) لإرسال تحديثات سريعة ودعوات واضحة تحث المجتمع على اتخاذ إجراء. لقد تحدثوا عن دعوى قضائية ضد مدينة بيند من قبل بعض أولئك الذين تم اقتلاعهم بسبب عمليات الاجتياح، وقدموا رسائل مقترحة للناس لإرسال بريد إلكتروني إلى أعضاء مجلس المدينة، ونظموا احتجاجًا لإثبات أن المجتمع مرعوب من تصرفات المدينة. الآن، هناك دعوى قضائية معلقة أمام مدينة بيند تدعي أن قانون التخييم في المدينة يعد عقوبة قاسية وغير عادية بموجب دستوري الولايات المتحدة وولاية أوريغون. إذا كنت في بيند وترغب في المشاركة في دعم جيرانك المشردين، تواصل مع مشروع بيند للأسهم في Bendequityproject@gmail.com.

وفي الوقت نفسه، دخل عدد قليل من الأفراد كوخ غروف يحاولون استدعاء ثلاثة من أعضاء مجلس المدينة، وإلقاء اللوم عليهم في "تمكين" وجذب المزيد من الأشخاص المشردين إلى المجتمع. وينادي قادة مجموعة الكرامة الإنسانية بهذا الأمر على حقيقته: كتبت جمعية Blackberry Pie في آخر نشرة إخبارية لها، "هيا أيها المتذكرون، فقط قولوا ذلك. أنت فقط لا تريد المشردين في مجتمعنا. تحقق من النشرة الإخبارية المرتبطة لمزيد من المعلومات وطرق المشاركة.

ما الذي يحدث مع الإسكان وأفراد المجتمع المشردين في منطقتك؟ كيف يعمل مجتمعك على إيجاد حلول حقيقية؟ شاركنا بقصة حتى نتمكن كدولة من وضع استراتيجية حول ما ينجح وما يجب القيام به! البريد الإلكتروني سيدرا في sidra@rop.org.

بحرارة

السدرة وفريق شرطة عمان السلطانية

سهل الطباعة، PDF والبريد الإلكتروني
العربية

Housing Justice in Bend and Cottage Grove

Dear ROPnet,

Oregon has one of the highest rates of homelessness in the country, and our state has experienced a huge increase since the start of the pandemic. With hot summer temperatures spiking, not to mention the smoke rolling off wildfires and into communities, having stable housing is more important than ever. 

Organizers across rural Oregon know that a reasonable standard of living is a requirement for a thriving democracy, and are fighting hard to protect their houseless neighbors. Many people are focusing efforts on solutions such as using federal infrastructure funding to build shelters, safe parking programs, affordable housing, managed camps, and more. 

When those fixes come too slowly, or collaborations fall through, communities are quickly taking action to stop or reduce the harm of police sweeps of campers. In Central Oregon, community members have been organizing to stop sweeps on Hunnel Road in Bend and Juniper Ridge on county land between Bend and Redmond. During what a local paper is calling the “Summer of Sweeps,” organizers have been using email and Signal (an encrypted messaging app) to send out rapid updates and clear calls to action to the community. They shared about a lawsuit against the city of Bend by some of those being uprooted by sweeps, provided suggested messaging for folks to email city council members, and organized a protest to demonstrate that the community is horrified by the city’s actions. Now, a lawsuit is pending before the City of Bend that claims that the city’s camping code is cruel and unusual punishment under the U.S. and Oregon constitutions. If you are in Bend and want to get involved in supporting your houseless neighbors, reach out to Bend Equity Project at bendequityproject@gmail.com.

Meanwhile, a few individuals in Cottage Grove are attempting to recall three city councilors, blaming them for “enabling” and attracting more houseless people to the community. Human dignity group leaders are calling this out for what it really is: Blackberry Pie Society wrote in their latest newsletter, “C’mon Recallers, just say it. You just don’t want homeless people in our community.” Check out the linked newsletter for more info and ways to get involved.

What’s going on with housing and houseless community members in your area? How is your community working towards real solutions? Share a story with us so we can strategize as a state about what’s working and what needs doing! Email Sidra at sidra@rop.org.

Warmly,

Sidra and the ROP Team

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English