本德和科蒂奇格罗夫的住房正义

亲爱的 ROPnet,

俄勒冈州是全国无家可归率最高的州之一,自大流行开始以来,我们州的无家可归率大幅增加。随着炎热的夏季气温飙升,更不用说野火冒出的烟雾进入社区,拥有稳定的住房比以往任何时候都更加重要。 

俄勒冈州农村地区的组织者知道,合理的生活水平是繁荣民主的必要条件,因此正在努力保护无家可归的邻居。 许多人将精力集中在解决方案上,例如利用联邦基础设施资金建造庇护所、安全停车计划、经济适用房、管理营地等。 

当这些解决办法来得太慢,或者合作失败时,社区就会迅速采取行动,阻止或减少警察扫荡露营者的伤害。在俄勒冈州中部,社区成员一直在组织起来制止 扫过本德 (Bend) 的亨内尔路 (Hunnel Road) 以及本德 (Bend) 和雷德蒙德 (Redmond) 之间的县土地上的杜松岭 (Juniper Ridge)。当地一家报纸称之为“扫荡之夏”,组织者一直在使用电子邮件和 Signal(一种加密的消息应用程序)向社区发送快速更新和明确的行动号召。他们分享了一些因扫荡而背井离乡的人对本德市提起的诉讼,为人们向市议会成员发送电子邮件提供了建议的信息,并组织了一场抗议活动,以表明社区对该市的行为感到震惊。现在,本德市正在审理一项诉讼,该诉讼声称,根据美国和俄勒冈州宪法,该市的露营法规是残酷且不寻常的惩罚。 如果您在本德并且想要参与支持无家可归的邻居,请联系 弯曲股权项目 在 bendequityproject@gmail.com.

与此同时,一些人在 小屋格罗夫 正试图召回三名市议员,指责他们“促成”并吸引更多无家可归者来到社区。人类尊严团体领导人指出了这一点: 黑莓派协会在他们最新的时事通讯中写道:“回忆者们,快说吧。你只是不想让无家可归的人出现在我们的社区里。” 查看链接的时事通讯,了解更多信息和参与方式。

您所在地区的住房和无家可归社区成员的情况如何?您的社区如何努力寻求真正的解决方案?与我们分享一个故事,以便我们可以作为一个国家制定关于哪些措施有效以及哪些措施需要做的战略!给西德拉发电子邮件: sidra@rop.org.

热烈地,

Sidra 和 ROP 团队

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Housing Justice in Bend and Cottage Grove

Dear ROPnet,

Oregon has one of the highest rates of homelessness in the country, and our state has experienced a huge increase since the start of the pandemic. With hot summer temperatures spiking, not to mention the smoke rolling off wildfires and into communities, having stable housing is more important than ever. 

Organizers across rural Oregon know that a reasonable standard of living is a requirement for a thriving democracy, and are fighting hard to protect their houseless neighbors. Many people are focusing efforts on solutions such as using federal infrastructure funding to build shelters, safe parking programs, affordable housing, managed camps, and more. 

When those fixes come too slowly, or collaborations fall through, communities are quickly taking action to stop or reduce the harm of police sweeps of campers. In Central Oregon, community members have been organizing to stop sweeps on Hunnel Road in Bend and Juniper Ridge on county land between Bend and Redmond. During what a local paper is calling the “Summer of Sweeps,” organizers have been using email and Signal (an encrypted messaging app) to send out rapid updates and clear calls to action to the community. They shared about a lawsuit against the city of Bend by some of those being uprooted by sweeps, provided suggested messaging for folks to email city council members, and organized a protest to demonstrate that the community is horrified by the city’s actions. Now, a lawsuit is pending before the City of Bend that claims that the city’s camping code is cruel and unusual punishment under the U.S. and Oregon constitutions. If you are in Bend and want to get involved in supporting your houseless neighbors, reach out to Bend Equity Project at bendequityproject@gmail.com.

Meanwhile, a few individuals in Cottage Grove are attempting to recall three city councilors, blaming them for “enabling” and attracting more houseless people to the community. Human dignity group leaders are calling this out for what it really is: Blackberry Pie Society wrote in their latest newsletter, “C’mon Recallers, just say it. You just don’t want homeless people in our community.” Check out the linked newsletter for more info and ways to get involved.

What’s going on with housing and houseless community members in your area? How is your community working towards real solutions? Share a story with us so we can strategize as a state about what’s working and what needs doing! Email Sidra at sidra@rop.org.

Warmly,

Sidra and the ROP Team

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English