举办 ROP 展览以加强地方组织

过去几周一直是旋风!当我们屏住呼吸并开始思考我们当地的组织将如何利用选举结果时, 现在是立足于我们关心的当地问题并建立更广泛的人群以提高我们社区的人类尊严的好时机。 本顿县的当地组织者一直在这样做,并且正在结束为期数周的 ROP 巡回展览, 弥合鸿沟,捍卫尊严! 当我们中的许多人都在寻找再次安全地聚集在一起的感觉时,当他们聚集在展览周围、分享美食和交谈时,本顿县的领导人想起了简单地彼此相处的快乐。继续阅读以了解举办展览如何支持您的团队就未来几个月的重要问题进行社区对话!

标题为“代表科瓦利斯市中心的农村居民”的报纸文章图片

本顿县组织者主持 弥合分歧,捍卫尊严:自 1992 年以来,俄勒冈州农村人如何推动民主向前发展! 在科瓦利斯的威斯敏斯特大厦待了两周。 第一天,数十名社区成员参观了展览,要么独立细读面板,要么与其他人坐下来,作为向公众开放的两个预定社区对话的一部分。主办方提供了小吃、热苹果酒,并提供了有关农村组织项目和八个双语展板中突出显示的组织活动的一些背景信息。

谈话集中在人们最想解决的当地问题上,包括警察频繁地强制驱逐无家可归的露营者(称为清扫)、社区中恐跨和恐同的言论,以及缺乏负担得起的住房。主持人昏倒了 STAND 选举指南,以及 指南上的信息图 (如下图)引发了更多关于有多少家庭将其收入的大部分用于房租的讨论。 对于当地组织者来说,举办展览是解决这些问题的持续努力的一部分! 在小组对话和展览展示的整个过程中,人们在便利贴上写下他们认为最重要的社区问题并将其张贴在板上。主办方还贴出了签到单,收集大家的联系方式。 当地领导人计划使用他们收集的联系信息,以及社区成员通过便利贴提交的当地问题来计划未来的客厅对话。

当地组织者的规划和外展使举办展览取得了巨大的成功。 在展览到达前一个多月,将展览带到镇上的主要组织者 Aleita 开始接触潜在的场地以商讨举办展览的事宜。她与 Corvallis Daytime Drop-in Center 合作,招募了朋友和其他组织者帮助她制作有关展览的传单,并制定了外展计划,让尽可能多的社区成员知道展览即将来到镇上。

展览在威斯敏斯特大厦向公众开放前的周末,几位当地领导人在市中心农贸市场旁边设置了展板,作为他们所谓的“先睹为快”的一部分。几个人在熨衣板上做了一个大牌子,然后在农贸市场周围走来走去,这样人们就知道要来看看这些面板了。他们还分发了传单,其中包含有关未来两周内可以在哪里观看展览的信息。阿莱塔打电话给当地一家报纸《公报时报》,一名记者出来采访了她并拍照。第二天,他们登上了报纸的头版!组织者还联系了其他数十名当地团体领导人,请他们宣传。由于这些团体强大的通讯系统,展览的消息和相应的社区对话也通过许多团体的电子邮件列表和口耳相传进行了分享! 

本顿县的组织者利用展览中强大的运动历史和美味的食物和饮料,将人们聚集在舒适的社区中,激发对话,并建立更广泛的圈子。 在您的社区中做同样的事情会是什么样子? 查看我们的网站,了解有关展览本身以及如何举办展览的更多信息! 联系我们 sidra@rop.org 我们可以支持您制定计划! 

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Hosting the ROP Exhibit to Strengthen Local Organizing

The last few weeks have been a whirlwind! As we catch our breath and begin to think about how our local organizing will build off of the election results, now is a great time to be grounding ourselves in the local issues that we care about and building a wider circle of folks to advance human dignity in our communities. Local organizers in Benton County have been doing just that, and are wrapping up a weeks-long period of hosting ROP’s traveling exhibit, Bridging Divides, Defending Dignity! As many of us are navigating what it looks like to safely gather in person again, Benton County leaders were reminded of the joy of simply being in community with one another, when they gathered around the exhibit, sharing good food and conversation. Read on to find out how hosting the exhibit can support your group in having community conversations about the issues that matter in the coming months!

Image of newspaper article with heading "repping the ruralites in downtown Corvallis"

Benton County organizers hosted Bridging Divides, Defending Dignity: How rural Oregonians have moved democracy forward since 1992! at the Westminster House in Corvallis for two weeks. On the first day, dozens of community members visited the exhibit either to peruse the panels independently or to sit down with other folks as part of two scheduled community conversations that were open to the public. The hosts provided snacks, hot cider, and some background about the Rural Organizing Project and the organizing campaigns highlighted in the eight bilingual exhibit panels.

The conversations focused on local issues that folks most want to address, including the frequent, forced eviction of unhoused campers by police known as sweeps, transphobic and homophobic rhetoric in the community, and the lack of affordable housing. The hosts passed out STAND Election Guides, and the infographic on the guides (pictured below) sparked more conversation about how many families are paying too much of their income on rent. For the local organizers, hosting the exhibit was a part of ongoing efforts to address these issues! Both during the group conversations and throughout the entire time the exhibit was displayed, people wrote what community issues they think are most important on post-it notes and posted those up on a board. The hosts also put out sign-in sheets to collect everyone’s contact information. Local leaders plan to use the contact information they collected, as well as the local issues community members submitted via post-it notes to plan a future living room conversation.

The planning and outreach of the local organizers made hosting the exhibit a huge success. More than a month before the exhibit arrived, Aleita, the lead organizer who brought the exhibit to town, started reaching out to potential venues about hosting the exhibit. She collaborated with the Corvallis Daytime Drop-in Center, recruited friends and fellow organizers to help her make flyers about the exhibit, and made an outreach plan so that as many community members as possible knew that the exhibit was coming to town.

The weekend before the exhibit opened to the public at the Westminster House, several local leaders set up the panels next to the downtown farmers market, as part of what they called a “Sneak Preview.” A couple of folks took a big sign on an ironing board and walked around the farmers market so that people knew to come and check out the panels. They also passed out flyers with information about where the exhibit could be viewed over the next two weeks. Aleita had called a local newspaper, the Gazette Times, and a reporter came out and interviewed her and took photos. The next day, they made the front page of the paper! The organizers also reached out to dozens of other local group leaders and asked them to spread the word. Thanks to those groups’ strong communication systems, news of the exhibit and corresponding community conversations were also shared over many groups’ email lists and by word of mouth! 

Benton County organizers used the powerful movement history in the exhibit and yummy food and drink to bring folks together in comfort and community, spark conversation, and build a wider circle. What might it look like to do the same in your community? Check out our website for more information about the exhibit itself and how to host it! Reach out to us at sidra@rop.org and we can support you in making a plan! 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English