نوفمبر / ديسمبر 2010 وكالة السياحة المركزية: تكريم أبطال حقوق الإنسان لدينا

يهدف نشاط طاولة المطبخ لهذا الشهر إلى منح شهادة لأحد أعضاء المجتمع الذين يعزز عملهم مادة واحدة أو أكثر من المواد الثلاثين للإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان (UDHR). على مر السنين ، تم تكرار KTA كعمل سنوي لأنك تخبرنا أن هذه طريقة ممتعة وسهلة وفعالة وإيجابية للاحتفال وزيادة الوعي بانتصارات ونضالات حقوق الإنسان.

لماذا هذا النشاط؟  نحن نعيش في زمن يعتبر فيه التعذيب طبيعيا وعقلانيا. تعتبر مداهمات مكان العمل ونقل جيراننا بعيدًا إلى مراكز الاحتجاز ردودًا منطقية على سياسة الهجرة والاقتصادية الفاشلة. مجموعة كرامة الإنسان الخاصة بك هي بوصلة أخلاقية للمجتمع في هذه الأوقات العصيبة. في الذكرى السنوية العاشرة للإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان في ديسمبر / كانون الأول ، دعونا نذكر مجتمعاتنا بقيمنا المشتركة للديمقراطية وحقوق الإنسان بينما نفكر في السياسات والممارسات التي ينبغي أن يشملها المجتمع الديمقراطي العادل.

تقترح شرطة عمان السلطانية هذا العام أن تنظر مجموعتك في منح شرف جائزة حقوق الإنسان لعضو من مجتمعك كان نشطًا في النضال من أجل حقوق المهاجرين أو عضو في مجتمع المهاجرين ويحدث فرقًا إيجابيًا في بلدتك . عندما تهيمن على عناوين الأخبار قصص غير إنسانية عن المهاجرين ، فإن قضاء الوقت في تسليط الضوء على قصة إيجابية عن أحد أعضاء مجتمع المهاجرين يكون أكثر قيمة من أي وقت مضى. يوفر هذا أيضًا فرصة لمجموعتك المحلية لتقوية علاقتك مع قادة ومنظمات مجتمع المهاجرين.

المزيد عن الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان: على غرار شبكة الديمقراطية التابعة لشرطة عمان السلطانية ، يمكن للإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان أن يعمل كإطار هيكلي لربط القضايا التي تبدو متميزة. الفئات الخمس لحقوق الإنسان المحددة في الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان هي حقوق الإنسان المدنية ، وحقوق الإنسان الاقتصادية ، وحقوق الإنسان الاجتماعية ، وحقوق الإنسان الثقافية ، وحقوق الإنسان السياسية. (لمشاهدة نسخة من الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان ، انتقل إلى www.udhr.org أو اطلب من شرطة عمان السلطانية أن ترسل لك واحدة). حقوق الإنسان المدنية هي تلك الحقوق مثل حرية التعبير والتجمع السلمي والتحرر من التمييز. تشمل حقوق الإنسان الاقتصادية الحق في الحصول على أجر معيشي مقابل عملك ، والحق في أن تكون قادرًا على إطعام أسرتك بعد العمل ، والحق في البقاء على قيد الحياة إذا لم تكن قادرًا على العمل. تتحدث حقوق الإنسان الاجتماعية عن احتياجات كل شخص من السكن والتعليم والرعاية الصحية. تشمل حقوق الإنسان الثقافية حقوق ممارسة ثقافتك الخاصة ، والدين الذي تختاره ، واللغة التي تختارها. تشمل حقوق الإنسان السياسية الحق في انتخابات حرة ، والحق في الجنسية ، والحق في حرية التنقل داخل وخارج بلدك.

خطوات لإكمال النشاط:

1. توصل إلى إجماع على أن مجموعتك تريد استخدام الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان كوسيلة لتسليط الضوء على عمل أحد أعضاء المجتمع في مجال حقوق الإنسان.

2. طرح أفكار لأشخاص في مجتمعك سيكونون مرشحين بارزين لتلقي شهادة تقدير لعملهم في مجال حقوق الإنسان. هل هناك قائد في مجتمع المهاجرين يستحق التكريم؟ هل يوجد مقدم خدمة ، أو مدرس أو مدرب ، أو قائد نقابي ، أو مدرس ESL ، أو معلم مواطنة ، أو صاحب عمل محلي ، أو قائد طلابي داخل مجتمع المهاجرين يمكنك تكريمه؟ ضع في اعتبارك الاتصال بمنظمات المهاجرين المحلية لطلب ترشيحات أو أفكار.

3. أرسل بريدًا إلكترونيًا إلى kayla@rop.org للحصول على نسخة من الشهادة. املأ الشهادة وقرر كيف ستقدمها (بالبريد ، شخصيًا ، في اجتماعك الشهري القادم ، في اجتماع حكومي محلي ، إلخ.)

4. تفويض شخص أو فريق صغير لإرسال رسالة إلى المحرر و / أو بيان صحفي حول الجائزة (البريد الإلكتروني kayla@rop.org للحصول على عينات). ضع في اعتبارك ما إذا كنت تريد عمل قصة موسعة أكثر: اتصل بالصحافة المحلية واطلب منهم إعداد مقابلة مع متلقي الجائزة.

5. إذا سمح الوقت ، ناقش كيف يمكن لمجموعتك الاستفادة بشكل أكبر من الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان كإطار عمل. كيف يرتبط عملك بمبادئ حقوق الإنسان؟ كيف تندرج تحت مواد الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان؟ كيف يغير الحديث عن الهجرة في إطار حقوق الإنسان الطريقة التي تتناول بها هذه القضية؟

العربية

Nov/Dec 2010 KTA: Honoring Our Human Rights Heroes

This month’s Kitchen Table Activity is to award a certificate to a community member(s) whose work strengthens one or more of the thirty articles of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR).  Over the years, this KTA has been repeated as an annual action because you tell us that this is a fun, easy, effective and positive way to celebrate and raise awareness of human rights victories and struggles.

WHY THIS ACTIVITY?  We live in a time when torture is deemed normal and rational.  Workplace raids and whisking our neighbors away to detention centers are considered logical responses to failed immigration and economic policy.  Your human dignity group is a moral compass for the community in these troubled times. On the Dec. 10th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, let’s remind our communities of our shared values of democracy and human rights as we consider just what policies and practices a fair and democratic society should include.

This year ROP suggests that your group consider bestowing the honor of a Human Rights Award to a member of your community who has been active in the struggle for immigrant rights or who is a member of the immigrant community and is making a positive difference in your town.  When headlines are dominated by dehumanizing stories about immigrants, taking the time to highlight a positive story about an immigrant community member is more valuable than ever.  This also provides an opportunity for your local group to strengthen your relationship with immigrant community leaders and organizations.

More on the UDHR: Much like ROP’s Democracy Grid, the UDHR can work as a structural framework to connect seemingly distinct issues.  The five categories of human rights outlined in the UDHR are civil human rights, economic human rights, social human rights, cultural human rights and political human rights.  (To see a copy of the UDHR go to www.udhr.org or ask ROP to mail you one.) Civil Human Rights are those such as free speech, peaceful assembly, and freedom from discrimination.  Economic Human Rights include the right to a living wage for your work, the right to be able to feed your family after working, the right to be able to survive if you are not able to work.  Social Human Rights speak to the needs each person has for housing, education, and health care.  Cultural Human Rights include the rights to practice your own culture, your religion of choice, and your language of choice.  Political Human Rights include the right to free elections, the right to a nationality, and the right to free movement in and out of your country.

STEPS TO COMPLETE THE ACTIVITY:

1.    Reach consensus that your group wants to use the UDHR as a vehicle to highlight the human rights work of a community member.

2.    Brainstorm ideas of people in your community that would be notable candidates for receiving a certificate of appreciation for their human rights work.  Is there a leader in the immigrant community who deserves to be honored?  Is there a service provider, schoolteacher or coach, union leader, ESL teacher, citizenship educator, local business owner, or student leader within the immigrant community that you can honor?  Consider approaching local immigrant organizations to ask for nominations or ideas.

3.   Email kayla@rop.org for a copy of the certificate.  Fill out the certificate and decide how you will present it (by mail, in person, at your next monthly meeting, at a local governmental meeting, etc.)

4.    Delegate a person or a small team to submit a letter to the editor and/or a press release about the award (email kayla@rop.org for samples).  Consider if you want to do a more expanded story: Contact your local press and ask them to set up an interview with the award recipient.

5.    If time permits, discuss how your group can further utilize the UDHR as a framework.  How does your work connect to human rights principles?  How does it fall under the articles of the UDHR?  How does talking about immigration in a human rights framework change how you approach the issue?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English