2010 年 11 月/12 月 KTA:向我们的人权英雄致敬

本月的厨房餐桌活动将向社区成员颁发证书,他们的工作强化了《世界人权宣言》(UDHR) 三十条中的一项或多项。多年来,这项 KTA 已作为年度行动重复出现,因为您告诉我们,这是一种有趣、简单、有效和积极的方式来庆祝和提高对人权胜利和斗争的认识。

为什么要开展这项活动?  我们生活在酷刑被视为正常和合理的时代。工作场所突袭和将我们的邻居带到拘留中心被认为是对失败的移民和经济政策的合乎逻辑的反应。在这些困难时期,您的人类尊严团体是社区的道德指南针。在《世界人权宣言》12 月 10 周年之际,让我们提醒我们的社区注意我们共同的民主和人权价值观,因为我们正在考虑公平和民主的社会应该包括哪些政策和做法。

今年 ROP 建议您的团队考虑将人权奖的荣誉授予您社区中积极为争取移民权利而斗争的成员,或者是移民社区的成员,并且正在为您所在的城镇带来积极影响.当头条新闻充斥着关于移民的非人性故事时,花时间强调关于移民社区成员的正面故事比以往任何时候都更有价值。这也为您的当地团体提供了一个机会,以加强您与移民社区领袖和组织的关系。

更多关于《世界人权宣言》: 就像 ROP 的民主网格一样,UDHR 可以作为一个结构框架来连接看似不同的问题。 《世界人权宣言》概述的五类人权是公民人权、经济人权、社会人权、文化人权和政治人权。 (要查看 UDHR 的副本,请访问 www.udhr.org 或要求 ROP 给您邮寄一份。)公民人权是指言论自由、和平集会和免受歧视等权利。经济人权包括为您的工作获得生活工资的权利、工作后能够养家糊口的权利、如果您无法工作则能够生存的权利。社会人权涉及每个人对住房、教育和医疗保健的需求。文化人权包括实践您自己的文化、您选择的宗教和您选择的语言的权利。政治人权包括自由选举权、国籍权以及自由进出贵国的权利。

完成活动的步骤:

1. 达成共识,您的小组希望使用《世界人权宣言》作为强调社区成员人权工作的工具。

2. 集思广益想出你所在社区的人的想法,这些人将是获得人权工作赞赏证书的重要候选人。移民社区中是否有值得尊敬的领袖?移民社区中是否有服务提供者、学校教师或教练、工会领袖、ESL 教师、公民教育者、当地企业主或学生领袖值得您尊敬?考虑与当地移民组织联系以征求提名或想法。

3. 发送电子邮件至 kayla@rop.org 获取证书副本。填写证书并决定您将如何展示(通过邮寄、亲自、在您下一次的月度会议上、在当地政府会议上等)

4. 委派一个人或一个小团队向编辑提交一封关于该奖项的信和/或新闻稿(发送电子邮件至 kayla@rop.org 获取样本)。考虑一下您是否想做一个更广泛的故事:联系您当地的媒体,并要求他们安排对获奖者的采访。

5. 如果时间允许,讨论您的小组如何进一步利用 UDHR 作为框架。您的工作如何与人权原则相联系?它如何属于《世界人权宣言》的条款?在人权框架中谈论移民如何改变您处理该问题的方式?

简体中文

Nov/Dec 2010 KTA: Honoring Our Human Rights Heroes

This month’s Kitchen Table Activity is to award a certificate to a community member(s) whose work strengthens one or more of the thirty articles of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR).  Over the years, this KTA has been repeated as an annual action because you tell us that this is a fun, easy, effective and positive way to celebrate and raise awareness of human rights victories and struggles.

WHY THIS ACTIVITY?  We live in a time when torture is deemed normal and rational.  Workplace raids and whisking our neighbors away to detention centers are considered logical responses to failed immigration and economic policy.  Your human dignity group is a moral compass for the community in these troubled times. On the Dec. 10th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, let’s remind our communities of our shared values of democracy and human rights as we consider just what policies and practices a fair and democratic society should include.

This year ROP suggests that your group consider bestowing the honor of a Human Rights Award to a member of your community who has been active in the struggle for immigrant rights or who is a member of the immigrant community and is making a positive difference in your town.  When headlines are dominated by dehumanizing stories about immigrants, taking the time to highlight a positive story about an immigrant community member is more valuable than ever.  This also provides an opportunity for your local group to strengthen your relationship with immigrant community leaders and organizations.

More on the UDHR: Much like ROP’s Democracy Grid, the UDHR can work as a structural framework to connect seemingly distinct issues.  The five categories of human rights outlined in the UDHR are civil human rights, economic human rights, social human rights, cultural human rights and political human rights.  (To see a copy of the UDHR go to www.udhr.org or ask ROP to mail you one.) Civil Human Rights are those such as free speech, peaceful assembly, and freedom from discrimination.  Economic Human Rights include the right to a living wage for your work, the right to be able to feed your family after working, the right to be able to survive if you are not able to work.  Social Human Rights speak to the needs each person has for housing, education, and health care.  Cultural Human Rights include the rights to practice your own culture, your religion of choice, and your language of choice.  Political Human Rights include the right to free elections, the right to a nationality, and the right to free movement in and out of your country.

STEPS TO COMPLETE THE ACTIVITY:

1.    Reach consensus that your group wants to use the UDHR as a vehicle to highlight the human rights work of a community member.

2.    Brainstorm ideas of people in your community that would be notable candidates for receiving a certificate of appreciation for their human rights work.  Is there a leader in the immigrant community who deserves to be honored?  Is there a service provider, schoolteacher or coach, union leader, ESL teacher, citizenship educator, local business owner, or student leader within the immigrant community that you can honor?  Consider approaching local immigrant organizations to ask for nominations or ideas.

3.   Email kayla@rop.org for a copy of the certificate.  Fill out the certificate and decide how you will present it (by mail, in person, at your next monthly meeting, at a local governmental meeting, etc.)

4.    Delegate a person or a small team to submit a letter to the editor and/or a press release about the award (email kayla@rop.org for samples).  Consider if you want to do a more expanded story: Contact your local press and ask them to set up an interview with the award recipient.

5.    If time permits, discuss how your group can further utilize the UDHR as a framework.  How does your work connect to human rights principles?  How does it fall under the articles of the UDHR?  How does talking about immigration in a human rights framework change how you approach the issue?

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English