纪念 Marcy Westerling 的遗产

2015 年 6 月 16 日

亲爱的 ROP 朋友们,

5810901923757560738
令人难以置信、鼓舞人心的 Marcy Westerling:1959 年 3 月 25 日 – 2015 年 6 月 10 日

ROP 的创始人 Marcy Westerling 于 2015 年 6 月 10 日因卵巢癌去世,让我们感动的人太多了。领导我们的社区。上周末在农村核心小组和战略会议上,我们分享了我们从 Marcy 和她一生的工作中汲取的故事和灵感,并致力于推进这项工作。

在 ROP,我们坚定地致力于继承 Marcy 的遗产。您可以通过四种方式加入我们:

分享您关于 Marcy 如何改变的故事
作出财政贡献 Marcy Westerling 遗产基金
今年夏天晚些时候参加玛西纪念活动
最重要的是:继续为我们的社区伸张正义!

向马西致敬: 尊重 Marcy 的遗产,首先要尊重她对社区、俄勒冈州农村、组织和运动建设的无数贡献。 ROP 正在收集和编辑对 Marcy 的致敬,以供发布和在我们的网站上分享。请向我们发送关于 Marcy 如何改变您的生活和组织的故事,无论多么简单或复杂。

她是如何激励你从事司法工作的?
她对你的社区有什么影响

没有贡献太小或太大。发送电子邮件至 cara@rop.org,分享您对 Marcy Westerling 的敬意。

Marcy Westerling 遗产基金: ROP 自豪地宣布成立 Marcy Westerling Legacy Fund。 20 多年前,Marcy Westerling 的热情和组织才华引发了一场争取人类尊严的运动。 Marcy Westerling Legacy Fund 旨在表彰 Marcy 毕生的工作。它将通过 ROP 逐县组织、建设和发展支持民主的人类尊严团体的基层网络,在俄勒冈州延续 Marcy 的遗产。

此外,Marcy Westerling Legacy Fund 的项目将记录和分享俄勒冈州农村组织二十多年来的经验教训,作为未来几十年农村组织者和领导者的试金石。最初的项目包括农村组织之声、农村组织故事和策略的资源,以及在俄勒冈大学建立 Marcy Westerling 收藏。

ROP 和全州的人类尊严网络是 Marcy 为正义所做的工作的鲜活遗产和证明。 ROP 的董事会和员工为能够以 Marcy 的名义继续工作感到谦卑和荣幸。如果您想向 Marcy Westerling Legacy Fund 进行纪念捐赠,请在线进行 这里.或寄支票至:ROP PO Box 1350 Scappoose,或 97056 **请在备忘录中包括 Marcy Westerling Legacy Fund。

玛西·韦斯特林 (Marcy Westerling) 的纪念碑: 计划在今年夏天晚些时候为马西举行纪念活动,我们邀请所有被她感动的人加入我们,庆祝她的一生,向她的领导和组织致敬。更多细节即将推出。

继续为正义工作: 感谢所有分享您的想法、回忆、哀悼和灵感的人。我们在社区中共同为正义所做的工作是我们最好地尊重 Marcy 和她的遗产的方式。感谢您在社区中推进民主和人类尊严愿景的所有方式。玛西·韦斯特林出席!

带着爱和感激,
卡拉 & 杰西卡

PS – 如果您想让其他人了解 Marcy 以及他们如何支持她的遗产,请将他们发送至 www.rop.org/legacy.

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Honoring Marcy Westerling’s Legacy

June 16th, 2015

Dear Friends of ROP,

5810901923757560738
The incredible, inspiring Marcy Westerling: March 25, 1959 – June 10, 2015

There are so many of us who have been touched by ROP’s Founder, Marcy Westerling, who died of ovarian cancer on June 10th, 2015. A fierce organizer, a visionary and a movement leader, Marcy brought many of us into justice work or inspired us to lead in our communities. This past weekend at the Rural Caucus & Strategy Session, we shared stories and inspiration that we draw from Marcy and her life’s work and committed ourselves to carrying this work forward.

At ROP, we are deeply committed to carrying on Marcy’s legacy. There are four ways you can join us:

Share your story of how Marcy made a difference
Make a financial contribution to the Marcy Westerling Legacy Fund
Attend the Memorial for Marcy later this summer
Most important: Continue the work for justice in our communities!

Tributes to Marcy: Honoring Marcy’s legacy begins with honoring her countless contributions to her community, to rural Oregon, to organizing, to movement building. ROP is collecting and compiling tributes to Marcy for publication and to share on our website. Please send us your stories, however simple or elaborate, about how Marcy has made a difference in your life and your organizing.

How did she inspire you to become engaged in justice work?
What difference has she made in your community

No contribution is too small or big. Email cara@rop.org to share your tribute to Marcy Westerling.

Marcy Westerling Legacy Fund: ROP is proud to announce the creation of the Marcy Westerling Legacy Fund. Over 20 years ago, Marcy Westerling’s passion and organizing brilliance sparked a movement for human dignity. The Marcy Westerling Legacy Fund honors Marcy’s life work. It will extend Marcy’s legacy here in Oregon through ROP’s county-by-county organizing, building and growing the grassroots network of pro-democracy human dignity groups.

In addition, projects of the Marcy Westerling Legacy Fund will document and share lessons from over two decades of organizing in rural Oregon, serving as a touchstone for decades of future rural organizers and leaders. Initial projects include Rural Organizing Voices, a resource of rural organizing stories and strategies, and the establishment of a Marcy Westerling Collection at the University of Oregon.

ROP and the human dignity network around the state are a living legacy and testament to Marcy’s work for justice. The Board and staff of ROP are humbled and honored to continue the work in Marcy’s name. If you would like to make a memorial donation to the Marcy Westerling Legacy Fund, do so online here. Or send a check to: ROP PO Box 1350 Scappoose, OR 97056 **Please include Marcy Westerling Legacy Fund in the memo.

Memorial for Marcy Westerling: A Memorial for Marcy will be planned for later this summer and all who have been touched by her are invited to join us as we celebrate her life and honor her leadership and her organizing. More details to come soon.

Continue the work for justice: Thank you to all of you who have shared your thoughts, memories, condolences and inspirations. The work we do together in our communities for justice is how we can best honor Marcy and her legacy. Thank you for all the ways you move forward a vision of democracy and human dignity in your community. Marcy Westerling presente!

With love and gratitude,
Cara & Jessica

PS – If you want to let others know about Marcy and how they can support her legacy, send them to www.rop.org/legacy.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English