أبطال مسقط

"مصير حقوق الإنسان في أيدي جميع مواطنينا في جميع مجتمعاتنا" -إليانور روزفلت

يصادف هذا الخميس ، 10 ديسمبر ، الذكرى السنوية لـ الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان. في كل عام ، يستغل العديد من المجموعات الأعضاء في شرطة عمان السلطانية هذه المناسبة لتكريم شخص في مجتمعهم تبرز جهوده للنهوض بحقوق الإنسان من بين الحشود.

هذا العام ، ربما أكثر من المعتاد ، نحن جائعون لأبطال موطننا. إنهم يمثلون روح مجتمعنا النابض بالحياة والموحد. عندما يبقى العديد من أفراد مجتمعنا (وأنفسنا) في المنزل ، يتجولون ، ويحاولون فقط تجاوز هذه الأوقات الصعبة ، فإن حمل بطل في مسقط يذكرنا بأننا متصلون. أبطال الوطن هم الأشخاص في مجتمعاتنا الذين يتواصلون حتى عندما يكون ذلك صعبًا ويعملون لضمان أن مجتمعاتنا تسعى جاهدة لضمان جميع الحقوق الأساسية التي حددها الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان لنا.

لكل مدينة بطل مسقط رأسها. ربما يكون هناك شخص في وكالة العمل المجتمعي المحلية التي تتبعها يبذل جهدًا إضافيًا لهذا العام من أجل One Point Homeless Count (في أواخر يناير) للتأكد من حدوث إحصاء دقيق وأن مقاطعتك تحصل على الأقل على بعض الأموال اللازمة لمساعدة بلدنا. تزايد عدد السكان المشردين. أو ربما لديك مسؤول محلي منتخب يتصرف بشكل يتجاوز واجباته ويتعمق في المجتمع المحلي. أو ربما يكون أحد أعضاء مجموعة الكرامة الإنسانية المحلية هو الذي قدم بالفعل مثالاً على إحدى نقاط الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان (رابطه هنا).

يكرم Lincoln County Coastal Progressives مفوض المقاطعة بيل هول لعمله في بناء مجتمع صحي وعادل. لقد جمعوا رسائل تقدير من Samaritan House لعمله مع الأشخاص المشردين ، ومن منطقة النفايات الصلبة لعمله في استدامة المجتمع ، ومن Citizens for Clean Air لمساعدته في جعل المقاطعة تستخدم الإدارة المتكاملة للآفات في السيطرة على الأنواع الغازية .

يكرم متحدون من أجل السلام والعدالة في مقاطعة بينتون مديرة وزارات الشباب في الكنيسة الميثودية جولي مونك لعملها مع الشباب. في وزاراتها ، تتحاور مع الشباب حول قضايا مثل الحرب والسلام والفقر والعنصرية وحماية البيئة.

لم يفت الأوان بعد على مجموعتك لاختيار بطلك في مسقط رأسك هذا العام.  قم بتنزيل هذه الشهادة واملأه. التقط إطارًا. اتصل بوسائل الإعلام. قم بإعداد حفل قصير. أرسل بريدًا إلكترونيًا إلى cara (at) rop.org إذا كنت ترغب في نموذج بيان صحفي.

بعد ذلك ، أخبرنا مرة أخرى في شرطة عمان السلطانية من هو بطل مسقط رأسك ، ويمكننا وضع ميزة عنهم على موقعنا على الإنترنت (وموقعك!).

العربية

Hometown Heroes

“The destiny of human rights is in the hands of all our citizens in all our communities” –Eleanor Roosevelt

This Thursday, December 10th marks the anniversary of the Universal Declaration for Human Rights (UDHR).  Each year,  numerous ROP member groups use this occasion to honor a person in their community whose efforts to advance human rights stand out from the crowd.

This year, perhaps more than usual, we are hungry for our hometown heroes.  They represent the spirit of our community, vibrant and united.  When many of our community members (and ourselves) are staying home, hunkering down, and just trying to get through these tough times, holding up a hometown hero reminds us that we are connected. Hometown Heroes are the people in our communities who reach out even when it’s difficult and work to ensure our communities strive to guarantee us all the basic rights outlined by the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

Every town has a Hometown Hero. Maybe there is a person at your local Community Action Agency who is making the extra effort for this year’s One Point Homeless Count (in late January) to make sure an accurate count happens and your county gets at least some of the needed funds to help our growing homeless populations. Or maybe you have a local elected official that’s acted above and beyond their duty, reaching deep into the local community.  Or perhaps it’s a member of your local human dignity group who has really exemplified one of the points of the UDHR (link to it here).

Lincoln County Coastal Progressives are honoring County Commissioner Bill Hall for his work building a healthy and just community.  They have gathered letters of appreciation from Samaritan House for his work with homeless persons, from the Solid Waste District for his work on community sustainability, and from Citizens for Clean Air for his help in getting the county to use integrated pest management in controlling invasive species.

United for Peace & Justice in Benton County is honoring the Methodist’s Church Youth Ministries Director Julie Monk for her work with youth.  In her ministries, she dialogues with youth about issues like war and peace, poverty and racism, and environmentalism.

It’s not too late for your group to chose your Hometown Hero this year.  Download this certificate and fill it in. Pick up a frame.  Call the media. Set up a short ceremony.  Email cara(at)rop.org if you’d like a sample press release.

Then, let us know back at ROP who your hometown hero is, and we can put a feature up about them on our website (and yours!).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English