故乡英雄

“人权的命运掌握在我们所有社区的所有公民手中” ——埃莉诺·罗斯福

12 月 10 日星期四是 世界人权宣言 (UDHR).每年,许多 ROP 成员团体都会利用这个机会来表彰他们社区中为推进人权所做的努力在人群中脱颖而出的人。

今年,也许比往常更多,我们渴望家乡的英雄。他们代表了我们社区的精神,充满活力和团结。当我们的许多社区成员(和我们自己)待在家里,蹲下身子,努力度过这些艰难时期时,举起家乡的英雄提醒我们,我们是有联系的。家乡英雄是我们社区中的人们,即使遇到困难也能伸出援手,并努力确保我们的社区努力保障我们享有《世界人权宣言》规定的所有基本权利。

每个城镇都有一个故乡英雄。也许您当地社区行动机构的某个人正在为今年的单点无家可归者计数(1 月下旬)做出额外的努力,以确保进行准确的计数,并且您所在的县至少获得一些所需的资金来帮助我们无家可归的人口不断增加。或者,也许您有一位当地民选官员,他的行为超出了他们的职责范围,深入当地社区。或者,它可能是您当地人类尊严组织的成员,他真正体现了《世界人权宣言》的要点之一(在此处链接到它)。

林肯县沿海进步人士向县专员比尔·霍尔 (Bill Hall) 表示敬意,感谢他为建立健康公正的社区所做的工作。他们收集了来自撒玛利亚之家的感谢信,感谢他为无家可归者所做的工作,来自固体废物区的感谢信,感谢他在社区可持续性方面的工作,以及来自清洁空气公民的帮助,感谢他帮助该县使用综合虫害管理来控制入侵物种.

本顿县的和平与正义联合正在表彰卫理公会青年事工主任朱莉·蒙克 (Julie Monk),因为她在青年方面所做的工作。在她的部委中,她与青年就战争与和平、贫困与种族主义以及环保主义等问题进行对话。

你的团队今年选择你的家乡英雄还为时不晚。  下载此证书 并填写它。拿起一个框架。打电话给媒体。设置一个简短的仪式。如果您需要新闻稿样本,请发送电子邮件至 cara(at)rop.org。

然后,让我们回到 ROP,让我们知道您家乡的英雄是谁,我们可以在我们的网站(以及您的网站)上发布关于他们的专题报道。

简体中文

Hometown Heroes

“The destiny of human rights is in the hands of all our citizens in all our communities” –Eleanor Roosevelt

This Thursday, December 10th marks the anniversary of the Universal Declaration for Human Rights (UDHR).  Each year,  numerous ROP member groups use this occasion to honor a person in their community whose efforts to advance human rights stand out from the crowd.

This year, perhaps more than usual, we are hungry for our hometown heroes.  They represent the spirit of our community, vibrant and united.  When many of our community members (and ourselves) are staying home, hunkering down, and just trying to get through these tough times, holding up a hometown hero reminds us that we are connected. Hometown Heroes are the people in our communities who reach out even when it’s difficult and work to ensure our communities strive to guarantee us all the basic rights outlined by the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

Every town has a Hometown Hero. Maybe there is a person at your local Community Action Agency who is making the extra effort for this year’s One Point Homeless Count (in late January) to make sure an accurate count happens and your county gets at least some of the needed funds to help our growing homeless populations. Or maybe you have a local elected official that’s acted above and beyond their duty, reaching deep into the local community.  Or perhaps it’s a member of your local human dignity group who has really exemplified one of the points of the UDHR (link to it here).

Lincoln County Coastal Progressives are honoring County Commissioner Bill Hall for his work building a healthy and just community.  They have gathered letters of appreciation from Samaritan House for his work with homeless persons, from the Solid Waste District for his work on community sustainability, and from Citizens for Clean Air for his help in getting the county to use integrated pest management in controlling invasive species.

United for Peace & Justice in Benton County is honoring the Methodist’s Church Youth Ministries Director Julie Monk for her work with youth.  In her ministries, she dialogues with youth about issues like war and peace, poverty and racism, and environmentalism.

It’s not too late for your group to chose your Hometown Hero this year.  Download this certificate and fill it in. Pick up a frame.  Call the media. Set up a short ceremony.  Email cara(at)rop.org if you’d like a sample press release.

Then, let us know back at ROP who your hometown hero is, and we can put a feature up about them on our website (and yours!).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English