通过行动治愈

要求不要掩盖他们的悲伤, 来自斯通曼道格拉斯高中的强大青年 激发了大胆的学生激进主义浪潮和组织变革,包括在俄勒冈州!在一所学校再次发生大规模枪击事件后,俄勒冈州各地的学生正在组织各种行动,从罢工到新闻发布会,再到对抗拿 NRA 钱的政客。继续阅读,了解学生可以在学校和社区中使用的资源,以及支持他们的工作和领导力的成年盟友。

在大屠杀中幸存下来的学生终于在全国范围内就缺乏对年轻人生活采取的行动进行了讨论。 Stoneman Douglas 的学生勇敢地讲述了全国学生现在生活的现实:频繁、不可避免的学校枪击事件和无效的主动射击训练是他们日常文化的一部分。当他们指出今天的学生是在哥伦拜恩和桑迪胡克枪击案之后出生的时,他们的话的影响就更大了。现在是更有意义、更深入地解决校园枪击事件的时候了。

每个人都值得安全

从 20 年前瑟斯顿高中枪击案到 2015 年乌姆普夸社区学院枪击案,俄勒冈州亲身经历了悲痛的社区在悲剧发生后团结起来互相照顾的悲伤魔力。我们还目睹了分裂社区的分裂力量和叙述。

随着有关学校安全的辩论不断发展,许多人将矛头对准了全国步枪协会及其庞大的政治权力。 NRA 关于“强化”我们的学校的谈话要点正在许多社区中占据一席之地,包括武装教师的想法她的,将更多的武装警察投入学校,开除与心理健康问题作斗争或被视为“好斗”的学生并将其定为刑事犯罪。这种言论为极右翼创造了机会 准军事组织和所谓的爱国者团体动员到学校 在吞噬媒体关注的同时“保护”学生,甚至有 为这样做的人提供税收抵免的建议。 周三, 乔治亚州道尔顿的一所学校在一名武装教师开枪并将自己封锁在教室后撤离时。

这场全国性的辩论正在佛罗里达州一名年轻黑人 Trayvon Martin 遇害六周年之际展开,他被一名志愿“社区守望”成员 George Zimmerman 跟踪并枪杀,警方一再要求他脱离接触并拒绝这样做。 Trayvon 的谋杀引发了愤怒和大规模的动员,呼吁人们关注杀害有色人种的年轻人,一名声称他看起来很危险的警察在克利夫兰谋杀了 12 岁的 Tamir Rice,以及 弗格森警察谋杀迈克布朗 他流血的尸体被留在街上几个小时。因为强大的组织 by 黑人青年,警察暴行、种族定性和警察军事化的丑陋现实现在是全国性的对话。 DACAistas 勇敢地在全国范围内采取行动进行移民改革,让他们的家人团聚在一起,而移民和海关执法部门则加大了拘留和驱逐的力度。对社区的刑事定罪并没有让我们更安全,向学校警察投入资源并没有让我们的学校更安全,正如在 美国公民自由联盟关于学校警察如何推动学校到监狱管道的报告。

营造安全文化

当我们从悲剧中解脱出来并反思安全时,很明显,这是一个时刻,让我们所有人都能够应对我们面前的巨大事物的许多复杂性和矛盾。这些大规模和公然的系统性失败没有简单的解决方案,正如我们都愿意相信做出改变可能就像写我们的立法者一样容易。在不安全和恐惧的时候,很容易指责、瞄准或替罪羊。在恐惧中,很容易寻求支配和控制,而不是寻求相互尊重、责任和关怀。很难如此热爱我们的社区,以至于我们愿意为让他们团结在一起,每天生活和实践我们的民主价值观而奋斗。

当人们受到伤害并且我们的痛苦被用来分裂我们时,我们如何建立社区并团结起来?感到安全实际上意味着什么?我们在一起是为了互相支持,满足彼此的需求,建立集体安全——而不是孤立地挣扎和受苦。

我们经常谈论我们的共同价值观——人类尊严、所有人的民主、公正和热情的社区——因为它们不仅将我们团结在一起,而且因为我们的价值观引导我们采取行动。我们知道我们可以践行我们的价值观,我们可以向我们的邻居表明,和平合作以创建安全可靠的社区是一种选择。以下是在这一刻参与和回应的机会,因为我们知道采取行动就是治愈。

社区通过采取行动治愈

年轻的领导者已经采取了行动,许多人正在计划罢工、集会、教导、撒谎、游说活动,以及在俄勒冈州各地的学校和社区中心进行的更多活动 3月14日, 3月24日, 4月20日, 超越。成人支持者正在向他们社区的年轻人伸出援手,以提供支持和团结。 我们为年轻组织者和希望在这里支持青年领导力的成年人提供了一些我们最需要的资源! 没有看到您要查找的内容?给 ROP 打个招呼 杰斯@rop.org 所以我们可以获得您的支持和资源!

ROP 正在与国家律师协会律师 Kasia Rutledge 一起为学生和盟友举办“了解你的权利”培训。培训可通过电话和网络研讨会进行。

我们收到了一些关于计划罢工的想法和建议以及为成年盟友提供建议的请求。我们决定对我们的现任和前任年轻组织者网络进行投票,以征求他们的建议!查看这些资源:

我们将在 The Dalles 的农村核心小组和战略会议上召开会议 星期六,5 月 19 日 深入挖掘我们的农村社区真正需要什么来实现真正的安全和保障。 点击这里获取更多信息和注册!

计划一项行动并希望我们分享出去?您准备好采取行动并寻找有思想的合作伙伴了吗? 请随时在 ROP 向我们大声疾呼。伸出手 杰斯@rop.org 让我们约个时间谈谈吧!

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Healing through action

Demanding that their grief not be swept under the rug, powerful youth from Stoneman Douglas High School have inspired waves of bold student activism and organizing for change, including here in Oregon! In the wake of yet another mass shooting at a school, students across Oregon are organizing actions from walkouts to press conferences to confronting politicians taking NRA money. Read on for resources students can use in their schools and communities, and for adult allies supporting their work and leadership.

It took students who survived a massacre speaking out to finally force national conversation on the lack of action taken for young people’s lives. Stoneman Douglas students have bravely spoken to the reality students across the country now live in: frequent, unavoidable school shootings and ineffective active shooter drills are part of their day-to-day culture. The impact of their words is increased when they point out that students today were born after the Columbine and Sandy Hook shootings. It is time to address school shootings more meaningfully and with more depth.

Everyone deserves safety

From the Thurston High School shooting twenty years ago to the Umpqua Community College shooting in 2015, Oregon has experienced firsthand the sad magic of mourning communities coming together to take care of each other after a tragedy. We have also witnessed the divisive forces and narratives at work splintering communities.

As the debate about school safety continues to evolve, many are targeting the NRA and its massive political power. The NRA’s talking points about “hardening” our schools are taking hold in many communities, including the ideas of arming teachers, putting more armed police in schools, and expelling and criminalizing students who are struggling with mental health issues or who are deemed “aggressive”. This rhetoric has created an opening for far Right paramilitaries and so-called Patriot groups to mobilize to schools to “protect” students while eating up media attention, and there is even a proposal for a tax credit for people who are doing so. Wednesday, a school in Dalton, GA was evacuated after an armed teacher fired shots and barricaded himself inside a classroom.

This national debate is unfolding during the sixth year anniversary of the killing of Trayvon Martin, a young Black man in Florida who was followed and shot by George Zimmerman, a volunteer “community watch” member who was told repeatedly by the police to disengage and refused to do so. Trayvon’s murder sparked outrage and massive mobilizations calling attention to the killing of young people of color, as did the murder of 12-year old Tamir Rice in Cleveland by a police officer claiming he looked dangerous, and the murder of Mike Brown by police in Ferguson whose bleeding body was left in the street for hours. Because of powerful organizing by Black youth, the ugly reality of police brutality, racial profiling, and the militarization of the police are now national conversations. DACAistas are bravely taking action across the country for immigration reform that keeps their families together while Immigration and Customs Enforcement ratchets up detentions and deportations. The criminalization of communities does not make us safer, and pouring resources into police in schools have not made our schools safer, as evidenced in ACLU’s report on how police in schools fuel the school-to-prison pipeline.

Creating a culture of safety and security

As we reel from tragedy and reflect on security, it is clear this is a moment to hold the many complexities and contradictions of all of us coming to grips with the enormity of what is in front of us. These massive and blatant systemic failures do not have simple solutions, as much as we would all like to believe making change could be as easy as writing our legislators. In times of insecurity and fear, it is easy to blame, target, or scapegoat others. In fear, it is easy to seek domination and control rather than to seek mutual respect, accountability, and caring. It is hard to love our communities so much that we are willing to fight to keep them together, living and practicing our democratic values daily.

When people are hurting and our pain is being used to divide us, how are we building community and coming together? What does it actually mean to feel secure? We are here together to try to hold each other up, to meet each others’ needs, to build collective security — not to struggle and suffer alone, in isolation.

We speak often of our shared values — human dignity, democracy for all, just and welcoming communities — because not only are they what unite us, but also because our values are what lead us to action. We know that we can live our values and we can make it clear to our neighbors that working together peacefully to create safe and secure communities is an option. The following are opportunities to engage and respond in this moment because we know that taking action is healing.

Communities heal through taking action

Young leaders have already taken action and many are in the midst of planning walkouts, rallies, teach-ins, lie-ins, lobbying campaigns, and more at schools and in community centers across Oregon on March 14th, March 24th, April 20th, and beyond. Adult supporters are reaching out to young people in their communities to offer support and solidarity. We include some of our most requested resources for young organizers and for adults who want to support youth leadership here! Don’t see what you’re looking for? Give ROP a holler at jess@rop.org so we can get you support and resources!

ROP is hosting a Know Your Rights for Students & Allies trainings with National Lawyers Guild lawyer Kasia Rutledge. The training is accessible by phone and webinar.

We received several requests for ideas and suggestions for planning walkouts and advice for adult allies. We decided to poll our network of current and former young organizers for their suggestions! Check out these resources:

We’re going to convene at the Rural Caucus & Strategy Session in The Dalles on Saturday, May 19th to dig deeper into what our rural communities actually need for real safety and security. Click here for more information and to register!

Planning an action and want us to share it out? Are you ready to take action and looking for a thinking partner? Feel free to give us a holler at ROP. Reach out at jess@rop.org and let’s set up a time to talk!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English