الشفاء من خلال العمل

ويطالبون بعدم كنس حزنهم تحت البساط ، شاب قوي من مدرسة Stoneman Douglas الثانوية ألهمت موجات من النشاط الطلابي الجريء والتنظيم من أجل التغيير ، بما في ذلك هنا في ولاية أوريغون! في أعقاب إطلاق نار جماعي آخر في إحدى المدارس ، ينظم الطلاب في جميع أنحاء ولاية أوريغون إجراءات من الإضراب إلى المؤتمرات الصحفية لمواجهة السياسيين الذين يأخذون أموال NRA. اقرأ للحصول على الموارد التي يمكن للطلاب استخدامها في مدارسهم ومجتمعاتهم ، وللحلفاء البالغين الذين يدعمون عملهم وقيادتهم.

لقد تطلب الأمر من الطلاب الذين نجوا من مذبحة التحدث علنًا لفرض محادثة وطنية أخيرًا حول عدم اتخاذ إجراءات لحياة الشباب. تحدث طلاب Stoneman Douglas بشجاعة مع الواقع الذي يعيشه الطلاب في جميع أنحاء البلاد الآن: إطلاق النار المتكرر الذي لا مفر منه في المدارس والتدريبات النشطة غير الفعالة على إطلاق النار هي جزء من ثقافتهم اليومية. يزداد تأثير كلماتهم عندما أشاروا إلى أن الطلاب اليوم ولدوا بعد إطلاق النار في كولومبين وساندي هوك. حان الوقت لمعالجة حوادث إطلاق النار في المدارس بشكل أكثر جدوى وبعمق أكبر.

كل شخص يستحق الأمان

من إطلاق النار في مدرسة Thurston الثانوية قبل عشرين عامًا إلى إطلاق النار في Umpqua Community College في عام 2015 ، اختبرت أوريغون بشكل مباشر السحر المحزن لمجتمعات الحداد التي تتجمع معًا للعناية ببعضها البعض بعد مأساة. لقد شهدنا أيضًا قوى الانقسام والروايات في العمل التي تقسم المجتمعات.

مع استمرار تطور الجدل حول السلامة المدرسية ، يستهدف الكثيرون هيئة التنظيم الوطنية وسلطتها السياسية الهائلة. إن نقاط حديث NRA حول "تقوية" مدارسنا تترسخ في العديد من المجتمعات ، بما في ذلك أفكار تسليح الشايلها ، ووضع المزيد من رجال الشرطة المسلحين في المدارس ، وطرد وتجريم الطلاب الذين يعانون من مشاكل الصحة العقلية أو الذين يعتبرون "عدوانيين". لقد خلق هذا الخطاب فرصة لليمين المتطرف يجب تعبئة القوات شبه العسكرية وما يسمى بالجماعات الوطنية في المدارس "لحماية" الطلاب أثناء استحواذ اهتمام وسائل الإعلام ، وحتى هناك اقتراح للحصول على ائتمان ضريبي للأشخاص الذين يقومون بذلك. الأربعاء, مدرسة في دالتون ، GA wتم إجلاؤهم بعد أن أطلق مدرس مسلح أعيرة نارية وتحصن داخل فصل دراسي.

تتكشف هذه المناقشة الوطنية خلال الذكرى السنوية السادسة لمقتل تريفون مارتن ، الشاب الأسود في فلوريدا الذي تبعه جورج زيمرمان ، وهو عضو متطوع في "مراقبة المجتمع" طلبته الشرطة مرارًا وتكرارًا فك الارتباط ورفضه. لنفعل ذلك. أثار مقتل تريفون غضبًا وحشودًا ضخمة لفتت الانتباه إلى قتل الشباب الملونين ، كما فعل مقتل تامير رايس البالغ من العمر 12 عامًا في كليفلاند على يد ضابط شرطة زعم أنه يبدو خطيرًا ، و قتل الشرطة مايك براون في فيرجسون وظل جسده ينزف في الشارع لساعات. بسبب التنظيم القوي من قبل الشباب الأسود، الحقيقة القبيحة لوحشية الشرطة ، التنميط العنصري ، وعسكرة الشرطة هي الآن نقاشات وطنية. تتخذ DACAistas إجراءات شجاعة في جميع أنحاء البلاد لإصلاح نظام الهجرة الذي يحافظ على أسرهم معًا بينما تصعد سلطات الهجرة والجمارك عمليات الاحتجاز والترحيل. إن تجريم المجتمعات لا يجعلنا أكثر أمانًا ، كما أن ضخ الموارد في الشرطة في المدارس لم يجعل مدارسنا أكثر أمانًا ، كما يتضح من تقرير اتحاد الحريات المدنية الأمريكي حول كيفية قيام الشرطة في المدارس بتزويد خط الأنابيب من المدرسة إلى السجن.

خلق ثقافة الأمن والسلامة

بينما نتأرجح من المأساة ونفكر في الأمن ، من الواضح أن هذه لحظة لعقد العديد من التعقيدات والتناقضات التي تجعلنا جميعًا نتعامل مع ضخامة ما هو أمامنا. ليس لهذه الإخفاقات النظامية الهائلة والصارخة حلولًا بسيطة ، بقدر ما نود جميعًا أن نعتقد أن إجراء التغيير يمكن أن يكون سهلاً مثل كتابة المشرعين لدينا. في أوقات انعدام الأمن والخوف ، من السهل إلقاء اللوم على الآخرين أو استهدافهم أو كبش الفداء. في حالة الخوف ، من السهل السعي وراء الهيمنة والسيطرة بدلاً من السعي وراء الاحترام المتبادل والمساءلة والاهتمام. من الصعب أن نحب مجتمعاتنا كثيرًا لدرجة أننا على استعداد للقتال من أجل الحفاظ عليها معًا ، والعيش وممارسة قيمنا الديمقراطية يوميًا.

عندما يتألم الناس ويتم استخدام آلامنا لتقسيمنا ، كيف نبني المجتمع ونتكاتف؟ ماذا يعني الشعور بالأمان؟ نحن هنا معًا لمحاولة الحفاظ على بعضنا البعض ، لتلبية احتياجات بعضنا البعض ، لبناء الأمن الجماعي - وليس النضال والمعاناة وحدنا ، في عزلة.

غالبًا ما نتحدث عن قيمنا المشتركة - كرامة الإنسان ، والديمقراطية للجميع ، والمجتمعات العادلة والمرحبة - لأنها ليست فقط ما يوحدنا ، ولكن أيضًا لأن قيمنا هي التي تقودنا إلى العمل. نحن نعلم أنه يمكننا أن نعيش قيمنا ويمكننا أن نوضح لجيراننا أن العمل معًا بسلام لإنشاء مجتمعات آمنة ومأمونة هو خيار. فيما يلي فرص للمشاركة والاستجابة في هذه اللحظة لأننا نعلم أن اتخاذ إجراء ما هو الشفاء.

تلتئم المجتمعات من خلال اتخاذ الإجراءات

لقد اتخذ القادة الشباب بالفعل إجراءات والعديد منهم في خضم التخطيط للإضرابات والتجمعات والمعلمين والاكتشافات وحملات الضغط والمزيد في المدارس وفي المراكز المجتمعية عبر ولاية أوريغون في 14 مارس, 24 مارس, 20 أبريلوما بعده. يتواصل الداعمون الكبار مع الشباب في مجتمعاتهم لتقديم الدعم والتضامن. ندرج بعضًا من أكثر الموارد المطلوبة للمنظمين الشباب والكبار الذين يرغبون في دعم القيادة الشبابية هنا! ألا ترى ما تبحث عنه؟ امنح شرطة عمان السلطانية صرخة في jess@rop.org حتى نتمكن من توفير الدعم والموارد لك!

تستضيف شرطة عمان السلطانية تدريبات تعرف على حقوقك للطلاب والحلفاء مع محامية نقابة المحامين الوطنية كاسيا روتليدج. يمكن الوصول إلى التدريب عبر الهاتف والندوة عبر الإنترنت.

لقد تلقينا عدة طلبات للحصول على أفكار واقتراحات لتخطيط الإضرابات ونصائح للحلفاء البالغين. قررنا استطلاع رأي شبكتنا من المنظمين الشباب الحاليين والسابقين للحصول على اقتراحاتهم! تحقق من هذه الموارد:

سوف نجتمع في جلسة الإستراتيجية والتجمع الريفي في The Dalles on السبت 19 مايو للتعمق أكثر في ما تحتاجه مجتمعاتنا الريفية بالفعل من أجل السلامة والأمن الحقيقيين. اضغط هنا لمعلومات أكثر وللتسجيل!

تخطط لعمل وتريد منا أن نشاركه؟ هل أنت مستعد لاتخاذ الإجراءات والبحث عن شريك في التفكير؟ لا تتردد في إعطائنا الصرخة في شرطة عمان السلطانية. تواصل في jess@rop.org ودعونا نخصص وقتًا للتحدث!

سهل الطباعة، PDF والبريد الإلكتروني
العربية

Healing through action

Demanding that their grief not be swept under the rug, powerful youth from Stoneman Douglas High School have inspired waves of bold student activism and organizing for change, including here in Oregon! In the wake of yet another mass shooting at a school, students across Oregon are organizing actions from walkouts to press conferences to confronting politicians taking NRA money. Read on for resources students can use in their schools and communities, and for adult allies supporting their work and leadership.

It took students who survived a massacre speaking out to finally force national conversation on the lack of action taken for young people’s lives. Stoneman Douglas students have bravely spoken to the reality students across the country now live in: frequent, unavoidable school shootings and ineffective active shooter drills are part of their day-to-day culture. The impact of their words is increased when they point out that students today were born after the Columbine and Sandy Hook shootings. It is time to address school shootings more meaningfully and with more depth.

Everyone deserves safety

From the Thurston High School shooting twenty years ago to the Umpqua Community College shooting in 2015, Oregon has experienced firsthand the sad magic of mourning communities coming together to take care of each other after a tragedy. We have also witnessed the divisive forces and narratives at work splintering communities.

As the debate about school safety continues to evolve, many are targeting the NRA and its massive political power. The NRA’s talking points about “hardening” our schools are taking hold in many communities, including the ideas of arming teachers, putting more armed police in schools, and expelling and criminalizing students who are struggling with mental health issues or who are deemed “aggressive”. This rhetoric has created an opening for far Right paramilitaries and so-called Patriot groups to mobilize to schools to “protect” students while eating up media attention, and there is even a proposal for a tax credit for people who are doing so. Wednesday, a school in Dalton, GA was evacuated after an armed teacher fired shots and barricaded himself inside a classroom.

This national debate is unfolding during the sixth year anniversary of the killing of Trayvon Martin, a young Black man in Florida who was followed and shot by George Zimmerman, a volunteer “community watch” member who was told repeatedly by the police to disengage and refused to do so. Trayvon’s murder sparked outrage and massive mobilizations calling attention to the killing of young people of color, as did the murder of 12-year old Tamir Rice in Cleveland by a police officer claiming he looked dangerous, and the murder of Mike Brown by police in Ferguson whose bleeding body was left in the street for hours. Because of powerful organizing by Black youth, the ugly reality of police brutality, racial profiling, and the militarization of the police are now national conversations. DACAistas are bravely taking action across the country for immigration reform that keeps their families together while Immigration and Customs Enforcement ratchets up detentions and deportations. The criminalization of communities does not make us safer, and pouring resources into police in schools have not made our schools safer, as evidenced in ACLU’s report on how police in schools fuel the school-to-prison pipeline.

Creating a culture of safety and security

As we reel from tragedy and reflect on security, it is clear this is a moment to hold the many complexities and contradictions of all of us coming to grips with the enormity of what is in front of us. These massive and blatant systemic failures do not have simple solutions, as much as we would all like to believe making change could be as easy as writing our legislators. In times of insecurity and fear, it is easy to blame, target, or scapegoat others. In fear, it is easy to seek domination and control rather than to seek mutual respect, accountability, and caring. It is hard to love our communities so much that we are willing to fight to keep them together, living and practicing our democratic values daily.

When people are hurting and our pain is being used to divide us, how are we building community and coming together? What does it actually mean to feel secure? We are here together to try to hold each other up, to meet each others’ needs, to build collective security — not to struggle and suffer alone, in isolation.

We speak often of our shared values — human dignity, democracy for all, just and welcoming communities — because not only are they what unite us, but also because our values are what lead us to action. We know that we can live our values and we can make it clear to our neighbors that working together peacefully to create safe and secure communities is an option. The following are opportunities to engage and respond in this moment because we know that taking action is healing.

Communities heal through taking action

Young leaders have already taken action and many are in the midst of planning walkouts, rallies, teach-ins, lie-ins, lobbying campaigns, and more at schools and in community centers across Oregon on March 14th, March 24th, April 20th, and beyond. Adult supporters are reaching out to young people in their communities to offer support and solidarity. We include some of our most requested resources for young organizers and for adults who want to support youth leadership here! Don’t see what you’re looking for? Give ROP a holler at jess@rop.org so we can get you support and resources!

ROP is hosting a Know Your Rights for Students & Allies trainings with National Lawyers Guild lawyer Kasia Rutledge. The training is accessible by phone and webinar.

We received several requests for ideas and suggestions for planning walkouts and advice for adult allies. We decided to poll our network of current and former young organizers for their suggestions! Check out these resources:

We’re going to convene at the Rural Caucus & Strategy Session in The Dalles on Saturday, May 19th to dig deeper into what our rural communities actually need for real safety and security. Click here for more information and to register!

Planning an action and want us to share it out? Are you ready to take action and looking for a thinking partner? Feel free to give us a holler at ROP. Reach out at jess@rop.org and let’s set up a time to talk!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English