为乔和弗洛成长一排

背景:厨房餐桌行动主义 (KTA) 是农村组织项目的月度活动。这个想法是,当一群人聚集在一起在俄勒冈州完成相同的行动时,小行动可以带来强大的集体结果。 ROP 努力使每个 KTA 易于实现,以便有其他项目的小组或即时精力有限的小组仍然可以每月设法完成 KTA。

什么是活动?

本月的餐桌活动是关于食品安全的!春天来了,种植当地粮食是建设更强大、更有弹性的农村社区的重要组成部分。有很多方法可以采取当地行动来加强当地的粮食安全,从与服务机构、学区、市和县合作创建新的社区花园,到简单地在你的花园里多种一排蔬菜捐赠给当地的食品储藏室.四月的活动是支持在您所在地区分享食物的团体,并与您的邻居一起解决问题,以缩小当地的粮食安全差距!

为什么要开展这项活动?

在过去十年的大部分时间里,俄勒冈州农村的粮食不安全率都高于美国其他农村地区,也高于俄勒冈州城市。 今天,四分之一的俄勒冈人粮食不安全,有色人种社区受到的影响最为严重。此链接包含 2019 年的逐县统计数据,这些统计数据对大流行前的数字进行了细分。 如果社区成员没有土地,许多农村社区就没有简单的方法来种植粮食。在大流行期间,全州的人类尊严团体在互助和粮食项目上加倍努力,以满足日益增长的需求。现在,随着许多服务组织正在“恢复正常”,农村社区领导人正在确保这些机构优先为 每个人 在社区。

想培养一些新的关系?考虑让你的“政治”人类尊严团体协调你现有的支持者,以这种方式引导额外的食物。为什么要协调?更多的赏金将被分享,更多的善意可能会随之而来。重要的是,我们要表明我们的全球政治关切实际上植根于我们社区和邻居的迫切需求。我们越实践我们的政治,我们建立的关系就越多。我们越是可以为政治概念提供一些改进的框架。

如何完成活动:

1.聚集你的人格尊严团体, 一起回顾这个厨房餐桌活动,并围绕如何采取行动支持社区中的食物获取制定计划!需要更多信息?为小组成员制定计划,与每个社区资源进行一对一的交流,并在小组的下一次会议上分享您的学习成果!这里有一些问题可以指导你的谈话:

  • 饥饿的家庭可以在社区中获得哪些资源?
  • 服务机构和食品储藏室是否将他们的材料制作成多语种以便每个人都能获得服务?
  • 人们来取食物时会问什么问题?
  • 他们开放的日期和时间是什么时候?上班族可以去的时候开门吗?
  • 他们有什么样的食物?健康食品?文化相关的食物?
  • 有负担得起的社区花园吗?如果不是,为什么不呢?
  • 是否有其他可用的粮食种植资源,例如带赠品的地球日活动、为居住在公寓中的人们提供的露台种植项目、免费种子中心或愿意捐赠额外启动的苗圃?

2. 您是社区花园的一员,还是开始您的个人花园?您是否有空间在整个春季、夏季和秋季(以及冬季,如果您是铁杆的话)多种植一排健康蔬菜来分享? 计划好你小组中谁正在种植什么,这样你就可以分享比夏末西葫芦更多的东西。

3. 全年与您的团队协调新鲜农产品的运送。 在俄勒冈食品银行的网站上查找您当地的食品储藏室!

4. 与友好的 ROP 组织者分享您学到的知识,或通过电子邮件发送 杰斯@rop.org! ROP 很高兴能更多地了解农村社区如何在分享食物方面发挥创意,并支持与食品储藏室合作的人们,以确保每个人都受到欢迎和支持!

奖励积分: 我们将在 6 月 25 日的农村核心小组和战略会议上讨论农村粮食安全战略!你注册了吗? 更多信息可以在这里找到!

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Growing a Row for Joe & Flo

Background: Kitchen Table Activism (KTA) is a monthly activity by the Rural Organizing Project. The idea is that small actions can lead to powerful collective results when groups of people gather to complete the same action across the state of Oregon. ROP works to keep each KTA easily achievable so that groups with other projects or groups with limited immediate energy can still manage to complete the KTA each month.

WHAT IS THE ACTIVITY?

This month’s Kitchen Table Activity is all about food security! Spring is in the air, and growing local food is an important part of building stronger and more resilient rural communities. There are many ways to take local action to strengthen local food security, from collaborating with service agencies, school districts, cities, and counties to create new community gardens, to simply growing an extra row of veggies in your garden to donate to the local pantry. April’s activity is to support the groups sharing food in your area and problem-solve with your neighbors to close local food security gaps!

WHY THIS ACTIVITY?

For most of the last decade, rural Oregon’s food insecurity rates were both higher than in the rest of the rural US and higher than in urban Oregon. Today, 1 in 4 Oregonians are food insecure, and communities of color are most severely impacted. This link has county-by-county statistics from 2019 that break down the numbers before the pandemic. Many rural communities don’t have easy ways for community members to grow food if they don’t own land. Over the course of the pandemic, human dignity groups across the state doubled down on mutual aid and food projects to meet the increased need. Now, as many service organizations are going “back to normal,” rural community leaders are making sure that agencies are prioritizing providing food for everyone in the community.

Want to nurture some new relationships? Consider having your “political” human dignity group coordinate your existing supporters to channel extra foods this way. Why coordinate? More bounty will get shared and more progressive goodwill might follow. It is important that we show that our global political concerns are actually rooted in the immediate needs of our communities and our neighbors. The more we practice our politics, the more relationships we build. And the more we can give some improved framing to the concept of being political.

HOW TO COMPLETE THE ACTIVITY:

1. Gather your human dignity group, review this Kitchen Table Activity together, and make a plan around how you can take action to support food access in your community! Need more information? Make a plan for group members to divide up and meet with each community resource one-on-one, and share your learnings at your group’s next meeting! Here are some questions to guide your conversation:

  • What resources do hungry families have access to in the community?
  • Are the service agencies and food pantries making their materials multilingual so everyone can access services?
  • What questions are people asked when they show up to get food?
  • What days and hours are they open? Are they open when working folks can go?
  • What kind of food do they have? Healthy foods? Culturally relevant foods?
  • Are there affordable community gardens? If not, why not?
  • Are there other food-growing resources available, such as Earth Day events with giveaways, patio planter projects for folks living in apartments, free seed hubs, or nurseries that are willing to donate extra starts?

2. Are you part of a community garden or are you starting your personal garden? Do you have space to grow an extra row of healthy veggies to share throughout the spring, summer, and fall (and winter too, if you’re hardcore)? Plan out who in your group is growing what so you can share more than late-summer zucchini.

3. Coordinate fresh produce drop-offs with your group throughout the year. Find your local food pantry on Oregon Food Bank’s website!

4. Share what you learned with your friendly ROP organizer, or emailing jess@rop.org! ROP’s excited to learn more about how rural communities are getting creative about sharing food AND to support folks who are working with their food pantries to make sure that everyone is welcomed and supported!

Bonus points: we’ll be discussing rural food security strategies at the Rural Caucus & Strategy Session on June 25th! Have you registered? More information can be found here!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English