بدأت المجموعات عام 2024 بالعمل على مستوى الولاية!

عزيزي روب نت ،

في الشهر الماضي، أظهر سكان الريف في ولاية أوريغون في كل ركن من أركان الولاية أن الديمقراطية ليست رياضة متفرجة وانخرطوا في خضم العمل لتعزيز الديمقراطية في مجتمعاتهم! فيما يلي بعض النقاط البارزة من شهر يناير، بما في ذلك الاحتفالات بيوم مارتن لوثر كينغ جونيور، والمسيرات النسائية، وورش عمل التربية المدنية، والوقفات الاحتجاجية من أجل السلام.

ما الذي قامت به مجموعتك حتى الآن في عام 2024؟ شارك صورك وقصصك مع الدولة لإلهام بعضكم البعض، وتعالوا إلى المؤتمر الريفي وجلسة الإستراتيجية يوم السبت 6 أبريل في وودبرن لتبادل الاستراتيجيات والتخطيط لما سيأتي. سجل الآن على rop.org/caucus لحجز مقاعد فريقك!

بحرارة

إيما وفريق شرطة عمان السلطانية

إجراءات يناير في جميع أنحاء الدولة

مقاطعة بيكر

ظل أفراد المجتمع في هافواي يقيمون وقفات احتجاجية من أجل السلام على ضوء الشموع كل يوم جمعة لبضعة أشهر. كما حصلوا أيضًا على مقال منشور في الصحيفة المحلية، Hells Canyon Journal، وأقنعوا مجلس المدينة بالسماح لهم بتثبيت علامة سلام دائمة عند التقاطع الرئيسي في المدينة!

مقاطعة كوس

استضافت مجموعة باندون للشمولية ورشة عمل لحماية الديمقراطية: ورشة عمل حول التربية المدنية، يوم الأحد 21 يناير، في أعقاب حدث Linn-Benton NAACP في عام 2022. انقر هنا للحصول على مجموعة الأدوات الخاصة بكيفية استضافة موقعك الخاص! حضر 80 شخصًا وتناوبوا عبر 7 محطات خلال فترة ما بعد الظهر. سنرسل شبكة ROPnet كاملة حول هذا الأمر قريبًا. ابقوا متابعين!

10 أشخاص جالسين يستمعون باهتمام إلى أحد المتحدثين.

مقاطعة كاري

54 شخصًا يصطفون في مسيرة نسائية. الأشخاص الذين يقفون في المقدمة يحملون لافتة كتب عليها "أكبر من رو. الحقوق والحريات والديمقراطية”.

على الرغم من تحذيرات مراقبة الفيضانات في المقاطعة، شارك 54 شخصًا في المسيرة النسائية السنوية الثامنة لمقاطعة نورث كاري غير القابلة للتجزئة. ولم تثبط الرياح العاتية المشاركين في المسيرة، ولحسن الحظ توقف المطر لبضع ساعات رئيسية. بعد التجمع في باتل روك في بورت أورفورد، سار الناس إلى المكتبة، وهم يلوحون للأشخاص الذين يقودون سياراتهم. عندما وصلوا إلى المكتبة، كان لدى Indivisible North Curry County مرطبات وطاولات معدة بمعلومات حول كيفية دعم الوصول إلى الإجهاض، وكيف تصبح مرشحًا لمنصب محلي، وكيفية المشاركة في المنظمات المحلية المختلفة، وكيفية الاتصال بمنتخبيك المسؤولين على جميع مستويات الحكومة.

طاولة عرض تحتوي على بطاقات عمل للمسؤولين المنتخبين ومعلومات حول كيفية الاتصال بهم.

جوزفين

تاكيلما

استضاف الناس في تاكيلما (عدد سكانها 465 نسمة) مسيرة تضامن يوم السبت 27 يناير. وفي الأسبوع التالي، تابعوا ذلك باستضافة حدث لكتابة الرسائل.

يسير حوالي 15 شخصًا يرتدون معاطف المطر على طريق ريفي ويحملون لافتات كتب عليها "قل لا للإبادة الجماعية".

Grants Pass

تعاون العديد من شركاء المجتمع في فعاليات عطلة نهاية الأسبوع لمارتن لوثر كينغ جونيور في Grants Pass. في يوم الجمعة الموافق 12 يناير، استضاف قسم مسرح مدرسة Grants Pass الثانوية مهرجانًا من فصل واحد من المسرحيات القصيرة يحتفل بالأشخاص العاديين الذين يقومون بأشياء غير عادية (موضوع عطلة نهاية الأسبوع). في يوم السبت، استضاف مشروع Grants Pass Remembrance Project تجمعًا مجتمعيًا ثنائي اللغة مع الطعام والمتحدثين وقادة الطلاب (انظر الصورة أدناه). وشمل ذلك قراءة أعضاء المجتمع لاقتباسات MLK، وجلسة نقاش تناقش عمل مشروع الذكرى الذي يروي تاريخ Grants Pass كمدينة Sundown ويحدد اتجاهًا جديدًا للمستقبل. في يوم الاثنين، استضافت مجموعة المحادثات الشجاعة التابعة لكلية Rogue Community College أمسية من القصة والأغنية في كنيسة نيومان يونايتد الميثودية.

يقف ثمانية أشخاص على خشبة المسرح وخلفهم شاشة مضاءة.

شهدت عطلة نهاية الأسبوع أيضًا بداية لوحة جدارية على مستوى المجتمع. تم توزيع البلاط (انظر الأمثلة في الصورة أدناه) في جميع أنحاء المدينة وتم تزيينه تكريماً لأفراد المجتمع المختارين الذين يعتبرونهم "أشخاصًا عاديين يقومون بأشياء غير عادية". في شهر مارس، سيتم عرض البلاط في متحف Grants Pass للفنون!

بلاط ورقي مع رسومات يدوية معلقة على لوحة الإعلانات.

مقاطعة لين

أقام المنظمون في فلورنسا مسيرتهم النسائية السنوية يوم الأحد 21 يناير، وقالوا إنها واحدة من أفضل ما قاموا به حتى الآن! كان هناك أكثر من 100 مشارك على الرغم من المطر. بالإضافة إلى وجود المتحدثين الذين تحدثوا عن تاريخ تنظيم حقوق المرأة، فقد حرصوا على الاستمتاع بالكثير من المرح، وإخراج الكازو والدفوف والغناء معًا. وقال منظمو المسيرة إنهم يريدون تخصيص بعض الوقت للاحتفال بالمجتمع وإضفاء التفاؤل بشأن ما يخبئه المستقبل.

أربعة أشخاص يقفون مبتسمين ويحملون لافتات على الرصيف وخلفهم المياه.

مقاطعة واشنطن

استضافت مقاطعة غرب واشنطن من أجل العدالة العنصرية مسيرة فنية بمناسبة يوم مارتن لوثر كينغ جونيور في فورست جروف. لقد نشروا منشورات ثنائية اللغة وكتبوا بيان صحفي حصلت عليه الصحيفة المحلية الإعلان عن الحدث. على الرغم من وجود طبقة سميكة من الثلج مثبطة للمسيرة، أشرقت الشمس وكان يومهم الفني نجاحًا كبيرًا! شارك حوالي 25 شخصًا من جميع الأعمار واستمتعوا بقائمة التشغيل الهادفة والشركة.

طفل صغير يرتدي قبعة التوابع وقناع كوفيد يحمل علامتين مزخرفتين. أحدهما يقرأ "الحلم" والآخر يقرأ "BLM".
العربية

Groups Kicked Off 2024 with Statewide Action!

Dear ROPnet,

Last month, rural Oregonians in every corner of the state showed that democracy is not a spectator sport and got in the thick of the action to advance democracy in their communities! Here are a few highlights from January, including Martin Luther King Jr. Day celebrations, Women’s Marches, civics education workshops, and peace vigils.

What has your group been up to so far in 2024? Share your photos and stories with the state to inspire one another, and come to the Rural Caucus and Strategy Session on Saturday, April 6th in Woodburn to swap strategies and plan for what’s to come. Register now at rop.org/caucus to reserve your team’s seats!

Warmly,

Emma and the ROP Team

January Actions Across the State

Baker County

Community members in Halfway have been holding candlelight peace vigils every Friday for a few months. They also got an article published in the local paper, the Hells Canyon Journal, and convinced the city council to allow them to install a permanent peace sign at the main intersection in town!

Coos County

Bandon Inclusivity Group hosted a Protecting Democracy:  A Civics Workshop, on Sunday, January 21, following the lead of Linn-Benton NAACP’s event in 2022. Click here for the toolkit on how to host your own! 80 people showed up and rotated through 7 stations over the course of the afternoon. We will be sending out a full ROPnet about this soon. Stay tuned!

10 seated people listen intently to a speaker.

Curry County

54 people line up for a women’s march. The people in front hold a sign reading “Bigger than Roe. Rights, Freedoms, Democracy.”

Despite flood watch warnings in the county, 54 people participated in Indivisible North Curry County’s 8th annual Women’s March. Marchers weren’t discouraged by serious wind, and luckily the rain held off for a few key hours. After gathering at Battle Rock in Port Orford people walked to the library, waving at folks driving by. When they got to the library, Indivisible North Curry County had refreshments and tables set up with information on how to support abortion access, how to become a candidate for local office, how to get involved with various local organizations, and how to contact your elected officials at all levels of government.

A table display with business cards for elected officials and information on how to contact them.

Josephine

Takilma

Folks in Takilma (population 465) hosted a Solidarity March on Saturday, January 27th. The next week they followed up by hosting a letter-writing event.

About 15 people in raincoats walk down a country road holding signs that read “Say no to genocide.”

Grants Pass

Many community partners collaborated on a Martin Luther King Jr weekend of events in Grants Pass. On Friday, January 12 Grants Pass High School Theatre department hosted a one-act festival of short plays celebrating ordinary people doing extraordinary things (the theme for the weekend). On Saturday, the Grants Pass Remembrance Project hosted a bilingual community gathering with food, speakers, and student leaders (see image below). This included community members reciting MLK quotes, and a panel discussing the Remembrance Project’s work telling the history of Grants Pass as a Sundown town and setting a new direction for the future. On Monday, Rogue Community College’s Courageous Conversations group hosted an evening of story and song at Newman United Methodist Church.

Eight people stand on stage with a screen lit up behind them.

The weekend also marked the start of a community-wide tile mural. Tiles (see examples in the image below) were distributed all over town and are being decorated in honor of their chosen community members who they see as “ordinary people doing extraordinary things”. In March, the tiles will be exhibited by the Grants Pass Museum of Art!

Paper tiles with hand drawings posted on a bulletin board.

Lane County

Organizers in Florence held their annual Women’s March on Sunday, January 21st, and said it was one of their best yet! There were over 100 participants despite the rain. In addition to having speakers who shared about the history of women’s rights organizing, they made sure to have lots of fun, bringing out the kazoos and tambourines and singing together. Organizers of the march shared that they wanted to take time to celebrate the community and bring optimism about what the future holds.

Four people stand smiling and holding signs on a dock with water behind them.

Washington County

Western Washington County for Racial Justice hosted an Art March for Martin Luther King Jr Day in Forest Grove. They posted bilingual flyers and wrote a press release that got picked up by the local paper announcing the event. Despite a thick layer of snow putting a damper on the marching, the sun came out and their art day was a great success! Around 25 people of all ages participated and enjoyed the meaningful playlist and the company.

A young kid in a minions cap and covid mask holds up two decorated signs. One reads “Dream” and the other reads “BLM.”
English