各团体在全州范围内采取行动,拉开了 2024 年的序幕!

亲爱的 ROPnet,

上个月,俄勒冈州各个角落的农村居民表明,民主不是一场观赏性的运动,并积极参与到推动社区民主的行动中!以下是一月份的一些亮点,包括马丁·路德·金日庆祝活动、妇女游行、公民教育研讨会和和平守夜活动。

2024 年到目前为止,您的团队做了什么?与国家分享您的照片和故事以激励彼此,并来到 农村核心小组和战略会议 4 月 6 日星期六在伍德伯恩交换策略并计划未来的发展。 立即前往 rop.org/caucus 注册 为您的团队预留座位!

热烈地,

艾玛和 ROP 团队

全州一月行动

贝克县

几个月来,Halfway 的社区成员每周五都会举行烛光和平守夜活动。他们还在当地报纸《地狱峡谷杂志》上发表了一篇文章,并说服市议会允许他们在镇上的主要十字路口安装永久的和平标志!

库斯县

继 Linn-Benton NAACP 2022 年活动之后,班登包容性集团于 1 月 21 日星期日主办了“保护民主:公民研讨会”。 单击此处获取有关如何托管您自己的工具包! 整个下午,共有 80 人到场并轮流穿过 7 个站点。我们将很快发布有关此问题的完整 ROPnet。敬请关注!

10 个人坐着,聚精会神地听演讲者讲话。

库里县

54 人排队参加妇女游行。前面的人举着一块牌子,上面写着“比鱼子还大。”权利、自由、民主。”

尽管该县发出了洪水警戒警告,仍有 54 人参加了不可分割的北咖喱县第八届年度妇女游行。游行者并没有被大风吓倒,幸运的是,雨推迟了几个关键的小时。在奥福德港的战斗岩聚集后,人们步行前往图书馆,向路过的人们挥手致意。当他们到达图书馆时,不可分割的北咖喱县已经准备好了茶点,桌子上摆满了有关如何支持堕胎、如何成为当地公职候选人、如何参与各种当地组织以及如何联系您当选的信息的信息。各级政府官员。

桌子上摆放着民选官员的名片以及如何联系他们的信息。

约瑟芬

塔克勒玛

1 月 27 日星期六,塔基勒马 (Takilma) 居民(人口 465)举办了团结游行。接下来的一周,他们又举办了一次写信活动。

大约 15 名穿着雨衣的人举着写着“对种族灭绝说不”的标语走在一条乡间小路上。

授予通行证

许多社区合作伙伴在格兰茨帕斯举行的马丁·路德·金周末活动中进行了合作。 1 月 12 日星期五,格兰茨帕斯高中戏剧系举办了一场单幕短剧节,庆祝普通人做出不平凡的事情(周末的主题)。周六,格兰茨帕斯纪念项目举办了一场双语社区聚会,有食物、演讲者和学生领袖(见下图)。其中包括社区成员背诵马丁路德金名言,以及讨论纪念项目工作的小组讨论,讲述格兰茨帕斯作为日落小镇的历史,并为未来设定新的方向。周一,罗格社区学院的勇敢对话小组在纽曼联合卫理公会教堂举办了一个故事和歌曲之夜。

八个人站在舞台上,身后的屏幕亮着。

这个周末也标志着全社区瓷砖壁画的开始。瓷砖(参见下图中的示例)分布在城镇各处,并进行装饰以纪念他们所选择的社区成员,他们认为这些成员是“做着非凡事情的普通人”。三月,这些瓷砖将在格兰茨帕斯艺术博物馆展出!

布告栏上张贴着带有手绘图的纸砖。

莱恩县

佛罗伦萨的组织者于 1 月 21 日星期日举行了一年一度的妇女游行,并表示这是他们迄今为止最好的一次!尽管下雨,仍有超过100人参加。除了有演讲者分享妇女权利组织的历史之外,他们还拿出卡祖笛和手鼓一起唱歌,确保玩得很开心。游行的组织者表示,他们希望花时间庆祝社区,并对未来抱有乐观的态度。

四个人微笑着站在码头上,举着牌子,身后有水。

华盛顿县

华盛顿州西部种族正义县在福里斯特格罗夫举办了马丁·路德·金纪念日艺术游行。他们张贴了双语传单并写了一份 当地报纸转载的新闻稿 宣布该活动。尽管厚厚的积雪阻碍了行军,但太阳出来了,他们的艺术日取得了巨大的成功!大约 25 名各个年龄段的人参与其中,并享受了有意义的播放列表和陪伴。

一个戴着小黄人帽、戴着新冠面具的小孩举着两个装饰标牌。一个写着“梦想”,另一个写着“BLM”。
打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Groups Kicked Off 2024 with Statewide Action!

Dear ROPnet,

Last month, rural Oregonians in every corner of the state showed that democracy is not a spectator sport and got in the thick of the action to advance democracy in their communities! Here are a few highlights from January, including Martin Luther King Jr. Day celebrations, Women’s Marches, civics education workshops, and peace vigils.

What has your group been up to so far in 2024? Share your photos and stories with the state to inspire one another, and come to the Rural Caucus and Strategy Session on Saturday, April 6th in Woodburn to swap strategies and plan for what’s to come. Register now at rop.org/caucus to reserve your team’s seats!

Warmly,

Emma and the ROP Team

January Actions Across the State

Baker County

Community members in Halfway have been holding candlelight peace vigils every Friday for a few months. They also got an article published in the local paper, the Hells Canyon Journal, and convinced the city council to allow them to install a permanent peace sign at the main intersection in town!

Coos County

Bandon Inclusivity Group hosted a Protecting Democracy:  A Civics Workshop, on Sunday, January 21, following the lead of Linn-Benton NAACP’s event in 2022. Click here for the toolkit on how to host your own! 80 people showed up and rotated through 7 stations over the course of the afternoon. We will be sending out a full ROPnet about this soon. Stay tuned!

10 seated people listen intently to a speaker.

Curry County

54 people line up for a women’s march. The people in front hold a sign reading “Bigger than Roe. Rights, Freedoms, Democracy.”

Despite flood watch warnings in the county, 54 people participated in Indivisible North Curry County’s 8th annual Women’s March. Marchers weren’t discouraged by serious wind, and luckily the rain held off for a few key hours. After gathering at Battle Rock in Port Orford people walked to the library, waving at folks driving by. When they got to the library, Indivisible North Curry County had refreshments and tables set up with information on how to support abortion access, how to become a candidate for local office, how to get involved with various local organizations, and how to contact your elected officials at all levels of government.

A table display with business cards for elected officials and information on how to contact them.

Josephine

Takilma

Folks in Takilma (population 465) hosted a Solidarity March on Saturday, January 27th. The next week they followed up by hosting a letter-writing event.

About 15 people in raincoats walk down a country road holding signs that read “Say no to genocide.”

Grants Pass

Many community partners collaborated on a Martin Luther King Jr weekend of events in Grants Pass. On Friday, January 12 Grants Pass High School Theatre department hosted a one-act festival of short plays celebrating ordinary people doing extraordinary things (the theme for the weekend). On Saturday, the Grants Pass Remembrance Project hosted a bilingual community gathering with food, speakers, and student leaders (see image below). This included community members reciting MLK quotes, and a panel discussing the Remembrance Project’s work telling the history of Grants Pass as a Sundown town and setting a new direction for the future. On Monday, Rogue Community College’s Courageous Conversations group hosted an evening of story and song at Newman United Methodist Church.

Eight people stand on stage with a screen lit up behind them.

The weekend also marked the start of a community-wide tile mural. Tiles (see examples in the image below) were distributed all over town and are being decorated in honor of their chosen community members who they see as “ordinary people doing extraordinary things”. In March, the tiles will be exhibited by the Grants Pass Museum of Art!

Paper tiles with hand drawings posted on a bulletin board.

Lane County

Organizers in Florence held their annual Women’s March on Sunday, January 21st, and said it was one of their best yet! There were over 100 participants despite the rain. In addition to having speakers who shared about the history of women’s rights organizing, they made sure to have lots of fun, bringing out the kazoos and tambourines and singing together. Organizers of the march shared that they wanted to take time to celebrate the community and bring optimism about what the future holds.

Four people stand smiling and holding signs on a dock with water behind them.

Washington County

Western Washington County for Racial Justice hosted an Art March for Martin Luther King Jr Day in Forest Grove. They posted bilingual flyers and wrote a press release that got picked up by the local paper announcing the event. Despite a thick layer of snow putting a damper on the marching, the sun came out and their art day was a great success! Around 25 people of all ages participated and enjoyed the meaningful playlist and the company.

A young kid in a minions cap and covid mask holds up two decorated signs. One reads “Dream” and the other reads “BLM.”
English