悲伤与反抗

我们和 ROP 网络中的许多人一样感到痛苦和愤怒,以应对 本周北乔治亚州发生了针对亚裔美国女性的可怕谋杀案。 在困难时期,我们与亲人聚在一起,无论是身体上的还是虚拟的,因为我们知道我们是彼此安全的人。这些天我们有太多悲伤,很容易感到不知所措和陷入困境,尤其是当我们独自面对这些巨大挑战时。我们了解并热爱我们的社区,并将继续一次又一次地出现并互相照顾。 

仅在过去的一年里, 美国报告了近 3,800 起针对亚裔美国人的仇恨事件。 反亚裔以及基于性别的暴力与其他形式的白人至上主义暴力一起呈上升趋势。尽管几个世纪以来,包括本周在北乔治亚州被谋杀的人在内的有色人种社区一直受到执法部门的残酷对待和歧视,但这些事件引发了加强警务的呼声。我们不能忘记在我们国家和我们自己的家乡的遗产,日裔美国人在第二次世界大战期间失去家园和生意并被关押,或者目前被关押在移民拘留设施中的来自世界各地的 13,000 多名移民。美国。 

亚裔美国人推进正义 - 亚特兰大和佐治亚州全国有色人种协进会本周分享了一份强有力的声明,其中包括以下文字:“在我们 AAPI [亚裔美国人和太平洋岛民] 社区的危机时期, 我们呼吁我们的地方和州政府提供强大且响应迅速的危机干预资源,包括对心理健康、法律、就业和移民服务的语言支持。 现在是格鲁吉亚投资于变革性司法的时候了,从跨种族对话和社区建设开始,解决暴力和仇恨的根源。” 在这里阅读完整的声明。

以下是我们 ROP 在这些充满挑战的时期寻找希望并提供支持的一些方式。

支持北乔治亚州的当地组织:

  • 登录 亚裔美国人推进正义-亚特兰大和佐治亚州全国有色人种协进会的有力声明。
  • 贡献 亚裔美国人正义促进组织——亚特兰大,为被残忍杀害的人的家属提供的这个支持基金。

与您的团队和邻居联系:

  • 报到: 你好吗?你的朋友和邻居过得怎么样?特别是如果您不是亚裔美国人,现在是时候伸出手并为您所爱的人提供支持了。
  • 支持 您当地的亚裔美国人拥有的企业。
  • 制定本地行动计划。 想做更多?召集您的团队并制定计划,以确保彼此的安全,并挑战针对亚裔美国人的暴力行为以及白人至上主义对农村社区的各种危害。不知道从哪里开始?请随时致电您当地的 ROP 组织者寻求支持,或发送电子邮件至 艾玛@rop.org!

您的团队还如何应对这一时刻?让我们知道,我们很乐意与网络分享您的示例!给我们发电子邮件 艾玛@rop.org.

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Grief and Resistance

We share the pain and outrage that many folks across the ROP network are feeling in response to the terrible murders targeting Asian American women in North Georgia this week. We gather together with our loved ones, whether physically or virtually in difficult times because we know that we are the ones who will keep each other safe. We have so much to grieve these days, it can be easy to feel overwhelmed and stuck, especially when we face these huge challenges alone. We know and love our communities and will continue to show up and take care of each other again and again. 

In the past year alone, nearly 3,800 hate incidents targeting Asian Americans were reported in the US. Anti-Asian, as well as gender-based violence, has been on the rise alongside other forms of white supremacist violence. These incidents have brought with them calls for increased policing, despite the fact that communities of color including the people murdered in North Georgia this week have been brutalized and discriminated against by law enforcement for centuries. We cannot forget the legacy in our country, and our own home state, of Japanese Americans losing their homes and businesses and being locked up during World War Two, or the more than 13,000 immigrants from all over the world currently held in immigrant detention facilities in the US. 

Asian Americans Advancing Justice-Atlanta & the Georgia NAACP shared a powerful statement this week, including these words: “During this time of crisis for our AAPI [Asian American and Pacific Islander] community, we call on our local and state government to provide robust and responsive crisis intervention resources, including in-language support for mental health, legal, employment, and immigration services. It is time for Georgia to invest in transformative justice that begins with cross-racial dialogue and community-building that address the root causes of violence and hate.” Read the full statement here.

Below are some ways we at ROP are finding hope and offering support in these challenging times.

Support Local Organizing in North Georgia:

  • Sign on to Asian Americans Advancing Justice-Atlanta & the Georgia NAACP’s powerful statement.
  • Contribute to this support fund for the families of the people who were ruthlessly murdered, organized by Asian Americans Advancing Justice – Atlanta.

Connect with Your Group and Your Neighbors:

  • Check-In: How are you doing? How are your friends and neighbors doing? Particularly if you aren’t Asian American, now is the time to reach out and offer support to your loved ones who are.
  • Support your local Asian American-owned businesses.
  • Make a Local Action Plan. Want to do more? Get your group together and make a plan to keep each other safe and challenge violence against Asian American people and all the ways white supremacy harms rural communities. Not sure where to start? Don’t hesitate to call up your local ROP organizer for support, or email us at emma@rop.org!

How else is your group grappling with this moment? Let us know and we would love to share your examples with the network! Email us at emma@rop.org.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English