感谢抵抗

2014 年 11 月 25 日

亲爱的 ROPnet,

一年多前,我写信给大家,表达我的悲痛、沮丧和瘫痪的感觉,因为乔治齐默曼因谋杀特雷冯马丁而被无罪释放。昨晚,我观看了弗格森抗议者的直播,他们吸收了达伦·威尔逊警官不会被起诉的消息,当我无助地看着这些令人难以置信的社区组织者在 4 1/2 分钟的沉默中拼命试图控制他们的悲伤时,我抽泣着,应迈克·布朗家人的要求。
就在 100 多天前,迈克·布朗 (Mike Brown) 双手悬空被击中了 6 次以上,流着血的尸体被留在街上,甚至连救护车都没有叫来。弗格森社区成员迅速行动起来,形成了许多由青年领导的新社区团体。尽管警方进行了激烈的镇压,但广泛的联盟在统一的事业中走到了一起,为正义建立了长期的组织力量——不仅仅是为迈克·布朗正义,而是为所有死在国家手中的黑人男女和儿童伸张正义暴力。

正是因为他们的组织,我们才知道迈克·布朗的名字。正是由于他们的组织,甚至召集了一个大陪审团。国民警卫队因期待大陪审团的决定宣布而被召集到弗格森,比他们因卡特里娜飓风而被召集到新奥尔良的速度更快。需要强大的社区组织才能使全国对话的话题成为丑陋的现实,有色人种几乎每天都成为警察的目标并被杀害,几乎没有追索权。

Leo 和 Cora,年轻的 ROP 领导人(以及长期 ROP 组织者艾米·达德利的孩子们)手上用他们自己的话手工制作的标语上写着“停止战争”和“现在停止杀人!”他们今天将与其他家庭一起在波特兰抗议。

我们目睹了弗格森警察使用军事武器、车辆和战术来制止示威活动,这引发了一场关于我们警察军事化的全国性对话。全国各地的许多社区都向内看自己的警察部门。全州的人类尊严组织领导人惊讶地发现,他们县的警察部门拥有火箭榴弹、数十种自动武器和装甲防雷全地形军车。所有这些武器都是军方的“礼物”,授予全国各地的当地警察部门和学校系统。知道这些武器在我们当地警察手中,而在全国性的关于警察杀害手无寸铁的人的谈话中,俄勒冈州小镇的人问:国家批准对全国各地的地方警察部门进行军事化的目的是什么?弗格森会在这里发生吗?

由于弗格森的不懈组织,我们将种族如何决定您在执法和更广泛的美国“司法”体系方面的经验的对话推向了全国的聚光灯下。在美国,每 28 小时就有一名黑人被警察杀害。这一比率可与 20 世纪初期黑人私刑的比率相媲美。即使最耀眼的聚光灯照在弗格森身上,射杀迈克布朗的警官没有被起诉,考虑到 2010 年提出的 162,000 起联邦案件,这极为罕见,只有 11 个大陪审团拒绝起诉。

跨越地域、跨越斗争、跨越问题的人们现在站在一起。我们不在弗格森,但作为人类尊严的组织者,作为致力于正义的人们,我们可以在俄勒冈州的农村和小镇做一些事情:

组织或参加抗议活动。到目前为止,我们知道该州有几个(请查看下面的列表),并且当我们听说它们时,将在我们的 Facebook 页面中添加更多。人类尊严团体的组织者正在计划整个星期的活动。您也可以组织演示——只需要几个人和标志。给我发电子邮件 jessica@rop.org 让我知道你的活动,我会发布它!不要忘记将其添加到弗格森国家响应网络!
签署请愿书,呼吁司法部指控达伦·威尔逊警官并抗议弗格森抗议者的第一修正案权利。
给予感谢和抵抗。与家人和朋友交谈的哪些方面适合您的假期计划?这个假期周,我们将与家人和亲人围坐在桌子旁,分享我们的感激之情。有时,在简单的餐桌对话中,转变可能会发生。变革性对话是我们运动的基础。连接,分享你的感受,并一起处理。
不知道要谈什么?阅读然后参与。在整个 ROPnet 中链接了许多文章,可以帮助引发一些对话。我们在 Showing Up for Racial Justice (SURJ) 的朋友也整理了一些资源,其中包含大量值得深入研究的文章。
开始讨论您可以在本地做什么。在过去的几年里,人类尊严团体一直在组织为所有人建立安全和友好的社区,从与当地执法部门建立关系(有时是挑战)到解决种族定性问题,到发展能够应对仇恨活动的快速反应团队。联系 ROP,让我们安排一次聚会,开始为您的人类尊严团体制定参与安全和欢迎社区工作的策略。有关一些想法,请查看此选项菜单。
让我们一起为正义而战。让我们不只是制造噪音,还要深入思考作为组织者,我们必须做些什么来确保我们的社区安全,让每个成员都能过上有尊严和安全的生活。

热烈地,
杰西卡

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Giving thanks for resistance

November 25th, 2014

Dear ROPnet,

Over a year ago, I wrote you all to express my grief, dismay, and feeling of paralysis with the news that George Zimmerman was acquitted for Trayvon Martin’s murder. Last night, I watched a livestream of Ferguson protesters absorbing the news that Officer Darren Wilson would not be indicted, and I sobbed as I helplessly watched these incredible community organizers trying desperately to contain their grief as they observed 4 1/2 minutes of silence, as requested by Mike Brown’s family.
It was just over 100 days ago that Mike Brown was shot more than six times with his hands in the air and his bleeding body was left in the street without so much as an ambulance called. Ferguson community members sprung into action, forming new community groups, many led by youth. Broad coalitions have come together in unified cause, despite intense police crackdown, building long-term organizing power for justice — and not just justice for Mike Brown, but all of the black men and women and children whose deaths have been at the hands of state violence.

It is because of their organizing that we even know Mike Brown’s name. It is because of their organizing that a grand jury was even convened. The National Guard was called out to Ferguson in anticipation of the grand jury decision announcement faster than they were called out to New Orleans for Hurricane Katrina. It took strong community organizing to make the topic of national conversation the ugly reality that people of color are targeted and killed by police officers almost daily with little to no recourse.

Leo & Cora, young ROP leaders (and children of longtime ROP organizer Amy Dudley) with their handmade signs in their own words reading “stop war” and “stop killing people now!” They will be joining other families today in protest in Portland.

We have watched the Ferguson police use military weapons, vehicles, and tactics to shut down demonstrations, which led to a national conversation about the militarization of our police. Many communities across the nation to looked inwards at their own police departments. Human dignity group leaders across the state were startled to learn that police departments in their counties had rocket-propelled grenades, scores of automatic weapons, and armor-plated, mine-proof, all-terrain military vehicles. All of these weapons are “gifts” from the military, granted to local police departments and school systems across the country. With the knowledge that these weapons are in our local police officers hands in the midst of a national conversation about police killing unarmed people, small town Oregonians were asking: what is the purpose for the state sanctioned militarization of local police departments across the country? Could Ferguson happen here?

Because of the tireless organizing in Ferguson, we have thrust into the national spotlight a conversation on how race determines the kind of experience you have with law enforcement and the broader US “justice” system. In the US, a black person is killed by police every 28 hours. This is a rate comparable to the rate of lynchings of black people in the early 20th century. With even the brightest of spotlights shone on Ferguson, the officer who shot Mike Brown was not indicted, which is extremely rare considering of the 162,000 federal cases brought forward in 2010, only 11 grand juries declined to indict.

People across geography, across struggles, across issues are standing together right now. We aren’t in Ferguson, but there are things we can do here in rural and small town Oregon, as human dignity organizers, as people committed to justice:

Organize or join a protest. So far we know of several around the state (check out the list below) and more will be added to our Facebook page as we hear about them. Human dignity group organizers are planning events throughout the week. You can organize a demonstration, too — all it takes is a few people together with signs. Email me at jessica@rop.org to let me know about your event and I will post it! Don’t forget to add it to the Ferguson National Response Network!
Sign the petition calling on the Department of Justice to charge Officer Darren Wilson and protest the 1st Amendment rights of Ferguson protesters.
Giving thanks and resistance. Where does talking to your family and friends fit into your holiday plans? This holiday week we’ll be sitting around the table with family and loved ones sharing what we are thankful for. Sometimes it’s the simple dinner table conversations where transformation can happen. Transformational conversations are what our movement is built on. Connect, share what you’re feeling, and process together.
Not sure what to talk about? Read up and then engage. There are a number of articles linked throughout this ROPnet that can help spark some conversation. Our friends at Showing Up for Racial Justice (SURJ) have also put together some resources with a great list of articles worth digging into.
Start the conversation about what you can do locally. Over the last few years human dignity groups have been organizing to build Safe & Welcoming Communities for all, from building relationships with (and at times challenging) local law enforcement to address racial profiling, to developing rapid response teams able to respond to hate activity. Contact ROP and let’s schedule a gathering to start developing strategies for your human dignity group to engage in Safe & Welcoming Communities work. For a few ideas, check out this Menu of Options.
Let us come together for justice. Let us not just make noise, but also deeply consider what we, as organizers, must do to make our communities safe so every member can live their lives fully with dignity and safety.

Warmly,
Jessica

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English