الشكر على المقاومة

25 نوفمبر 2014

عزيزي روب نت ،

منذ أكثر من عام ، كتبت إليكم جميعًا للتعبير عن حزني وفزعي وشعوري بالشلل من الأخبار التي تفيد بأن جورج زيمرمان قد تمت تبرئته من جريمة قتل تريفون مارتن. الليلة الماضية ، شاهدت بثًا مباشرًا لمتظاهري فيرغسون وهم يستوعبون الأخبار القائلة بأن الضابط دارين ويلسون لن يتم توجيه الاتهام إليه ، وبكيت وأنا أشاهد منظمي المجتمع المذهلين هؤلاء وهم يحاولون يائسًا احتواء حزنهم حيث لاحظوا 4 دقائق ونصف من الصمت ، بناء على طلب عائلة مايك براون.
مر ما يزيد قليلاً عن 100 يوم على إطلاق النار على مايك براون أكثر من ست مرات ويداه مرفوعتان في الهواء وترك جسده النازف في الشارع دون ما يسمى بسيارة إسعاف. انطلق أعضاء مجتمع فيرغسون إلى العمل ، وشكلوا مجموعات مجتمعية جديدة ، يقود العديد منها الشباب. لقد اجتمعت التحالفات الواسعة في قضية موحدة ، على الرغم من القمع المكثف للشرطة ، وبناء قوة تنظيمية طويلة الأمد من أجل العدالة - وليس فقط العدالة لمايك براون ، ولكن جميع الرجال والنساء والأطفال السود الذين كانت وفاتهم على يد الدولة عنف.

وبسبب تنظيمهم حتى أننا نعرف اسم مايك براون. وبسبب تنظيمهم تم تشكيل هيئة محلفين كبرى. تم استدعاء الحرس الوطني إلى فيرجسون تحسبا لإعلان قرار هيئة المحلفين الكبرى أسرع مما تم استدعاؤهم إلى نيو أورليانز بسبب إعصار كاترينا. لقد تطلب الأمر تنظيمًا مجتمعيًا قويًا لجعل موضوع المحادثة الوطنية حقيقة قبيحة تتمثل في أن الأشخاص الملونين يتم استهدافهم وقتلهم من قبل ضباط الشرطة يوميًا تقريبًا مع القليل من سبل الانتصاف أو منعدمة.

ليو وكورا ، قادة شرطة عمان السلطانية الشباب (وأطفال منظمي شرطة عمان السلطانية منذ فترة طويلة آمي دادلي) مع لافتاتهم اليدوية بكلماتهم الخاصة التي تقول "أوقفوا الحرب" و "توقفوا عن قتل الناس الآن!" سوف ينضمون إلى عائلات أخرى اليوم احتجاجًا في بورتلاند.

لقد شاهدنا شرطة فيرغسون تستخدم الأسلحة العسكرية والمركبات والتكتيكات لإغلاق المظاهرات ، مما أدى إلى محادثة وطنية حول عسكرة شرطتنا. العديد من المجتمعات في جميع أنحاء البلاد ينظرون إلى الداخل إلى أقسام الشرطة الخاصة بهم. أصيب قادة جماعة الكرامة الإنسانية في جميع أنحاء الولاية بالدهشة عندما علموا أن أقسام الشرطة في مقاطعاتهم لديها قذائف صاروخية وعشرات من الأسلحة الآلية ومركبات عسكرية مطلية بالدروع ومضادة للألغام ومركبات عسكرية لجميع التضاريس. كل هذه الأسلحة هي "هدايا" من الجيش ، تُمنح لإدارات الشرطة المحلية وأنظمة المدارس في جميع أنحاء البلاد. مع العلم أن هذه الأسلحة في أيدي ضباط الشرطة المحليين لدينا في خضم محادثة وطنية حول قيام الشرطة بقتل أشخاص غير مسلحين ، كان سكان بلدة أوريغون الصغيرة يتساءلون: ما هو الغرض من عسكرة الدولة لإدارات الشرطة المحلية في جميع أنحاء البلاد؟ هل يمكن أن يحدث فيرغسون هنا؟

بسبب التنظيم الدؤوب في فيرغسون ، فقد دفعنا إلى دائرة الضوء الوطنية محادثة حول كيفية تحديد العرق نوع الخبرة التي لديك مع تطبيق القانون ونظام "العدالة" الأمريكي الأوسع. في الولايات المتحدة ، يُقتل شخص أسود على يد الشرطة كل 28 ساعة. هذا معدل يمكن مقارنته بمعدل الإعدام خارج نطاق القانون للسود في أوائل القرن العشرين. مع تسليط الأضواء الساطعة على فيرجسون ، لم يتم توجيه الاتهام إلى الضابط الذي أطلق النار على مايك براون ، وهو أمر نادر للغاية بالنظر إلى 162000 قضية فيدرالية تم رفعها في عام 2010 ، رفض 11 هيئة محلفين كبرى توجيه الاتهام.

الناس عبر الجغرافيا ، وعبر النضالات ، وعبر القضايا يقفون معًا في الوقت الحالي. نحن لسنا في فيرغسون ، ولكن هناك أشياء يمكننا القيام بها هنا في الريف وبلدة أوريغون الصغيرة ، بصفتنا منظمي كرامة الإنسان ، كأشخاص ملتزمين بالعدالة:

تنظيم أو الانضمام إلى احتجاج. حتى الآن نعرف العديد من أنحاء الولاية (راجع القائمة أدناه) وستتم إضافة المزيد إلى صفحتنا على Facebook كما نسمع عنها. منظمو مجموعة كرامة الإنسان يخططون لأحداث على مدار الأسبوع. يمكنك تنظيم مظاهرة أيضًا - كل ما يتطلبه الأمر هو بضعة أشخاص سويًا مع لافتات. أرسل لي بريدًا إلكترونيًا على jessica@rop.org لإعلامي بحدثك وسأرسله! لا تنس إضافته إلى شبكة فيرغسون للاستجابة الوطنية!
وقع على العريضة التي تطالب وزارة العدل بتوجيه الاتهام إلى الضابط دارين ويلسون والاحتجاج على حقوق التعديل الأول لمتظاهري فيرغسون.
الشكر والمقاومة. أين يتناسب التحدث مع عائلتك وأصدقائك مع خطط عطلتك؟ في أسبوع العطلة هذا ، سنجلس حول الطاولة مع العائلة والأحباء لمشاركة ما نشكره عليه. في بعض الأحيان تكون محادثات مائدة العشاء البسيطة حيث يمكن أن يحدث التحول. المحادثات التحويلية هي ما تُبنى عليه حركتنا. تواصل ، شارك ما تشعر به ، وتعامل معه معًا.
لست متأكدا مما تتحدث عنه؟ اقرأ ثم شارك. هناك عدد من المقالات المرتبطة عبر شبكة ROPnet هذه والتي يمكن أن تساعد في إثارة بعض المحادثات. لقد جمع أصدقاؤنا في "الظهور من أجل العدالة العرقية" (SURJ) أيضًا بعض الموارد مع قائمة رائعة من المقالات التي تستحق البحث فيها.
ابدأ المحادثة حول ما يمكنك القيام به محليًا. على مدى السنوات القليلة الماضية ، نظمت مجموعات كرامة الإنسان لبناء مجتمعات آمنة ومرحبة للجميع ، بدءًا من بناء العلاقات مع (وفي بعض الأحيان تحديًا) سلطات إنفاذ القانون المحلية لمعالجة التنميط العنصري ، إلى تطوير فرق الاستجابة السريعة القادرة على الاستجابة لنشاط الكراهية. اتصل بشرطة عمان السلطانية ودعنا نحدد موعدًا للتجمع لبدء تطوير استراتيجيات لمجموعة كرامة الإنسان الخاصة بك للانخراط في عمل المجتمعات الآمنة والترحيب. للحصول على بعض الأفكار ، تحقق من قائمة الخيارات هذه.
دعونا نجتمع من أجل العدالة. دعونا لا نحدث ضوضاء فحسب ، بل دعونا أيضًا نفكر بعمق في ما يجب علينا ، كمنظمين ، القيام به لجعل مجتمعاتنا آمنة حتى يتمكن كل عضو من عيش حياته بشكل كامل بكرامة وأمان.

بحرارة
جيسيكا

سهل الطباعة، PDF والبريد الإلكتروني
العربية

Giving thanks for resistance

November 25th, 2014

Dear ROPnet,

Over a year ago, I wrote you all to express my grief, dismay, and feeling of paralysis with the news that George Zimmerman was acquitted for Trayvon Martin’s murder. Last night, I watched a livestream of Ferguson protesters absorbing the news that Officer Darren Wilson would not be indicted, and I sobbed as I helplessly watched these incredible community organizers trying desperately to contain their grief as they observed 4 1/2 minutes of silence, as requested by Mike Brown’s family.
It was just over 100 days ago that Mike Brown was shot more than six times with his hands in the air and his bleeding body was left in the street without so much as an ambulance called. Ferguson community members sprung into action, forming new community groups, many led by youth. Broad coalitions have come together in unified cause, despite intense police crackdown, building long-term organizing power for justice — and not just justice for Mike Brown, but all of the black men and women and children whose deaths have been at the hands of state violence.

It is because of their organizing that we even know Mike Brown’s name. It is because of their organizing that a grand jury was even convened. The National Guard was called out to Ferguson in anticipation of the grand jury decision announcement faster than they were called out to New Orleans for Hurricane Katrina. It took strong community organizing to make the topic of national conversation the ugly reality that people of color are targeted and killed by police officers almost daily with little to no recourse.

Leo & Cora, young ROP leaders (and children of longtime ROP organizer Amy Dudley) with their handmade signs in their own words reading “stop war” and “stop killing people now!” They will be joining other families today in protest in Portland.

We have watched the Ferguson police use military weapons, vehicles, and tactics to shut down demonstrations, which led to a national conversation about the militarization of our police. Many communities across the nation to looked inwards at their own police departments. Human dignity group leaders across the state were startled to learn that police departments in their counties had rocket-propelled grenades, scores of automatic weapons, and armor-plated, mine-proof, all-terrain military vehicles. All of these weapons are “gifts” from the military, granted to local police departments and school systems across the country. With the knowledge that these weapons are in our local police officers hands in the midst of a national conversation about police killing unarmed people, small town Oregonians were asking: what is the purpose for the state sanctioned militarization of local police departments across the country? Could Ferguson happen here?

Because of the tireless organizing in Ferguson, we have thrust into the national spotlight a conversation on how race determines the kind of experience you have with law enforcement and the broader US “justice” system. In the US, a black person is killed by police every 28 hours. This is a rate comparable to the rate of lynchings of black people in the early 20th century. With even the brightest of spotlights shone on Ferguson, the officer who shot Mike Brown was not indicted, which is extremely rare considering of the 162,000 federal cases brought forward in 2010, only 11 grand juries declined to indict.

People across geography, across struggles, across issues are standing together right now. We aren’t in Ferguson, but there are things we can do here in rural and small town Oregon, as human dignity organizers, as people committed to justice:

Organize or join a protest. So far we know of several around the state (check out the list below) and more will be added to our Facebook page as we hear about them. Human dignity group organizers are planning events throughout the week. You can organize a demonstration, too — all it takes is a few people together with signs. Email me at jessica@rop.org to let me know about your event and I will post it! Don’t forget to add it to the Ferguson National Response Network!
Sign the petition calling on the Department of Justice to charge Officer Darren Wilson and protest the 1st Amendment rights of Ferguson protesters.
Giving thanks and resistance. Where does talking to your family and friends fit into your holiday plans? This holiday week we’ll be sitting around the table with family and loved ones sharing what we are thankful for. Sometimes it’s the simple dinner table conversations where transformation can happen. Transformational conversations are what our movement is built on. Connect, share what you’re feeling, and process together.
Not sure what to talk about? Read up and then engage. There are a number of articles linked throughout this ROPnet that can help spark some conversation. Our friends at Showing Up for Racial Justice (SURJ) have also put together some resources with a great list of articles worth digging into.
Start the conversation about what you can do locally. Over the last few years human dignity groups have been organizing to build Safe & Welcoming Communities for all, from building relationships with (and at times challenging) local law enforcement to address racial profiling, to developing rapid response teams able to respond to hate activity. Contact ROP and let’s schedule a gathering to start developing strategies for your human dignity group to engage in Safe & Welcoming Communities work. For a few ideas, check out this Menu of Options.
Let us come together for justice. Let us not just make noise, but also deeply consider what we, as organizers, must do to make our communities safe so every member can live their lives fully with dignity and safety.

Warmly,
Jessica

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English