感谢您所在城镇的人权英雄!

2013 年 11 月 21 日
亲爱的 ROPnetters:

每年,全州的人类尊严组织都会选择表彰一位当地的人权英雄,以纪念 1948 年 12 月 10 日签署的《世界人权宣言》的周年纪念。

我们生活在一个无人机攻击被认为是正常和理性的时代。将我们的邻居赶到拘留中心被认为是对失败的移民和经济政策的合乎逻辑的回应。在这些困难时期,您的人类尊严团体是您所在社区的道德指南针。很多时候,这是一份吃力不讨好的工作。

在《世界人权宣言》发表周年之际,让我们借此机会提醒我们的社区我们共同的人权价值观,因为我们正在考虑一个公平和民主的社会应该包括哪些政策和做法。更多信息请访问 www.udhr.org。

您所在社区中的哪些人在保护和促进人权方面的工作值得被认可?这可以是一种积极的方式来分享您的小组议程并讨论影响我们社区和全球的人权问题。

在此处下载证书,或发送电子邮件 cara@rop.org 让 Publisher 中的版本自行编辑。将这封信改编给编辑或新闻稿,向您的社区宣布该奖项。

关于 UDHR 的更多信息:与 ROP 的民主网格非常相似,UDHR 可以作为一个结构框架来连接看似不同的问题。 《世界人权宣言》中概述的五类人权是公民人权、经济人权、社会人权、文化人权和政治人权。 (要查看《世界人权宣言》的副本,请访问
www.udhr.org 或让 ROP 给您邮寄一份。)公民人权是指言论自由、和平集会和不受歧视的自由。经济人权包括为您的工作获得生活工资的权利、工作后能够养家糊口的权利、如果您无法工作也能够生存的权利。社会人权涉及每个人对住房、教育和医疗保健的需求。文化人权包括实践自己的文化、选择的宗教和选择的语言的权利。政治人权包括自由选举权、国籍权和自由进出本国的权利。

感谢你们为人权、正义与和平所做的一切。

热烈地,
卡拉

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Give Thanks to a Human Rights Hero in Your Town!‏

November 21st, 2013
Dear ROPnetters:

Every year, Human Dignity Groups across the state choose to recognize a local human rights hero in honor of the anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, signed on December 10, 1948.

We live in a time when drone attacks are deemed normal and rational. Whisking our neighbors away to detention centers is considered a logical response to failed immigration and economic policy. Your human dignity group is a moral compass for your community in these troubled times. All too often it is a thankless job.

On the anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, let’s take the opportunity to remind our communities of our shared value of human rights as we consider just what policies and practices a fair and democratic society should include. Read more at www.udhr.org .

Who in your community deserves to be recognized for their work to protect and promote human rights? This can be a positive way to share your group’s agenda and talk about the human rights issues impacting our communities and the globe.

Download a certificate here, or email cara@rop.org for a version in Publisher to edit yourself. Adapt this letter to the editor or press release to announce this award to your community.

More on the UDHR: Much like ROP’s Democracy Grid, the UDHR can work as a structural framework to connect seemingly distinct issues. The five categories of human rights outlined in the UDHR are civil human rights, economic human rights, social human rights, cultural human rights, and political human rights. (To see a copy of the UDHR go to
www.udhr.org or ask ROP to mail you one.) Civil Human Rights are those such as free speech, peaceful assembly, and freedom from discrimination. Economic Human Rights include the right to a living wage for your work, the right to be able to feed your family after working, the right to be able to survive if you are not able to work. Social Human Rights speak to the needs each person has for housing, education, and health care. Cultural Human Rights include the rights to practice your own culture, your religion of choice, and your language of choice. Political Human Rights include the right to free elections, the right to a nationality, and the right to free movement in and out of your country.

Thanks for all you do for human rights, justice, and peace.

Warmly,
Cara

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English