给我朝那扇门走三步

阿富汗从未被排除在外。它一直是反恐战争的一部分,尽管在过去几年里,它被明显卑鄙的伊拉克占领所掩盖。在某些方面,这很可能是我们现在的反战优势。

这个周末,我们期待您参与从不同角度攻击阿富汗战争的三个行动呼吁,向战外之门迈出 3 步(Skynyrd 有人吗?)。
伊拉克战争被普遍认为是失败的,并被揭露为建立在谎言的基础上。作为一个处于战争中的国家,我们仍在努力摆脱困境,但集体意识现在已将注意力转向阿富汗。 入侵阿富汗的最初任务是铲除本拉登并为他们争取“正义” 9/11 – 这种推理实际上使希望与更多人口建立桥梁的和平运动处于困境。并不是说在这种情况下不能提出反对阿富汗战争的论点,而是在面对全国对 9/11 的反应时就更难了。

然而,随着我们看到这场战争朝着长达十年的交战发展,许多关于与阿富汗战争的原始想法已经改变。即便是 总统 承认这场战争不能在战场上取胜——如果只有这样他才会停止为战斗提供资金!

自 9/11 以来,潮流也转向了经济。 每个人都在谈论经济,但关于我们每月 $120 亿的反恐战争承诺如何与我们的经济崩溃直接相关的对话在哪里? 当然贪婪是错的,但让我们也把战争放在桌面上。 WAND 的 ROP 成员在 6 月 10 日的行动中领先于我们。

WAND 宣布, “尤金和斯普林菲尔德的居民希望帮助奥巴马总统成功扭转我们的经济。我们希望美国人每天面临的金融战场再次变得安全与和平。我们希望我们的部队安全返回家园,并将数十亿美元的战争投机者重新用于国内未满足的需求,用于医疗保健、教育和社会服务。”

ROP 完全同意。

这个周末,我们期待您参与从不同角度攻击阿富汗战争的三个行动呼吁,向战外之门迈出 3 步(Skynyrd 有人吗?)。这是简短的计划,请阅读下面的所有详细信息。

1. 支持俄勒冈州的联合纪念馆 这将提醒联邦政府,俄勒冈州公民认为国民警卫队只有在宣战或美国国会颁布有效授权后才能进入联邦服役。
2. 击败美国众议院的妥协补充法案。 该法案为战争拨款 $900 亿。不要放弃你的保守派代表——该法案还包括一些关于 国际货币基金组织 许多自由主义风格的保守派与我们一起反对。 – 6 月 15 日到期!
3. 支持战争抵抗者,维克多·阿戈斯托. ROP 帮助当地抗战者 Benji Lewis 参观了您的许多社区。本吉并不孤单,他是一长串勇敢站出来对抗美国军事机器的史诗般力量的抗战者中的一员。签一个 网上请愿 支持维克多。

一定要让 ROP 知道你在那里做的所有伟大的和平事情。

****

细节:
#1 在俄勒冈战役中保持俄勒冈州的国民警卫队:帮助通过 HJM 5。
不幸的是,HB 2556 之前希望让俄勒冈州国民警卫队远离这场特殊战争的希望已经在俄勒冈州立法机构中消亡。该运动最新且可能成功的努力是众议院联合纪念 5。这是一份“纪念”,通知国会俄勒冈州认为州长有责任审查联邦命令以确保它们合法并确保俄勒冈州国民警卫队只有在宣战或美国国会颁布有效授权后才能进入联邦服役。

联系规则主席 Arnie Roblan 503-986-1409 和议长 Dave Hunt 503-986-1200(或使用国会大厦总机的免费电话 1-800-332-2313)并告诉他们您支持提议的修订版本HJM 5。

#2 来自我们在 United For Peace & Justice 的朋友:要求对国会补充法案投反对票。
第一次,51 名反战众议院议员投票反对战争资金。现在,由于国际货币基金组织的规定,众议院共和党人威胁要反对该法案。为了获得战争的资金,那些反战的众议院议员面临着改变投票的巨大压力。

今天致电国会总机 1-800-828-0498。

如果您的国会代表第一次对补充法案投了“不”,请感谢他们并敦促他们保持坚定并再次投“不”。如果您的国会代表第一次投了“是”,请表达您的失望并要求他们更改投票。 点击这里 众议院对补充法案的第一次投票的细分。
有关 IMF 问题的更多信息,请查看 Maxine Waters(和其他 41 名众议院议员)致众议院拨款委员会的信,拒绝接受 IMF 贷款缺乏透明度和监督。

#3 支持维克多·阿戈斯托。
“让他们(政治家)对人民的需求做出回应的唯一方法是,如果士兵不打他们的战争,如果士兵不打他们的战争,战争就不会发生。我希望我能为其他士兵树立榜样,”维克多说。成千上万的士兵和海军陆战队员和维克多一样,但面临着保持沉默和维持现状的巨大压力。这就是为什么现在公众对他的案子的支持如此重要的原因。他的律师将在军事法庭提交这份请愿书的签名,以向军队表明全世界都在关注。 点击这里 签署在线请愿书以支持维克多。

 

“我不可能部署到阿富汗。这种职业是不道德和不公正的。它不会让美国人民更安全。它会产生相反的效果。”
– SPC 维克多·阿戈斯托

 

简体中文

Gimme 3 steps toward that door

Afghanistan has never been off the table. It has always been a part of the war on terror, though for the past few years it has been overshadowed by the clearly despicable Iraq Occupation. And in some ways, this might very well have been to our anti-war advantage now.

This weekend, we’re counting on you to participate in three Calls to Action that attack the war in Afghanistan from different angles, 3 steps toward that door out of war (Skynyrd anyone?).
The war in Iraq is generally acknowledged as a failure and has been outed as built on a foundation of lies. As a nation at war, we are still trying to pull ourselves out of that mess, but the collective conscious has now turned it’s attention to Afghanistan.The stated original mission of invading Afghanistan was to root out Bin Laden and to exact ‘justice’ for 9/11 – this reasoning actually puts a peace movement that wants to build bridges with the larger population  in a difficult position. Not that the argument against war in Afghanistan can’t be made under those circumstances, but it’s harder when faced with the national reaction to 9/11.

However, much of the original thinking around war with Afghanistan has changed as we’ve seen this war progress toward a decade long engagement. Even the President admits that this war cannot be won on the battlefield – if only then he would stop pushing for the funding of the battle!

The tide has turned on the economy as well since 9/11. Everyone is talking about the economy, but where is the conversation about how our $12 billion a month commitment to the war on terror is directly tied to our economic collapse? Sure greed is at fault, but let’s put the war on the table too. ROP members with WAND are way ahead of us with their action on June 10th.

WAND declared that, “Residents of Eugene and Springfield want to help President Obama to succeed in turning our economy around. We want the financial battlefield Americans face everyday to become secure and peaceful once again. We want our troops brought home to safety and for the billions of dollars going to war profiteers to be redirected to unmet needs at home, to healthcare, education and social services.”

ROP couldn’t agree more.

This weekend, we’re counting on you to participate in three Calls to Action that attack the war in Afghanistan from different angles, 3 steps toward that door out of war (Skynyrd anyone?). Here’s the short plan, read below for all the details.

1. Support a Joint Memorial in the Oregon House that would alert the federal government that the citizens of Oregon believe the National Guard should only enter federal service after a declaration of war or a valid authorization enacted by the Congress of the United States.
2. Defeat the compromise Supplemental bill in the US House. This bill allots $90 billion to the wars. Don’t give up on your conservative Representatives – the bill also includes some heinous language about the International Monetary Fund that the many libertarian-style conservatives are with us in opposing. – DUE JUNE 15!
3. Support war resister, Victor Agosto. ROP helped tour local war resister Benji Lewis to many of your communities. Benji is not alone, he part of a long list of war resisters that are bravely standing up against the epic power of the US military machine. Sign an on-line petition in support of Victor.

Be sure to let ROP know about all the great peace stuff you’re doing out there.

****

Details:
#1 Keep Oregon’s National Guard in Oregon Campaign: Help pass HJM 5.
Unfortunately HB 2556, the previous hope of the campaign to Keep the Oregon National Guard out of this particular war has died in the Oregon legislature. The newest and likely successful effort of the campaign is House Joint Memorial 5. This is a “Memorial” notifying Congress that the state of Oregon believes it is the Governor’s duty to review federal orders to be sure they are legal and to ensure that the Oregon National Guard enters federal service only after a declaration of war or a valid authorization enacted by the Congress of the United States.

Contact Rules Chair Arnie Roblan at 503-986-1409 and Speaker Dave Hunt at 503-986-1200 (or use the toll free number for the capitol switchboard, 1-800-332-2313) and tell them you support the proposed amended version of HJM 5.

#2 from our friends at United For Peace & Justice: Demand a NO vote on the Congressional Supplemental Bill.
The first time around, 51 antiwar House members voted against the war funding. Now, House Republicans are threatening to oppose the bill because of the IMF provision. To get the money for the wars, there is great pressure on those antiwar House members to switch their vote.

Call the Congressional Switchboard today at 1-800-828-0498 .

If your Congressional Representative voted ‘NO’ to the Supplemental bill the first time, thank them and urge them to stay firm and vote ‘NO’ once again. If your Congressional Representative voted ‘YES’ the first time, express your disappointment and ask them to change their vote. Click here for the breakdown of the first House vote on the Supplemental.
For more information on the IMF issue, please take a look at Maxine Waters’ (and 41 other House members) letter to the House Appropriations Committee, rejecting the lack of transparency and oversight of the IMF loans.

#3 Support Victor Agosto.
“The only way to make them [politicians] responsive to the needs of the people is if soldiers won’t fight their wars, and if soldiers won’t fight their wars, the wars won’t happen. I hope I’m setting an example for other soldiers,” says Victor. There are thousands of soldiers and Marines who feel the way Victor does, but face tremendous pressures to remain silent and go along with the status quo. This is why public support for his case is so important right now. His lawyer will be submitting signatures from this petition at the court martial to show the Army that the world is watching. Click here to sign an on-line petition in support of Victor.

 

“There is no way I will deploy to Afghanistan. The occupation is immoral and unjust. It does not make the American people any safer. It has the opposite effect.”
– SPC Victor Agosto

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English