瓦尔登战役的止赎(续)

8 月 18 日,代表组成我们城镇的许多不同社区的俄勒冈州中部的人将他们衷心和真诚的能量带到了一场强有力的市政厅对话中,该对话旨在为国会议员瓦尔登 (Walden) 准备一张空椅子。这是我们的“瓦尔登湖在哪里?!”之一的报告今年夏天的活动作为我们的一部分 瓦尔登湖止赎 活动。

与您的列表分享以下内容。说说我们组织的故事吧!

不要忘记签署我们的 change.org 请愿书,直接向 Walden 发送电子邮件。 点击这里.然后通过电子邮件或 Facebook 邀请您的朋友也签名。

对话是如此强大,以至于与会者都留到很晚才能讨论我们可以一起采取的一些后续步骤。正如一位参与者分享:  俄勒冈州中部已准备好向前迈进!房间里的能量是非常认真的人,他们正在倾听并渴望继续。所有在场的人都感受到了国会议员的疏远感。我们需要夺回民主。我们需要继续在我们的社区中建立力量,共同努力并建立更强大的联盟。我们的未来取决于我们团结在一起的力量。 要查看本次会议的更多信息,请单击“阅读更多”。

给瓦尔登议员...
您认为这个国家日益严重的贫富差距是一个严重的问题吗?我们何时以及如何解决这个问题?

我的岳父是二战老兵,他的妻子去世后,他的 VA 福利刚刚被削减。你支持削减他的福利而不是对跨国公司加税吗?

为什么梦想法案没有通过?让年轻聪明的学生在这里上大学似乎对我们的国家有好处。

这些是我们社区中的人们想要答案的一些重要问题。我们的美国代表 Greg Walden 显然不想回答甚至不想听到我们的问题。

8 月 18 日星期四,60 多名社区成员聚集在俄勒冈州中部参加社区市政厅对话。虽然意图让瓦尔登国会议员出席回答有关债务上限、预算、就业、贸易和移民的问题,但他的办公室没有回应众多出席请求。赞助团体——全州和地方劳工、社会和经济正义以及移民公平团体的集合——决定无论如何都要举办市政厅。在最近的国家债务上限投票之后,我们越来越多的社区将受到华盛顿做出的决定的影响,我们希望为社区创造空间来讨论影响我们生活的问题。

这是一场多么充满活力、真诚和开放的对话!小农就仅支持企业农业的立法如何伤害家庭农民作证,两位房主谈到了通过止赎程序的感觉,一位移民倡导者描述了当地移民社区面临越来越多的驱逐出境的经历,工会成员讨论了劳动人民在这个经济中的斗争。与会者在一张写有瓦尔登名字的空椅子上向国会议员瓦尔登提问。当他们可以时,一组小组成员做出了回应。小组成员包括俄勒冈州 AFL-CIO 的 Tom Chamberlain、Good Grief America 的 Nancie Koerber、农村组织项目的 Cara Shufelt 和 CAUSA 的 Greg Delgado。

对话是如此强大,以至于与会者都留到很晚才能讨论我们可以一起采取的一些后续步骤。正如一位参与者分享:
俄勒冈州中部已准备好向前迈进!房间里的能量是非常认真的人,他们正在倾听并渴望继续。所有在场的人都感受到了国会议员的疏远感。我们需要夺回民主。我们需要继续在我们的社区中建立力量,共同努力并建立更强大的联盟。我们的未来取决于我们团结在一起的力量。
我们通过在一张纸上写下我们对国会议员 Walden 的问题并将其放入信封邮寄到他的办公室来结束活动。

你有什么问题要问瓦尔登吗?  无论您是否能够在市政厅加入我们,请直接将您的问题发送给他,地址为 1051 NW Bond St Suite 400 Bend, OR 97701。在收到市政厅电子邮件后继续参与下一步 cara@rop.org.

赞助组织包括:CAUSA-俄勒冈州、俄勒冈州 AFL-CIO、农村组织项目、人类尊严联盟、俄勒冈州中部劳工委员会、克鲁克县人类尊严倡导者、俄勒冈州中部和平网络、俄勒冈州中部司法部、杰斐逊县前沿小组和 CAUSA 俄勒冈中部

在此处查看市政厅亮点的简短 YouTube 视频:http://www.youtube.com/user/OregonAFLCIO#p/u/1/6CjpF2NXxLk
在此处查看照片: http://www.flickr.com/photos/oregonaflcio/sets/72157627470820334/

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

FORECLOSE ON WALDEN CAMPAIGN (cont.)

On August 18th Central Oregonians, representing the many different communities that make up our towns, brought their heartfelt and sincere energy to a powerful Town Hall Conversation that was directed towards an empty chair for Congressman Walden.  Here’s the report from one of our “Where’s Walden?!” events this summer as part of our Foreclose on Walden campaign.

Share the below with your lists.  Let’s tell the story of our organizing!

Don’t forget to sign our change.org petition to send an email directly to Walden. Click here.  Then invite your friends via email or facebook to sign too.

The conversation was so powerful that attendees stayed late to discuss some next steps we can take together.  As one participant shares:  Central Oregon is ready to move forward! The energy in the room was very serious people who were listening and eager to proceed. The sense of alienation by the congressman was felt by all who were there.  We need to take back democracy. We need to continue building power in our community and work together and build stronger alliances. Our future depends on how strong we stand together. To see more from this meeting click on “Read More”.

To Congressman Walden…
Do you consider the extreme and increasing wealth disparity in this country a serious concern? When and how can we address this issue?

My father-in law, a WWII veteran, just had his VA benefit cut after his wife died. Do you support cutting his benefits instead of raising taxes on multinational corporations?

Why has the Dream Act not passed? It seems that it would be good for our country to have young, bright students attend college here.

These are some of the important questions that people in our communities want answers to.  Our US representative, Greg Walden, apparently didn’t want to answer or even hear our questions.

On Thursday, Aug. 18th more than 60 community members came together for a Community Town Hall Conversation in Central Oregon.  While the intent was to have Congressman Walden present to answer questions about the debt ceiling, the budget, jobs, trade and immigration, his office did not respond to the numerous requests for attendance.  The sponsoring groups—a collection of statewide and local labor, social & economic justice and immigrant fairness groups—decided to hold the Town Hall anyway.  After the recent national debt ceiling vote, more and more of our communities will be suffering fallout from the decisions being made in DC and we wanted to create space for the community to talk through the issues impacting our lives.

And what a vibrant, earnest and open conversation it was!  Small farmers testified about how legislation that only supports corporate agriculture hurts family farmers, two homeowners talked about what it’s been like to go through foreclosure proceedings, an immigrant advocate described the experiences of the local immigrant community who face increased deportations, and union members discussed the struggles of working people in this economy.  Participants asked their questions for Congressman Walden to an empty chair with Walden’s name on it.  When they could, a group of panelists responded.  Panelists included Tom Chamberlain of the Oregon AFL-CIO, Nancie Koerber of Good Grief America, Cara Shufelt of the Rural Organizing Project and Greg Delgado of CAUSA.

The conversation was so powerful that attendees stayed late to discuss some next steps we can take together.  As one participant shares:
Central Oregon is ready to move forward! The energy in the room was very serious people who were listening and eager to proceed. The sense of alienation by the congressman was felt by all who were there.  We need to take back democracy. We need to continue building power in our community and work together and build stronger alliances. Our future depends on how strong we stand together.
We closed out the event by writing our questions for Congressman Walden on a piece of paper and putting it in an envelope to mail to his office.

Do you have a question for Walden?  Whether or not you were able to join us at the Town Hall, send your question directly to him at 1051 NW Bond St Suite 400 Bend, OR 97701.  To stay involved in the next steps after this Town Hall email cara@rop.org.

Sponsoring organizations include: CAUSA-Oregon, Oregon AFL-CIO, Rural Organizing Project, Human Dignity Coalition, Central Oregon Labor Council, Human Dignity Advocates of Crook County, Central Oregon Peace Network, Central Oregon Jobs with Justice, Front Porch Group of Jefferson County and CAUSA Central Oregon

View a short YouTube video of Town Hall highlights here: http://www.youtube.com/user/OregonAFLCIO#p/u/1/6CjpF2NXxLk
View photos here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/oregonaflcio/sets/72157627470820334/

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English