滋养有组织的灵魂

作为组织者和活动家,我们有一个重要的使命,我们认真对待它。有时这意味着我们不得不低下头,陷入一连串的会议、行动和活动中。但花时间庆祝组织的循环也很重要——庆祝我们的胜利,重振我们自己,滋养我们的组织精神。

有一些机会——确切地说是 3 个——我们想与所有 ROP 分享的组织“食物”即将到来。这些都是很好的交流机会,结识新朋友并从一些最优秀的人那里学习新技能。请联系 cara@rop.org 或致电 503-543-8417 告诉我们您是否想参加以下任何精彩活动!

1. 社区战略培训计划 (CSTI)

每年,ROP 都会受邀参加由西部州中心组织并在波特兰里德学院举办的 CSTI。  今年是从7月30日到8月1日。  培训包括由来自全国各地的组织者和运动领袖教授的为期 3 天的讲习班,主题范围从基本组织技能到特定问题领域的培训再到技术技能。最令人兴奋的是,我们有机会从表现出色的组织的经验中学习。

为了满足您的好奇心,我们今年特别感兴趣的一些研讨会是:

  • 在充满挑战的时代生存和发展,由筹款大师安迪罗宾逊教授!
  • 超越婚姻:LGBTQ议程,这将着眼于 LGBTQ 运动的许多方面
  • 共同奋斗:成为全面移民改革的盟友
  • 1 + 1 = 10:为更强大的组织和更健康的社区奠定基础

研讨会每天的费用为 $60,这只是举办这个为期 3 天的活动所需费用的一小部分。但是由于西部州中心知道我们不是为了钱,所以他们提供了一个很好的工作贸易选择,您可以自愿参加 4 小时以换取免费参加研讨会。因此,无论您是否能够付款,请告诉我们 最迟在 6 月 10 日星期四 如果您有兴趣参加,我们会将您列入我们的名单!作为额外的福利,您可以计划在本周末的过程中见到大部分 ROP 员工和董事会。回复 cara@rop.org

2. 政治团 培训项目,由巴士项目带给您

接下来,Bus Project 为我们提供了一系列完全免费的培训,这是一个位于波特兰的出色的年轻人领导的组织。这些培训中的第一个称为 政治中的说服艺术:开发和管理您的信息以赢得胜利。 这是向西北地区一些最优秀的消息传递和通信人员学习的难得机会,并且将为任何组织者提供工具箱中的一些额外工具。

这也将于 6 月 28 日星期一在波特兰的里德学院举行全天活动.十位演讲者和培训师将包括 Larry Wallack 教授、Mark Weiner、Kari Chisolm 和 Jake Weigler。如需更多信息,请访问 http://politicorps.org/art-of-persuasion/。如果你会在那里,请告诉我们。

3. 失衡:通过性别视角

最后,对于那些有兴趣通过性别公正的视角审视我们的国家预算的人,新方向妇女行动已与 国家优先项目 在一个只解决这个问题的演讲中。

该活动采用网络研讨会的形式,这意味着您可以从该州的任何地方加入,只要您可以使用电话线和互联网。您将获得允许您加入呼叫的访问代码,并能够跟踪计算机显示器上的信息。网络研讨会将批评 2011 年的预算,并探讨联邦政策如何对当地产生深远影响。

在经济衰退期间,需要进行削减——而这些削减往往会将本已脆弱的社区推向更远的地方。该网络研讨会将帮助参与者理解并能够讨论为什么资金优先事项——人类对国内外战争的需求——在今天比以往任何时候都更加重要。

网络研讨会于 6 月 16 日星期三上午 10 点和下午 5 点举行 – 选择您的时间 – 将持续一小时。

您知道该联系谁来接听这个电话: cara@rop.org.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

PS & Reality Check:我们意识到,对于远离波特兰和其他人口中心的人们来说,许多培训机会很难利用。 我们在 ROP 的人生目标之一是为全州的人类尊严信徒提供组织技能和资源。 如果您选择参加这些波特兰活动之一,我们可以帮助您找到当地的住房,前提是您可以参加。请记住,ROP 员工经常在路上支持我们的成员团体制定战略会议和组织技能。只要给我们打电话。

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Feeding the Organizing Soul

As organizers and activists, we have an important vocation, and we take it seriously. Sometimes this means that we have to put our heads down and get caught in a flurry of meetings, actions, and activity. But it is also important to take time to celebrate the cycle of organizing – to celebrate our victories, reinvigorate ourselves, and feed our organizing spirits.

There are a few opportunities – 3 to be exact – for this organizing “food” coming up that we wanted to share with all you ROPers. These are great opportunities to network, meet new folks and learn new skills from some of the best. Please contact cara@rop.org or call 503-543-8417 to let us know if you’d like to attend any of the marvelous events below!

1. Community Strategic Training Initiative (CSTI)

Every year, ROP is invited to participate in CSTI, organized by Western States Center and held at Reed College in Portland.  This year it is from July 30th – August 1st.  The training consists of 3 days of workshops taught by organizers and movement leaders from across the country – and topics range from basic organizing skills to training in specific issue areas to technical skills.  Most exciting is that we get a chance to learn from experiences of organizations that are doing great work.

To tickle your curiosity, some of the workshops that we’re especially excited about this year are:

  • Surviving and Thriving in Challenging Times, taught by fundraising guru Andy Robinson!
  • Beyond Marriage: The LGBTQ Agenda, which will look at the many fronts of LGBTQ movement
  • Together in the Struggle: Working as an Ally for Comprehensive Immigration Reform
  • 1 + 1 = 10: Base Building for Stronger Organizations and Healthier Communities

Workshops cost $60 a day, which is just a fraction of the cost that it takes to put on this 3 day event.  But since Western States Center knows that we’re not in this for the money, they are offering a GREAT work-trade option, where you can volunteer 4 hours in exchange for attending a workshop at no charge. So whether you’re able to pay or not, please let us know by Thursday, June 10th at the latest if you’re interested in attending and we’ll get you on our list! As an extra perk, you can plan to see much of the ROP staff and board over the course of this weekend. Reply to cara@rop.org

2. Politicorps training project, brought to you by the Bus Project

Next, a series of absolutely free trainings is offered to us by the Bus Project, a fabulous young-people-led organization based in Portland. The first of these trainings is called The Art of Persuasion in Politics: Developing and Managing Your Message to Win. This is a rare opportunity to learn from some of the best messaging and communications folks in the Northwest, and will give any organizer a couple of extra tools in the toolbox.

This will be an all-day event also at Reed College in Portland on Monday, June 28th. The ten speakers and trainers will include Prof. Larry Wallack, Mark Weiner, Kari Chisolm, and Jake Weigler. For more information, go to http://politicorps.org/art-of-persuasion/. And let us know if you’ll be there.

3. Out of Balance: Through the Gender Lens

Last, for those of you interested in taking a look at our national budget through the lens of gender justice, Women’s Action for New Directions has teamed up with the National Priorities Project on a presentation addressing just this question.

The event is in the format of a webinar, meaning that you can join in from anywhere in the state, as long as you have access to a phone line and internet. You’ll get access codes that allow you into the call, and be able to follow the information from your computer monitor. The webinar will critique the 2011 budget, and look at how federal policies can have profound local impacts.

In the midst of a recession, cuts need to be made – and too often those cuts push already vulnerable communities further out into the cold. This webinar will help participants to understand and be able to talk about why funding priorities – human needs over wars at home and abroad – are even more important today than ever.

The webinar is offered at both 10am and 5pm on Wednesday, June 16th – pick your time – and will last one hour.

And you know who to contact to get on this call: cara@rop.org.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

P.S. & Reality Check: We realize that many training opportunities are difficult to take advantage of for folks who live far from Portland and other population centers. One of our life goals at ROP is to make organizing skills and resources accessible to believers in human dignity across the state. If you choose to attend one of these Portland events, we can help you find local housing if that makes your participation possible. And remember that ROP staff are often on the road supporting our member groups to develop strategy sessions and organizing skills. Just give us a call.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English