与社区一起面对冠状病毒

冠状病毒的影响以及对检测、治疗和预防这种流行病传播的缓慢反应一直令人震惊。无数关于资源不足的医院将潜在感染者拒之门外和昂贵的检测(如果你能找到!)的故事每晚都在新闻中。由于学校关闭,许多俄勒冈州的家庭都在努力寻找托儿服务,当服务行业的工作岗位被左右削减时如何支付租金和时薪的账单,当杂货店的货架空无一人时,去哪里寻找供应品,让我们如果您是被隔离的不幸者之一,甚至不要开始做什么。我们不断听到农村领导提出的问题是:在“社会疏远”的时刻,我们如何减少孤立, 支持每一个 其他,并建立 社区?

作为农村人,我们一次又一次地证明,我们共同努力度过了我们社区的灾难和危机。当我们拒绝让恐惧将我们分开时,我们就有能力拯救生命、减轻痛苦、创造性地解决问题并长期建立更强大的社区。

我们知道,洗手和保持距离是让免疫功能低下的人更安全的重要方式,但我们社区中的许多人没有住所或洗手池,更不用说获得医疗保健了。按小时支付的人被迫在上班或不支付房租之间做出选择。这场流行病的影响,就像我们以前面临的许多危机一样,将对我们社区中已经脆弱并首当其冲地承受着经济不平等的人们产生最大的影响。 虽然富人和强者可能会利用这一时刻来巩固权力或破坏民主,但我们有机会利用这场危机来实现我们社区长期以来所需要的。

以下是农村领导人正在研究的一些战略和资源:

1. 在线或通过电话参加农村社区冠状病毒应对策略会议:来自俄勒冈州各地的农村领导人将于 3 月 18 日星期三下午 6:30-8:00 召开会议,讨论农村社区支持的战略和策略! 登记 在这里接收链接和呼入信息,以便您可以通过计算机或电话加入对话。 如果您不熟悉 Zoom 视频会议软件并希望获得支持加入通话,请发送电子邮件至 汉娜@rop.org.

2、建立社区互助体系: 一些最强大的农村文化传统专注于在我们最需要的时候互相支持。从制定社区计划为生病或压力大的邻居送餐,到安排轮流玩耍以便附近的父母可以轮流上班,农村人特别适合这一刻。在这样的危机中,我们可以利用这些传统,同时呼吁公共机构不辜负我们的共同价值观。例如,在肯塔基州,校车正在向学生家送餐,确保年轻人在没有他们通常在学校获得的餐点时不会挨饿,而校车司机在学校停课期间继续工作。如果父母可以让孩子上学,俄勒冈州的许多学校仍在提供一些膳食,这很好,但如果俄勒冈州农村采用肯塔基州的模式,确保最弱势学生仍然有饭吃呢?

你能集中资金在你的城镇建立快速的托儿服务吗?或者用这笔钱为那些受到种族主义下意识反应影响的当地华人企业购买餐食?不知道从哪里开始?给汉娜发电子邮件 汉娜@rop.org 与 ROP 组织者通电话,一起思考!

3.建立邻里通信系统: 在我成长的教会中,每当有婴儿出生或有人去世时,由于住在每个固定电话旁边的电话树,消息很快就会传播开来。如今,Facebook 群组、文本循环和电话树正在为生活在同一条土路上、同一街区或同一城镇 20 英里范围内的邻居建造,以帮助人们分享新闻,在需要帮助时互相支持,打破影响人们身心健康的隔离。这是检查您的邻居并保持联系的时刻!当并非所有人都可以使用可靠的互联网时,电话树也是保持联系的绝佳解决方案。从未使用过电话树?联系我们 汉娜@rop.org 我们将帮助您入门!

4. 设置系统,以便您的团队可以继续远程组织: ROP 员工还可以提供我们的支持,帮助您保持人类尊严小组的联系。 ROP 员工团队居住在全州各地,我们有很多技巧和窍门,可以让您无需在同一个房间内一起工作。我们很乐意帮助您和您的团队找出一个系统,让您的团队和您的工作保持活力和活力!伸出援手 汉娜@rop.org 与可以帮助您制定计划的 ROP 组织者联系!

5. 为人类尊严采取行动: 致电或写信给布朗州长办公室 (503) 378-4582,并要求将冠状病毒应对措施集中在最脆弱的社区。每个人都应该得到安全、住房、食物和健康,而我们社区中的许多人在这场危机开始之前并没有这些“奢侈品”。以下是一些紧急措施的例子,可以保护我们当中最脆弱的人免受这场危机的冲击:

  • 到 2020 年 6 月,所有无薪工人的紧急租金减免,并冻结年收入低于 $40,000 的家庭的抵押贷款付款
  • 在 2020 年 6 月之前停止驱逐。
  • 增加获得食品券的机会,并在所有 DMV 地点和食品银行提供。
  • 暂停所有公用事业关闭和滞纳金。该州城市地区的大型公用事业公司表示,他们不会收取滞纳金或断开任何直接联系的人。让我们将其扩展到整个州并广泛宣传。

致电 (503) 326-2059 致电移民和海关执法局 (ICE),要求为寻求庇护者和移民提供安全和健康的条件:

  • 关闭全州的 ICE 办公室,转为电话,而不是为所有寻求庇护者和移民亲自办理登机手续。
  • 释放所有被拘留的人。监狱和拘留中心没有设备来照顾被关押在里面的人的医疗需求。

如果你整天呆在家里,打电话给你的参议员和众议员写信! You can find contact information for your elected officials on the State of Oregon's website. 以下是一些现在可以帮助农村社区的紧急措施示例:

  • 为需要冠状病毒治疗的没有医疗保险的人提供财政支持。
  • 为必须继续工作而孩子不能上学的父母提供托儿券。
  • 向所有人提供带薪病假和失业保险,包括低工资和小时工,无论其移民身份或雇用他们的企业规模如何。

关于目前定于 5 月 30 日举行的农村核心小组和战略会议的说明: 我们的首要任务是社区的安全,我们正在积极监测冠状病毒的发展情况(并支持农村社区组织起来,在关闭期间保持人们的联系和相互支持!)。 如果农村核心小组与战略会议被取消或推迟,或者您想取消您的计划,我们将全额退还注册费。 我们将密切关注情况,并会随着事态的进展向您通报最新情况。

在我们共同面对这个充满不确定性的时刻时,我们希望您能找到一些时间与邻居联系,分享欢笑和喜悦,并建立更牢固、更深入的长期联系。我们都在一起,而且通常我们就是我们所拥有的。

热烈地,
汉娜和 ROP 团队

PS 如果您正在寻找要收听的播客(当然,Rural Roots Rising 除外!),我们建议您 冠状病毒:通过治愈正义从社会正义镜头中获得智慧。

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Facing Coronavirus with Community

The impact of Coronavirus and the slow response to test, treat, and prevent the spread of this pandemic has been alarming. Countless stories of under-resourced hospitals turning potentially infected people away and prohibitively expensive testing (if you can even find one!) are on the news every night. Many Oregon families are struggling to figure out childcare now that schools are closed, how to pay rent and bills on dwindling hourly wages when service industry jobs are getting cut left and right, where to find supplies when the grocery store shelves are empty, and let’s not even start on what to do if you are one of the unlucky many put into quarantine. The question we keep hearing rural leaders ask is: in a moment of “social distancing”, how can we reduce isolation, support each other, and build community?

As rural people, we have proven time and again that we work together to get through disasters and crises in our communities. When we refuse to let our fear drive us apart, we have the power to save lives, ease suffering, creatively problem solve, and build stronger communities for the long haul.

We know that washing our hands and keeping our distance are important ways to keep immunocompromised folks safer, but many people in our communities do not have homes to stay in or sinks to wash their hands in, let alone access to healthcare. People paid by the hour are being forced to choose between going to work or not paying rent. The effects of this pandemic, like so many crises we have faced before, will have the biggest impact on folks in our communities who are already vulnerable and bearing the brunt of economic inequality. While the rich and powerful may use this moment to consolidate power or undermine democracy, we have the opportunity to leverage this crisis to achieve our communities have needed for a long time.

Here are some strategies and resources that rural leaders are working on:

1. Join the Rural Community Coronavirus Response Strategy Session online or by phone: Rural leaders from across Oregon will convene Wednesday, March 18th from 6:30-8:00 PM to discuss strategies and tactics for rural community support! Register here to receive the link and call-in information so you can join the conversation by computer or phone. If you are unfamiliar with Zoom video conferencing software and would like support joining the call, please email us at hannah@rop.org.

2. Build community systems of mutual support: Some of the most powerful rural cultural traditions focus on supporting each other when we need it most. From creating community plans to drop off meals to sick or stressed neighbors, to setting up rotating playdates so parents in the neighborhood can take turns getting to work, rural people are particularly equipped for this moment. In crises like this, we can build off of these traditions while calling for public institutions to live up to our shared values. For example, in Kentucky, school buses are delivering meals to students’ homes, ensuring that young people don’t go hungry without the meals they normally receive at school and bus drivers continue to work while schools are closed. Many schools in Oregon are still providing some meals if parents can get their children to school, which is great, but what if rural Oregon adopted Kentucky’s model that ensured the most vulnerable students are still fed?

Could you pool funds to set up quick childcare options in your town? Or use that money to buy meals for those who need them from local Chinese-owned businesses impacted by racist kneejerk reactions? Not sure where to start? Email Hannah at hannah@rop.org to hop on the phone with an ROP organizer and think it through together!

3. Set up a neighborhood communication system: In my church growing up, whenever a baby was born or someone passed on, word spread in no time thanks to the phone tree that lived next to everyone’s landline phone. These days, Facebook groups, text loops, and phone trees are getting built for neighbors living on the same dirt road, in the same neighborhood, or within 20 miles of the same town to help folks share news, support each other when help is needed, and break the isolation that impacts folks’ physical and mental health. This is a moment to check in on your neighbors and to stay connected! Phone trees are also a great solution for keeping in touch when reliable internet isn’t available to everyone. Never used a phone tree? Reach out to us at hannah@rop.org and we’ll help you get one started!

4. Set up systems so your group can continue organizing remotely: ROP staff can also extend our support in helping keep your human dignity group connected. The ROP staff team lives across the state and we have a lot of tips and tricks for working together without being in the same room. We’d love to help you and your group figure out a system to keep your group and your work alive and kicking! Reach out to hannah@rop.org to connect with an ROP organizer who can help you put a plan together!

5. Take action for human dignity: Call or write Governor Brown’s office at (503) 378-4582 and ask that the Coronavirus response focuses on the most vulnerable communities. Everyone deserves to be safe, housed, fed, and healthy, and many in our communities did not have those “luxuries” before this crisis started. Here are a few examples of emergency measures that could protect those most vulnerable among us from the brunt of this crisis:

  • Emergency rent forgiveness for all non-salaried workers and freeze mortgage payments for households earning less than $40,000 per year through June 2020
  • Stop evictions through June 2020.
  • Increase access to food vouchers, and make them available at all DMV locations and food banks.
  • Moratorium on all utility shut-offs and late fees. The big utilities in the urban parts of the state have said they won’t charge late fees or disconnect anyone who reached out directly. Let’s extend this to the entire state and publicize it widely.

Call Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) at (503) 326-2059 to demand safe and healthy conditions for asylum seekers and immigrants:

  • Close ICE offices across the state and move to phone calls instead of in-person check-ins for all asylum-seekers and immigrants.
  • Release all people in detention. Jails and detention centers are not equipped to care for the medical needs of the people being held inside.

If you are stuck at home all day, call and write your senators and representatives! You can find contact information for your elected officials on the State of Oregon’s website. Here are a few more examples of emergency measures that would help rural communities right now:

  • Provide financial support to people without health insurance in need of treatment for Coronavirus.
  • Provide childcare vouchers for parents who must continue to work while children are kept home from school.
  • Provide paid sick leave and unemployment insurance to everyone including low-wage and hourly workers regardless of immigration status or the size of the business employing them.

A note about the Rural Caucus & Strategy Session currently scheduled for May 30th: Our top priority is the safety of our community, and we are actively monitoring the developing situation around the Coronavirus (and supporting rural community organizing to keep folks connected and supporting each other during closures!). If the Rural Caucus & Strategy Session is canceled or postponed, or you want to cancel your plans, we will issue full refunds for registration fees. We’ll be keeping a close eye on the situation and will keep you updated as things progress.

As we face this time of uncertainty together, we hope you find little moments to connect with your neighbors, share laughter and joy, and build stronger and deeper connections for the long haul. We’re all in this together and often we’re all we’ve got.

Warmly,
Hannah and the ROP Team

P.S. If you are looking for a podcast to listen to (other than Rural Roots Rising, of course!), we recommend Coronavirus: Wisdom from a Social Justice Lens by Healing Justice.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English