延长驱逐令!

立法机构将于 12 月 21 日星期一召开紧急会议。在一年中最短的一天,我们州必须优先考虑处于失去家园边缘的社区成员。 立法机关有机会将暂停驱逐延长至学年结束。 他们还将投票决定是否让房东获得 $1 亿的国家资金以偿还欠他们的租金。这意味着房东可以申请国家资助,这样房客就不必在由于大流行而遭受数月的财务压力后支付所欠的租金。此外,单元数量最少、未付租金比例最高的房东将首先获得这笔资金。最后,房东会同意免除他们所欠租金的 20%,以换取从州政府收到的 80% 这笔钱。  

即使在 COVID-19 导致经济衰退以及灾难性的野火导致如此多的人流离失所之前,获得稳定、负担得起且安全的住房对于许多俄勒冈人来说是一项重大挑战。 经过几个月的大流行,随着联邦支持系统的耗尽, 五分之一的俄勒冈人面临被驱逐的风险。 如果没有这项驱逐禁令,全州的家庭和个人可能会在冬季气温下降时发现自己无家可归,这使他们在该州大部分地区的病例激增期间更容易感染 COVID-19,此外还有许多其他健康和与流离失所相关的安全风险。  

今天就行动起来! 打电话给你的立法者,告诉他们延长驱逐禁令! 您可以找出谁代表您以及他们的电话号码是什么 这里.当您通过电话获得它们时,请查看 蓬勃发展的俄勒冈州农村路线图 有关鼓励他们在周一和 2021 年立法会议上优先考虑的内容的更多想法。 

你应该说什么?这是您可以遵循的示例脚本: 

你好 ____!我的名字是 ______,我是从 _______ 打来的。我打电话是想请您将驱逐暂停期延长至 2021 年 7 月 1 日,以使家庭度过整个学年。至关重要的是,我们不会将人们赶出家门,从而使危机变得更糟。请为租房者和房东提供保护,防止因欠租造成的经济损失:

  • 给人们更多的时间来偿还租金。
  • 为无法支付全额租金的租户提供保护。
  • 如果租户无法支付全部或部分租金,则创建一个 $1 亿的房东赔偿基金。

您的团队是否在当地就您社区的住房采取了行动? 给我们发电子邮件 艾玛@rop.org 让我们知道你在做什么!根据与整个网络中的团体的对话,我们将在未来几个月重点介绍住房项目和计划,并很乐意分享您的最新动态。 

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Extend the Eviction Ban!

The legislature is set to open for an emergency session on Monday, December 21st. On the shortest day of the year, our state must prioritize community members on the brink of losing their homes. The legislature has the opportunity to extend the eviction moratorium through the end of the school year. They will also vote on whether or not to give landlords access to $100 million in state funding to pay off back rent that they are owed. This means that landlords could apply for state funding so that renters do not have to pay rent they owe after months of financial strain due to the pandemic. Additionally, landlords with the fewest number of units, and the highest proportion of unpaid rent would be first in line to access this funding. Lastly, landlords would agree to forgive 20% of the rent they are owed in return for receiving 80% of that money from the state.  

Access to stable, affordable, and safe housing was a major challenge for many Oregonians even before the economic recession brought on by COVID-19, and the catastrophic wildfires that displaced so many people. After months of this pandemic, and with federal support systems running out, one in every five Oregonians is at risk of eviction. Without this ban on evictions, families and individuals across the state may find themselves homeless just as winter temperatures drop, making them more vulnerable to COVID-19 during a huge spike in cases across much of the state, in addition to the many other health and safety risks associated with being displaced.  

Take action today! Call up your legislators and tell them to extend the eviction moratorium! You can find out who represents you and what their phone number is here. And while you’ve got them on the phone, check out the Roadmap to a Thriving Rural Oregon for more ideas of what to encourage them to prioritize on Monday, and in the 2021 legislative session. 

What should you say? Here’s a sample script you can follow: 

Hi ____! My name is ______ and I’m calling from _______. I’m calling to ask you to please extend the eviction moratorium to July 1, 2021 to get families through the school year. It is vitally important that we don’t make the crisis worse by kicking people out of their homes. Please provide protection to both renters and landlords against financial losses from back rent:

  • Give people more time to pay back rent.
  • Provide protections for renters who have been unable to pay full rent.
  • Create a $100 million landlord compensation fund in the event renters aren’t able to pay all or part of their rent.

Is your group taking action locally around housing in your community? Email us at emma@rop.org to let us know what you are working on! Based on conversations with groups across the network, we will be highlighting housing projects and programs in the coming months and would love to share what you are up to. 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English