结束种族分析周

本周是结束种族貌相宣传周——全国成千上万的活动家和团体正在联合起来提高种族貌相的知名度,并表达他们对结束种族貌相法案 (ERPA) 的支持。

种族定性是俄勒冈州农村的一个问题。我们听过无数故事:在威拉米特山谷,一名州警连续几天在浆果农场外张贴,在他们下班回家时拉住移民工人。在俄勒冈州东部,种族定性非常糟糕,以至于 Umatilla Morrow Alternatives 收集了调查(致电 ROP 索取副本),询问参与者对执法的感受,然后将其与人口统计信息联系起来。结果很明显。  可悲的是,盎格鲁人和有色人种似乎经常生活在俄勒冈州农村的两个不同的世界中,尤其是在我们的高速公路和道路上:一个是友好和安全的。另一个充满压力,每天都有恐惧和危险——因为种族定性。

本周,我们想花点时间感谢为结束俄勒冈州农村发生的种族貌相所做的所有努力。我们还想邀请您采取一项小行动来支持《结束种族貌相法》。 ROP 是在华盛顿通过这项法案的全国性努力的一部分,我们在俄勒冈州的国会议员需要就这个问题听取我们的意见。拿起电话,让参议员 Wyden 和 Merkley 知道您支持该法案,并让 ROP 知道您得到了什么回应。

如果您想参加本周五下午由我们在 CAUSA 的朋友组织的默克利波特兰办事处的代表团,或者想组织自己的代表团,请联系 cara@rop.org。

阅读下文以了解来自权利工作组的更多信息 - ROP 是其合作伙伴的国家组。他们有一个很棒的工具包,您可以使用它来自行采取行动。


来自权利工作组:

通过 2011 年结束种族定性法案
2011 年结束种族貌相法案 (ERPA) 是一项联邦立法,旨在禁止全美范围内的种族貌相。 ERPA 被引入 房子 由代表约翰·科尼尔斯 (D-MI) 和在 参议院 由参议员 Ben Cardin (D-MD) 于 2011 年撰写。

ERPA 采取以下步骤禁止种族定性:

  • 使联邦、州、地方或印度部落执法部门基于种族、宗教、民族或民族血统的个人资料成为非法;
  • 为貌相的受害者创造一项私人诉讼权,这将允许认为自己受到种族貌相影响的个人起诉他们认为违反了 ERPA 的代理人或机构;
  • 允许美国司法部长扣留不遵守 ERPA 的州执法机构的拨款;
  • 需要对执法人员进行种族貌相培训;
  • 需要数据收集和监控机制,例如投诉流程;和
  • ERPA 首次禁止在执法监视活动的背景下进行种族定性。

本周是全国结束种族貌相宣传周!来自全国各地的组织将在华盛顿与超过 75 个国会办公室会面,更多的组织将在当地采取行动。 4 月 17 日,参议院将举行 10 年来第一次关于种族定性的听证会。势头正在增长,我们需要您加入要求联邦采取行动禁止种族定性的合唱团。

联系您的参议员和众议员,敦促他们共同发起并通过结束种族定性法案 (ERPA),并向司法部 (DOJ) 施压,以加强其 2003 年关于种族定性的指南。

将此警报转发给您的朋友和列表服务。我们可以一起结束种族定性!采取自己的行动。

问题

种族和宗教定性影响人们生活的方方面面,但当个人被定性时,联邦、州或地方执法部门几乎没有责任。

我们所有人都经历过或听说过那些被执法部门描述而被剥夺正义的人的故事。全国各地的社区不仅在继续为 Trayvon Martin 和无数成为纽约警察局或边境巡逻队目标的个人进行反击,而且还在为我们的朋友和家人进行反击。

种族定性正在伤害这个国家的社区,我们需要联邦法律和来自司法部的更强有力的指导,以追究执法机构的责任。采取自己的行动。

解决方案

国会议员有权通过共同发起和通过《结束种族貌相法》并签署该法案来追究执法责任。 德宾参议员和科尼尔斯众议员的信 鼓励司法部改革他们对种族定性的指导。我们必须要求他们采取行动结束种族定性并保护我们的社区。

简体中文

End Racial Profiling Week

This week is End Racial Profiling Advocacy week – thousands of activists and groups around the country are uniting to raise the visibility of racial profiling, and add their voice in support of the End Racial Profiling Act (ERPA).

Racial profiling is a problem in rural Oregon. We’ve heard countless stories: in the Willamette Valley, a state trooper posted up outside of a berry farm for days in a row, pulling over immigrant workers as they drove home at the end of the day.  In Eastern Oregon, racial profiling was so bad that the Umatilla Morrow Alternatives collected surveys (call ROP for a copy) asking participants questions about their feelings towards law-enforcement, and then linking that with demographic information.  The results were clear.  Tragically, Anglos and people of color often seem to live in two separate worlds in rural Oregons, especially on our highways and roads: one is friendly and safe.  The other is full of stress and everyday fears and dangers – because of racial profiling.

This week, we want to take a moment to appreciate all of the efforts to end racial profiling happening in rural Oregon. We also want to invite you to take one small action in support of the End Racial Profiling Act.  ROP is part of a national effort to pass this bill in DC, and our Congresspeople here in Oregon need to hear from us on this issue.  Pick up the phone and let Senators Wyden and Merkley know that you support the bill, and let ROP know what response you get.

If you would like to join a delegation to Merkley’s Portland office this Friday afternoon, organized by our friends at CAUSA, or want to organize your own, contact cara@rop.org.

Read below for more information from the Rights Working Group – a national group of which ROP is a partner.  They have a magnificent toolkit that you can use to take action on your own.


FROM THE RIGHTS WORKING GROUP:

Pass the End Racial Profiling Act of 2011
The End Racial Profiling Act of 2011 (ERPA) is federal legislation that would ban racial profiling across the United States. ERPA was introduced in the House by Representative John Conyers (D-MI) and in the Senate by Senator Ben Cardin (D-MD) in 2011.

ERPA takes these steps to ban racial profiling:

  • Makes it unlawful for federal, state, local, or Indian tribal law enforcement to profile based on race, religion, ethnicity or national origin;
  • Creates a private right of action for victims of profiling, which would allow individuals who believe they have been subject to racial profiling to sue the agent or agency they believe to have violated ERPA;
  • Allows the U.S. Attorney General to withhold grants from state law enforcement agencies that are not complying with ERPA;
  • Requires training on racial profiling for law enforcement agents;
  • Requires data collection and monitoring mechanisms such as complaint processes; and
  • For the first time, ERPA prohibits racial profiling in the context of law enforcement surveillance activities.

This week is the National End Racial Profiling Advocacy Week! Organizations from around the country will be meeting with more than 75 Congressional offices in D.C. and many more will be taking action locally. On April 17, the Senate will host its first hearing in 10 years on racial profiling. Momentum is growing and we need you to join the chorus demanding federal action to ban racial profiling.

Contact your Senators and Representatives to urge them to co-sponsor and pass the End Racial Profiling Act (ERPA) and to pressure the Department of Justice (DOJ) to strengthen its 2003 Guidance on racial profiling.

Forward this alert to your friends and listservs. Together we can end racial profiling!  Take your own action.

Problem

Racial and religious profiling affect people in every area of their lives, yet there is little accountability for federal, state or local law enforcement when individuals are profiled.

All of us have experienced or heard stories of those who have been denied justice when profiled by law enforcement. Communities across the country are continuing to fight back not just for Trayvon Martin and the countless individuals who have been targeted by the NYPD or Border Patrol but for our friends and family members.

Racial profiling is hurting communities across this country, and we need a federal law and stronger Guidance from the DOJ to hold law enforcement agencies accountable.  Take your own action.

Solution

Members of Congress have the power to hold law enforcement accountable by co-sponsoring and passing the End Racial Profiling Act and signing on to Senator Durbin and Representative Conyers’ letter encouraging DOJ to reform their guidance on racial profiling. We must demand that they act to end racial profiling and protect our communities.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English