إنهاء أسبوع التنميط العنصري

يصادف هذا الأسبوع أسبوع "إنهاء الدعوة إلى التنميط العنصري" - يتحد الآلاف من النشطاء والمجموعات في جميع أنحاء البلاد لزيادة وضوح التنميط العنصري ، وإضافة أصواتهم لدعم قانون إنهاء التنميط العنصري (ERPA).

يعتبر التنميط العنصري مشكلة في ريف ولاية أوريغون. لقد سمعنا قصصًا لا تعد ولا تحصى: في وادي ويلاميت ، انتشر جندي تابع للولاية خارج مزرعة توت لأيام متتالية ، وسحب العمال المهاجرين أثناء عودتهم إلى المنزل في نهاية اليوم. في شرق ولاية أوريغون ، كان التنميط العنصري سيئًا للغاية لدرجة أن بدائل أوماتيلا مورو جمعت استطلاعات (اتصل بـ ROP للحصول على نسخة) لطرح أسئلة على المشاركين حول مشاعرهم تجاه تطبيق القانون ، ثم ربط ذلك بالمعلومات الديموغرافية. كانت النتائج واضحة.  بشكل مأساوي ، يبدو أن الأنجلو والأشخاص الملونين غالبًا ما يعيشون في عالمين منفصلين في المناطق الريفية بولاية أوريغون ، وخاصة على طرقنا السريعة وطرقنا: أحدهما ودود وآمن. والآخر مليء بالتوتر والمخاوف والمخاطر اليومية - بسبب التنميط العنصري.

في هذا الأسبوع ، نود أن نتوقف لحظة لتقدير كل الجهود المبذولة لإنهاء التنميط العنصري الذي يحدث في ريف ولاية أوريغون. ندعوك أيضًا لاتخاذ إجراء واحد صغير لدعم قانون إنهاء التنميط العنصري. شرطة عمان السلطانية هي جزء من جهد وطني لتمرير هذا القانون في العاصمة ، ويحتاج أعضاء الكونغرس لدينا هنا في أوريغون إلى الاستماع منا بشأن هذه المسألة. ارفع الهاتف وأخبر أعضاء مجلس الشيوخ Wyden و Merkley بأنك تدعم الفاتورة ، وأخبر شرطة عمان السلطانية بالرد الذي تحصل عليه.

إذا كنت ترغب في الانضمام إلى وفد إلى مكتب Merkley's Portland بعد ظهر يوم الجمعة ، والذي ينظمه أصدقاؤنا في CAUSA ، أو ترغب في تنظيم وفد خاص بك ، فاتصل بـ cara@rop.org.

اقرأ أدناه للحصول على مزيد من المعلومات من مجموعة عمل الحقوق - وهي مجموعة وطنية تعتبر شرطة عمان السلطانية شريكًا فيها. لديهم مجموعة أدوات رائعة يمكنك استخدامها لاتخاذ إجراءات بمفردك.


من مجموعة عمل الحقوق:

تمرير قانون إنهاء التنميط العنصري لعام 2011
قانون إنهاء التنميط العنصري لعام 2011 (ERPA) هو تشريع فيدرالي يحظر التنميط العنصري في جميع أنحاء الولايات المتحدة. تم تقديم ERPA في بيت بواسطة الممثل جون كونيرز (D-MI) وفي مجلس الشيوخ بقلم السناتور بن كاردان (د-دكتوراه في الطب) عام 2011.

يتخذ ERPA هذه الخطوات لحظر التنميط العنصري:

  • يجعل من غير القانوني لتطبيق القانون الفيدرالي أو الحكومي أو المحلي أو القبلي الهندي التوصيف على أساس العرق أو الدين أو العرق أو الأصل القومي ؛
  • يُنشئ حقًا خاصًا للعمل لضحايا التنميط ، والذي من شأنه أن يسمح للأفراد الذين يعتقدون أنهم تعرضوا للتنميط العنصري بمقاضاة الوكيل أو الوكالة التي يعتقدون أنها انتهكت ERPA ؛
  • يسمح للمدعي العام الأمريكي بوقف المنح من وكالات إنفاذ القانون بالولاية التي لا تمتثل لقانون ERPA ؛
  • يتطلب تدريبًا على التنميط العنصري لموظفي إنفاذ القانون ؛
  • يتطلب جمع البيانات وآليات المراقبة مثل عمليات تقديم الشكاوى ؛ و
  • لأول مرة ، يحظر ERPA التنميط العنصري في سياق أنشطة مراقبة إنفاذ القانون.

هذا الأسبوع هو الأسبوع الوطني لمناصرة التنميط العنصري! ستلتقي المنظمات من جميع أنحاء البلاد مع أكثر من 75 مكتبًا للكونجرس في العاصمة وسيتخذ المزيد منها إجراءات على المستوى المحلي. في 17 أبريل ، سيستضيف مجلس الشيوخ أول جلسة استماع له منذ 10 سنوات حول التنميط العنصري. الزخم آخذ في الازدياد ونريدك أن تنضم إلى الجوقة التي تطالب بعمل فيدرالي لحظر التنميط العنصري.

اتصل بأعضاء مجلس الشيوخ والنواب لحثهم على المشاركة في رعاية وتمرير قانون إنهاء التنميط العنصري (ERPA) والضغط على وزارة العدل (DOJ) لتعزيز توجيهها لعام 2003 بشأن التنميط العنصري.

إعادة توجيه هذا التنبيه إلى أصدقائك وقوائم الخدمات. معًا يمكننا إنهاء التنميط العنصري! اتخذ الإجراءات الخاصة بك.

مشكلة

يؤثر التنميط العنصري والديني على الأشخاص في كل مجال من مجالات حياتهم ، ولكن هناك القليل من المساءلة عن تطبيق القانون الفيدرالي أو الحكومي أو المحلي عندما يتم تصنيف الأفراد.

لقد جربنا جميعًا أو سمعنا قصصًا عن أولئك الذين حُرموا من العدالة عندما وصفتهم جهات إنفاذ القانون. تواصل المجتمعات في جميع أنحاء البلاد القتال ليس فقط من أجل Trayvon Martin وعدد لا يحصى من الأفراد الذين تم استهدافهم من قبل شرطة نيويورك أو دورية الحدود ولكن لأصدقائنا وأفراد عائلتنا.

يضر التنميط العرقي بالمجتمعات في جميع أنحاء هذا البلد ، ونحن بحاجة إلى قانون فيدرالي وتوجيه أقوى من وزارة العدل لمساءلة وكالات إنفاذ القانون. اتخذ الإجراءات الخاصة بك.

حل

يتمتع أعضاء الكونجرس بسلطة مساءلة أجهزة إنفاذ القانون من خلال المشاركة في رعاية وإقرار قانون إنهاء التنميط العنصري والتوقيع على خطاب السناتور دوربين والنائب كونيرز تشجيع وزارة العدل على إصلاح توجيهاتها بشأن التنميط العنصري. يجب أن نطالبهم بالعمل على إنهاء التنميط العنصري وحماية مجتمعاتنا.

العربية

End Racial Profiling Week

This week is End Racial Profiling Advocacy week – thousands of activists and groups around the country are uniting to raise the visibility of racial profiling, and add their voice in support of the End Racial Profiling Act (ERPA).

Racial profiling is a problem in rural Oregon. We’ve heard countless stories: in the Willamette Valley, a state trooper posted up outside of a berry farm for days in a row, pulling over immigrant workers as they drove home at the end of the day.  In Eastern Oregon, racial profiling was so bad that the Umatilla Morrow Alternatives collected surveys (call ROP for a copy) asking participants questions about their feelings towards law-enforcement, and then linking that with demographic information.  The results were clear.  Tragically, Anglos and people of color often seem to live in two separate worlds in rural Oregons, especially on our highways and roads: one is friendly and safe.  The other is full of stress and everyday fears and dangers – because of racial profiling.

This week, we want to take a moment to appreciate all of the efforts to end racial profiling happening in rural Oregon. We also want to invite you to take one small action in support of the End Racial Profiling Act.  ROP is part of a national effort to pass this bill in DC, and our Congresspeople here in Oregon need to hear from us on this issue.  Pick up the phone and let Senators Wyden and Merkley know that you support the bill, and let ROP know what response you get.

If you would like to join a delegation to Merkley’s Portland office this Friday afternoon, organized by our friends at CAUSA, or want to organize your own, contact cara@rop.org.

Read below for more information from the Rights Working Group – a national group of which ROP is a partner.  They have a magnificent toolkit that you can use to take action on your own.


FROM THE RIGHTS WORKING GROUP:

Pass the End Racial Profiling Act of 2011
The End Racial Profiling Act of 2011 (ERPA) is federal legislation that would ban racial profiling across the United States. ERPA was introduced in the House by Representative John Conyers (D-MI) and in the Senate by Senator Ben Cardin (D-MD) in 2011.

ERPA takes these steps to ban racial profiling:

  • Makes it unlawful for federal, state, local, or Indian tribal law enforcement to profile based on race, religion, ethnicity or national origin;
  • Creates a private right of action for victims of profiling, which would allow individuals who believe they have been subject to racial profiling to sue the agent or agency they believe to have violated ERPA;
  • Allows the U.S. Attorney General to withhold grants from state law enforcement agencies that are not complying with ERPA;
  • Requires training on racial profiling for law enforcement agents;
  • Requires data collection and monitoring mechanisms such as complaint processes; and
  • For the first time, ERPA prohibits racial profiling in the context of law enforcement surveillance activities.

This week is the National End Racial Profiling Advocacy Week! Organizations from around the country will be meeting with more than 75 Congressional offices in D.C. and many more will be taking action locally. On April 17, the Senate will host its first hearing in 10 years on racial profiling. Momentum is growing and we need you to join the chorus demanding federal action to ban racial profiling.

Contact your Senators and Representatives to urge them to co-sponsor and pass the End Racial Profiling Act (ERPA) and to pressure the Department of Justice (DOJ) to strengthen its 2003 Guidance on racial profiling.

Forward this alert to your friends and listservs. Together we can end racial profiling!  Take your own action.

Problem

Racial and religious profiling affect people in every area of their lives, yet there is little accountability for federal, state or local law enforcement when individuals are profiled.

All of us have experienced or heard stories of those who have been denied justice when profiled by law enforcement. Communities across the country are continuing to fight back not just for Trayvon Martin and the countless individuals who have been targeted by the NYPD or Border Patrol but for our friends and family members.

Racial profiling is hurting communities across this country, and we need a federal law and stronger Guidance from the DOJ to hold law enforcement agencies accountable.  Take your own action.

Solution

Members of Congress have the power to hold law enforcement accountable by co-sponsoring and passing the End Racial Profiling Act and signing on to Senator Durbin and Representative Conyers’ letter encouraging DOJ to reform their guidance on racial profiling. We must demand that they act to end racial profiling and protect our communities.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English