鼓卷请... 2016 ROP Board Slate!

2016 年 4 月 15 日

亲爱的 ROPnet,

每年,我们都会介绍目前担任 ROP 董事会成员的名单。董事会全年在周末召开会议,由不同的人类尊严团体主持,他们也为我们提供食物和住宿。我们的董事会由来自全州不同地区的人类尊严团体领导人组成,这对俄勒冈州农村人经营的组织至关重要。有些是组织的新手,有些是老手,所有人都承诺在未来几年内塑造和监督 ROP 的工作。

您将在下方看到 2016 年董事会成员的席位和履历。在 5 月 14 日在本德举行的农村核心小组与战略会议上,每个人的尊严小组都将获得一张选票,在董事会名单上投票,并将有多次机会与领导团队亲自会面和思考!

如果您有任何问题或意见,欢迎通过 brucem.bam@gmail.com 给 ROP 董事会主席 Bruce Morris 发送电子邮件。

温暖的卡拉

2016 ROP 板石板
在偶数年,偶数席位可供投票。

地区席位
区域 1:Dancer Davis – 道格拉斯县
区域 2:乔·刘易斯 - 哥伦比亚县
区域 3:Darcy Bedortha – 克鲁克县
地区 4:Cathy Howell – 马里恩县
区域 5:Alex Budd – 约瑟芬县
区域 6:Wix Covey – 贝克县
区域七:待补职位

一般会员席位
位置 8:Hannah Sohl – 杰克逊县
位置 9:布鲁斯·莫里斯(Bruce Morris)——德舒特郡本德
职位10:待填补职位
位置 11:Josefina Riggs – 德舒特县雷德蒙德
职位 12:待填补的职位
职位 13:待填补职位

Darcy Bedortha – 克鲁克县

达西将自己描述为赋予年轻人权力(实际上是所有人)、有意义的教育、社会正义和可持续性的倡导者。她很感激拥有大量的经验和机会,并致力于将她学到的东西带回她的社区,有时是全国性的,甚至是全球性的,但始终与她在克鲁克县的家人在一起。达西与许多志同道合的组织合作,包括克鲁克县的人类尊严倡导者、俄勒冈州中部社会正义中心和俄勒冈州中部强声。她还是美国民主教育研究所的社区组织者。在俄勒冈州中部附近的各种聚会上,发现达西和几个刚开始组织的年轻人在一起的情况并不少见。

亚历克斯巴德 - 约瑟芬县

几年前,亚历克斯从科罗拉多州第一次来到俄勒冈州,在那里他在落基山脉玩耍长大,并第一次发现了他对组织保护自然世界的热情。亚历克斯第一次通过珍贵污垢和杀虫剂自由联盟的地方法令活动认识了 ROP。在一次客厅谈话之后,他问道:“从现在起 20 年后,你需要什么才能继续生活在这个社区?”亚历克斯帮助组建了约瑟芬县种族正义工作组。约瑟芬县种族正义工作组自 2013 年以来的大胆组织包括多次种族正义培训、学习小组、电影之夜、社区战略会议和黑人生命问题行动。亚历克斯为 ROP 董事会带来了强烈的热情,即在问题和创新组织的无限能量的交叉点上建立正义运动。

Wix Covey – 贝克县

Wix 致力于和平与正义的工作有着悠久的历史。住在威斯康星州时,他帮助组织了诺斯伍兹和平奖学金,并且是威斯康星州和平与正义网络 (WNPJ) 的一部分,这两个团体都致力于移民问题、种族正义问题、反对伊拉克战争的抗议活动以及与沃克州长的斗争预算维修法案。 2010 年,他和他的搭档爱丽丝搬回俄勒冈州的中途。最近,Wix 召集了家乡的数十名社区成员,成立了 PanHandle 社区联盟 (PCA),该联盟是在武装武装分子占领 Malheur 野生动物保护区后成立的。 PCA 提倡知情社区、民主、公平和没有暴力和仇恨的社区的愿景。 Wix 还通过为社区成员提供年轻和年长的课程,分享他对太极拳的热爱,促进思想、身体和精神的和谐与平衡。

舞者戴维斯 - 道格拉斯县

在占领运动之前,Dancer 在道格拉斯县的多年辛勤工作为穷人和无家可归者提供了支持,这为占领罗斯堡在他们的社区中拥有如此多的空间铺平了道路,包括持续为 60-125 人提供食物的“伯格聚餐”几乎连续 250 周每周都有人。 2005 年,Dancer 加入了 ROP,参加了我们著名的“为真理、正义和尊严而行”,并通过 2013 年 3 月的 ONE Oregon Bus Tour 再次穿越俄勒冈州中部和东部,以进行移民改革。在俄克拉荷马长大,Dancer 一直生活在农村,贫穷而酷。早些时候,她将阶级、种族和性别之间的点联系起来。舞者为她在 ROP 董事会(以及她作为祖母的工作)中的角色带来了这种动态的清晰度和承诺。

凯茜豪威尔 - 马里恩县

Cathy Howell 于 2011 年从 AFL-CIO 退休,自 1997 年以来她一直担任现场组织者和领导力发展协调员。在加入 AFL-CIO 之前,她在俄勒冈州和美国南部担任社区和问题组织者超过 20 年.她在宾夕法尼亚州西部的一个贵格会州立炼油厂小镇长大,现在住在马里恩县的塞勒姆。她热衷于社会和经济正义,并组织人们为公平而战。凯茜期待在退休后花时间建设和加强马里恩县的人类尊严组织。她在塞勒姆和萨尔瓦多之间分配时间,在那里她是 Centro de Intercambio y Solidaridad 的一名志愿者。她向从事社会运动的萨尔瓦多人教授英语,并帮助组织国际观察员代表团参加 2014 年 2 月的萨尔瓦多总统选举和 2015 年的国会和市长选举。她正在学习西班牙语,以加强她在马里恩县和萨尔瓦多更有效地工作的能力。

乔·刘易斯——哥伦比亚县

1970 年 5 月 4 日,当俄亥俄州国民警卫队在肯特州立大学向抗议越南战争的学生开火时,乔的政治化突然发生了。乔在那天被枪杀。他每年都会参加肯特州的纪念活动,并向当地的公民俱乐部和学校讲述这一天。在 Scappoose 学校董事会任职 15 年,在 Scappoose 市公共工程部门任职 33 年,并帮助抚养 7 个孩子,Joe 一直致力于让他的社区参与正义和机会。乔是哥伦比亚县人类尊严联盟 (CCCHD) 的众多成员之一,受到 ROP 创始人 Marcy Westerling 的感动、塑造和启发,并帮助通过 CCCHD 组织实现人类尊严的愿景,并作为 ROP 办公室的定期志愿者.有时,您甚至可能会在车上看到他与 ROP 工作人员一起参加公路旅行并与他所在州其他县的同行和同行会面。

布鲁斯·莫里斯 – 德舒特县

自 2002 年以来,Bruce 就一直参与 ROP,当时他放弃了利润丰厚的公司律师职业以践行自己的价值观。他曾在不同收入水平的岗位上工作,从提供食物到食品储藏室,本德人类尊严联盟的主任,以及代表伤残人士和工人的律师事务所的律师助理。布鲁斯是俄勒冈州中部社会正义问题的大胆领导者和培训师。 2013 年,在参加了 ONE 俄勒冈巴士之旅的游行后,布鲁斯是协调社区应对教堂纵火事件的主要领导人之一,该事件发生在亲移民权利事件发生仅数小时后。他目前是俄勒冈州中部司法工作和本德社会正义中心的协调员,并在俄勒冈州中部社区广播电台 KPOV 兼职。

Josefina Riggs – 德舒特县雷德蒙德

Josefina 出生于委内瑞拉的加拉加斯,1998 年和她的儿子 Zydlei 移居美国。 Josefina 于 2013 年 3 月在俄勒冈州的 March for ONE 遇到了 ROP,她回忆说这是她在美国的第一次经历,在一个为利益而战的组织中整个社区。在过去的几年里,Josefina 参与了 Causa Central Oregon、Recursos 和其他当地社区和社会正义组织。她为移民改革、结束工资盗窃以及其他有利于更广泛社区的计划和活动而奋斗。通过 Josefina,ROP 将有幸拥有一位 Causa 董事会成员同时担任 ROP 董事会成员。 Josefina 为她的所有司法工作带来了热情、承诺和灵感。

Hannah Sohl – 杰克逊县

Hannah Sohl 在杰克逊县长大,在那里她开始担心气候变化对人民、经济、俄勒冈州南部和世界各地的生态系统的影响。 Hannah 开始与俄勒冈州南部的其他人一起组织,共同创立了 Rogue Climate,这是一个位于杰克逊县的青年领导的社区组织。 同年,ROP 在伍德本的核心小组第一次见到了 Hannah!汉娜在国会大厦领导客厅对话和大规模协作艺术项目,在帮助 Rogue Climate 成为俄勒冈州南部和全州气候正义运动中公认的、受人尊敬的、鼓舞人心的领导者方面发挥了关键作用。在 ROP 社区中,Hannah 找到了导师和其他变革者。她喜欢 ROP 支持和相信全州人民的方式。

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Drum roll please… the 2016 ROP Board Slate!‏

April 15th, 2016

Dear ROPnet,

Every year we introduce the current slate of those who have stepped forward to serve on the Board of Directors of the ROP. The Board meets throughout the year on weekends, hosted by different human dignity groups who also feed and house us. Our Board of Directors is made up of human dignity group leaders from different areas around the state, critical to an organization run by and for rural Oregonians. Some are new to organizing, others are veterans, and all make a commitment to shape and oversee ROP’s work for the years to come.

Below you will see the seats and biographies of the 2016 Board Slate. At the Rural Caucus & Strategy Session in Bend on May 14th, each human dignity group will be given a ballot to vote on the Board Slate, and there will be multiple opportunities to meet and think alongside the leadership team in person!

If you have questions or comments, please feel welcome to email ROP Board Chair, Bruce Morris at brucem.bam@gmail.com.

Warmly, Cara

2016 ROP Board Slate
In even number years, even number seats are up for vote.

Regional Seats
Region 1: Dancer Davis – Douglas County
Region 2: Joe Lewis – Columbia County
Region 3: Darcy Bedortha – Crook County
Region 4: Cathy Howell – Marion County
Region 5: Alex Budd – Josephine County
Region 6: Wix Covey – Baker County
Region 7: Position to be filled

At-Large Seats
Position 8: Hannah Sohl – Jackson County
Position 9: Bruce Morris – Bend, Deschutes County
Position 10: Position to be filled
Position 11: Josefina Riggs – Redmond, Deschutes County
Position 12: Position to be filled
Position 13: Position to be filled

Darcy Bedortha – Crook County

Darcy describes herself as an advocate for the empowerment of young people (all people, really), for meaningful education, social justice and sustainability. She is grateful for having a multitude of experiences and opportunities and is committed to bringing what she has learned back to her community, which sometimes is national, or even global, but always is rooted with her family in Crook County. Darcy is active with many like-minded organizations including Human Dignity Advocates of Crook County, Central Oregon Social Justice Center and Central Oregon Strong Voice. She is also a community organizer for the Institute for Democratic Education in America. It is not uncommon to find Darcy with several younger folks new to organizing at all kinds of gatherings around Central Oregon.

Alex Budd – Josephine County

Alex first came to Oregon several years ago from Colorado, where he grew up playing in the Rocky Mountains and first discovered his passion for organizing to protect the natural world. Alex first met ROP through the Precious Dirt and the Freedom from Pesticides Alliance’s local ordinance campaign. After a living room conversation that asked, “What do you need to still be living in this community 20 years from now?” Alex helped form the Josephine County Racial Justice Working Group. Josephine County Racial Justice Working Group’s bold organizing since 2013 has included multiple racial justice trainings, study groups, movie nights, community strategy sessions, and actions for Black Lives Matter. Alex brings to the ROP Board a deep passion for building a movement for justice at the intersection of issues and boundless energy for innovative organizing.

Wix Covey – Baker County

Wix has a long history of work committed to peace and justice. When living in Wisconsin, he helped organize the Northwoods Peace Fellowship and was part of the Wisconsin Network of Peace and Justice (WNPJ), with both groups working on immigration issues, racial justice issues, protests against the War in Iraq and fighting against Governor Walker’s Budget Repair Bill. In 2010 he and his partner Alice moved back to Halfway, Oregon. Most recently, Wix brought together dozens of community members in his hometown to found the PanHandle Community Alliance (PCA), formed after the occupation of the Malheur Wildlife Refuge by armed militants. PCA promotes a vision of informed communities, democracy, fairness and communities free of violence and hate. Wix also shares his love of Tai Chi Chuan through classes offered to community members young and old, promoting harmony and balance in mind, body and spirit.

Dancer Davis – Douglas County

Dancer’s years of hard work in Douglas County advocating for the poor and unhoused prior to the Occupy movement have paved the way for Occupy Roseburg to hold so much space in their community, including an ongoing Feed the ‘Burg potluck that has served 60-125 hungry folks every week for almost 250 consecutive weeks. In 2005, Dancer joined ROP for our famous Walk for Truth, Justice, and Dignity, and hit the road again through central and eastern Oregon with the 2013 March for ONE Oregon Bus Tour for just immigration reform. Growing up in Oklahoma, Dancer has always lived rural, poor and queer. Early on she connected the dots between class, race and gender. Dancer brings this dynamic clarity and commitment to her role on the ROP Board (and her job as grandma).

Cathy Howell – Marion County

Cathy Howell retired from the AFL-CIO in 2011, where she had been a field organizer and leadership development coordinator since 1997. Before joining the AFL-CIO, she spent over 20 years as a community and issue organizer in Oregon and in the southern USA. She grew up in a small Quaker State Refinery town in western Pennsylvania, and now lives in Salem, in Marion County. She is passionate about social and economic justice and organizing people to fight for fairness. Cathy is looking forward to spending time post-retirement building and strengthening the human dignity organizing in Marion County. She divides her time between Salem and El Salvador, where she is a volunteer at the Centro de Intercambio y Solidaridad. She teaches English to Salvadorans working in social movements, and helped organize delegations of international observers for the February 2014 Presidential Election and the 2015 Congressional and Mayoral elections in El Salvador. She is studying Spanish in an effort to strengthen her ability to work more effectively in Marion County and El Salvador.

Joe Lewis – Columbia County

Joe’s politicization happened suddenly when the Ohio National Guard opened fire on students protesting the Vietnam War at Kent State on May 4th, 1970. Joe was shot that day. He returns each year to the Kent State commemoration and gives talks about that day to local civic clubs and schools. Serving 15 years on the Scappoose School Board, 33 years at the City of Scappoose public works department and helping raise 7 children, Joe has always been committed to engaging his community in justice and opportunity. Joe is one of the many members of Columbia County Coalition for Human Dignity (CCCHD) that is touched, shaped and inspired by ROP Founder Marcy Westerling and helps carry on a vision of human dignity organizing through CCCHD and as a regular volunteer at the ROP office. Sometimes you might even catch him in the car with a ROP staff person, joining road trips and meeting his peers and counterparts in other counties around the state.

Bruce Morris – Deschutes County

Bruce has been involved with ROP since 2002, shortly after giving up a lucrative career as a corporate lawyer to live his values. He has lived at various income levels working at jobs ranging from delivering food to food pantries, Director of the Human Dignity Coalition in Bend, and a paralegal at a law firm representing injured and disabled people and workers. Bruce is a bold leader and trainer across issues for social justice in Central Oregon. In 2013, after participating in the March for ONE Oregon Bus Tour, Bruce was one of the key leaders who coordinated a community response to the church arson that occurred only hours after a pro-immigrant rights event. He is currently coordinator for Central Oregon Jobs with Justice and the Social Justice Center in Bend, as well as working part-time for Central Oregon Community radio station, KPOV.

Josefina Riggs – Redmond, Deschutes County

Born in Caracas, Venezuela, Josefina and her son Zydlei moved to the US in 1998. Josefina met ROP through the March for ONE in Oregon March of 2013, which she recalls as her first experience in the USA in an organization fighting for the benefit of the entire community. Over the last several years, Josefina has been involved with Causa Central Oregon, Recursos, and other local community and social justice groups. She has fought for immigration reform, ending wage theft, and other programs and activities that benefit the wider community. Through Josefina, ROP will be lucky enough to have a Causa Board Member also serve as a ROP Board Member. Josefina brings heart, commitment and inspiration to all of her justice work.

Hannah Sohl – Jackson County

Hannah Sohl grew up in Jackson County, where she became concerned about the impact that climate change was having on the people, the economy, the ecosystems of Southern Oregon, and around the world. Hannah started organizing with others in southern Oregon, co-founding Rogue Climate, a youth-led community organization based in Jackson County in 2013. ROP first met Hannah at the Caucus in Woodburn that same year! Leading both living room conversations and massive collaborative art projects at the Capitol, Hannah has played a crucial part in helping Rogue Climate become a recognized, respected, inspiring leader in the movement for climate justice in Southern Oregon and across the state. In the ROP community, Hannah has found mentorship and fellow change makers. She loves the way that ROP supports and believes in people across the state.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English