驾驶执照行动工具包

无法获得驾驶执照对移民来说是可怕的。这是 ROP 中确定的首要问题 俄勒冈州乡村拉丁裔度假胜地 本月早些时候,多亏了 CAUSA 起草的一项法案,我们才有机会采取行动并做出一些真正的改变。

** 由于自 2008 年以来俄勒冈州无法获得驾驶执照,越来越多的移民生活在不断害怕上班或上学的恐惧中,从而导致被驱逐出境。当每个人都可以获得驾驶执照时,俄勒冈州会更加安全和繁荣。 **

作为人类尊严的倡导者,我现在写信是为了请您采取行动取回许可证。请选择以下两项今天要做的事情!我们在这里提供更多信息支持,或者如果您正在寻找今年为移民公平做更多事情的方法。

1. 打电话给你的立法者,告诉他们支持参议院 845 号法案 – 俄勒冈州驾照准入法。运输委员会(下)的成员今天特别需要听取您的意见。要求他们就参议院第 845 号法案举行听证会。在此处查找您的立法者的联系信息。

告诉他们您支持恢复所有俄勒冈人的驾照访问权限,无论他们是否有能力证明合法身份。获得驾照是俄勒冈州公共安全和经济复苏的关键。

交通委员会的这些代表尤其需要听取您的意见!

  • 参议员布鲁斯斯塔尔 (Forest Grove, Cornelius, Hillsboro) 503-986-1715
  • 参议员杰森阿特金森 (中心点,格兰茨通行证,洞穴交界处)503-986-1702
  • 参议员李拜尔(斯普林菲尔德)503-986-1706
  • 参议员克里斯·爱德华兹(Junction City, Eugene)503-986-1707
  • 参议员 Fred Girod (Stayton, Silverton, Mollala) 503-986-1709
  • 参议员 Ginny Burdick(波特兰)503-986-1718

2. 给你的立法者写一封信或电子邮件 代表法案。谈话要点如下,或联系 ROP 索取信函草稿。

3. 将此操作页面的链接发送到您组的列表服务器或您的朋友圈,并在您的社区讨论该法案!鼓励人们打电话!

4. 发送电子邮件至 cara@rop.org 以注册 ROP 的移民公平网络.这就是我们将发送有关驾驶执照法案和产生影响的机会的更新的地方。

还需要亲自拜访!我很高兴与你们中的任何人讨论亲自联系立法者或集思广益其他想法的最佳方式。谢谢你今天打电话给你的立法者!

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

每位获得许可和投保的俄勒冈州司机:
俄勒冈州公共安全和经济复苏的关键

CAUSA 和农村组织项目支持创建一个 替代驾照,适用于任何符合标准执照资格但无法或不愿证明公民身份或合法身份的俄勒冈州居民。

2008 年,俄勒冈州立法机关通过了一项法律,要求提供公民身份或法律身份证明才能获得俄勒冈州驾照。该法律为个人合法驾驶或购买保险设置了不必要的障碍,并为其他驾驶员、保险公司、房主、企业和执法部门设置了不必要的成本和后果。

公共安全

  • 当所有司机都经过测试、许可和保险时,每个人的公共安全都会增加。 AAA 统计数据显示,每五起致命撞车事故中就有一起涉及肯定或可能持有无效驾照或无驾照的驾驶员。
  • 执法人员将能够轻松识别司机,并将其稀缺资源用于更紧迫的公共安全问题。西点军校法学副教授玛格丽特·斯托克 (Margaret Stock) 表示,“拒绝向非法移民颁发驾驶执照意味着将 [他们] 从该国最大的执法数据库中删除。因此,拒绝许可是一种政策处方,它对执法的阻碍远远超过了它的加强。”

我们没有保险的未来

有证件或无证件的移民是我们经济成功不可或缺的一部分。 2009 年俄勒冈州拉丁裔的购买力总计为 $70 亿,俄勒冈州未经授权的工人平均每年贡献 $1.34 亿至 $1.87 亿的税收。劳动力市场流动性较差,消费者购买产品和服务的信心和能力较差,这使俄勒冈州更难摆脱经济衰退。

  • 2010 年,未经授权的移民占该州劳动力的 5 % 以上。
  • 8 年后,这些工人的大部分驾驶执照将过期,大约 110,000 人将无法使用一致、合法且有保险的交通工具上班。

替代驾驶执照将使俄勒冈州能够提高拉丁裔移民的生产力和购买力,保护公共安全和执法,并为俄勒冈州的持续经济复苏做好准备。

简体中文

Drivers Licenses Action Kit

The lack of access to Drivers Licenses is dire for immigrants. This was the top issue identified in ROP’s Rural Oregon Latino Retreat earlier this month, and thanks to a bill drafted by CAUSA, we have a chance to act and make some real change.

** Because of lack of access to drivers’ licenses in Oregon since 2008, and more and more immigrants live in constant fear of a trip to work or school resulting in deportation. Oregon is safer and more prosperous when everybody has access to drivers’ licenses. **

As human dignity advocates, I’m writing now to ask you to take action to get licenses back. Please choose two of the things below to do today! We’re here to support with more information, or if you’re looking for a way to do more for immigrant fairness this year.

1. Call your Legislator and tell them to support Senate Bill 845 – the Oregon Driver License Access Act. Members of the Transportation Committee (below) especially need to hear from you today. Ask them to hold a hearing on Senate Bill 845.  Find your legislator’s contact information here.

Tell them you support restoring driver’s license access to all Oregonians, regardless of the ability to prove legal status. Driver’s license access is key to Oregon’s public safety and economic recovery.

These representatives on the Transportation Committee especially need to hear from you!

  • Sen. Bruce Starr (Forest Grove, Cornelius, Hillsboro) 503-986-1715
  • Sen. Jason Atkinson (Central Point, Grants Pass, Cave Junction) 503-986-1702
  • Sen. Lee Beyer (Springfield) 503-986-1706
  • Sen.
 Chris Edwards
 (Junction City, Eugene) 503-986-1707
  • Sen. Fred Girod
 (Stayton, Silverton, Mollala) 503-986-1709
  • Sen. Ginny Burdick (Portland) 503-986-1718

2. Write a letter or email to your legislator on behalf of the bill. Talking points are included below, or contact ROP for a draft letter.

3. Send the link to this action page to your group’s listserv or your friend circle, and talk about the bill in your community! Encourage people to call!

4. Email cara@rop.org to sign up for ROP’s Immigration Fairness Network. That’s where we’ll be sending updates about the Driver License bill and opportunities to have an impact.

In-person visits are also needed! I’m happy to talk with any of you about the best way to reach your legislator in person, or to brainstorm other ideas. Thank you for calling your legislator today!

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Every Oregon Driver Licensed and Insured:
Key to Oregon’s Public Safety and Economic Recovery

CAUSA and the Rural Organizing Project support the creation of an alternative driver’s license, available to any Oregon resident who meets the qualifications for a standard license but is unable or unwilling to prove citizenship or legal status.

In 2008, the Oregon Legislature passed a law requiring proof of citizenship or legal status to obtain an Oregon driver’s license. This law created unnecessary barriers for individuals to legally drive or purchase insurance and unnecessary costs and consequences for other drivers, insurance companies, homeowners, businesses and law enforcement.

Public Safety

  • Public safety for everyone increases when all drivers are tested, licensed, and insured. AAA statistics show that one of every five fatal crashes involve a driver who is definitely or possibly driving with an invalid license or no license.
  • Law enforcement officers will be able to easily identify drivers and can devote their scarce resources to more pressing public safety issues. According to Margaret Stock, associate professor of law at the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, “Refusing to give driver licenses to illegal immigrants means taking [them] out of the largest law enforcement database in the country. Thus, denial of licenses is a policy prescription that hampers law enforcement far more than it enhances it.”

Our Uninsured Future

Immigrants, documented or undocumented, are integral to the success of our economy. The 2009 purchasing power of Latinos in Oregon totaled $7.0 billion, and unauthorized workers in Oregon contribute on average between $134 million and $187 million in taxes a year. A labor market that is less mobile and consumers that are less confident and able to purchase products and services make it even harder for Oregon to climb out of the economic recession.

  • Unauthorized immigrants comprised over 5 % of the state’s workforce in 2010.
  • In 8 years most of these workers drivers’ licenses will be expired, leaving roughly 110,000 people without recourse to consistent, legal, and insured transportation to work.

An alternative drivers license will allow Oregon to promote Latino immigrants’ productive and purchasing power, protect public safety and law enforcement, and provide for the continued economic recovery of Oregon.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English