在俄勒冈州中部互相汲取灵感(和策略)

亲爱的 ROPnetters:

有时,汲取灵感的最佳方式是相互凝视。这对俄勒冈州中部的人类尊严团体来说是非常真实的,上个月来自三个县的团体齐聚一堂参加区域集会 种族、种族正义和移民权利.

代表了 30 个人和 8 个人类尊严团体。我们星期六早上在雷德蒙德当地的拉丁裔社区协会会面。仅仅一个月后,我们已经看到了这个 ROP 促进战略会议的成果!从对俄勒冈州中部拉丁裔领导的移民权利团体的领导力培训到关于种族正义的“建立共同基础”培训系列,再到驾驶证和驱逐出境战略,俄勒冈州中部的领导人正在制定一项能够激发和建立权力的区域战略!

以下是有关收集的更多信息和结果摘要。继续阅读,为您的团队寻找灵感!

请柬上写着……
种族、种族正义和移民权利
为俄勒冈州中部制定 2014 年战略

我们将花时间退后一步,规划我们的前进方向。我们将解决:

  • 移民权利组织的下一步是什么:驾驶证、移民改革、挑战驱逐出境?
  • 我们如何在工作的基础上解决仇恨、揭露种族主义并为所有人创建一个更受欢迎的社区?
  • 映射我们的力量:我们的俄勒冈州中部运动进展如何?什么是优势,我们需要什么样的方式来成长?我们不同群体的角色是什么?作为盟友和移民,我们如何才能更好地合作,并在我们的社会系统、结构和文化中更深入地了解彼此的观点、背景和经验?

俄勒冈州中部的成果和战略总结:

3月1日星期六英石 来自俄勒冈州中部所有三个县的 8 个以上群体的近 30 人齐聚一堂,为我们在移民权利和种族正义方面的工作制定战略和制定下一步工作。

我们开始我们的聚会,在房间里互相了解。在我们的“映射我们的力量”练习中,每个小组都分享了更多关于他们是谁、他们做什么以及他们的工作如何与当天的主题相关的信息。

社会正义中心的布鲁斯·莫里斯随后带领该小组接受了关于制度性种族主义和特权与压迫的培训。在真正揭示了种族主义如何在甚至与种族无关的地方和方式(教育、房屋所有权、与执法部门的接触等等)中发挥作用的练习之后,我们花时间了解了制度上的种族主义,然后了解了特权和压迫发挥作用——在消除种族主义和建立共同点方面迈出了重要的一步。

ROP 带领小组讨论了 2014 年的一些关键工作领域:司机卡运动、驱逐出境、揭露种族主义/反仇恨/欢迎社区,以及 Rep. Walden 的移民改革策略。虽然我们只是能够进行对话,但一些伟大的想法浮出水面。

一些上升到顶部的关键主题:

  • 我们需要继续努力理解和挑战制度性种族主义。这意味着继续我们的学习并提供反压迫培训的机会,以及承担解决和揭露种族主义和仇恨并促进种族正义的当地工作。所有人都喜欢布鲁斯·莫里斯的训练,并很高兴能在这些技能上支持布鲁斯!
  • 开展司机卡活动有一种巨大的承诺感。虽然我们都将努力吸引选民,但我们也需要以此为契机,为社区提出我们的愿景和价值观。移民改革的俄勒冈人将以此为契机来宣传他们的愿景:移民感到受到攻击并最终“自我驱逐”的社区。让我们用这个活动来定义和推广 我们的 愿景一个健康和热情的社区,为所有人伸张正义。
  • 有令人难以置信的能量在驱逐出境方面做更多的工作! Immigrant Family Advocates 做了很多研究,我们有信息,所以让我们使用它。所有人都受到了 Not One More 的启发!呼吁奥巴马通过直接行动阻止拘留中心的驱逐出境巴士来结束驱逐出境的运动。我们中的许多人都想知道:我们可以在这里做到这一点吗?
  • 关于如何揭露种族主义和解决仇恨的想法数量惊人。对这项工作有明确的需求和愿望:从研讨会和培训到公共活动。

当我们结束会议时,有 10 人举手成为联盟委员会的一员,该委员会将帮助推动这项工作并在该地区的团体之间进行协调。所有人都同意,在 4 月中旬或 5 月再次举行一次完整的集体聚会是个好时机。共享午餐和更随意的交谈后,人们带着一些新朋友回家,心中多了一点希望,并承诺在 2014 年及以后推进正义工作。

我们将在 5 月 3 日星期六举行的今年农村核心小组与战略会议上讨论许多相同的主题 以及我们 5 月 4 日星期日的公民不服从训练.如果您还没有注册,请注册 这里.

您想与您的小组或您所在地区的小组进行类似的对话吗?给我们发电子邮件至 cara@rop.org 让我们开始计划吧!

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Drawing inspiration (and strategy) from each other in Central Oregon‏

Dear ROPnetters:

Sometimes the best way to draw inspiration is to look toward each other.  This was very true for the human dignity groups in Central Oregon when groups from all three counties came together for a regional gathering last month on Race, Racial Justice & Immigrant Rights.

Thirty people and eight human dignity groups were represented.  We met on a Saturday morning at the local Latino Community Association’s site in Redmond. Just one month later, we are already seeing results from this ROP facilitated strategy session! From leadership training for Central Oregon’s Latino-led immigrant rights group to a “Building Common Ground” training series on racial justice to strategies for work on driver’s cards and deportations, Central Oregon leaders are building a regional strategy that inspires and builds power!

Below is more information about the gathering and a summary of outcomes.  Read on for inspiration for your group!

The invitation read….
Race, Racial Justice & Immigrants Rights
Building a 2014 Strategy for Central Oregon

We’ll take the time to step back and to map our way forward.  We’ll be addressing:

  • What are our next steps for Immigrant Rights organizing: Driver’s Cards, Immigration Reform, challenging Deportations?
  • How do we build on our work to address hate, expose racism and create a more Welcoming Community for all?
  • Mapping Our Power: How is our Central Oregon movement doing? What are strengths and what ways do we need to grow? What are the roles of our different groups? How can we work together better as allies and immigrants and with a deeper understanding of each other’s perspectives, backgrounds, and experiences in our societies systems, structures, and cultures?

A Summary of Outcomes and Strategy for Central Oregon:

On Saturday, March 1st nearly 30 people representing more than 8 groups from all three counties in Central Oregon gathered together to strategize and develop next steps for our work on immigrant rights and racial justice.

We started our gathering with a go-around to get to know each other in the room. During our Mapping Our Power exercise every group shared more about who they are, what they do and how their work relates to the topics of the day.

Bruce Morris of the Social Justice Center then led the group through a training on institutional racism and privilege & oppression.  After an exercise that truly exposed how racism plays out in places and ways that don’t even seem about race (education, home ownership, engagement with law enforcement and so much more), we spent time learning about institutional racism and then how privilege and oppression play out – some great steps in unlearning racism and building common ground.

ROP lead the group through conversations on some key areas of work for 2014: Drivers Card Campaign, Deportations, Exposing Racism/ Anti-Hate/ Welcoming Communities, and Immigration Reform Strategies on Rep. Walden.  Though we were just able to being the conversation, some great ideas surfaced.

A few of the key themes that rose to the top:

  • We need to continue the work of understanding and challenging institutional racism. This means continuing our learning and providing opportunities for anti-oppression training as well as taking on local work that addresses and exposes racism and hate and promotes racial justice.  All loved Bruce Morris’ training and are excited to support Bruce in these skills!
  • There was a sense of huge commitment to working on the Drivers Card Campaign.  While we will all work to engage voters, we also need to use this as an opportunity to put forward our vision and our values for the community. Oregonians for Immigration Reform will be using this as an opportunity to promote their vision: communities where immigrants feel under attack and will ultimately “self deport.” Let’s use this campaign to define and promote our vision a healthy and welcoming community with justice for all.
  • There was incredible energy to do more work on deportations! Immigrant Family Advocates has done a lot of research and we have the information, so let’s use it.  All were inspired by the Not One More! Campaign that calls on Obama to end deportations by using direct action to block deportation buses from detention centers.  Many of us left wondering: can we do this here?
  • There were an incredible number of ideas on how to expose racism and address hate.  There is a clear need and desire for this work: from workshops and trainings to public events.

As we closed out the meeting, 10 people raised their hands to be a part of the coalition committee that would help move this work forward and coordinate between groups in the region.  All agreed that a full group gathering again in mid-April or May was good timing.  After a shared lunch, and more casual conversation, folks headed home with some new friends, a little more hope in our hearts and a commitment to advance work for justice in 2014 and beyond.

We will be discussing many of the same topics at this year’s Rural Caucus & Strategy Session on Saturday, May 3rd and our Civil Disobedience Training on Sunday, May 4th.  If you haven’t registered yet, do so here.

Would you like to have a similar conversation with your group or with groups in your region? Drop us an email at cara@rop.org and let’s start planning!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English