工作中的民主:11 月选举结果

亲爱的 ROPnet,

虽然俄勒冈州今年 11 月没有投票,但大多数州都投票了。有效的民主需要受过良好教育的公众参与民主进程,因此上个月的投票率和结果对于我们这些组织起来推进民主和人类尊严的人来说是个好消息!下面我们列出了一些我们所看到的亮点。

您最关注哪些选举结果?是什么让您考虑如何为 2024 年做准备? ROP 工作人员一直在与俄勒冈州各地的人类尊严领导人讨论他们的 2024 年选举组织计划,并准备工具和资源,以满足我们民主运动的需求。需要支持制定您的团队的行动计划吗?我们是否有可以扩大规模的活动?向您当地的组织者或艾玛发送电子邮件至 艾玛@rop.org!

我们正在庆祝胜利!

俄亥俄州选民保护堕胎权! 这是自 2022 年 6 月多布斯决定否决联邦堕胎权以来,美国各地选民七次拒绝反堕胎措施中的第七次。选民再次表示,他们相信自由和身体自主权。看看《Daily Yonder》的分析 农村选民对这场胜利至关重要!

全国各地的自由妈妈候选人都落选了!

Moms for Liberty 是一个倡导反对学校课程提及 2SLGBTQIA+ 权利、种族和族裔、“批判种族理论”和歧视的组织。他们一直在努力禁止书籍并罢免俄勒冈州和全国的学校董事会成员。在这次选举中,他们在许多州竞选候选人,作为回应,社区大声表示排斥和歧视不符合我们所有人的正义和尊严的价值观。

来自纽约杂志: “在爱荷华州,林马尔学区的选民拒绝了三名由自由妈妈组织支持的候选人。该团体的候选人也未能赢得弗农山、锡达拉皮兹和西得梅因的竞选。四名“自由妈妈”候选人在明尼苏达州罗斯蒙特-苹果谷-伊根学区的竞选中落败。 ……当[像自由妈妈这样的极右团体]推动禁书、粉饰美国历史并试图迫使 LGBTQ+ 教师和学生重新出柜时,他们已经树敌很多。家长尤其是 母亲们,与自由妈妈组织及其支持的候选人正面交锋,阻碍了极右翼在当地学校董事会的前进。这种趋势在周二晚上(11 月 7 日)尤为明显,当时反多元化候选人在全国范围内的一些关键的学校董事会竞选中失利。”

民意调查与现实: 许多人在结果公布之前就看到了头条新闻,称特朗普的民调好于拜登,并将其解读为对地方选举来说是个坏消息。但事实并非如此。

不可分割是一个由数千名当地志愿者领导的团体组成的全国性运动,其使命是选举进步领导人并重建民主,该运动指出,未来几个月我们的敌人是宿命论。他们在选举日后的一份声明中表示,“如果每次民意调查结果不佳时人们就认输,我们就无法获胜。为了鼓励更多的参与,我们需要真诚地对待人们,像昨天一样庆祝胜利,鼓励更多的行动,减少厄运,并专注于我们自己可以解决的难题。”

热烈地,

艾玛和 ROP 团队

简体中文

Democracy At Work: November Election Results

Dear ROPnet,

While Oregon didn’t vote this November, most states did. A functional democracy requires a well-educated public that participates in the democratic process, so the turnout and results from last month are good news for those of us organizing to advance democracy and human dignity! Below we’ve included a few of the highlights we’ve been seeing.

What election results are you paying closest attention to? What is it making you think about how you want to prepare for 2024? ROP staff have been chatting with human dignity leaders across Oregon about their 2024 election organizing plans and preparing tools and resources to meet the needs of our pro-democracy movement. Want support making your team’s action plans? Have a campaign ramping up that we could amplify? Email your local organizer or Emma at emma@rop.org!

Victories We’re Celebrating!

Ohio voters protected abortion access! This was the seventh time out of seven attempts that anti-abortion measures have been rejected by voters across the US since the Dobbs decision, which struck down the federal right to an abortion in June of 2022. Voters have said yet again that they believe in the freedom and bodily autonomy. Check out the Daily Yonder’s analysis of how rural voters were crucial to this victory!

Moms for Liberty candidates lost across the country!

Moms for Liberty is an organization that advocates against school curricula that mention 2SLGBTQIA+ rights, race and ethnicity, “critical race theory”, and discrimination. They have been working to ban books and unseat school board members across Oregon and the nation. In this election, they ran candidates in many states, and in response, communities resoundingly said that exclusion and discrimination don’t align with our values of justice and dignity for all.

From New York Magazine: “In Iowa, voters in the Linn-Mar School District rejected three candidates backed by Moms for Liberty. The group’s candidates also failed to win races in Mount Vernon, Cedar Rapids, and West Des Moines. Four Moms for Liberty candidates lost races in Minnesota’s Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan School District. … As [far-right groups like Moms for Liberty] push for book bans, whitewash American history, and try to drive LGBTQ+ teachers and students back into the closet, they’ve made plenty of enemies. Parents, especially mothers, have gone head to head with Moms for Liberty and the candidates it backs, stunting the far right’s march through local school boards. That trend was particularly apparent on Tuesday evening [November 7th] when anti-diversity candidates lost a number of pivotal school board races across the nation.”

Polls vs. Reality: Many folks saw headlines before results were in that Trump is polling better than Biden, and interpreted that as bad news for local elections. That’s not what happened though.

Indivisible, a national movement of thousands of local volunteer-led groups with a mission to elect progressive leaders and rebuild democracy, noted that our enemy in the coming months is fatalism. In a statement after election day, they said “We can’t win if people throw in the towel every time there’s a bad poll. To encourage more engagement, we need to be real with people, celebrate wins like yesterday’s, encourage more doing and less doom-scrolling, and focus on our own personally manageable piece of the puzzle.”

Warmly,

Emma and the ROP Team

English