الدفاع عن تقرير الخط الساخن للديمقراطية

بينما نأخذ لحظة للاحتفال بكل من الانتصارات المحلية والوطنية والتقاط أنفاسنا بعد موسم انتخابي مثير للقلق ، فإننا نراقب أيضًا الانتقال القادم للسلطة والجولات الإعادة في مجلس الشيوخ في جورجيا التي ستشكل ميزان القوى الوطني على السنوات الأربع القادمة. على المستوى المحلي ، نحن نفكر في شبكة شرطة عمان السلطانية حملة الدفاع عن الديمقراطية بخاصة. أصدرنا مجموعة أدوات وأنشأنا خطًا ساخنًا وأطلقنا إعلانات الخدمة العامة والإعلانات الإذاعية بدافع المخاوف بشأن تخويف الناخبين والمعلومات المضللة وكيف يمكن أن تؤثر على قدرة الناس على التصويت بحرية وعلنية وسهولة. 

من خلال جهود هذه الحملة وخبرة سنوات عديدة ، كانت شبكتنا على استعداد للرد على تقارير الترهيب عبر المناطق الريفية في ولاية أوريغون بينما في الوقت نفسه ، كنا نأمل أن يتم التصويت في جميع أنحاء الولاية دون عوائق. وهذه لمحة سريعة عن التقارير التي تلقيناها ، والطرق التي تمكنت بها شبكتنا من وضع حد للترهيب والتضليل!

  • تظاهر شخص ما بأنه متصل من ديمقراطيي مقاطعة تيلاموك واتصل بالديمقراطيين المسجلين في المقاطعة ، وأخبرهم أن بطاقات اقتراعهم قد ألغيت وأن أصواتهم لن تُحسب في محاولة لثني الناس عن التصويت.
  • كان الأفراد يراقبون ويراقبون الناس يصوتون في كوتيدج جروف من سياراتهم في محاولة واضحة لثني الناس عن إسقاط أوراق اقتراعهم بالفعل.
  • تمت سرقة أوراق الاقتراع ، سواء كانت فارغة أو ممتلئة بالفعل ، من صناديق البريد في Corvallis و Eugene و Hood River. تمكن العديد من الأشخاص من إعادة إصدار بطاقات الاقتراع ، ولكن في إحدى الحوادث التي وقعت في هود ريفر ، اتصلت ناخبة سُرقت بطاقة اقتراعها بالخط الساخن بعد أن لم يتم تسليم بطاقة الاقتراع البديلة إلى عنوانها الجديد. لحسن الحظ ، اتصلت بمكتب كاتب المقاطعة وحصلت على بطاقة اقتراعها الجديدة شخصيًا قبل يوم واحد فقط من الانتخابات. بالنسبة للناخبين الذين يعيشون بعيدًا عن مكتب كاتب المقاطعة أو غير القادرين على الزيارة شخصيًا ، كان من الممكن أن تمنعهم هذه العقبات من التصويت تمامًا.

في معظم التقارير التي تلقيناها ، كان سكان الريف في ولاية أوريغون قادرين على اتخاذ إجراءات حاسمة ووقف الترهيب في مساراته أو إيجاد طريقة للتصويت على الرغم من الحواجز. 

  • في مقاطعة ديشوتيس ، عمل المنظمون مع مسؤولي الانتخابات المحلية لطرح "حركة صناديق الاقتراع فقط" ونجحوا في منع الشاحنات الصغيرة من الخروج بالقرب من موقع إسقاط الاقتراع ، وتغطية الأشخاص بعوادم الديزل وتسريع محركاتهم عندما حاول الناس التصويت.
  • كتب القادة المحليون في مقاطعة ليك أ رسالة إلى المحرر استدعاء عمدة مقاطعة ليك والضغط عليه بنجاح للرد عندما طلب الناس المساعدة من اللافتات التي تُسرق مرارًا وتدمير ممتلكاتهم. 
  • في مقاطعة لين ، عندما بدأ العديد من الأشخاص المسلحين في استجواب وترهيب الأشخاص الذين يحاولون إسقاط بطاقات الاقتراع في صندوق الإسقاط في سبرينغفيلد ، تأكد المنظمون من عدم عودتهم. شرطة عمان السلطانية وأصدقاؤنا مع لجنة المحامين للحقوق المدنية بموجب القانون ، وبنك أوريغون للطعام ، ومركز موارد العدالة في أوريغون ، واتحاد الحريات المدنية في ولاية أوريغون ، ومركز الدول الغربية كتب رسالة إلى المدعي العام ووزير الخارجية الدعوة إلى استجابة منسقة لهذا الحادث وكذلك أي تقارير مستقبلية عن ترهيب الناخبين.

بفضل العمل الجاد والاستجابات السريعة للمنظمين في جميع أنحاء الولاية ، لم تتصاعد أي من هذه الحوادث إلى تهديدات أكبر! ما هي الدروس التي تعلمتها من موسم الانتخابات هذا والتي يمكننا رفعها ومشاركتها؟ ما الذي تعمل عليه مجموعتكم الآن بعد انتهاء موسم الانتخابات (في الغالب)؟ فيما يلي بعض الطرق التي نرى بها المجموعات تتخذ إجراءات:

  1. مع تولي وزير الخارجية المنتخب حديثًا منصبه في غضون بضعة أشهر ، لدينا فرصة لمشاركة مخاوفنا بشأن أمن الانتخابات وترهيب الناخبين ، والتأكد من أن انتخابات 2022 تسير بسلاسة أكبر! اتصل بوزير الخارجية المنتخب مباشرة بالذهاب إلى https://shemiafororegon.com/ والنقر على زر "اتصال" ، وأخبرنا كيف ستسير محادثتك!
  2. تقوم العديد من المجموعات عبر شبكتنا ببناء مجتمع ودعم ثقافة يمكننا من خلالها التعبير عن آرائنا السياسية ويمكننا التصويت دون خوف من الترهيب أو العنف أو السرقة. ماذا تفعل لتعزيز مجتمع آمن ومرحب؟ هل تريد دعمًا في البدء؟ تواصل معنا على abbi@rop.org!
  3. نحن نعلم أن احتمالية الترهيب والتهديدات لم تنته بعد. إذا كانت لديك مخاوف تتعلق بالسلامة أو الأمان ، فيرجى الاتصال بنا للحصول على الموارد والدعم عن طريق الاتصال بالخط الساخن على 541-714-3257 ، أو إرسال بريد إلكتروني abbi@rop.org.

تم بناء شبكة شرطة عمان السلطانية لتستمر لفترة طويلة ، وسنواصل بناء المجتمع ، والدفاع عن الديمقراطية ، وتعزيز الكرامة الإنسانية لسنوات قادمة! 

سهل الطباعة، PDF والبريد الإلكتروني
العربية

Defend Democracy Hotline Round Up

As we take a moment to celebrate both local and national wins and catch our breaths after an anxiety-inducing election season, we are also keeping a watchful eye on the upcoming transition of power and Georgia Senate runoffs that will shape the national balance of power over the next four years. On the local level, we are reflecting on the ROP network’s Defend Democracy campaign in particular. We issued a toolkit, set up a hotline, and ran public service announcements and radio ads out of concerns about voter intimidation and disinformation and how they might affect folks’ ability to vote freely, openly, and easily. 

Through the efforts of this campaign and many years’ experience, our network was prepared to respond to reports of intimidation across rural Oregon while at the same time, we hoped that voting across the state would go off without a hitch. Here is a snapshot of the reports we received, and the ways our network was able to put a stop to intimidation and disinformation!

  • Someone posed as a caller from the Tillamook County Democrats and called registered Democrats in the county, telling them their ballots had been invalidated and their votes would not be counted in an attempt to dissuade people from voting.
  • Individuals tailgated and watched people vote in Cottage Grove from their vehicles in an apparent attempt to discourage folks from actually dropping off their ballots.
  • Ballots, either blank or already filled out, were stolen out of mailboxes in Corvallis, Eugene and Hood River. Many people were able to get reissued ballots, but in one incident in Hood River, a voter whose ballot was stolen reached out to the hotline after her replacement ballot was not delivered to her new address. Fortunately, she contacted the county clerk’s office and picked up her new ballot in person just one day before the election. For voters living far from their county clerk’s office or who are unable to visit in-person, such obstacles could have kept them from voting altogether.

In the majority of reports we received, rural Oregonians were able to take decisive action and stop intimidation in its tracks or find a way to vote despite the barriers. 

  • In Deschutes County, organizers worked with local elections officials to put up “Ballot Box traffic only” and successfully stopped pickup trucks from hanging out near the ballot drop site, covering people with diesel exhaust and revving their engines when folks tried to vote.
  • Local leaders in Lake County wrote a Letter to the Editor calling on the Lake County Sheriff and successfully pressured him to respond when people getting their signs repeatedly stolen and their property damaged called for help. 
  • In Lane County, when several people with guns began questioning and intimidating people trying to drop their ballots at a dropbox in Springfield, organizers made sure they did not come back. ROP and our friends with the Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Under Law, Oregon Food Bank, Oregon Justice Resource Center, ACLU of Oregon, and Western States Center wrote a letter to the Attorney General and Secretary of State calling for a coordinated response to this incident as well as any future reports of voter intimidation.

Thanks to the hard work and quick responses of organizers all over the state, none of these incidents escalated into larger threats! What lessons have you learned from this election season that we can lift up and share? What is your group working on now that the election season is (mostly) done? Here are a few ways we are seeing groups take action:

  1. With a newly elected Secretary of State taking office in a few months, we have an opportunity to share our concerns about election security and voter intimidation, and make sure the 2022 election goes more smoothly! Contact the Secretary of State-elect directly by going to https://shemiafororegon.com/ and clicking on the “Contact” button, and tell us how your conversation goes!
  2. Many groups across our network are building community and supporting a culture where we are able to express our political views and can vote without fear of intimidation, violence, or theft. What are you doing to foster a safe and welcoming community? Want support in getting started? Reach out to us at abbi@rop.org!
  3. We know the potential for intimidation and threats is not over. If you have safety or security concerns, please reach out to us for resources and support by calling the hotline at 541-714-3257, or emailing abbi@rop.org.

The ROP network was built to last for the long haul, and we will continue building community, defending democracy, and advancing human dignity for years to come! 

English