拒绝签署 – 一项措施来回滚我们的移民公平胜利

本周有消息传到 ROP 办公室,反移民活动家走上街头,收集请愿书签名,以通过投票措施废除最近通过的驾驶证立法。

 致电 ROP 办公室索取材料,以便在您所在的城镇发布“拒绝签署”消息。

今年 5 月 1 日,基茨哈伯州长签署了法律,允许所有司机接受测试、投保和获得执照——尽管持有的是“驾照”而不是“驾照”。  这是 ROP 和我们在移民权利斗争中的盟友的巨大胜利,也是我们为之奋斗多年的胜利。  在两党的支持下,我们在俄勒冈州的每个角落努力通过这项法律。

我们在国会大厦庆祝了五一节,在赢得俄勒冈州的学费净值和司机卡后,我们情绪高涨,并希望移民改革在今年成为现实。

这是那天的报道。

现在,反移民组织俄勒冈州移民改革组织积极努力,通过公投公投取消这些驾驶特权。

一些人报告说,请愿收集者在农村县的邮局和杂货店四处走动,包括我们在哥伦比亚县的家。这让人想起农村组织项目的早期,当时农村居民收集请愿书,为他们的 LGBTQ 邻居将二等公民写入俄勒冈州宪法。  看到外面的人,我们从孩子的学校和社区活动中认识的人,组织起来从我们、我们的家人、我们的朋友那里夺走基本权利和尊严,这是多么可怕。

当然,我们没有什么可以也不应该干预签名收集,但我们绝对应该计划如何在民主和人类尊严的基础上就这个问题进行对话。人类尊严组织长期以来一直使用“拒绝签署”工具来提醒邻居,当提议的投票措施违背我们的核心价值观时。  我们提醒我们的社区,您的签名与您的投票一样强大——并且重要的是在每个阶段都反对损害人类尊严的措施。

我们提供了一个开始对话的简单工具:打印附在此处的明信片,并在您当地邮局外安排几次轮班,与您的邻居讨论“拒绝签署”的努力,以及仔细阅读任何请愿书的重要性我们被要求签署。 与他们讨论当前的努力,告诉他们您支持任何俄勒冈州人的驾驶特权,他们可以通过考试,并且需要开车去上班、去杂货店或开车送孩子上学。

你能做一个转变来传递拒绝签署传单吗?你在你的城镇见过签名采集者吗?  我们想知道!

让我们一定要告诉我们的家人和朋友——“签署前请阅读!”

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Decline to Sign – a measure to roll back our immigrant fairness wins‏

Word travelled to the ROP office this week that anti-immigrant activists are out on the streets, collecting petition signatures for a ballot measure to repeal the recently passed Drivers Card legislation.

 Call the ROP office for materials to get the “Decline to Sign” message out in your town.

On May 1 of this year, Governor Kitzhaber signed into law legislation that allows all drivers to be tested, insured, and licensed – albeit with a “driver’s card” rather than a “driver’s license.”  This was a huge win for ROP and our allies in the immigrant rights struggle, and one that we fought for many years to win.  We had struggled in every corner of the state to pass this law in the Oregon legislature, with bipartisan support.

We celebrated on May Day at the Capitol, with our spirits high after winning both Tuition Equity and Drivers Cards in Oregon, and hopeful about immigration reform becoming reality this year.

Here is coverage of that day.

Now, there is an active effort from the anti-immigrant group Oregonians for Immigration Reform to take these driving privileges away using ballot measure referendum.

Several folks have reported that petition gatherers are out and about at post offices and grocery stores in rural counties, including here in our home of Columbia County.  It brings to mind the early years of the Rural Organizing Project, when rural residents gathered petitions to write second class citizenship into the Oregon Constitution for their LGBTQ neighbors.  How horrible it feels to see people out there, who we know from our kids’ schools and community functions, organizing to take away basic rights and dignity from us, our families, our friends.

Of course, there’s nothing that we can or should do to interfere with the signature collection, but we should absolutely make a plan about how to have a conversation based in democracy and human dignity about this issue.  Human Dignity Groups have a long history of using “Decline to Sign” tools to alert neighbors to times when proposed ballot measures go against our core values.  We remind our communities that your signature is just as powerful as your vote – and that it’s important to oppose measures at every phase that attack human dignity.

We offer a simple tool for beginning that conversation: print out the postcard attached here, and organize a few shifts outside of your local post office to talk to your neighbors about the “Decline to Sign” effort, and the importance of reading carefully any petition that we are asked to sign. Talk to them about the current effort, tell them that you support driving privileges for any Oregonian who can pass the test, and who needs to drive to go to work, the grocery store, or to drive their children to school.

Can you do a shift to pass out decline to sign flyers?  Have you seen signature gatherers out in your town?  We want to know!

And let’s be sure to tell our family and friends – “read before you sign!”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English