2008 年 12 月 KTA:迎接新的进步政治

向您的人类尊严小组介绍您的民选官员

After every election cycle, ROP encourages local groups to sit down with their newly (re)elected officials, orient them to your group, and initiate/deepen a relationship.即使您的团队已经认识您所在的州立法者,正式会议也会为政策决策建立工作关系。 These gatherings can be as simple as one or two human dignity group leaders having coffee for 30 minutes with your newly elected official or setting aside time to meet with him/her during your group's regular December or January meeting.目标是引起民选官员的注意,并建立持续到立法会议的关系。

现在与您的州立法者进行初步了解您的会议也将使与他们进行更富有成效的访问 作为 ROP 2009 年农村核心小组和大堂日的一部分,塞勒姆将于 3 月 15 日至 16 日举行!

为什么要开展这项活动?  上个月的选举标志着我们国家政治气候的重大转变——并为更加进步的政治站稳脚跟创造了机会。与此同时,当前的金融危机挑战我们所有人从根本上重新评估我们的经济——以及我们的地方、州和国家预算如何反映(或不反映)我们的优先事项。吨o take advantage of these openings, we must engage our community members in demanding the democracy we desire while also getting our group's agenda (and people power) noticed by our newly elected officials.

 

完成活动的步骤:

  1. 选择几个适合您的小组与您的州立法者会面的日期。 
  2. 选择一个小组成员召集您的立法者并安排见面时间。 (尽量在 12 月 15 日之前打这个电话,因为我们都专注于在那之后的假期)。可以在俄勒冈州立法机构网站 (http://www.leg.state.or.us/findlegsltr/home.htm) 上找到立法者的联系信息。 
  3. 决定如何分享您所在团体的立法优先事项和议程。您可能希望使用下面的网格作为起点。该网格是 ROP 2009 年立法平台的起点。我们需要您的反馈,以确保这反映了您社区的需求和优先事项。让我们听到您的想法、建议和问题!
  4. 为聚会制定议程。 (考虑这个 样本议程.)
  5. 请务必在会议结束后发送感谢卡。
  6. 考虑您的团队可能希望会见哪些其他民选官员。是否有新的市议员或县专员与您的团队建立关系特别具有战略意义?

ROP 2009 年立法平台 (正在建设中 - 帮助我们建造它!)

 在 2009 年的立法机关中,ROP 将建立一个立法平台,对国内外的战争成本说不,对重建我们的社区说是。我们仍在开发这个平台,但以下是 ROP 板的一些初步想法。  这些优先事项是否与您的社区产生共鸣?少了什么东西?  随意使用此网格来完善您自己的立法议程 - 请在 ROP 与我们分享您的想法,以便我们在通过发送电子邮件至 amy@rop.org 完成全州议程时将它们考虑在内!

 对国内外战争的代价不同意 * 对重建我们的社区表示同意

 

当地的
状态
 国家的
和平与真正的安全
  • 支持返回的兽医和他们的家人,以及军事抵抗者
  • 提供柜台招聘和职业选择
  • 将俄勒冈州国民警卫队留在俄勒冈州并停止 2009 年的部署
  • 立即结束对伊拉克和阿富汗的占领
  • 没有新的战争
  • 恢复公民自由,停止酷刑,并废除爱国者法案
所有人的安全与尊严
  • 阻止当地反移民投票措施的传播
  • 恢复移民司机获得驾照的机会
  • 推进 LGBTQ 平等
  • 暂停袭击和驱逐出境
可持续的、以社区为中心的经济学


  • 支持可持续的当地农村经济
  • 提供支持需求的社区基础设施(学校、图书馆、卫生服务、交通)
  • 投资于所有俄勒冈人的人类需求:教育、医疗保健、有薪生活的工作、没有新监狱、满足我们需求的税收公平
  • 全民医疗 
  • 税收公平
  • 停止不负责任的企业救助
  • 通过员工自由选择法案
  • 支持可再生能源

 

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Dec 2008 KTA: Meet and Greet for a New Progressive Politics

Introducing your Elected Officials to your Human Dignity Group

After every election cycle, ROP encourages local groups to sit down with their newly (re)elected officials, orient them to your group, and initiate/deepen a relationship.  Even if your group knows your state legislators already, a formal meeting establishes a working relationship for policy decisions.  These gatherings can be as simple as one or two human dignity group leaders having coffee for 30 minutes with your newly elected official or setting aside time to meet with him/her during your group’s regular December or January meeting.  The goal is to get on the radar of your elected officials and to build a relationship that lasts through the legislative session.

Having an initial get-to-know-you meeting with your state legislators now will also make for a more productive visit with them in Salem on March 15-16th as part of the ROP’s 2009 Rural Caucus and Lobby Day!

WHY THIS ACTIVITY?  Last month’s elections marked a significant shift in our nation’s political climate – and created the opening for a more progressive politics to take hold.  At the same time, the current financial crisis challenges all of us to fundamentally reevaluate our economy – and how our local, state and national budgets reflect (or not) our priorities.  To take advantage of these openings, we must engage our community members in demanding the democracy we desire while also getting our group’s agenda (and people power) noticed by our newly elected officials.

 

STEPS TO COMPLETE THE ACTIVITY:

  1. Select a few dates that will work for your group to meet with your state legislators. 
  2. Choose a group member to call up your legislators and schedule a time to meet.  (Try to make this call before December 15th as we all get focused on the holidays after that).  Contact information for your legislators can be found on the Oregon Legislature Website (http://www.leg.state.or.us/findlegsltr/home.htm). 
  3. Decide how to share your group’s legislative priorities and agenda.  You may want to use the grid below as a starting point.  This grid is the starting place for ROP’s 2009 Legislative Platform.  We need your feedback to make sure this reflects your community’s needs and priorities.  Let us hear from you with ideas, suggestions, and questions!
  4. Set an agenda for the gathering.  (Consider this sample agenda.)
  5. Be sure to send a thank you card after the meeting.
  6. Consider what other elected officials your group might want to meet with.  Are there new city councilors or county commissioners that it is especially strategic for your group to have a relationship with?

ROP’s 2009 Legislative Platform (Under Construction – Help Us Build It!)

 In the 2009 Legislature, ROP will raise up a legislative platform that says NO to the Cost of War at Home and Abroad and YES to Rebuilding our Communities.  We are still developing this platform, but below are some initial ideas from the ROP board.  Do these priorities resonate with your community?  What’s missing?  Feel free to use this grid to refine your own legislative agenda – and please share your thoughts with us at ROP so we can take them into account as we finalize our statewide agenda by emailing amy@rop.org!

 NO to the Cost of War at Home and Abroad * YES to Rebuilding our Communities

 

LOCAL
STATE
 NATIONAL
Peace & Real Security
  • Support returning vets and their families, and military resisters
  • Provide counter recruitment and career alternatives
  • Keep the Oregon National Guard in Oregon and Stop 2009 Deployments
  • End the occupation in Iraq and Afghanistan immediately
  • No new wars
  • Restore civil liberties, stop torture, and repeal the PATRIOT Act
Safety & Dignity for All People
  • Stop the spread of local anti-immigrant ballot measures
  • Restore access to drivers’ licenses for immigrant drivers
  • Advance LGBTQ equality
  • Enact a moratorium on raids and deportations
Sustainable, Community-Centered Economics


  • Support sustainable,  local rural economies
  • Provide for community infrastructure that supports needs (schools, libraries, health services, transportation)
  • Invest in human needs for all Oregonians: education, healthcare, living wage jobs, no new prisons, tax fairness that will provide for our needs
  • Universal healthcare 
  • Tax fairness
  • Stop unaccountable corporate bailouts
  • Pass Employee Free Choice Act
  • Support renewable energy

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English