克鲁克县的暑假“假期”

每年夏天,我们都会看到一些人的尊严团体借此机会放慢脚步,充电,并做他们需要做的事情,从露营到园艺再到罐头,以保持家人的幸福和健康。在这些缓慢的时刻,许多团体考虑如何在社区中保持活跃和可见,这里是克鲁克县人类尊严倡导者的一个很好的例子!阅读下面关于他们在今年夏天“休息”期间所做的所有事情,并且不要忘记让 ROP 知道您的团队在那些夏季所做的事情!

公园里的 HDA 派

人类尊严倡导者更新

来自 HDA 成员 Kathy Paterno
人类尊严倡导者 (HDA) 决定在去年夏天放松并休息一下。这对我们来说效果如何?我们发现自己到处都是!我们以为 HDA 是关于政治的,但事实证明我们真的是关于馅饼的! “公园里的馅饼”就是这样。

我们认为如果我们出现在 Prineville 夏季音乐系列的开幕式上,我们可能会在社区中获得一些知名度。所以每个人都烤馅饼(还有蛋糕和饼干)。我们设立了一个展台,用我们的 HDA 横幅和活动海报装饰它,拉起我们的草坪椅,享受音乐。哦,是的,我们赠送了我们的美味佳肴 - 用于 $1 的小额捐赠。

我们的勤杂工肯建造了画架来展示我们由 Barb 设计的优秀作品。金带来并搭建了她的农贸市场帐篷。 Laquita 为口渴的人带来了乳胶手套(手感很好)和冰水。丹尼斯(穿着围裙)和比尔随着音乐翩翩起舞。史蒂夫给我们买了披萨! (我们发现你不能只靠馅饼生活。)而且我们都使用了我们的烘焙才能(你真的必须尝试加里的花生酱馅饼!)
HDA 惊吓乌鸦有些人付了一块钱,有些人付了 $10!不知不觉中,我们的美味赠品带来了 80 美元!我们玩得很开心,当我们收拾行李时,每个人都同意,“嘿,这很容易,让我们再做一次!”

“公园里的馅饼”(不是玛格丽特喜欢称的“天上的馅饼”)和 HDA 在整个夏天又出场了 3 次,净赚近 $400!

除了所有这些乐趣之外,HDA 决定通过在克鲁克县公平稻草人比赛中输入稻草人(左侧)来测试我们的创造力。我们创建了一个“下落的邻居”,以突出我们社区中始终存在的贫困和无家可归问题。同样是一个偷偷摸摸的筹款活动,我们的“倒下”稻草人被参加展会的人慷慨地赠送了 $8.35。计划和会议,但通过有趣的夏季活动在社区中保持联系和可见度。这是一次非常值得的“暑假”!
打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Crook County’s summer “vacation”‏

Every summer we see several human dignity groups take the opportunity slow down, recharge, and do what they need to keep their families happy and healthy, from camping to gardening to canning.  During these slower moments, many groups consider ways they can remain active and visible in their communities, and here is a great examples from Human Dignity Advocates in Crook County!  Read all about what they did while they were “on a break” this summer below, and don’t forget to let ROP know what your group was up to during those summer months!

HDA Pie in the Park

The Human Dignity Advocates Update

From Kathy Paterno, HDA member
The Human Dignity Advocates (HDA) decided to relax and take a break this past summer.  How did that work out for us?  We found ourselves showing up all over the place!  We thought HDA was all about politics, but it turns out we’re really all about pie!  “Pie in the Park” that is.

We thought we might get some visibility in the community if we showed up at the kickoff of Prineville’s summer music series. So everybody baked pies (and cakes and cookies).  We set up a booth, decorated it with our HDA banner and posters of our activities, pulled up our lawn chairs and enjoyed the music.  Oh yes, and we gave away our yummy goodies – for a small $1 donation.

Our handyman Ken built easels to display our good works as designed by Barb.  Kim brought and set up her Farmer’s Market tent.  Laquita brought latex gloves (a nice touch) and ice water for thirsty people.   Denise (in her apron) and Bill danced to the music.  Steve bought us pizza!  (We found that you can’t live on pie alone.)  And we all used our baking talents (you really must try Gary’s peanut butter pie!)
HDA Scare CrowSome people paid a dollar and some people paid $10!  Before we knew it, our delicious giveaways brought in 80 bucks!  We had a great time, and as we were packing up, everybody agreed, “Hey, that was easy, let’s do it again!”

“Pie In The Park” (not “pie in the sky” as Margret likes to call it) and HDA made three more appearances through the summer and netted nearly $400!

Along with all that fun, HDA decided to test our creativity by entering a scarecrow (on the left) in the Crook County Fair scarecrow competition.  We created a “down and out neighbor” to highlight the ever-present issues of poverty and homelessness in our community.  Also a fundraiser-on-the-sly, our “down and out” scarecrow was generously given $8.35 by fair-goers.All in all, HDA’s “break” turned out to be a time to recharge by foregoing some of the heavier planning and meetings, but staying connected and visible in the community through fun summer activities.  It was a very worthwhile “summer break!”
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English