خلق مجتمع محبوب من خلال العمل الراديكالي

17 يناير 2015

عزيزي روب نت ،

اعتقد مارتن لوثر كينج الابن أننا بحاجة إلى إسقاط التهديدات الثلاثية للعسكرة والعنصرية والمادية / الرأسمالية من أجل تحقيق المجتمع المحبوب حقًا. واحتجنا إلى استخدام أفعال جذرية للوصول إلى هناك.

كما تنص منظمة العمل الشعبي الوطني ، “د. كان كينج وزملاؤه من قادة الحقوق المدنية يطلبون بانتظام من الأشخاص العاديين تعريض أنفسهم للخطر ، ومواجهة الشرطة المسلحة والحشود البيضاء الغاضبة والمسؤولين العموميين الذين طلبوا منهم الانتظار. آمن الدكتور كينج باتخاذ الإجراءات واستخدم العصيان المدني والمقاطعة والاعتصامات لتعطيل العمل كالمعتاد ، ولم يواجه فقط احتجاجات عامة ، ولكن كلاب الشرطة وخراطيم المياه والاعتقال ".

على مدى الأشهر الماضية ، رأينا كيف استخدمت حركات مختلفة تكتيكات مماثلة ، من القيادة السوداء الشابة التي أغلقت الطرق السريعة كجزء من Black Lives Matter إلى إضرابات العمال ذوي الأجور المنخفضة للمطالبة بحد أدنى للأجور $15 واتحاد من Walmart والوجبات السريعة مطاعم. وربما وجد البعض منا أنفسنا نتساءل عما إذا كانت هذه هي أفضل التكتيكات. ولكن كما علمنا مارتن لوثر كينغ جونيور ، فإنه من خلال الإجراءات المرئية والراديكالية يمكننا فرض الحوار والعمل العام ويمكننا إجبار مؤسسات السلطة على الاستجابة. في الآونة الأخيرة رأينا التأثير في حركة حقوق المهاجرين. لم يكن من طيبة قلوبهم أن السياسيين اتخذوا إجراءات بشأن الهجرة. كان ذلك بسبب اعتصام الشباب والقادة المهاجرين ، ومنع حافلات الترحيل ، وعبور الحدود علناً و "غير قانوني". كان ذلك بسبب قيام مجموعات المجتمع بإثارة المحادثات في مدنهم. أنشأنا حوارًا عامًا ، ودفعنا أصحاب السلطة ، وأجبرنا الرئيس على اتخاذ إجراء.

بينما نحيي MLK في نهاية هذا الأسبوع ، دعونا نتذكر هذا التاريخ ودعونا نجري محادثات حول كيفية ارتباط هذا الإرث الراديكالي بعملنا اليوم. لأنه من خلال هذه الإجراءات المتطرفة - الإجراءات المباشرة ، والاعتصامات ، والعصيان المدني - يمكننا تحويل الأنظمة الاقتصادية والسياسية العنصرية التي تديم الحرب المستمرة مع خفض الضرائب على الأغنياء وبرامج الفقراء ، والتي تجبر الناس على العمل للأجور المنخفضة لدرجة أنهم يلجأون إلى زملاء العمل من أجل حملات الطعام وبرامج المساعدة العامة ، وأن يتم حبس الأشخاص ذوي البشرة السمراء والسود أو ترحيلهم أو إطلاق النار عليهم في الشوارع.

ومن خلال العمل أيضًا ، نصوغ العلاقات الدائمة ومجتمع العدالة الذي سيغير مجتمعاتنا. سواء كان ذلك عملاً من أعمال العصيان المدني أو بناء مجموعة كرامة إنسانية ، فهذه هي الطريقة التي ندرك بها المجتمع الحبيب. قد لا تكون استراتيجية العصيان المدني مناسبة لمجموعتك الآن ، ولكن العمل الذي نقوم به لفتح مساحة للحديث عما يحدث في مجتمعاتنا وفي بلدنا ، والتحدث عن التكتيكات المتعددة التي يتطلبها تحقيق التغيير ، وهذا أيضًا عمل بناء الحركات الرابحة.

شكرًا لكم جميعًا يا راديكالي الكرامة الإنسانية الذين يعملون مدينة تلو الأخرى لتغيير أنظمة القهر وبناء الحركات. تابع القراءة للحصول على بعض اللقطات حول الطرق التي تتبنى بها مجموعات الكرامة الإنسانية حول ريف ولاية أوريغون إرث MLK. هذا أيضًا هو عمل بناء المجتمع الحبيب.

بحرارة ، كارا

يقدم مشروع التنوع في مقاطعة كولومبيا السفلى في مقاطعة كلاتسوب برامج عامة إلى أستوريا منذ سنوات. مهمتهم هي المشاركة بشكل استباقي في قضايا التنوع في المنطقة ، وتثقيف المجتمع حول فوائد التنوع والتسامح والاندماج ، وتوفير منتدى يمكن من خلاله للأفراد والجماعات والمنظمات معالجة المخاوف المتعلقة بالتنوع في المجتمع . يقدمون في عطلة نهاية الأسبوع MLK طرقًا متعددة للاحتفال وتكريم مهمة ورؤية مارتن لوثر كينغ جونيور

”لا تدع الذهاب! - الحفاظ على الحلم حيا "
تمت دعوة طلاب الكلية وأفراد المجتمع لإجراء محادثة مع كاثلين سعدات ، ناشطة مجتمعية مشهورة وقائدة عدالة في ولاية أوريغون

المشي على ضوء الشموع
الاثنين 19 يناير 2015 5:30 مساءً
انضم إلينا في جولة على ضوء الشموع عبر وسط مدينة أستوريا لتكريم رؤية الدكتور كينغ للمساواة والسلام والعدالة من خلال اللاعنف. يجتمع في الثاني عشر والتجاري
"الظلام لا يمكن طرد الظلام؛ فقط الضوء يمكنه فعل ذلك. لا يمكن للكراهية طرد الكراهية. فقط الحب يمكنه فعل ذلك ". - مارتن لوثر كينج الابن.
"السلام ليس مجرد هدف بعيد نسعى إليه ، ولكنه وسيلة نصل من خلالها إلى هذا الهدف." - مارتن لوثر كينج الابن.

يجد سكان وسط أوريغون طرقًا متعددة للمشاركة في إرث MLK هذا العام. في يوم الإثنين ، 19 يناير ، ستستضيف القيادة الدينية يوم الخدمة مارتن لوثر كينغ جونيور حيث سيساعد أكثر من 300 متطوع في أكثر من 20 مشروعًا في المنظمات غير الربحية المحلية.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، على مدار الشهرين المقبلين ، تتم دعوة سكان وسط أوريغون للانضمام إلى مجموعة كتب تُشرك المشاركين في استكشاف قوي للوعي العرقي وتعزيز فهمنا لكيفية العمل من أجل العدالة العرقية في مجتمعنا. تنضم العديد من المنظمات المجتمعية إلى حرم COCC و OSU Cascades في استضافة دراسة كتاب عن كتاب Derald Wing Sue ، التغلب على عنصريتنا: رحلة إلى التحرير. ستقام حلقات دراسية في جميع أنحاء المدينة وتستضيفها هذه المجموعات: كنيسة الثالوث الأسقفية ، وكلية سنترال أوريغون المجتمعية ، ومركز العدالة الاجتماعية ، و OSU Cascades ، ورابطة المجتمع اللاتيني ، والكنيسة الميثودية المتحدة الأولى ، وفريق العدالة الاجتماعية التابع لزمالة Unitarian Universalist بوسط ولاية أوريغون ، فريق الكنيسة المشيخية الأولى من بيند والسلام والعدالة الاجتماعية

في مقاطعة لين ، ستستضيف NAACP في يوجين / سبرينغفيلد مارس يوم MLK بينما سيستضيف تحالف المجتمع في مقاطعة لين احتفاله السنوي السابع عشر بيوم MLK في مدرسة سبرينغفيلد الثانوية مع الفن والموسيقى والخطب والمزيد.

يجتمع Grangers والناس من أجل السلام في Silverton. لا يزال تحدي الدكتور مارتن لوثر كينغ لأمريكا قبل 50 عامًا "لتحقيق وعود الديمقراطية حقًا" قائمًا حتى اليوم وسيتم الاحتفال بإرثه للعدالة الاجتماعية والاقتصادية في احتفال Silverton MLK السنوي الثاني عشر ، الساعة 6:00 مساءً ، الاثنين 19 يناير ، في Silverton Grange ، القسم 201 ، قبالة South Water. أمسية المجتمع المحلي ، والموسيقى ، والقراءات القصيرة والعينات الصوتية لخطب الدكتور كينغ برعاية مشتركة من قبل Silverton Grange و Silverton People for Peace.

سهل الطباعة، PDF والبريد الإلكتروني
العربية

Creating Beloved Community Through Radical Action

January 17th, 2015

Dear ROPnet,

Martin Luther King, Jr. believed we needed to topple the triple threats of militarism, racism, and materialism/capitalism in order to truly realize Beloved Community. And we needed to use radical actions to get there.

As National Peoples Action states, “Dr. King and his fellow civil rights leaders regularly asked everyday people to put themselves in danger, facing down armed police, angry white mobs, and public officials who told them to wait. Dr. King believed in taking action and used civil disobedience, boycotts and sit-ins to disrupt business as usual, facing not just public outcry, but police dogs, water hoses, and arrest.”

Over the last months, we have seen how various movements have employed similar tactics, from the young black leadership shutting down interstates as part of Black Lives Matter to low wage workers sit-down strikes demanding $15 minimum wage and a union from Walmart and fast food restaurants. And some of us have probably found ourselves wondering if these are the best tactics. But as Martin Luther King Jr. has taught us, it is through visible, radical actions that we can force public dialogue and action and we can force the institutions of power to respond. Most recently we have seen the impact in the immigrant rights movement. It wasn’t out of the goodness of their hearts that politicians took action on immigration. It was because young immigrants and leaders held sit-ins, blocked deportation buses, and publicly and “illegally” crossed the border. It was because community groups raised the conversations in their towns. We created public dialogue, we pushed power holders, and we forced the President to take action.

As we pay homage to MLK this weekend, let’s remember this history and let’s have conversations about how this radical legacy relates to our work today. Because it is with these radical actions – direct actions, sit ins, civil disobedience – that we can transform the racist economic and political systems that perpetuate on-going war while cutting taxes for the rich and programs for the poor, that force people to work for wages so low that they turn to coworkers for food drives and public assistance programs, and that damn brown and black people to be locked up, deported or shot down in the streets.

It is also through action that we forge the lasting relationships and the justice community that will transform our communities. Whether it is an act of civil disobedience or building a human dignity group, this is how we realize Beloved Community. The strategy of civil disobedience may not be right for your group right now, but the work we do of opening up space to talk about what is happening in our communities and in our country, and talking about the multiple tactics it takes to realize change, this is also the work of building movements that win.

Thanks to all of you human dignity radicals that work town by town to transform systems of oppression and build movements. Read on for some snapshots of ways that human dignity groups around rural Oregon are embracing the legacy of MLK. This is also the work of building Beloved Community.

Warmly, Cara

Clatsop County’s Lower Columbia Diversity Project has been bringing public programs to Astoria for years. Their mission is to engage pro-actively with diversity issues in the region, educate the community on the benefits of diversity, tolerance, and inclusion, and provide a forum through which individuals, groups, and organizations may address concerns relating to diversity in the community. MLK weekend they offer multiple ways to celebrate and honor the mission and vision of Martin Luther King, Jr

“Don’t Let Go! – Keeping the Dream Alive”
College students and community members invited to a conversation with Kathleen Saadat, renowned community activist and justice leader in Oregon

Candlelight Walk
Monday, January 19th, 2015 5:30pm
Join us in a candlelight walk through downtown Astoria to honor Dr. King’s vision
 of equality, peace, and justice through non-violence. Meet at 12th & Commercial
“Darkness cannot drive out darkness; 
only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that.” – Martin Luther King, Jr.
“Peace is not merely a distant goal that we seek, but a means by which we arrive at that goal.” – Martin Luther King, Jr.

Central Oregonians find multiple ways to engage in MLK’s legacy this year. On Monday, January 19, faith leadership will host Martin Luther King, Jr. Day of Service where over 300 volunteers will help with over 20 projects at local non-profits.

In addition, over the next 2 months Central Oregonians are invited to join a book group that engages participants in powerful exploration of race consciousness and advance our understanding of how to work for racial justice in our community. Several community organizations are joining the COCC and OSU Cascades campuses in hosting a book study on Derald Wing Sue’s book, Overcoming Our Racism: Journey to Liberation. Study circles will be occurring all around town and hosted by these groups: Trinity Episcopal Church, Central Oregon Community College, Social Justice Center, OSU Cascades, Latino Community Association, First United Methodist Church, Social Justice Team of the Unitarian Universalist Fellowship of Central Oregon, First Presbyterian Church of Bend, Peace and Social Justice Team

In Lane County, the NAACP in Eugene/Springfield will host an MLK Day March while the Community Alliance of Lane County will host their 17th annual MLK Day celebration at Springfield High School with art, music, speeches and more.

Grangers and people for peace come together in Silverton. Dr. Martin Luther King’s challenge 50 years ago to America to “make real the promises of democracy” remains today and his legacy to social and economic justice will be celebrated at the 12th Annual Silverton MLK Observance, 6:00 p.m., Monday, January 19, at the Silverton Grange, 201 Division, just off of South Water. The evening of community potluck, music, short readings and audio samplings of Dr. King’s speeches is co-sponsored by the Silverton Grange and Silverton People for Peace.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English