通过激进行动创建心爱的社区

2015 年 1 月 17 日

亲爱的 ROPnet,

小马丁·路德·金认为,我们需要推翻军国主义、种族主义和唯物主义/资本主义的三重威胁,才能真正实现心爱的社区。我们需要采取激进的行动来实现这一目标。

正如全国人民行动所指出的那样,“博士。金和他的民权领袖同僚经常要求常人置身于危险之中,直面武警、愤怒的白人暴民和告诉他们等待的公职人员。金博士相信采取行动并使用公民不服从、抵制和静坐来破坏一切照旧,不仅面临公众的强烈抗议,还面临警犬、水管和逮捕。”

在过去的几个月里,我们看到了各种运动如何采用类似的策略,从年轻的黑人领导层关闭州际公路作为黑人生命问题的一部分,到要求 $15 最低工资的低工资工人静坐罢工以及沃尔玛和快餐店的工会餐馆。我们中的一些人可能发现自己想知道这些是否是最好的策略。但正如马丁·路德·金告诉我们的那样,我们可以通过可见的、激进的行动来推动公众对话和行动,我们可以迫使权力机构做出回应。最近,我们看到了移民权利运动的影响。政客们对移民采取行动并非出于善意。这是因为年轻的移民和领导人举行静坐,封锁驱逐巴士,并公开和“非法”越过边境。这是因为社区团体在他们的城镇提出了对话。我们创造了公开对话,我们推动了掌权者,我们迫使总统采取行动。

在我们本周末向 MLK 致敬的同时,让我们记住这段历史,并就这一激进的遗产与我们今天的工作有何关联进行讨论。因为正是通过这些激进的行动——直接行动、静坐、公民抗命——我们可以改变种族主义的经济和政治制度,这些制度使正在进行的战争持续下去,同时为富人减税,为穷人减税,迫使人们工作因为工资太低,以至于他们求助于同事进行食品驱动和公共援助计划,而该死的棕色人和黑人则被关起来、驱逐出境或在街上被枪杀。

也正是通过行动,我们建立了持久的关系和正义社区,这将改变我们的社区。无论是公民不服从行为还是建立人类尊严团体,这都是我们实现心爱社区的方式。公民不服从的策略现在可能不适合您的团队,但我们所做的工作是开辟空间来谈论我们社区和国家正在发生的事情,并谈论实现变革所需的多种策略,这也是建立胜利运动的工作。

感谢你们所有人的尊严激进分子,他们在一个城镇一个城镇工作,以改变压迫制度并建立运动。继续阅读有关俄勒冈州农村地区人类尊严团体如何接受 MLK 遗产的一些快照。这也是建立爱心社区的工作。

温暖的卡拉

克拉索普县的下哥伦比亚多样性项目多年来一直在为阿斯托利亚带来公共项目。他们的使命是积极参与该地区的多样性问题,教育社区关于多样性、宽容和包容的好处,并提供一个论坛,个人、团体和组织可以通过该论坛解决与社区多样性相关的问题. MLK 周末,他们提供多种方式来庆祝和纪念小马丁路德金的使命和愿景

“别放手! ——让梦想永存”
大学生和社区成员受邀与俄勒冈州著名的社区活动家和正义领袖 Kathleen Saadat 进行对话

烛光漫步
2015 年 1 月 19 日星期一下午 5:30
加入我们的烛光漫步,穿过阿斯托利亚市中心,以纪念金博士通过非暴力实现平等、和平和正义的愿景。在 12 号和商业区见面
“黑暗不能驱散黑暗;只有光能做到这一点。仇恨不能驱除仇恨;只有爱才能做到这一点。” - 马丁路德金。
“和平不仅是我们寻求的遥远目标,而且是我们实现该目标的手段。” - 马丁路德金。

俄勒冈州中部地区今年找到了多种方式来参与 MLK 的遗产。 1 月 19 日星期一,宗教领袖将举办小马丁路德金服务日,届时 300 多名志愿者将帮助当地非营利组织的 20 多个项目。

此外,在接下来的 2 个月内,俄勒冈州中部被邀请加入一个图书小组,该小组让参与者深入探索种族意识,并增进我们对如何在我们的社区中为种族正义而努力的理解。一些社区组织正在加入 COCC 和 OSU Cascades 校区,对 Derald Wing Sue 的书《克服我们的种族主义:解放之旅》进行书籍研究。学习圈将遍布全城,并由以下团体主持:三一圣公会、俄勒冈州中部社区学院、社会正义中心、俄勒冈州立大学 Cascades、拉丁裔社区协会、第一联合卫理公会、俄勒冈州中部一神论普遍主义团契的社会正义团队, 第一本德长老会和平与社会正义小组

在莱恩县,尤金/斯普林菲尔德的全国有色人种协进会将举办 MLK 日游行,而莱恩县社区联盟将在斯普林菲尔德高中举办第 17 届年度 MLK 日庆祝活动,包括艺术、音乐、演讲等。

格兰杰和和平人士聚集在西尔弗顿。马丁路德金博士 50 年前向美国提出的“实现民主的承诺”的挑战今天仍然存在,他对社会和经济正义的贡献将在第 12 届年度 Silverton MLK 纪念活动中庆祝,1 月 19 日星期一下午 6:00 ,在西尔弗顿农庄,201 师,就在南水附近。金博士演讲的社区聚餐、音乐、简短阅读和音频采样之夜由 Silverton Grange 和 Silverton People for Peace 共同主办。

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Creating Beloved Community Through Radical Action

January 17th, 2015

Dear ROPnet,

Martin Luther King, Jr. believed we needed to topple the triple threats of militarism, racism, and materialism/capitalism in order to truly realize Beloved Community. And we needed to use radical actions to get there.

As National Peoples Action states, “Dr. King and his fellow civil rights leaders regularly asked everyday people to put themselves in danger, facing down armed police, angry white mobs, and public officials who told them to wait. Dr. King believed in taking action and used civil disobedience, boycotts and sit-ins to disrupt business as usual, facing not just public outcry, but police dogs, water hoses, and arrest.”

Over the last months, we have seen how various movements have employed similar tactics, from the young black leadership shutting down interstates as part of Black Lives Matter to low wage workers sit-down strikes demanding $15 minimum wage and a union from Walmart and fast food restaurants. And some of us have probably found ourselves wondering if these are the best tactics. But as Martin Luther King Jr. has taught us, it is through visible, radical actions that we can force public dialogue and action and we can force the institutions of power to respond. Most recently we have seen the impact in the immigrant rights movement. It wasn’t out of the goodness of their hearts that politicians took action on immigration. It was because young immigrants and leaders held sit-ins, blocked deportation buses, and publicly and “illegally” crossed the border. It was because community groups raised the conversations in their towns. We created public dialogue, we pushed power holders, and we forced the President to take action.

As we pay homage to MLK this weekend, let’s remember this history and let’s have conversations about how this radical legacy relates to our work today. Because it is with these radical actions – direct actions, sit ins, civil disobedience – that we can transform the racist economic and political systems that perpetuate on-going war while cutting taxes for the rich and programs for the poor, that force people to work for wages so low that they turn to coworkers for food drives and public assistance programs, and that damn brown and black people to be locked up, deported or shot down in the streets.

It is also through action that we forge the lasting relationships and the justice community that will transform our communities. Whether it is an act of civil disobedience or building a human dignity group, this is how we realize Beloved Community. The strategy of civil disobedience may not be right for your group right now, but the work we do of opening up space to talk about what is happening in our communities and in our country, and talking about the multiple tactics it takes to realize change, this is also the work of building movements that win.

Thanks to all of you human dignity radicals that work town by town to transform systems of oppression and build movements. Read on for some snapshots of ways that human dignity groups around rural Oregon are embracing the legacy of MLK. This is also the work of building Beloved Community.

Warmly, Cara

Clatsop County’s Lower Columbia Diversity Project has been bringing public programs to Astoria for years. Their mission is to engage pro-actively with diversity issues in the region, educate the community on the benefits of diversity, tolerance, and inclusion, and provide a forum through which individuals, groups, and organizations may address concerns relating to diversity in the community. MLK weekend they offer multiple ways to celebrate and honor the mission and vision of Martin Luther King, Jr

“Don’t Let Go! – Keeping the Dream Alive”
College students and community members invited to a conversation with Kathleen Saadat, renowned community activist and justice leader in Oregon

Candlelight Walk
Monday, January 19th, 2015 5:30pm
Join us in a candlelight walk through downtown Astoria to honor Dr. King’s vision
 of equality, peace, and justice through non-violence. Meet at 12th & Commercial
“Darkness cannot drive out darkness; 
only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that.” – Martin Luther King, Jr.
“Peace is not merely a distant goal that we seek, but a means by which we arrive at that goal.” – Martin Luther King, Jr.

Central Oregonians find multiple ways to engage in MLK’s legacy this year. On Monday, January 19, faith leadership will host Martin Luther King, Jr. Day of Service where over 300 volunteers will help with over 20 projects at local non-profits.

In addition, over the next 2 months Central Oregonians are invited to join a book group that engages participants in powerful exploration of race consciousness and advance our understanding of how to work for racial justice in our community. Several community organizations are joining the COCC and OSU Cascades campuses in hosting a book study on Derald Wing Sue’s book, Overcoming Our Racism: Journey to Liberation. Study circles will be occurring all around town and hosted by these groups: Trinity Episcopal Church, Central Oregon Community College, Social Justice Center, OSU Cascades, Latino Community Association, First United Methodist Church, Social Justice Team of the Unitarian Universalist Fellowship of Central Oregon, First Presbyterian Church of Bend, Peace and Social Justice Team

In Lane County, the NAACP in Eugene/Springfield will host an MLK Day March while the Community Alliance of Lane County will host their 17th annual MLK Day celebration at Springfield High School with art, music, speeches and more.

Grangers and people for peace come together in Silverton. Dr. Martin Luther King’s challenge 50 years ago to America to “make real the promises of democracy” remains today and his legacy to social and economic justice will be celebrated at the 12th Annual Silverton MLK Observance, 6:00 p.m., Monday, January 19, at the Silverton Grange, 201 Division, just off of South Water. The evening of community potluck, music, short readings and audio samplings of Dr. King’s speeches is co-sponsored by the Silverton Grange and Silverton People for Peace.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English