连接乡村声音

ROP 为所有人建设繁荣的俄勒冈农村的最重要方式之一是连接农村的声音。我们知道农村社区能够相互交流并及时了解当前事件是多么重要,这既是建设社区的一种方式,也是保护社区成员免受气候灾害和其他威胁的一种方式。

2021 年,ROP 在几个重要方面帮助农村人保持联系。从阿什兰到惠勒,我们向几个人类尊严团体提供了援助,以在 COVID-19 大流行的最初几个月保持移动热点的分布!虽然这些热点对于维持获得教育、健康信息和工作的机会至关重要,但它们是解决更广泛问题的当地权宜之计,必须有更多的公共投资。认识到这一需求,ROP 网络今年还向布朗州长和俄勒冈州立法机构施加压力,要求其投资农村宽带容量计划,为该计划赢得 $1.2 亿的新资金!该计划将使没有互联网连接的农村社区更容易安装原本不会建造的宽带基础设施。

今年,ROP 还继续制作社区媒体,使用我们的播客 Rural Roots Rising 的第二季来提升其他农村广播创作者,并支持贝克和莱恩县两个新社区广播项目的发展!

社区媒体聚焦:阿什兰高中权力俱乐部的真相
查看我们最新一集的 Rural Roots Rising,其中包含由阿什兰高中的 Truth to Power 俱乐部创建的 Tea、Toast & Truth 播客, 这里!

我们很高兴在 2022 年与您联系,庆祝 ROP 成立 30 周年!今天制作一份特别的礼物,以纪念这一里程碑以及 30 多年强大的农村组织 - 谢谢! 

除了改善农村地区对社区媒体和通信基础设施的访问之外,ROP 今年还努力庆祝俄勒冈州农村地区丰富的经验,准备举办一场关于 ROP 网络过去 30 年历史及其强大的农村自由战士的展览!正如农村的声音和社区在国家媒体中经常被忽视或过度简化一样,农村的声音在历史记录和许多档案中的代表性同样不足。大多数以运动为中心的档案都位于城市,主要是在这些地方进行文件组和组织。你有没有去过一个专门集中农村声音的展览?在从事这个项目之前,我们也没有! 

我们希望这个展览将成为人们学习、获得灵感并聚集在一起讨论和反思过去的斗争和胜利的空间,同时也为我们希望为未来建设的世界提供梦想。我们正在设计一个适合儿童的互动元素,并计划提供英语、西班牙语和纯音频版本(面对面和在线),以保持它的包容性和尽可能多的社区成员可访问。我们正在与有兴趣举办展览的人类尊严团体合作,围绕可以补充其社区经验的活动和项目类型制定战略:运动长老和年轻活动家之间的讨论,口述历史计划或故事收集活动,发展历史他们自己的团队将作为展览的一部分展示……可能性是无穷无尽的,我们很高兴能帮助他们所有人!

标语上写着对瓦尔登湖的止赎和对偏执的拒绝
我们即将举行的 30 周年纪念展览将展出来自 ROP 令人难以置信的运动档案!

您是否相信跨代和跨地区连接农村声音的力量?您对以俄勒冈州农村地区和数十年来为社区而战的社区组织者为重点的历史故事感到兴奋吗? 如果答案是响亮的“是!”, 今天捐款,以帮助加强和准备 ROP 为接下来 30 年的工作支持强大的团体网络,这些团体正在创造性地和勇敢地为俄勒冈州的公正民主建设更强大、更有活力的社区。

简体中文

Connecting Rural Voices

One of the most important ways ROP is building a thriving rural Oregon for all is by connecting rural voices. We know how important it is for rural communities to be able to communicate with each other and stay up-to-date on current events, both as a way of building community and to keep members of that community safe from climate disasters and other threats.

In 2021, ROP helped keep rural people connected in several important ways. From Ashland to Wheeler, we extended assistance to several human dignity groups to keep mobile hotspots distributed in the early months of the COVID-19 pandemic humming! While those hotspots were crucial to maintaining access to schooling, health information and jobs, they are a local stopgap solution to a broader problem that must have more public investment. Recognizing that need, the ROP network also worked this year to put pressure on Governor Brown and the Oregon legislature to invest in the Rural Broadband Capacity Program, winning $120 million in new funding for the program! This program will make it easier for rural communities without an internet connection to install broadband infrastructure that wouldn’t have otherwise been built.

ROP also continued to produce community media this year, using the second season of our podcast Rural Roots Rising to uplift other rural radio creators and supporting the development of two new community radio projects in Baker and Lane counties!

Community Media Spotlight: Truth to Power Club of Ashland High School
Check out our most recent episode of Rural Roots Rising, featuring the Tea, Toast & Truth podcast created by the Truth to Power club at Ashland High School, here!

We’re excited to connect with you in 2022 for ROP’s 30th-Anniversary! Make a special gift today in honor of this milestone and for 30 more years of powerful rural organizing – thank you! 

Beyond improving rural access to community media and communications infrastructure, ROP has also worked this year to celebrate rural Oregon’s rich mosaic of experiences by preparing to launch an exhibit about the past 30 years of history of the ROP network and its powerful rural freedom fighters! Just as rural voices and communities are often overlooked or oversimplified in national media, rural voices are similarly underrepresented in the historical record and in many archives. Most movement-centered archives are located in cities and mainly document groups and organizing in those places. Have you ever been to an exhibit that specifically centered rural voices? Before working on this project, we hadn’t either! 

We hope this exhibit will be a space for people to learn, get inspired, and come together in discussion and reflection on the struggles and victories of the past, while also dreaming ahead of the world we want to build for the future. We’re designing a kid-friendly interactive element and planning to provide versions in English, Spanish and audio-only (both in person and online) to keep it inclusive and accessible for as many members of our community as possible. We are working with human dignity groups interested in hosting the exhibit to strategize around the types of events and projects that could complement their community’s experience: discussions between movement elders and younger activists, an oral history program or story-gathering event, developing a history of their own group to display as part of the exhibit…the possibilities are endless and we’re excited to help facilitate all of them!

signs saying foreclose on Walden and No to Bigotry
Our upcoming 30th anniversary exhibit will feature dozens of items like these from ROP’s incredible movement archive!

Do you believe in the power of connecting rural voices across generations and regions? Are you excited about historical storytelling that focuses on rural Oregon and the community organizers who have fought for their communities for decades? If the answer is a resounding “yes!”, make a donation today to help strengthen and prepare ROP for the next 30 years of work supporting a powerful network of groups who are creatively and courageously building stronger and more vibrant communities for a just democracy across Oregon.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English