أعضاء الكونجرس في المنزل. لنتحدث!

لماذا هذا النشاط؟

عطلة أغسطس هي وقت الذروة لقادة مجموعة الكرامة الإنسانية للقاء أعضاء الكونجرس لأنهم في موطنهم في ولاية أوريغون لهذا الشهر. حاليًا ، يوجد لدى عضوين من أعضاء مجلس الشيوخ لدينا قاعات بلدية متكررة ومفتوحة وغير مسجلة وشخصية. تختلف "قاعات البلدة الحقيقية" هذه تمامًا عن "قاعات المدينة الهاتفية" المعقمة التي يشغلها أحيانًا ممثلون مثل لوري تشافيز ديريمير وكليف بينتز ... إذا كانوا يحتفظون بها من الأساس.

هناك العديد من القضايا المهمة التي ظللنا ننظمها طوال العام على أرض الواقع ، من عدالة المهاجرين إلى الوصول إلى تمويل قانون خفض التضخم. KTA لهذا الشهر هي وسيلة لتسليط الضوء على كل هذه الجهود! في قاعة مدينتك ، يمكنك تسليط الضوء على التنظيم الذي تقوم به في مجتمعك لجلب المزيد والمزيد من الناس إلى الحركة من أجل الكرامة والعدالة. 

ما هو النشاط؟

بغض النظر عن المكان الذي تعيش فيه في الولاية ، فإن نشاط طاولة المطبخ لهذا الشهر هو جعل أصواتك مسموعة من قبل قادتك المنتخبين الفيدراليين ، سواء كان ذلك من خلال حضور الأحداث الحالية أو عن طريق مطالبتهم بمقابلتك علنًا لمناقشة القضايا الأكثر أهمية بالنسبة لك. مجتمع.

في منطقتي الكونغرس 2 و 5 ، طلب قادة الكرامة الإنسانية مرارًا وتكرارًا من النائبة بنتز وتشافيز ديريمر من أجل مجالس بلدية حقيقية. حتى الآن ، لا تتواصل شافيز ديريمر مع الناس في منطقتها ما لم يتم ذلك في غضون مهلة قصيرة ، مع وصول محدود للغاية للجمهور ، وبمحتوى خاضع للسيطرة الكاملة. ولكن إذا سألها عدد كافٍ منا عن مجالس بلدية حقيقية ، فلن يكون أمامها خيار سوى الموافقة. لأنها وظيفتها.

بالنسبة للأشخاص في المقاطعات 1 و 3 و 4 و 6 ، هل أنت سعيد بفرص المشاركة التي يوفرها ممثلوك لسكان المناطق الريفية في ولاية أوريغون؟ هل تريد المزيد؟ لم نتمكن من العثور على معلومات حول قاعات بلدية أغسطس لأي منهم. هل لديك أوقات أو تواريخ يمكننا مشاركتها؟ اسمحوا لنا أن نعرف عن طريق البريد الإلكتروني emma@rop.org

كيفية إتمام النشاط:

1. قم بإرسال KTA إلى مجموعة كرامة الإنسان الخاصة بك وقم بوضع خطة للالتقاء معًا للتواصل مع ممثلك في الكونغرس.

2. اكتشف من يمثلك في الكونجرس. تحقق من الخريطة هنا.

3. اتصل أو أرسل رسالة إلى عضو الكونجرس الخاص بك! يمكنك استخدام نموذج النص هذا كنقطة بداية:

عزيزي _____،

الآن بعد أن بدأت عطلة أغسطس ، أتصل بك / أكتب كجزء من [اسم مجموعة الكرامة الإنسانية] الذي يمثل [عدد] الأعضاء في المنطقة [XX] لأطلب منك إقامة "قاعة بلدية حقيقية" موجودة في - شخص وسجّل في مقاطعة [XX].

أطلب منك جدولة قاعة المدينة الحقيقية هذه خلال عطلة أغسطس مع إشعار مسبق كافٍ حتى يتمكن الأشخاص الذين تمثلهم من الحصول على فرصة عادلة للحضور والمشاركة.

أتطلع إلى رؤيتك في قاعة المدينة الحقيقية قريبًا.

بإخلاص،
اسمك
مدينتك ، منطقتك __

4. شارك هذه الفكرة مع الآخرين! كلما زاد عدد الأفراد والجماعات الذين يطلبون ذلك ، زاد احتمال قدرتنا على المشاركة الكاملة في الديمقراطية ومشاركة مخاوفنا وتقديرنا وأفكارنا مع ممثلينا.

5. دعنا نعرف كيف سارت الأمور! بريد إلكتروني emma@rop.org

6. رصيد إضافي: اكتب رسالة إلى المحرر في جريدتك المحلية تطلب من عضو الكونجرس الخاص بك استضافة مجلس المدينة في بلدتك.

لمزيد من الإلهام والمعلومات ، تحقق من عملة أوريغون - بات درات. قامت شبكة أوريغون الموحدة غير القابلة للتجزئة (COIN) بتطوير رسائل ومعلومات للمنطقة 2 (فريق محاسبة Bentz - BAT) والمقاطعة 5 (فريق DeRemer للمساءلة - DRAT). هل أنت في منطقة أخرى ولديك موارد لتعرضها؟ شاركها معنا على emma@rop.org ويمكننا إرسالها! 

ORD1 - سوزان بوناميتشي

ORD2 - كليف بنتز

  • بريد إلكتروني -https://bentz.house.gov/contact 
  • هاتف - واشنطن العاصمة (202) 225-6730 ؛ أونتاريو (541) 709-2040 ؛ ميدفورد (541) 776-4646

ORD3 - إيرل بلوميناور

ORD4 - فال هويل

ORD5 - لوري شافيز ديريمر

ORD6 - أندريا ساليناس

العربية

Congresspeople are Home. Let’s Talk!

WHY THIS ACTIVITY?

The August recess is prime time for human dignity group leaders to meet with their members of Congress since they are home in Oregon for the month. Currently, our two Senators have frequent, open, unscripted, in-person town halls. These “real town halls” are quite different from the sterile, “tele-town halls” that representatives like Lori Chavez-DeRemer and Cliff Bentz occasionally hold… if they hold them at all.

There are so many important issues that we’ve been organizing around all year on the ground, from immigrant justice to accessing Inflation Reduction Act funding. This month’s KTA is a way to bring all these efforts into the spotlight! At your town hall, you can highlight the organizing you are doing in your community to bring more and more people into the movement for dignity and justice. 

WHAT IS THE ACTIVITY?

Regardless of where you live in the state, this month’s Kitchen Table Activity is to make your voices heard by your federal elected leaders, whether that’s by attending existing events or by asking them to meet with you publicly to discuss the issues that matter most to your community.

In Congressional Districts 2 and 5, human dignity leaders have repeatedly asked Rep. Bentz and Chavez-DeRemer for real town halls. So far though, Chavez-DeRemer does not engage with the people in her district unless it is on short notice, with very limited public access, and with completely controlled content. But if enough of us ask her for real town halls, she will have no choice but to agree. Because it’s her job.

For folks in Districts 1, 3, 4, and 6, are you happy with the engagement opportunities that your representatives have for rural Oregonians? Do you want more? We weren’t able to find information about August town halls for any of them. Do you have times or dates we could share out? Let us know by emailing emma@rop.org

HOW TO COMPLETE THE ACTIVITY:

1. Forward this KTA to your human dignity group and make a plan for getting together to reach out to your congressional representative.

2. Figure out who represents you in Congress. Check out the map here.

3. Call or send a message to your member of Congress! You can use this sample text as a starting point:

Dear _____,

Now that the August recess has begun, I am [calling/writing] as part of the [Human Dignity Group name] representing [number] of members in District [XX] to request that you hold a “real town hall” that is in-person and unscripted in [XX] County.

I ask you to schedule this real town hall during the August recess with enough advance notice so that the people you represent can have a fair opportunity to attend and participate.

I look forward to seeing you in a real town hall soon.

Sincerely,
Your Name
Your Town, District __

4. Share this idea with others! The more individuals and groups requesting this, the more likely we will be able to fully participate in democracy and share our concerns, appreciation, and ideas with our representatives.

5. Let us know how it went! Email emma@rop.org

6. Extra Credit: Write a Letter to the Editor in your local paper asking your congressperson to host a town hall in your town.

For more inspiration and information, check out COIN Oregon – BAT-DRAT. The Consolidated Oregon Indivisible Network (COIN) has developed messages and information for District 2 (Bentz Accountability Team — BAT) and District 5 (DeRemer Accountability Team — DRAT). Are you in another district and have resources to offer? Share them with us at emma@rop.org and we can send them out! 

ORD1 – Suzanne Bonamici

ORD2 – Cliff Bentz

ORD3 – Earl Blumenauer

ORD4 – Val Hoyle

ORD5 – Lori Chavez-DeRemer

ORD6 – Andrea Salinas

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English