国会议员回家了。我们来谈谈吧!

为什么要开展这项活动?

八月休会是人类尊严团体领导人与国会议员会面的黄金时间,因为他们本月在俄勒冈州的家中。目前,我们的两位参议员经常举行公开、无脚本、面对面的市政厅会议。这些“真正的市政厅”与洛里·查韦斯-德雷默和克利夫·本茨等代表偶尔举行的乏味的“电视市政厅”有很大不同……如果他们真的举行过的话。

我们全年都在实地组织处理许多重要问题,从移民正义到获得《减少通货膨胀法案》资金。本月的 KTA 是让所有这些努力成为焦点的一种方式!在您的市政厅,您可以强调您在社区中所做的组织工作,以吸引越来越多的人参与争取尊严和正义的运动。 

什么是活动?

无论您住在该州的哪个地方,本月的餐桌活动都是为了让联邦选出的领导人听到您的声音,无论是参加现有活动还是要求他们公开与您会面,讨论对您最重要的问题社区。

在国会第二选区和第五选区,人类尊严领袖多次要求众议员本茨和查韦斯-德雷默提供真正的市政厅。但到目前为止,查韦斯-德雷默还没有与她所在地区的人们接触,除非是在短时间内通知、公众访问非常有限且内容完全受控的情况下。但如果我们中有足够多的人向她索取真正的市政厅,她将别无选择,只能同意。因为这是她的工作。

对于 1、3、4 和 6 区的人们,您对您的代表为俄勒冈州农村居民提供的参与机会感到满意吗?你还要吗?我们无法找到有关其中任何人的八月市政厅的信息。您有我们可以分享的时间或日期吗?通过电子邮件告知我们 艾玛@rop.org

如何完成活动:

1. 将此 KTA 转发给您的人类尊严小组 并制定一个计划,聚在一起联系你的国会代表。

2. 弄清楚谁在国会中代表你。 在这里查看地图.

3. 致电或发送信息给您的国会议员! 您可以使用此示例文本作为起点:

亲爱的 _____,

现在八月休会已经开始,我作为 [人类尊严团体名称] 的一部分,代表 [XX] 区的 [数量] 名成员,请求你们在-[XX]县的人物和即兴表演。

我请您在八月休会期间安排这个真正的市政厅,并提前通知,以便您所代表的人们能够有公平的机会参加和参与。

我期待很快在真正的市政厅见到您。

真挚地,
你的名字
您所在的城镇、区 __

4. 与他人分享这个想法! 越多的个人和团体提出这样的要求,我们就越有可能充分参与民主并与我们的代表分享我们的关切、赞赏和想法。

5. 让我们知道进展如何! 电子邮件 艾玛@rop.org

6. 额外学分: 给当地报纸的编辑写一封信,要求国会议员在您所在的城镇举办市政厅。

欲了解更多灵感和信息,请查看 俄勒冈州硬币 – BAT-DRAT。俄勒冈州不可分割联合网络 (COIN) 已为第 2 区(Bentz 问责团队 — BAT)和第 5 区(DeRemer 问责团队 — DRAT)开发了消息和信息。您在其他地区并且有资源可以提供吗?与我们分享: 艾玛@rop.org 我们可以把它们送出去! 

ORD1 – 苏珊·博纳米奇

ORD2 – 克里夫·本茨

ORD3 – 布鲁梅瑙尔伯爵

ORD4 – 瓦尔·霍伊尔

ORD5 – 洛里·查韦斯-德雷默

ORD6 – 安德里亚·萨利纳斯

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Congresspeople are Home. Let’s Talk!

WHY THIS ACTIVITY?

The August recess is prime time for human dignity group leaders to meet with their members of Congress since they are home in Oregon for the month. Currently, our two Senators have frequent, open, unscripted, in-person town halls. These “real town halls” are quite different from the sterile, “tele-town halls” that representatives like Lori Chavez-DeRemer and Cliff Bentz occasionally hold… if they hold them at all.

There are so many important issues that we’ve been organizing around all year on the ground, from immigrant justice to accessing Inflation Reduction Act funding. This month’s KTA is a way to bring all these efforts into the spotlight! At your town hall, you can highlight the organizing you are doing in your community to bring more and more people into the movement for dignity and justice. 

WHAT IS THE ACTIVITY?

Regardless of where you live in the state, this month’s Kitchen Table Activity is to make your voices heard by your federal elected leaders, whether that’s by attending existing events or by asking them to meet with you publicly to discuss the issues that matter most to your community.

In Congressional Districts 2 and 5, human dignity leaders have repeatedly asked Rep. Bentz and Chavez-DeRemer for real town halls. So far though, Chavez-DeRemer does not engage with the people in her district unless it is on short notice, with very limited public access, and with completely controlled content. But if enough of us ask her for real town halls, she will have no choice but to agree. Because it’s her job.

For folks in Districts 1, 3, 4, and 6, are you happy with the engagement opportunities that your representatives have for rural Oregonians? Do you want more? We weren’t able to find information about August town halls for any of them. Do you have times or dates we could share out? Let us know by emailing emma@rop.org

HOW TO COMPLETE THE ACTIVITY:

1. Forward this KTA to your human dignity group and make a plan for getting together to reach out to your congressional representative.

2. Figure out who represents you in Congress. Check out the map here.

3. Call or send a message to your member of Congress! You can use this sample text as a starting point:

Dear _____,

Now that the August recess has begun, I am [calling/writing] as part of the [Human Dignity Group name] representing [number] of members in District [XX] to request that you hold a “real town hall” that is in-person and unscripted in [XX] County.

I ask you to schedule this real town hall during the August recess with enough advance notice so that the people you represent can have a fair opportunity to attend and participate.

I look forward to seeing you in a real town hall soon.

Sincerely,
Your Name
Your Town, District __

4. Share this idea with others! The more individuals and groups requesting this, the more likely we will be able to fully participate in democracy and share our concerns, appreciation, and ideas with our representatives.

5. Let us know how it went! Email emma@rop.org

6. Extra Credit: Write a Letter to the Editor in your local paper asking your congressperson to host a town hall in your town.

For more inspiration and information, check out COIN Oregon – BAT-DRAT. The Consolidated Oregon Indivisible Network (COIN) has developed messages and information for District 2 (Bentz Accountability Team — BAT) and District 5 (DeRemer Accountability Team — DRAT). Are you in another district and have resources to offer? Share them with us at emma@rop.org and we can send them out! 

ORD1 – Suzanne Bonamici

ORD2 – Cliff Bentz

ORD3 – Earl Blumenauer

ORD4 – Val Hoyle

ORD5 – Lori Chavez-DeRemer

ORD6 – Andrea Salinas

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English