قاعات مدن الكونغرس تحدث!

حضرنا اجتماع مجلس المدينة في تيلاموك يوم السبت مع السناتور جيف ميركلي ، وشاهدنا عن كثب نفس التكتيكات. ملأ أشخاص مسلحون بألواح الكتابة والقراءة من "مذكرات نقاط الحوار" الخاصة بهم القاعة ، وأبقوا أيديهم في الهواء حتى لا يتم استدعاء أي شخص آخر و / أو الوقوف و / أو الصراخ إذا لم يتم استدعاؤهم ، وبشكل عام احتكر الاجتماع. ربما كان بعضهم محليًا ، لكن البعض الآخر لم يكن كذلك. من خلال ما رأيته في مقطع فيديو لاجتماعات أخرى مماثلة ، كان اجتماعنا خافتًا إلى حد ما.

- جوديث ألين من تيلاموك

 عطلة الكونغرس في آب / أغسطس هي فرصة سياسية ساخنة.

إن أصحاب الشاي من اليمين يعرفون ذلك - وهم منظمون.

هل نحن؟

أعضاء الكونغرس لدينا في المنزل هذا الشهر للاستماع منا بشأن الأشياء التي نهتم بها. من الأهمية بمكان أن نستفيد.

 حتى الآن ، لدينا 27 اجتماعًا في قاعة المدينة مقررًا لها هذا الشهر (انظر التقويم هنا) – و 26 منهم في بلدة صغيرة في ولاية أوريغون. تكمن قوة شرطة عمان السلطانية في إيصال نفس الرسالة حول القضايا الفيدرالية من جميع أماكنك المتنوعة ، لتعزيز مسؤولينا المنتخبين أننا متحدون!

 تعتبر الرعاية الصحية وحقوق المهاجرين من حقوق الإنسان

إنهاء الحرب على المهاجرين وفي الخارج

 حان الوقت لربط النقاط. نحن بحاجة إلى رعاية صحية عالية الجودة وبأسعار معقولة للجميع. نحن بحاجة إلى إصلاح الهجرة الذي يحمي العائلات ، ويدعم حقوق العمال ويوفر مسارًا واضحًا للمهاجرين غير المسجلين للحصول على الجنسية. نحن بحاجة إلى وقف تمويل الحرب والبدء في تمويل الاحتياجات البشرية.

والأهم من ذلك كله ، هذا الشهر ، على الحركة التقدمية أن تلتصق ببعضها البعض. اليمين متمسك ببعضه البعض ويتقن رسائله - لا يمكننا أن نتحمل الانقسام الآن!

اجعل حضور قاعة المدينة أولوية. أعد جدولة اجتماعاتك الأخرى ، واطلب من الأصدقاء الانضمام إليك ، أو اصعد إلى السيارة أو تنظيم مرافقي السيارات ، وقم بأداء واجبك المنزلي.

أثناء تحضيرك لرسائلك والتخطيط لمبنى البلدية الخاص بك ، اعلم أن الحق منظم.

* FAIR ، وهي منظمة في طليعة المنظمات المناهضة للمهاجرين ، ومجموعة أوريغون المناهضة للمهاجرين OFIR يحشدون عضويتهم لحضور اجتماعات البلديات والتحدث عن الرعاية الصحية. إنهم يعلمون أن الطريقة التي نتعامل بها مع إصلاح الرعاية الصحية سيكون لها تأثيرات هائلة على عائلات المهاجرين ومستقبل الاندماج في ديمقراطيتنا.

* في جميع أنحاء البلاد ، نظم اليمين لتعطيل المجالس البلدية - من خلال الصراخ في الناخبين الذين يدافعون عن دافع واحد ، أو الصراخ على ممثليهم المنتخبين ومنعهم من التحدث. يجب أن نحمل رسالة قوية وعقلًا صافياً من أجل الحفاظ على الكرامة والاحترام بينما نتمسك بموقفنا. شاهد بعض اللقطات لقاعات المدينة الحديثة هنا للمساعدة في الاستعداد.

تدعم شرطة عمان السلطانية بقوة حرية الكلام. نحن ندعم الخطاب المدني الذي يضمن مراعاة جميع وجهات النظر ووجهات النظر باحترام وإيلاء الاعتبار الكامل والعادل. نحن نرفض البلطجة ومحاولات تعطيل هذه العملية الديمقراطية.

تتواصل شرطة عمان السلطانية مع المجموعات الأعضاء في كل مدينة من 26 مدينة هذا الأسبوع واليوم التالي لمساعدة التقدميين في جميع أنحاء الولاية على التحدث عن الحلول القائمة على القيم الحقيقية و استفد من قوة استخدام صوت واحد موحد. لمنحك السبق ، مرفق مجموعة أدوات Town Hall التي يمكن أن تساعدنا في تنسيق عرض للقوة على مستوى الولاية.

1. نقاط الحديث. الأهم من ذلك هو ربط النقاط لتحقيق الإصلاح بشأن المسألتين اللتين ستعرضان على المجلس التشريعي في خريف هذا العام: الرعاية الصحية والهجرة. فيما يلي نقاط الحديث حول كليهما.
2. مشروع خطاب إلى المحرر. استخدم هذا للتحرير والإرسال إلى جريدتك المحلية. مجرد طريقة أخرى لسماع صوتك.
3. لافتات دار البلدية. قاعات المدن هي شؤون قصيرة. فقط حفنة من المشاركين ستتاح لهم الفرصة للتحدث وطرح الأسئلة. تأكد من أن ممثلك يمكنه رؤية ما تمثله من خلال هذه العلامات البسيطة التي يمكنك طباعتها وحملها معك.
4. نموذج تقرير العودة. من الأهمية بمكان أن نتتبع ما يحدث في كل مكان حتى نتمكن من سرد قصة كيفية تنظيمنا كدولة. اجعل قصتك المحلية مسموعة!

وعند الشك ، قم بإسقاط خط شرطة عمان السلطانية. نحن هنا في Scappoose في انتظار مكالمتك: 503-543-8417.

لا لوتشا سيج ،

أماندا.

العربية

Congressional Town Halls are HAPPENING!

We attended the town hall meeting in Tillamook on Saturday with Senator Jeff Merkley, and saw firsthand the same tactics. People armed with clipboards and reading from their "talking points memos" filled the hall, kept their hands in the air so no one else could be called on, stood up and/or shouted out if they weren’t called on, and in general monopolized the meeting. Some of them were probably local, but some were not. From what I’ve seen on video of other similar meetings, ours was rather subdued.

– Judith Allen of Tillamook

 This August’s congressional recess is a hot political opportunity.

The teabaggers of the Right know it – and they are ORGANIZED.

Are we?

Our congresspeople are home this month to hear from us on the things that we care about. It is crucial that we take advantage.

 So far, our they have 27 Town Hall meetings scheduled this month (see the calendar here) – and 26 of those are in small-town Oregon. The power of ROP is to bring the same message on Federal issues from all your diverse places, to reinforce to our elected officials that we are united!

 HEALTHCARE AND IMMIGRANT RIGHTS ARE HUMAN RIGHTS

END THE WAR ON IMMIGRANTS AND ABROAD

 It’s time to connect the dots. We need quality, affordable healthcare for all. We need immigration reform that protects families, upholds workers rights and provides a clear path to citizenship for undocumented immigrants. We need to stop financing war and start funding human needs.

And most of all, this month, the progressive movement has to stick together. The Right is sticking together and perfecting their messages – we can’t afford to splinter now!

Make attending a Town Hall a priority. Reschedule your other meetings, ask friends to join you, get in the car or organize a carpool, and do your homework.

As you prepare your messages and plan for your Town Hall, know that the right is organized.

* FAIR, an organization at the forefront of anti-immigrant organizing, and Oregon anti-immigrant group OFIR are mobilizing their membership to attend town halls and talk about healthcare. THEY know that the way we deal with healthcare reform will have huge impacts on immigrant families and the future of inclusion in our democracy.

* Across the country, the right has organized to disrupt town halls – by yelling at constituents that advocate for single-payer, or shouting down their elected representatives and preventing them from speaking. We must bring a strong message and a clear mind in order to maintain dignity and respect while we hold our ground. Watch some footage of recent town halls here to help prepare.

ROP strongly supports the freedom to speak. We support civil discourse that ensures that all perspectives and points of view are considered with respect and given full and fair consideration. We reject thuggery and attempts to disrupt this democratic process.

ROP is reaching out to member groups in each of the 26 towns this week and next to help progressives across the state talk about real values-based solutions and tap into the strength of using one united voice. To give you a head start, attached is a Town Hall kit that can help us to coordinate a show of statewide power.

1. Talking points. Most important is to connect the dots to achieve reform on the two issues that will come before the legislature this fall: health care and immigration. Here are talking points on both.
2. Draft letter to the editor. Use this to edit and send to your local paper. Just another way to get your voice heard.
3. Town Hall signs. Town Halls are short affairs. Only a handful of participants will actually get the chance to speak and ask questions. Make sure your representative can SEE what you stand for with these simple signs that you can print out and carry with you.
4. Report back form. It is critical that we track what happens in each place so we can tell the story of how we are organizing as a state. Make your local story heard!

And when in doubt, drop ROP a line. We’re up here in Scappoose waiting for your call: 503-543-8417.

La Lucha Sigue,

Amanda.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English