国会市政厅正在发生!

我们周六与参议员杰夫·默克利一起参加了在蒂拉穆克举行的市政厅会议,并亲眼目睹了同样的策略。人们手持剪贴板并阅读他们的“谈话要点备忘录”,整个大厅都挤满了人,双手悬在空中,所以没有其他人可以被召唤,如果没有被召唤,就站起来和/或大喊大叫,一般来说独占会议。其中一些可能是本地的,但有些不是。从我在其他类似会议的视频中看到的,我们的会议相当低调。

– 蒂拉穆克的朱迪思·艾伦

 今年八月的国会休会是一个热门的政治机会。

右翼的茶包者知道这一点——而且他们是有组织的。

我们是吗?

我们的国会议员本月在家听取我们关于我们关心的事情的意见。我们利用这一点至关重要。

 到目前为止,我们本月安排了 27 次市政厅会议(在此处查看日历) – 其中 26 个在俄勒冈州的小镇。 The power of ROP is to bring the same message on Federal issues from all your diverse places, to reinforce to our elected officials that we are united!

 医疗保健和移民权利是人权

结束对移民和国外的战争

 现在是连接点的时候了。 我们需要为所有人提供优质、负担得起的医疗保健。我们需要保护家庭、维护工人权利并为无证移民提供明确的公民身份途径的移民改革。我们需要停止资助战争并开始资助人类的需求。

最重要的是,这个月,进步运动必须团结在一起。右翼团结一致并完善他们的信息——我们现在不能分裂!

优先考虑参加市政厅。 重新安排你的其他会议,邀请朋友加入你,上车或组织拼车,做你的功课。

当您为市政厅准备信息和计划时,要知道权利是有组织的。

* FAIR,一个走在反移民组织前沿的组织,以及俄勒冈州反移民团体 OFIR 正在动员他们的会员参加市政厅并谈论医疗保健。他们知道我们处理医疗改革的方式将对移民家庭和融入我们民主的未来产生巨大影响。

* 在全国范围内,右翼组织破坏了市政厅 – by yelling at constituents that advocate for single-payer, or shouting down their elected representatives and preventing them from speaking.我们必须传达强烈的信息和清醒的头脑,以便在我们坚守阵地的同时保持尊严和尊重。在这里观看最近市政厅的一些镜头以帮助准备。

ROP 强烈支持言论自由。我们支持确保所有观点和观点都得到尊重并得到充分和公平考虑的公民话语。我们拒绝残暴和破坏这一民主进程的企图。

本周和下周,ROP 将与 26 个城镇的每个城镇的成员团体进行接触,以帮助全州的进步人士讨论基于真正价值的解决方案和 利用统一声音的力量。 为了让您抢先一步,随附了一个市政厅套件,可以帮助我们协调全州范围的权力展示。

1. 谈点。 最重要的是将点点滴滴联系起来,以在今年秋季立法机构面临的两个问题上实现改革:医疗保健和移民。这是关于两者的谈话要点。
2. 给编辑的信草稿.使用它来编辑并发送到您当地的报纸。只是让你的声音被听到的另一种方式。
3. 市政厅标志。 市政厅是短暂的事务。实际上只有少数参与者有机会发言和提问。确保您的代表可以通过这些您可以打印并随身携带的简单标志了解您的立场。
4. 反馈表。 跟踪每个地方发生的事情至关重要,这样我们才能讲述我们作为一个州如何组织的故事。让您听到当地的故事!

如有疑问,请删除 ROP 一行。我们在斯卡普斯等待您的来电:503-543-8417。

La Lucha Sigue,

阿曼达。

简体中文

Congressional Town Halls are HAPPENING!

We attended the town hall meeting in Tillamook on Saturday with Senator Jeff Merkley, and saw firsthand the same tactics. People armed with clipboards and reading from their "talking points memos" filled the hall, kept their hands in the air so no one else could be called on, stood up and/or shouted out if they weren’t called on, and in general monopolized the meeting. Some of them were probably local, but some were not. From what I’ve seen on video of other similar meetings, ours was rather subdued.

– Judith Allen of Tillamook

 This August’s congressional recess is a hot political opportunity.

The teabaggers of the Right know it – and they are ORGANIZED.

Are we?

Our congresspeople are home this month to hear from us on the things that we care about. It is crucial that we take advantage.

 So far, our they have 27 Town Hall meetings scheduled this month (see the calendar here) – and 26 of those are in small-town Oregon. The power of ROP is to bring the same message on Federal issues from all your diverse places, to reinforce to our elected officials that we are united!

 HEALTHCARE AND IMMIGRANT RIGHTS ARE HUMAN RIGHTS

END THE WAR ON IMMIGRANTS AND ABROAD

 It’s time to connect the dots. We need quality, affordable healthcare for all. We need immigration reform that protects families, upholds workers rights and provides a clear path to citizenship for undocumented immigrants. We need to stop financing war and start funding human needs.

And most of all, this month, the progressive movement has to stick together. The Right is sticking together and perfecting their messages – we can’t afford to splinter now!

Make attending a Town Hall a priority. Reschedule your other meetings, ask friends to join you, get in the car or organize a carpool, and do your homework.

As you prepare your messages and plan for your Town Hall, know that the right is organized.

* FAIR, an organization at the forefront of anti-immigrant organizing, and Oregon anti-immigrant group OFIR are mobilizing their membership to attend town halls and talk about healthcare. THEY know that the way we deal with healthcare reform will have huge impacts on immigrant families and the future of inclusion in our democracy.

* Across the country, the right has organized to disrupt town halls – by yelling at constituents that advocate for single-payer, or shouting down their elected representatives and preventing them from speaking. We must bring a strong message and a clear mind in order to maintain dignity and respect while we hold our ground. Watch some footage of recent town halls here to help prepare.

ROP strongly supports the freedom to speak. We support civil discourse that ensures that all perspectives and points of view are considered with respect and given full and fair consideration. We reject thuggery and attempts to disrupt this democratic process.

ROP is reaching out to member groups in each of the 26 towns this week and next to help progressives across the state talk about real values-based solutions and tap into the strength of using one united voice. To give you a head start, attached is a Town Hall kit that can help us to coordinate a show of statewide power.

1. Talking points. Most important is to connect the dots to achieve reform on the two issues that will come before the legislature this fall: health care and immigration. Here are talking points on both.
2. Draft letter to the editor. Use this to edit and send to your local paper. Just another way to get your voice heard.
3. Town Hall signs. Town Halls are short affairs. Only a handful of participants will actually get the chance to speak and ask questions. Make sure your representative can SEE what you stand for with these simple signs that you can print out and carry with you.
4. Report back form. It is critical that we track what happens in each place so we can tell the story of how we are organizing as a state. Make your local story heard!

And when in doubt, drop ROP a line. We’re up here in Scappoose waiting for your call: 503-543-8417.

La Lucha Sigue,

Amanda.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English