社区空间必不可少

背景:厨房餐桌行动主义 (KTA) 是农村组织项目的月度活动。这个想法是,当一群人聚集在一起在俄勒冈州完成相同的行动时,小行动可以带来强大的集体结果。 ROP 致力于使每个 KTA 易于实现,以便有其他项目的组或即时能量有限的组仍然可以每月完成 KTA。

活动是什么?

凉爽的气温和阵阵雨让我们中的许多人对野火、烟雾和在炎热中支持我们的邻居不再那么焦虑,但也让我们展望未来,为冬季风暴和即将到来的夏季做好准备。现在是查看社区基础设施的好时机,例如图书馆和邮局,这些基础设施曾经或可以用于加温或降温中心、气候危机时的隔夜避难所,以及邻居聚集的地方,以找出如何满足最社区的重要需求。

我们最近阅读了这篇文章 高地新闻:为什么投资图书馆是一个气候正义问题 它引起了共鸣。在夏季热浪期间,我们看到全州的图书馆和其他公共资助的建筑物可用作冷却中心,但我们听说同样有许多社区没有提供任何类型的庇护所,因为他们没有足够的暖通空调系统,没有任何无障碍建筑,或者根本没有适当的计划。 

为什么要做这个活动?

气候紧急情况不会消失,我们在去年夏天的背靠背热浪在全州造成了一些不幸的生命损失,并强调需要更好的应急计划。重要的是要有一个指定的设施,该设施将在您的社区中开放并用作紧急会议空间,并确保最弱势的人能够获知并可以使用。如果您住在一个没有指定紧急避难所的社区,现在是想象一些可能性并努力制定应急计划的好时机。 

如何完成活动:

1. 召集你的人类尊严小组一起阅读和讨论 为什么投资图书馆是气候正义问题

2. 作为一个小组,讨论以下有关您社区气候应急计划的问题。如果您的小组有问题没有答案,请考虑指派成员进行更多研究,并在下次会议上报告以进行讨论。

3. 在紧急情况下,您的社区是否有开放的公共空间作为冷却/加热中心?谁运行它?

4. 空间是否有足够的冷却/加热能力和备用发电机?

5. 空间是否完全无障碍,包括洗手间?

6. 有关设施的信息是如何分发的?通知是否在多个渠道(例如:报纸、广播广告、社交媒体、传单)和多种语言中放大? 

7. 建筑物是否位于中心位置?如果没有,是否有服务可以帮助将有需要的人运送到设施?

8. 设施允许养宠物吗?有些人不愿离开毛茸茸的家庭成员。

9. 如果没有指定空间,可以考虑哪些位置?一些示例:学校建筑、邮局、市政厅或社区中心、博物馆、当地非营利组织、教堂或友好的当地企业。您的小组中是否有人与这些地点有联系?您需要联系谁来授权潜在地点?在气候紧急情况下,您的团队是否可以通过其他方式组织起来帮助社区?

10. 让 ROP 知道你想出了什么!我们很想知道这个 KTA 是否激励您的团队在您的社区建立气候应急避难所或为已经建立的地点组织额外的支持。联系您当地的社区组织者或发送电子邮件 monicap@rop.org 告诉我们你的故事!

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Community Spaces are Essential

Background: Kitchen Table Activism (KTA) is a monthly activity by the Rural Organizing Project. The idea is that small actions can lead to powerful collective results when groups of people gather to complete the same action across the state of Oregon. ROP works to keep each KTA easily achievable so that groups with other projects or groups with limited immediate energy can still complete the KTA each month.

What is the activity?

The cooler temperatures and bouts of rain have many of us feeling less anxious about wildfire, smoke, and supporting our neighbors through the heat, but also have us looking ahead to prepare for winter storms and the coming summer. Now is a great time to look at community infrastructure like libraries and post offices that have been or can be used for warming or cooling centers, overnight shelter in case of climate crises, and places for neighbors to gather to figure out how to meet the most important needs in the community.

We recently read this article in High Country News: Why investing in libraries is a climate justice issue and it struck a chord. We saw libraries and other publicly funded buildings around the state available as cooling centers during our summer heat waves but we heard about just as many communities that did not provide any type of shelter because they didn’t have adequate HVAC systems, did not have any accessible buildings, or simply didn’t have adequate plans in place. 

Why this activity?

Climate emergencies are not going away and our back-to-back heatwaves this past summer saw some unfortunate loss of life around the state and highlighted the need for better emergency planning. It is important to have a designated facility that will be open and available as an emergency meeting space in your community and to ensure that the most vulnerable folks are informed and have access. If you live in a community that does not have an emergency shelter designated, now is a good time to imagine some of the possibilities and work toward getting an emergency plan in place. 

How to complete the Activity:

1. Gather your human dignity group together to read and discuss Why investing in libraries is a climate justice issue

2. As a group, discuss the following questions about your community’s climate emergency plan. If there are questions your group doesn’t have answers to, consider assigning members to conduct more research and report back to discuss at your next meeting.

3. Does your community have a public space open as a cooling/heating center in times of emergency? Who runs it?

4. Does the space have adequate cooling/heating capability and back-up generators?

5. Is the space fully accessible, including the restrooms?

6. How is information about the facility distributed? Is the notification amplified in multiple outlets (for example: newspaper, radio ads, social media, flyers) and in multiple languages? 

7. Is the building in a centralized location? If not, are there services in place to help with transporting those in need to the facility?

8. Does the facility allow pets? Some folks are hesitant to leave furry family members behind.

9. If there is not a space already designated, what are some spots that might be considered? Some examples: school buildings, post offices, city halls or community centers, museums, local nonprofits, churches, or friendly local businesses. Does anyone in your group have a connection to any of these locations? Who do you need to contact to authorize the potential spot? Are there other ways your group can organize to help the community during times of climate emergency?

10. Let ROP know what you came up with! We would love to hear if this KTA inspired your group to establish a climate emergency shelter in your community or organize additional support for an already established location.  Contact your local community organizer or email monicap@rop.org and tell us your story!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English