المساحات المجتمعية ضرورية

الخلفية: نشاط طاولة المطبخ (KTA) هو نشاط شهري من قبل مشروع التنظيم الريفي. الفكرة هي أن الإجراءات الصغيرة يمكن أن تؤدي إلى نتائج جماعية قوية عندما تتجمع مجموعات من الناس لإكمال نفس الإجراء في جميع أنحاء ولاية أوريغون. تعمل شرطة عمان السلطانية على الحفاظ على إمكانية تحقيق كل KTA بسهولة بحيث لا يزال بإمكان المجموعات ذات المشاريع أو المجموعات الأخرى ذات الطاقة الفورية المحدودة إكمال KTA كل شهر.

ما هو النشاط؟

دفعت درجات الحرارة المنخفضة ونوبات المطر الكثير منا إلى الشعور بقلق أقل بشأن حرائق الغابات والدخان ودعم جيراننا خلال الحر ، ولكن أيضًا جعلنا نتطلع إلى الأمام للاستعداد لعواصف الشتاء والصيف المقبل. الآن هو وقت رائع للنظر في البنية التحتية المجتمعية مثل المكتبات ومكاتب البريد التي تم استخدامها أو يمكن استخدامها لمراكز الاحتباس الحراري أو التبريد ، والمأوى بين عشية وضحاها في حالة حدوث أزمات مناخية ، وأماكن يتجمع فيها الجيران لمعرفة كيفية تلبية معظم احتياجاتهم. احتياجات مهمة في المجتمع.

لقد قرأنا هذا المقال مؤخرًا في High Country News: لماذا يعتبر الاستثمار في المكتبات قضية عدالة مناخية وضربت على وتر حساس. لقد رأينا المكتبات والمباني الأخرى الممولة من القطاع العام في جميع أنحاء الولاية متاحة كمراكز تبريد خلال موجات الحر الصيفية ، لكننا سمعنا عن العديد من المجتمعات التي لم توفر أي نوع من المأوى لأنها لم يكن لديها أنظمة HVAC كافية ، ولم يكن لديها أي منها المباني التي يسهل الوصول إليها ، أو ببساطة لم يكن لديها خطط مناسبة في مكانها. 

لماذا هذا النشاط؟

لن تختفي حالات الطوارئ المناخية وشهدت موجات الحر المتتالية في الصيف الماضي خسائر مؤسفة في الأرواح في جميع أنحاء الولاية وسلطت الضوء على الحاجة إلى تخطيط أفضل للطوارئ. من المهم أن يكون لديك مرفق مخصص سيكون مفتوحًا ومتاحًا كمساحة اجتماعات طارئة في مجتمعك ولضمان إعلام الأشخاص الأكثر ضعفًا وإمكانية الوصول إليهم. إذا كنت تعيش في مجتمع لا يوجد به مأوى للطوارئ ، فقد حان الوقت الآن لتخيل بعض الاحتمالات والعمل على وضع خطة طوارئ في مكانها الصحيح. 

كيف تكمل النشاط:

1. اجمع مجموعة كرامة الإنسان الخاصة بك للقراءة والمناقشة لماذا يعتبر الاستثمار في المكتبات قضية عدالة مناخية

2. كمجموعة ، ناقش الأسئلة التالية حول خطة الطوارئ المناخية لمجتمعك. إذا كانت هناك أسئلة ليس لدى مجموعتك إجابات عليها ، ففكر في تعيين أعضاء لإجراء المزيد من الأبحاث وتقديم تقرير للمناقشة في اجتماعك التالي.

3. هل يوجد في مجتمعك مساحة عامة مفتوحة كمركز تبريد / تدفئة في أوقات الطوارئ؟ من يديرها؟

4. هل يحتوي المكان على قدرة تبريد / تدفئة مناسبة ومولدات احتياطية؟

5. هل يمكن الوصول إلى المساحة بالكامل ، بما في ذلك الحمامات؟

6. كيف يتم توزيع المعلومات حول المنشأة؟ هل يتم تضخيم الإشعار في منافذ متعددة (على سبيل المثال: الصحف والإعلانات الإذاعية ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي والنشرات) وبلغات متعددة؟ 

7. هل المبنى في موقع مركزي؟ إذا لم يكن الأمر كذلك ، فهل توجد خدمات للمساعدة في نقل المحتاجين إلى المرفق؟

8. هل يسمح المرفق بالحيوانات الأليفة؟ يتردد بعض الناس في ترك أفراد الأسرة ذوي الفراء.

9. إذا لم تكن هناك مساحة محددة بالفعل ، ما هي بعض النقاط التي يمكن أخذها في الاعتبار؟ بعض الأمثلة: المباني المدرسية أو مكاتب البريد أو قاعات المدينة أو المراكز المجتمعية أو المتاحف أو المنظمات غير الربحية المحلية أو الكنائس أو الشركات المحلية الصديقة. هل لدى أي شخص في مجموعتك اتصال بأي من هذه المواقع؟ بمن تحتاج إلى الاتصال لترخيص المكان المحتمل؟ هل توجد طرق أخرى يمكن لمجموعتك أن تنظمها لمساعدة المجتمع في أوقات الطوارئ المناخية؟

10. دع شرطة عمان السلطانية تعرف ما توصلت إليه! نود أن نسمع ما إذا كانت KTA قد ألهمت مجموعتك لإنشاء ملجأ للطوارئ المناخية في مجتمعك أو تنظيم دعم إضافي لموقع تم إنشاؤه بالفعل. اتصل بمنظم المجتمع المحلي أو البريد الإلكتروني monicap@rop.org وأخبرنا قصتك!

سهل الطباعة، PDF والبريد الإلكتروني
العربية

Community Spaces are Essential

Background: Kitchen Table Activism (KTA) is a monthly activity by the Rural Organizing Project. The idea is that small actions can lead to powerful collective results when groups of people gather to complete the same action across the state of Oregon. ROP works to keep each KTA easily achievable so that groups with other projects or groups with limited immediate energy can still complete the KTA each month.

What is the activity?

The cooler temperatures and bouts of rain have many of us feeling less anxious about wildfire, smoke, and supporting our neighbors through the heat, but also have us looking ahead to prepare for winter storms and the coming summer. Now is a great time to look at community infrastructure like libraries and post offices that have been or can be used for warming or cooling centers, overnight shelter in case of climate crises, and places for neighbors to gather to figure out how to meet the most important needs in the community.

We recently read this article in High Country News: Why investing in libraries is a climate justice issue and it struck a chord. We saw libraries and other publicly funded buildings around the state available as cooling centers during our summer heat waves but we heard about just as many communities that did not provide any type of shelter because they didn’t have adequate HVAC systems, did not have any accessible buildings, or simply didn’t have adequate plans in place. 

Why this activity?

Climate emergencies are not going away and our back-to-back heatwaves this past summer saw some unfortunate loss of life around the state and highlighted the need for better emergency planning. It is important to have a designated facility that will be open and available as an emergency meeting space in your community and to ensure that the most vulnerable folks are informed and have access. If you live in a community that does not have an emergency shelter designated, now is a good time to imagine some of the possibilities and work toward getting an emergency plan in place. 

How to complete the Activity:

1. Gather your human dignity group together to read and discuss Why investing in libraries is a climate justice issue

2. As a group, discuss the following questions about your community’s climate emergency plan. If there are questions your group doesn’t have answers to, consider assigning members to conduct more research and report back to discuss at your next meeting.

3. Does your community have a public space open as a cooling/heating center in times of emergency? Who runs it?

4. Does the space have adequate cooling/heating capability and back-up generators?

5. Is the space fully accessible, including the restrooms?

6. How is information about the facility distributed? Is the notification amplified in multiple outlets (for example: newspaper, radio ads, social media, flyers) and in multiple languages? 

7. Is the building in a centralized location? If not, are there services in place to help with transporting those in need to the facility?

8. Does the facility allow pets? Some folks are hesitant to leave furry family members behind.

9. If there is not a space already designated, what are some spots that might be considered? Some examples: school buildings, post offices, city halls or community centers, museums, local nonprofits, churches, or friendly local businesses. Does anyone in your group have a connection to any of these locations? Who do you need to contact to authorize the potential spot? Are there other ways your group can organize to help the community during times of climate emergency?

10. Let ROP know what you came up with! We would love to hear if this KTA inspired your group to establish a climate emergency shelter in your community or organize additional support for an already established location.  Contact your local community organizer or email monicap@rop.org and tell us your story!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English