打击临时工中的工资盗窃:2011 年拟议立法

今天的就业法未能保护俄勒冈州所有工人的基本工作场所权利。 工资盗窃已成为俄勒冈州和全国许多低工资行业的普遍做法——最近对美国三个主要城市的低工资工人进行的一项研究发现,超过三分之二的工人在前一个工作周遭受工资盗窃,包括普遍存在的最低工资和加班违规行为。

在本次立法会议上,我们看到两项立法取得了进展,这些立法加强了对建筑行业工人的保护。在此处下载更多信息:

SB 612-A 概述 (pdf)

SB 612-A 行动信息 (doc) – 电话和电子邮件脚本

工资盗窃立法概述 (文档)

谈话要点和常见问题 (pdf)

工资盗窃联盟描述 (pdf)

这里有一个故事来自 VOZ 工人权利教育项目的临时工和支持者安东尼奥·桑切斯 (Antonio Sanchez): 在波特兰和克拉茨卡尼拉起和安装地毯和层压板的一个月工作(210 小时),他只得到了 $300 的报酬。欠他$2000多。两年过去了,他只收回了这笔钱的一小部分。

工资盗窃变得越来越普遍并非偶然。在过去的三年中,很大一部分全职工作已经消失。雇主越来越依赖“临时”劳动力——合同工、临时工或兼职工。在这些不太正式的雇佣关系中,雇主更容易剥削工人,而且通常不清楚谁应对由此产生的剥削负责。

SEIU local 49 主席梅格·涅米 (Meg Niemi) 作证说“工资执法将确保为诚实的雇主提供公平的竞争环境,适当执行工资法可确保我们的社区工资和工作条件标准保持不变,并且鉴于我们当前的预算危机,执行工资和工时法应该有助于确保所有俄勒冈人都缴纳了公平的税款。”

下载有关俄勒冈州工资盗窃立法的 pdf 概述

下载俄勒冈州工资盗窃情况说明书的 pdf

加入我们在工人地区市政厅讨论工资盗窃,分享和聆听个人故事,并组织在俄勒冈州停止工资盗窃!

  • 伍德本的威拉米特山谷中部地区: 2011 年 3 月 31 日星期四下午 6 点到 8 点在 PCUN, 300 Young St, Woodburn, OR 97071
  • 波特兰都会区,在波特兰: 2011 年 4 月 7 日,星期四,下午 6:30-8 在 Waverly Heights United Church of Christ, 3300 SE Woodward St, Portland, OR 97202
  • 俄勒冈州中部地区,在雷德蒙德: 2011 年 4 月 12 日,星期二,下午 6 点到 8 点在 Plumbers and Steamfitters local 290, 2161 SE 1st Street, Redmond, OR 97757。

点击 这里 分享你的故事。

ROP 和俄勒冈州制止工资盗窃联盟正在支持一揽子法案 俄勒冈州 2011 年立法会议 保护工人权利,追究建筑劳工经纪人的责任,并帮助工人为自己辩护。

您可以查看一个 概括 的法案,或单独阅读每个法案的文本。

  • HB 2833/SB 610 保护临时工和临时工
  • HB 2834/SB 611 标准化俄勒冈州法律中“雇佣”和相关术语的定义,使雇主对工资负责
  • HB 2835/SB 612 规范建筑劳务中介以防止滥用雇佣行为
  • HB 2836/SB 727 提高建筑承包商委员会追讨未付工资的效率
  • HB 2837/SB 624 提高工人收回未付工资的能力

这些法案的核心思想是加强对临时工的保护,让最终雇主对达到工资和工作条件的法律标准负责,并取消将长期工作分包给虐待劳工经纪人的激励措施。

通过加入以下俄勒冈人支持这项重要立法来支持低工资工人和道德雇主:西北工人正义项目 (NWJP)、PCUN、农村组织项目 (ROP)、俄勒冈州公共政策中心 (OCPP)、VOZ Workers'权利教育项目、俄勒冈州学校雇员协会 (OSEA)、CAUSA、Portland Jobs with Justice 和 SEIU Local 49

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Combating Wage Theft in Contingent Labor: 2011 Proposed Legislation

Employment laws today are failing to protect the basic workplace rights of all Oregon’s workers. Wage theft has become a common practice in many low-wage industries in Oregon and nationwide—a recent study of low-wage workers in three major US cities found that more than two-thirds of workers had suffered wage theft in the previous work week, including pervasive minimum wage and overtime violations.

This Legislative session we are seeing progress with two pieces of legislation that strengthens protections for workers in the construction industry.  Download more information here:

SB 612-A Overview (pdf)

SB 612-A Action Information (doc) – phone and email script

Wage Theft Legislation Overview (doc)

Talking Points & FAQs (pdf)

Wage Theft Coalition Description (pdf)

Here’s a story from Antonio Sanchez, a day laborer and supporter of VOZ Workers’ Rights Education Project: For a months work (210 hours) of pulling up and installing carpet and laminate in Portland and Clatskanie he got paid only $300.  He is owed over $2000.  It’s been two years and he’s only recovered a small fraction of this money.

It is no accident that wage theft is becoming increasingly common. Over the last three decades, a significant percentage of full-time jobs have disappeared. Employers are relying increasingly on “contingent” labor—labor that is contracted, temporary, or part-time. It is easier for employers to exploit workers in these less formal employment relationships, and it is often unclear who is liable for the exploitation that results.

Meg Niemi, President of SEIU local 49, testified "that wage law enforcement will ensure that there is a level playing field for honest employers, that proper enforcement of wage laws ensures that our community standards for wages and working conditions remain intact, and that, given our current budget crisis, enforcing wage and hour laws should help make certain that all Oregonians are paying their fair share in taxes."

Download a pdf overview on Oregon Wage Theft legislation

Download pdf of Oregon Wage Theft Fact Sheet

Join us at a Workers Regional Town Hall to discuss Wage Theft, share and listen to personal stories, and organize to stop wage theft in Oregon!

  • Mid Willamette Valley region, in Woodburn: Thursday, March 31, 2011 from 6-8pm at PCUN, 300 Young St, Woodburn, OR 97071
  • Portland Metro region, in Portland: Thursday, April 7, 2011 from 6:30-8pm at Waverly Heights United Church of Christ, 3300 SE Woodward St, Portland, OR 97202
  • Central Oregon region, in Redmond: Tuesday, April 12, 2011 from 6-8pm at Plumbers and Steamfitters local 290, 2161 SE 1st Street, Redmond, OR 97757.

Click here to share your story.

ROP and the Oregon Coalition to Stop Wage Theft are supporting a package of bills in Oregon’s 2011 legislative session that protect workers rights, hold construction labor brokers accountable, and help workers advocate for themselves.

You can view a summary of the bills, or read the text of each bill individually.

  • HB 2833/SB 610 Protect day laborers and temporary workers
  • HB 2834/SB 611 Standardize definitions of "employ" and related terms in Oregon law to hold employers accountable for wages
  • HB 2835/SB 612 Regulate construction labor brokers to prevent abusive employment practices
  • HB 2836/SB 727 Improve effectiveness of Construction Contractors Board in recovering unpaid wages
  • HB 2837/SB 624 Enhance the ability of workers to recover unpaid wages

The core idea of these bills is to strengthen the protection of contingent workers by holding end employers accountable for meeting legal standards for wages and working conditions and removing incentives to subcontract permanent jobs to abusive labor brokers.

Support low-wage workers and ethical employers by joining the following Oregonians in support of this important legislation: Northwest Workers’ Justice Project (NWJP), PCUN, Rural Organizing Project (ROP), Oregon Center for Public Policy (OCPP), VOZ Workers’ Rights Education Project, and Oregon School Employees Association (OSEA), CAUSA, Portland Jobs with Justice, and SEIU Local 49

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English