抵押维修项目

ROP 成员 Mary Madsen 和 Sasha Crow 创建了一个草根组织,

抵押维修项目

,为伊拉克难民提供急需的援助。 Sasha 最近从约旦写信给 ROP:

“玛丽和我多次访问安曼(去年还访问了叙利亚),直接与伊拉克家庭合作。这项工作既令人心碎又令人振奋。当我们访问伊拉克难民家庭时,每天都会心碎——听他们讲述他们的故事巨大的损失,经历暴力和被迫离开在伊拉克的家园和生活的创伤,以及在经历了6年的苦难后,他们每天的疲惫和绝望。我们经常与我们访问的人分享眼泪。令人振奋的来了能够为这些家庭提供一些救济——而这种救济是由许多美国和其他国家的公民向那些因我们国家的外交政策而受到伤害的人伸出援手的。 

但是,正如你所知道的,经济衰退意味着对非营利组织的捐款急剧减少。与长期存在的大型组织相比,抵押修复项目相对较小——但我们为自己感到自豪(更重要的是,我们获得了伊拉克人的信任和尊重),因为我们非常个人化并立即伸出援手,以满足家庭的需求我们见面。然而,由于我们完全依靠基层资金,我们正在遭受巨大的苦难,普通人勒紧裤腰带以度过当前的金融灾难。抵押修复项目面临着真正的危险,我们不得不放弃并结束我们为贫困的伊拉克难民提供救济的重要工作,同时通过相互尊重的关系建立和平。 

因此,在入侵伊拉克 6 周年之际,我们正在向所有人伸出援手,寻求帮助,以便我们能够继续我们的工作。钱在这里比在美国走得更远,因此即使是小额捐款也可以为生活带来巨大的改变。 

我在问 ROP 是否会考虑传播伊拉克难民危机仍然存在的消息,事实上,在这么多年的贫困之后,人们在许多方面正在遭受更多的苦难,因为返回他们的国家的希望越来越小。请帮助提醒人们,战争尚未结束,战争的受害者仍在受苦,需要他们的帮助。

我几乎每天都在写一篇博客,介绍我们在安曼的工作,以及伊拉克难民家庭的故事和照片。你可以在 www.CollateralRepairProject.blogspot.com 当然,我们的 网站 有很多关于这场持续危机和我们工作的信息……

在和平与行动中,
萨沙乌鸦

简体中文

Collateral Repair Project

ROP members, Mary Madsen and Sasha Crow created a grassroots organization,

Collateral Repair Project

, to provide much needed assistance to Iraqi refugees.   Sasha recently wrote to ROP from Jordan:

"Mary and I have made several extended visits to Amman (and last year, to Syria) to work directly with Iraqi families.  The work is both heartbreaking and heartening. The heartbreak comes every day when we visit Iraqi refugee families – hearing their stories of tremendous loss, trauma from experiencing violence and being forced to leave behind their homes and lives in Iraq, and the exhaustion and hopelessness that is their every day reality after 6 years of this suffering.  We often share tears with those we visit.  The heartening comes from being able to provide some relief to these families – and that this relief is made possible by the many, many US and other countries’ citizens who reach out to those so wronged by our nation’s foreign policies. 

But, as you are well aware, the sinking economy has meant a radical decrease in donations to non-profits.  Collateral Repair Project is relatively small compared with long-existing, larger organizations – but we have prided ourselves (and more importantly, we have gained the trust and respect of Iraqis) because we reach out very personally and with immediacy to meet the needs of families we meet.  However, because we rely completely on grassroots funding, we are suffering greatly as ordinary folks tighten their belts in order to survive the current financial catastrophe.  Collateral Repair Project is in real danger of having to fold and end our vital work to provide relief to destitute Iraqi refugees while building peace through mutually respectful relationships. 

So, as the 6th anniversary of the invasion of Iraq approaches, we are reaching out to everyone to ask for help so that we can continue our work.  Money goes further here than in the US so that even small donations can provide a tremendous amount of change in lives. 

I am asking if ROP will consider spreading the word that the Iraqi refugee crisis still exists and, in fact, in many ways people are suffering more after so many years of destitution and as hope to return to their country diminishes.  Please help to remind people that the war has not ended and that the victims of it are still suffering and need their help.

I am writing an almost daily blog of our work here in Amman and with stories and photos of Iraqi refugee families.  You can read it at www.CollateralRepairProject.blogspot.com and, of course, our web site has much information about this ongoing crisis and our work…

In peace & action,
Sasha Crow

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English