改变对话:枪支和警长

俄勒冈州最近成为国际头条新闻,因为我们的警长开始逐一签署 致拜登副总统的信 声明他们将拒绝支持任何涉及枪支管制的联邦立法。

克鲁克县警长签署后,人类尊严倡导者立即召开会议,讨论创建真正社区对话的必要性。他们得出了一些共同的结论, 包括认识到迫切需要更多的精神卫生服务和资金。 人类尊严倡导者随后要求警长发布另一封信,分享其中的一些观点。查看他们在下面写的后续信的摘录:

感谢您在周二抽出时间与我们会面,讨论枪支暴力问题。正如我们在会议中所解释的那样,人类尊严倡导者 (HDA) 的愿望是在我们的社区中调节对话,以便极左和极右极端不会捕获和扭曲明智的解决方案。

我们相信我们与您的会晤确立了我们在以下几点上的一致意见:
1)我们支持第二修正案以及整个权利法案和宪法。
2)我们希望采取行动减少我国枪支暴力造成的悲剧。
3) 认识到迫切需要更多的精神卫生服务和资金。
4) 应该执行现行的枪支法律。
5)私人枪支销售应该需要背景调查。
6) 减少枪支暴力的解决方案是多方面的。

正如我们所讨论的,HDA 的成员希望与您举行这次会议,因为您作为克鲁克县的警长本月早些时候写给副总统拜登的信引起了公众的极大关注。从我们当地报纸上给编辑的信件流以及 Facebook 上持续不断的大量帖子中可以清楚地看出,这封信在全州范围内引起了支持和恐慌。您只需阅读这些意见,就会发现您的信件导致人们相互反对,而不是找到共同点并相互依赖以找到解决方案。当人们感到被冒犯或防御时,结果是愤怒而不是合作。

作为一名公职人员,您有权为理性发声,我们感谢您愿意发声。我们期待着阅读您的澄清信,这封信承认我们县的大多数公民支持明智的解决方案,这些解决方案将解决所有人在安全和监管良好的社区中生活的权利。作为县治安官,您明白维护和执行所有地方、州和联邦法律是您的职责。

要了解有关 HDA 与警长对话的更多信息,请给我发电子邮件至 cara@rop.org 我会直接联系你。

最近,俄勒冈州参议院议长彼得考特尼也断言,未讨论的潜在问题是获得精神卫生保健的机会。阅读以下来自 West County Council for Human Dignity and ROP 的长期 ROP 领导人 Mike Edera 关于这个问题的更多信息。

如果我们所有的警长都支持考特尼参议员的提议呢?

–  –  –

俄勒冈州参议院议长彼得考特尼提议大幅增加州政府对心理健康项目的资助。 “这是改变游戏规则的时代,”考特尼告诉记者,根据头版文章 俄勒冈人 (2 月 7 日):

他说他厌倦了所有关于心理健康的讨论,尤其是在关于枪支管制的激烈辩论中,并希望看到州立法者采取一些行动。

“你想做点什么?让我们做吧,”他说,他的声音有时会颤抖……

“他说桑迪胡克小学对儿童的屠杀以及随之而来的对枪支和心理健康的两极分化促使他加强......
参议院共和党人普遍反对加强枪支管制,他们在过去一个月与考特尼接洽,希望引发一场关于心理健康的对话……”

考特尼提议在两年内将危机干预资金增加到 $285 万,同时花费 $46 万来服务儿童和年轻人。考特尼呼吁为这些计划建立一个新的专用收入来源。

如果该提案受到关注,它可能会在立法机关关于枪支管制的两极分化辩论中提出第三种选择。枪支管制倡导者提议禁止使用大容量枪支杂志。然而,该州已经有数以万计的高容量杂志在流通,而在全国范围内则有数百万本。即使在枪支管制支持者的假设下,也很难想象这项提议会对枪支暴力产生什么具体影响。另一方面,枪支权利倡导者一直将这个问题视为对第二修正案的攻击,尽管绝大多数人认为这种情况是公共安全危机。

考特尼的提议为一项两党倡议提供了机会,可以直接造福成千上万俄勒冈人的生活,同时以一种非常可衡量的方式提高公共安全。它还可能避免美国与他们在弹匣容量禁令上的对抗。

考特尼和心理健康倡导者能否与俄勒冈州共和党人达成协议,通过全额资助心理健康保健,以换取大容量杂志禁令的边缘?这将需要对各方根深蒂固的政治立场进行重大调整,但受益者将是成千上万急需精神卫生保健的人、他们的家人和整个公共安全。

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Changing the Conversation: Guns and Sheriffs‏

Oregon recently made international headlines as our Sheriffs one-by-one began signing onto a letter to Vice President Biden stating they would refuse to uphold any Federal legislation that addressed gun control.

As soon as the Crook County Sheriff signed on, the Human Dignity Advocates set up a meeting and talked through the need for creating genuine community dialog.  They came to some shared conclusions, including recognition of the dire need for greater mental health services and funding. Human Dignity Advocates followed up by asking the sheriff to issue another letter sharing some of these points. Check out an excerpt of the follow-up letter they wrote below:

Thank you for taking the time on Tuesday to meet with us to discuss the issue of gun violence.  As we explained in our meeting, it is the desire of the Human Dignity Advocates (HDA) to moderate the dialog in our community so that the far left and far right extremes do not capture and distort sensible solutions.

We believe our meeting with you established that we agree on several points:
1) Our support of the Second Amendment as well as the entire Bill of Rights and the Constitution.
2) Our desire to take action to reduce tragedies caused by gun violence in our country.
3) The recognition of the dire need for greater mental health services and funding.
4) That current gun laws should be enforced.
5) That private gun sales should require background checks.
6) That the solutions to reducing gun violence are multi-faceted.

As we discussed, the members of HDA wanted to have this meeting with you because of the letter you, as Sheriff of Crook County, wrote to Vice President Biden earlier this month, a letter which has received a great deal of public attention.  It is clear from the stream of letters to the editor in our local papers and the ongoing and numerous postings on Facebook, that this letter aroused both support and alarm throughout the state.  You have only to read those opinions to see that your letter causes people to take sides against one another rather than finding common ground and relying on one another to find solutions.  When people feel offended or defensive, the result is anger not cooperation.

As a public official, you have it in your power to be a voice for reason, and we appreciate that you are willing to be that voice.  We look forward to reading your clarifying letter, a letter acknowledging that the majority of citizens in our county support sensible solutions that will address the rights of all people to live in a community that is safe and well regulated.  And that you, as County Sheriff, understand that it is your duty to uphold and enforce all laws, local, state and federal.

To learn more about HDA’s conversation with their sheriff drop me an email at cara@rop.org and I’ll connect you directly.

Recently, Oregon Senate President Peter Courtney also asserted that the undiscussed underlying issue is access to mental health care.  Read more below from Mike Edera, longtime ROP leader with West County Council for Human Dignity and ROP, on the issue.

What if all of our Sheriffs endorsed Senator Courtney’s proposal?

–  –  –

Oregon Senate President Peter Courtney proposed a major increase in state funding for mental health programs. “It’s game changing time,” Courtney told reporters, according to the front-page article in the Oregonian (Feb 7):

He said he’s tired of all the talk about mental health, especially in the raging debate over gun control, and wants to see some action by state lawmakers.

“You want to do something? Let’s do it,” he said, his voice quavering at times…

‘He said the massacre of children at Sandy Hook Elementary School and the ensuing polarization over guns and mental health provoked him to stepping up…
Senate Republicans, who generally oppose more gun control, approached Courtney over the past month, hoping to stoke a conversation about mental health…’

Courtney is proposing to increase funding for crisis intervention to $285 million over two years, along with spending $46 million to serve children and young adults. Courtney is calling for a new dedicated revenue source for these programs.

If this proposal gets traction it could present a third option in the polarized debate about gun control at the legislature. Gun control advocates are proposing a ban on high capacity gun magazines. However, there are already tens of thousands of high capacity magazines circulating in the state, and literally millions nationwide. It is hard to imagine how this proposal would have any concrete effect on gun violence, even under the assumptions of gun control supporters. On the other hand, gun rights advocates have been framing the issue as an attack on the Second Amendment, despite the fact that the great majority of the population views the situation as a crisis in public safety.

Courtney’s proposal offers the chance for a bipartisan initiative to directly benefit the lives of thousands of Oregonians, while increasing public safety in a very measurable way. It also potentially sidesteps the us vs. them confrontation over the magazine capacity ban.

Can Courtney and mental health advocates work a deal with Oregon Republicans to pass full funding for mental health care in exchange for sidelining the high capacity magazine ban? It would require major adjustments to entrenched political positions on all sides, but the beneficiaries would be thousands of people in urgent need to mental health care, their families, and public safety in general.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English