人口普查:让我们知道我们的多样性

 2010 年人口普查数据

截至 2010 年 3 月 22 日返回人口普查表的人数为 %

全国- 20%

俄勒冈 - 13%

在俄勒冈州:

格兰特县以 40% 领先

莫罗县用 2% 拉起后方

想看看你的县如何比较?查看每周更新的人口普查地图。

我喜欢人口普查;对我来说,填写它就像抢走我的表格,跑到公寓并用一种通常为美好一天的兴奋而保留的头晕来填写它。太奇妙了!人们被派往全国各地去统计每一个人(上次统计的人数是 2.81 亿,现在……谁知道呢!)然后,资金和政治代表会相应地分散开来。作为一个试图建立基本基础设施的人,让我说,这是一个令人印象深刻的系统。范围令人难以置信。

人口普查正如它所显示的那样——一项无利可图、耗时的活动——我们无论如何都会这样做,因为我们重视揭开我们国家的面貌。 尽管我个人很高兴,但事实上,人口普查是我们国家历史上用来压迫有色人种、酷儿和穷人的众多系统之一。 今年,我们有机会被统计并确保数据收集者准确地将我们的社区描述为强大、多样化和不断发展的社区。

 

 

你需要知道什么。

农村社区难以统计!人们通常住在偏远的地方,邮政信箱不接收人口普查。对于我们这些处于这种情况的人来说,我们很幸运能收到送货上门的表格,尽管请耐心等待,手工交付并不快!如果最初的外展活动遗漏了任何人,今年夏天将采用更经典的普查方法。您必须在 4 月 1 日(全国人口普查日!)之前交回您的表格,然后勇敢的人口普查员将在 4 月至 7 月期间拜访所有没有回复的门。

如果你担心自己被忽视了——控制住;在离您最近的援助中心获取“Be Counted”表格或致电 1-866-872-6868。

今年,有史以来第一次,将统计住在一起的男女同性恋伴侣! 这是具有纪念意义的,虽然它没有登记异居关系中的同性恋者或非传统性别的人,但人口普查的发展速度比大多数其他政府机构都要快。

人口普查局将处理所有数据并将结果提交给 Pres。奥巴马在 12 月之前宣布我们新的国家人口和人口统计数据。 你能想象在过去的十年里,我们的国家会发生多大的变化!? 2011 年 3 月,我们将了解人口普查将如何影响重新划分。这意味着,无论谁在 2011 年在俄勒冈州执政,都将获得重新划分我们州的任务。

让我们看看我们国家多样性的准确表现!

人口普查数据用于为那些最被我们政府忽视的人提供支持,并记录我们社区中服务不足人口的增长,这是有价值的信息。

移民,有证件的和无证件的,很可能被低估了。可以理解的是,他们不太可能阅读英文表格,不太可能了解人口普查的重要性,也不太可能急切地与一些敲门的政府工作人员交谈。

穷人、无家可归者和受教育程度低的人也极有可能在人口普查中被忽视。一些城镇将人口普查作为优先事项,与服务机构、食品银行和学校合作,帮助每个人了解他们应该被统计!

你能做什么?帮助分享信息——人口普查面向所有人,而不仅仅是公民。找出您所在社区中谁在领导人口普查统计,并讨论他们计算移民和服务不足社区的计划。提供您的帮助,特别是如果您会说西班牙语!

俄勒冈州的新席位!

由于我们的人口增长,俄勒冈州很可能在众议院获得另一个席位。这本身就足够重要了。有资源需要考虑,各种联邦资金由人口普查决定,包括领先优势、道路和食品券。

Census ripples into the level of representation that communities receive on every level, it also determines who those elected people think they are representing – it makes a big difference when a significant percentage of your population changes from one census to the next. 人口普查是一种声称权力的方法,一种表达方式——我们是这个社区!

一种新的计数方式

考虑到重新划分选区和充分代表我们的想法,选举永远不会远离讨论。

俄勒冈人现在可以 注册在线投票! 当您考虑选票的影响并发表您的意见时,请想一想如果我们社区的多样性反映在代表的多样性中,那该有多好。

ROP 不支持任何政党,但我们确实提倡您成为知情的选民并为自己的信仰挺身而出! 以下是当前的俄勒冈州派对。你知道哪一个最能代表你的价值观吗? 

只需 3 分钟 - 手头有您的驾驶执照号码 - 您可以立即注册投票或更改您的党派关系。去 http://www.oregonvotes.org/ 然后点击“立即注册!”

这是一个站起来、被统计并代表我们美丽的多样性的一年!

 

简体中文

Census: Make our Diversity Known

 Census Data 2010

% of people that have returned their Census form as of 3/22/10

nation wide- 20%

Oregon – 13%

In Oregon:

Grant County leads with 40%

Morrow County pulls up the rear with 2%

Want to see how your county compares? Check out the Census map, updated each week.

I adore the Census; for me, filling it out was a snatch up my form, run to apartment and fill it out with a giddiness normally reserved for a beautiful day kind of excitement. It’s amazing! People are sent around the country to count literally every single person (281 million people at last count, now…who knows!) And then, funds & political representation are dispersed accordingly. As someone who attempts to establish basic infrastructure for a living, let me say, that is an impressive system. The scope is incredible.

The census is exactly as it appears – an unprofitable, time consuming affair – and we do it anyway, because we value uncovering the face of what our nation looks like. Despite my personal glee, in truth the census is one of many systems used to oppress people of color, queers and the poor throughout our nation’s history. This year, we have the opportunity to be counted and to make sure the data collectors are accurately portraying our communities as robust, diverse and evolving.

 

 

What you need to know.

Rural communities are challenging to count! Often people live in isolated places and PO Boxes don’t receive the census. For those of us in that situation, we are lucky enough to receive a form hand delivered to our doors, though be patient, hand delivery is not fast! In case anyone is missed by the initial outreach, the more classic approach to the census will take place this summer. You have until April 1 (National Census Day! to return your form before brave census takers will stop by all non-responding doors from April to July.

If you are concerned that you’ve been overlooked – take control; get a “Be Counted” form at your nearest Assistance Center or call 1-866-872-6868.

This year, for the first time ever, gay & lesbian couples that live together will be counted! This is monumental and, while it doesn’t register queers in a relationship that don’t reside together or non-traditionally gendered people, the census is evolving quicker than most other government institutions.

The Census Bureau will process all the data and deliver the results to Pres. Obama by December to announce our new national population and demographics. Can you imagine how much our nation will have changed in this last decade!? In March 2011, we will find out how the census will affect redistricting. This means, whoever is in power in Oregon in 2011 will get the fine task of redistricting our state.

Let’s see an accurate representation of our nation’s diversity!

Census data is used to advocate for those that are most overlooked by our government & registers the growth of underserved populations in our communities, this is valuable information.

Immigrants, document and undocumented, are very likely to be undercounted. Understandably, they will be less likely to read the English forms, to understand the importance of the census or to eagerly speak with some government agent knocking on their door.

The poor, homeless and under-educated are also at extreme risk for being overlooked in the census. Some towns have made the census a priority, working with service agencies, food banks and the schools to help everyone understand that they deserve to be counted!

What can you do? Help share the message – the census is for everyone, not just citizens. Find out who in your community is leading the Census count and have a conversation about their plan for counting the immigrant & underserved communities. Offer your help, especially if you speak Spanish!

A new seat for Oregon!

Oregon is likely to get another seat in the House of Representatives because of our population growth. That is important enough in itself. There are the resources to consider to, federal funding of all kinds is determined by the census, including head start, roads, & food stamps.

Census ripples into the level of representation that communities receive on every level, it also determines who those elected people think they are representing – it makes a big difference when a significant percentage of your population changes from one census to the next. The census count is a method to claim power, a way to say – We are this community!

A new way to be counted

With redistricting and adequate representation on our minds, the elections can never be far removed from the discussion.

Oregonians can now register to vote online! As you consider the implications of your ballot and making your voice heard, think of how marvelous it would be if the diversity in our communities was reflected in diversity of representation.

ROP doesn’t advocate for any party, but we do advocate that you be an informed voter and stand up for what you believe in! Here are the current Oregon Parties. Do you know which one most represents your values? 

In just 3 minutes — with your Driver’s License number at hand — you can register to vote or change your party affiliation today. Go to http://www.oregonvotes.org/ and click “register now!”

This is a year to stand up, be counted and represent our beautiful diversity!

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English