用人权奖庆祝节日!

背景:厨房餐桌行动主义 (KTA) 是农村组织项目的月度活动。这个想法是,当一群人聚集在一起在俄勒冈州完成相同的行动时,小行动可以带来强大的集体结果。 ROP 致力于使每个 KTA 易于实现,以便有其他项目的组或即时能量有限的组仍然可以每月完成 KTA。

为什么要开展这项活动? 

在这个乱世中,人类尊严团体是社会的道德指南针,而做一个有良心的人往往是一项艰巨而吃力不讨好的工作。 向当地社区领袖颁发人权奖是建立关系和推进关于我们共同的农村价值观和未来愿景的对话的好方法! 

自大流行病首次震撼我们的世界并迫使我们彻底改变彼此互动的方式以来,已经过去了将近三年。我们从全州的人们那里得知,他们渴望回到现场安全地聚会,而过渡回来感觉很有挑战性。 冬季假期是与社区成员聚在一起享受美食和彼此陪伴的好时机,并感谢人们今年所做的所有令人难以置信的组织工作! 

在过去的一年里,全州的俄勒冈州农村人在促进人类尊严和社区民主方面取得了巨大成就。仅举几个例子: 

什么是活动?

本月的厨房餐桌活动将向社区成员(或成员!)颁发证书,其工作加强了三十篇文章中的一篇或多篇 世界人权宣言 (UDHR). 12 月 10 日是《世界人权宣言》发表 74 周年,这是一个很好的机会,可以提醒人们我们共同的民主和人权价值观,因为我们正在考虑一个公平民主的社会应该包括哪些政策和实践。多年来,这个 KTA 一直作为冬季行动重复进行,因为您告诉我们这是一种有趣、简单、有效和积极的方式来庆祝和提高对人权胜利和斗争的认识。

有关《世界人权宣言》(UDHR) 的更多信息: UDHR 可以作为一个框架来连接看似不同的问题。 《世界人权宣言》概述的五类人权是公民人权、经济人权、社会人权、文化人权和政治人权。 公民人权 是诸如言论自由、和平集会和不受歧视的自由。 经济人权 包括获得工作所需生活工资的权利、下班后养家糊口的权利,以及在无法工作时生存的权利。 社会人权 谈论每个人在住房、教育和医疗保健方面的需求。 文化人权 包括实践您自己的文化、您选择的宗教和您选择的语言的权利。 政治人权 包括自由选举权、国籍权以及自由进出贵国的权利。 

如何完成活动:

  1. 与您的人类尊严小组一起集思广益,集思广益,想出您社区中哪些人将成为因其人权工作而获得感谢证书的著名候选人。移民社区中有值得表扬的领袖吗?一些建议包括在大流行期间加倍努力以消除获取资源障碍的人、学校教师或教练、工会领导人、ESL 教师或学生领袖。
  2. 计划一个聚会,在那里您将展示并宣布奖项!何时何地?你会邀请谁?你将如何把消息传出去?除了颁发奖项和享受与彼此共度时光之外,还有其他议程吗?不要犹豫,联系我们 sidra@rop.org 为您的活动策划提供支持!
  3. 在这里下载证书 或使用 Canva 等免费工具创建您自己的工具。
  4. 将这封信改编为编辑或新闻稿 向您的社区宣布此奖项。
  5. 讨论您的小组如何使用《世界人权宣言》作为框架。你的工作如何与人权原则联系起来?您的工作如何属于《世界人权宣言》条款的范围?
  6. 让我们知道谁被提名了!联系您友好的 ROP 组织者或发送电子邮件 sidra@rop.org 并告诉我们您的候选人以及他们在您所在社区所做的出色工作。
打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Celebrate the Holidays with Human Rights Awards!

Background: Kitchen Table Activism (KTA) is a monthly activity by the Rural Organizing Project. The idea is that small actions can lead to powerful collective results when groups of people gather to complete the same action across the state of Oregon. ROP works to keep each KTA easily achievable so that groups with other projects or groups with limited immediate energy can still complete the KTA each month.

WHY THIS ACTIVITY? 

Human dignity groups are a moral compass for the community in these troubled times and often being a person of conscience is a difficult and thankless job. Bestowing a Human Rights Award to a local community leader is a great way to build relationships and advance the conversation about our shared rural values and vision for the future! 

It’s been nearly three years since the pandemic first rocked our worlds and forced us to drastically change the way we interact with one another. We are hearing from folks across the state that they are hungry to get back to gathering safely in person and that transitioning back feels challenging. The winter holiday season is a great time to come together with community members to enjoy good food and each other’s company, and to acknowledge all of the incredible organizing that folks have been up to this year! 

Rural Oregonians across the state have achieved so much in the past year to advance human dignity and democracy in their communities. Just a few examples include: 

WHAT IS THE ACTIVITY?

This month’s Kitchen Table Activity is to award a certificate to a community member (or members!) whose work strengthens one or more of the thirty articles of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR). December 10th marks the 74th anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and is a great opportunity to remind folks of our shared values of democracy and human rights as we consider just what policies and practices a fair and democratic society should include. Over the years, this KTA has been repeated as a winter action because you tell us that this is a fun, easy, effective, and positive way to celebrate and raise awareness of human rights victories and struggles.

More on the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR): The UDHR can work as a framework to connect seemingly distinct issues. The five categories of human rights outlined in the UDHR are civil human rights, economic human rights, social human rights, cultural human rights, and political human rights. Civil Human Rights are those such as free speech, peaceful assembly, and freedom from discrimination. Economic Human Rights include the right to a living wage for your work, the right to be able to feed your family after work, and the right to be able to survive if you are not able to work. Social Human Rights speak to the needs each person has for housing, education, and health care. Cultural Human Rights include the right to practice your own culture, your religion of choice, and your language of choice. Political Human Rights include the right to free elections, the right to a nationality, and the right to free movement in and out of your country. 

HOW TO COMPLETE THE ACTIVITY:

  1. Gather with your human dignity group to brainstorm ideas of people in your community that would be notable candidates for receiving a certificate of appreciation for their human rights work. Is there a leader in the immigrant community who deserves to be honored? Some suggestions include people who went the extra mile during the pandemic to eliminate barriers to accessing resources, school teachers or coaches, union leaders, ESL teachers, or student leaders.
  2. Plan a gathering where you will present and announce the award! Where and when will it be? Who will you invite? How will you get the word out? Is there an agenda other than presenting the award and enjoying spending time with one another? Don’t hesitate to reach out to us at sidra@rop.org for support in planning your event!
  3. Download a certificate here or create your own using free tools like Canva.
  4. Adapt this letter to the editor or press release to announce this award to your community.
  5. Discuss how your group can use the Universal Declaration of Human Rights as a framework. How does your work connect to human rights principles? How does your work fall under the articles of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights?
  6. Let us know who was nominated! Reach out to your friendly ROP organizer or email sidra@rop.org and tell us about your candidate and the amazing work they did in your community.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English