احتفل بالتنظيم الريفي من أجل العدالة: ادعم شرطة عمان السلطانية اليوم!

تبرع اليوم لدعم العدالة في ريف ولاية أوريغون
26 ديسمبر 2017

أعزائي أعضاء وأصدقاء وداعمي مشروع التنظيم الريفي ،

إنها الذكرى السنوية الخامسة والعشرون لشرطة عمان السلطانية ووقت للتفكير في كل ما أنجزناه معًا والاستعداد لربع القرن القادم. نطلب منك اليوم الظهور في ريف ولاية أوريغون من خلال تقديم مساهمة مالية لدعم عملنا في عام 2018 وما بعده.

بدأنا العام مثلك في الشوارع. كنا فخورون بالمشاركة في أكبر مظاهرة عالمية على الإطلاق ، وفخورون أكثر بأن سكان أوريغون الريفيين ظهروا بأرقام قياسية في مدينة تلو الأخرى. نحيي روح المقاومة التي ساعدتنا جميعًا في توجيهنا في هذا العام الصعب.

مع اقتراب نهاية هذا العام الفوضوي ، لنأخذ دقيقة واحدة للاحتفال بالتنظيم الاستثنائي الذي أعقب ذلك ، من تشكيل شبكات الاستجابة الريفية السريعة إلى إصدار قوانين الدمج في جميع أنحاء الولاية. نحتفل بكم جميعًا ، ولا سيما مجموعات الكرامة الإنسانية الجديدة في جميع أنحاء الولاية ، من Lake إلى مقاطعات Clatsop.

ومع ذلك ، لا يمكننا تجاهل الواقع من حولنا. تصدرت ولاية أوريغون المخططات الوطنية لمعظم جرائم الكراهية للفرد - وهي إحصائية مخزية نأمل ألا تتكرر أبدًا. رن هواتفنا في مأزق مع طلبات الدعم هذا العام عندما رأت المجتمعات جيرانها محتجزين من قبل وكلاء إنفاذ الهجرة والجمارك (ICE) أو عندما تم استهداف أحد أفراد المجتمع لكونه مهاجرًا ، أو مسلمًا ، أو أسودًا ، أو مثليًا. لقد تمزقت مجتمعاتنا الريفية بسبب تصاعد الخطاب والإجراءات المناهضة للمهاجرين من البيت الأبيض. لا يشعر الكثير من المهاجرين بالأمان عند مغادرة المنزل لشراء البقالة ، أو إرسال أطفالهم إلى المدرسة ، أو حتى الذهاب إلى جلسات الاستماع الخاصة باللجوء ، لأن شركة ICE تعلمت اصطحابهم في متاجر البقالة والمدارس وممرات المحاكم. تصاعدت أعمال العنف التي تمارسها جماعات القصاص الأهلية بشكل كبير ، حيث شجعت الميليشيات والنازيون الجدد وغيرهم من الجماعات اليمينية المتطرفة موقف ترامب وكلماته. وكثيراً ما كان أولئك الذين وقفوا في وجههم يتعرضون للتهديد والعنف أحياناً.

هذا جزء من اتجاه وطني ، ولكن في المناطق الريفية في ولاية أوريغون حيث انهارت البنية التحتية لمجتمعنا ، يبدو هذا المناخ رهيباً بشكل خاص. في بعض المجتمعات ، لا يمكننا حتى الاعتماد على الخدمات الأساسية مثل الاتصال برقم 911 لتحقيق الأمان أو الإغاثة ، أو الوصول إلى مكتبة عامة وجميع الموارد التي تجلبها معها.

ومع ذلك ، على الرغم من هذه التهديدات ، فإن سكان الريف يظهرون بشجاعة لجيرانهم بطرق ملهمة. يجتمع سكان أوريغون كل يوم للدفاع عن أولئك الذين يتعرضون لأكبر قدر من التهديد: المهاجرون ، وأفراد مجتمع الميم ، ومتلقي المساعدة العامة ، والأشخاص الملونين. استولت المجموعات المحلية على سجونها العامة لتأجيرها أسرة إلى شركة ICE. أطلق المربون والمسؤولون المنتخبون وأصحاب الأعمال حملات ترحيبية للمجتمع. تتعلم المجموعات تقنيات خفض التصعيد ، وكيفية حماية أنفسهم والآخرين الذين تم استهدافهم. توفر ورش العمل الخاصة بنا "اعرف حقوقك" للمهاجرين و "اعرف أدورك" للحلفاء الموثقين أدوات وموارد للمجموعات الريفية للاستجابة لنشاط ICE المحلي. لقد دعمنا المجموعات في دمج استراتيجيات الاستجابة السريعة في تنظيمها ، سواء لتلبية الاحتياجات اليومية العاجلة للمهاجرين - كركوب الخيل إلى متجر البقالة أو مرافقة الأشخاص إلى المحكمة المحلية - وأيضًا للتعبئة لتغيير الصورة الأكبر: مكافحة إجراءات اقتراع المهاجرين ، وإخراج ICE من سجوننا العامة ، وحماية وضع أوريغون كدولة ملاذ وتنظيم إجراءات لدعم DACA وقانون الحلم النظيف. تربط شرطة عمان السلطانية هذه المجموعات المحلية ببعضها البعض ، من خلال الرسائل الإخبارية والمكالمات الجماعية والاجتماعات الشخصية. فكر في الأمر: سبعون جماعة كرامة إنسانية محلية ومتطوعة في المدن الريفية ، متحدة لبناء مستقبل ديمقراطي وشامل لريف أوريغون. بعضها جديد وبعضها طويل الأمد و جميعهم مصممون بشدة على رفع مستوى السياسات الريفية القائمة على العدالة والرحمة والكرامة الإنسانية على واحدة من الندرة والعزلة والإقصاء.. هذا قوي. هذه هي الطريقة التي نبني بها القوة.

نحتفل هذا العام بمرور 25 عامًا على تأسيسنا ، ومن الواضح لنا أن عملنا لم يكن أبدًا بنفس الأهمية التي هو عليها الآن. كما أتيحت الفرصة لشرطة عمان السلطانية لتوسيع قدرة موظفينا ، بإضافة موظفين موهوبين وملتزمين إلى فريق التنظيم لدينا لمواكبة زخم المنظمين في جميع أنحاء المناطق الريفية في ولاية أوريغون. لقد أنشأنا نموذجًا للقيادة المجتمعية يتجاوز السخرية والانقسام في اللحظة السياسية الحالية. يدعم نموذجنا للتنظيم المحلي نمو المنظمات المحلية التي تعمل من أجل تغيير واستدامة هادفة وطويلة الأجل. يربط الجيران ببعضهم البعض لمعالجة الأسئلة الصعبة التي تأتي عندما لا يشعر الناس بالأمان. يربط المجتمعات ببعضها البعض حتى يتمكنوا من العمل على قضايا أكبر من بلدة أو مقاطعة واحدة. من الذكاء بما يكفي للتحوّل مع ظهور أزمات وفرص جديدة. نظرًا لأن نموذجنا يعمل ، فإن المنظمات والقادة في جميع أنحاء البلاد يتطلعون إلينا للقيادة حول كيفية الاستجابة لليمين المتطرف الأكثر جرأة. تلقينا مكالمات من مجموعات في 37 ولاية منذ الانتخابات ، يسألون كيف نفعل ما نفعله. لقد عملنا مع منظمين من المناطق الريفية في كنتاكي إلى المناطق الريفية في واشنطن. نحن فخورون جدًا بأن نكون جزءًا من حركة وطنية للقيادة الريفية.

يجب أن تفخر أيضًا ، لأننا في هذا معًا. لقد أظهرنا جميعًا طرقًا حاسمة وملهمة معًا ومن أجل بعضنا البعض هذا العام. نطلب منك اليوم الظهور في ريف ولاية أوريغون من خلال تقديم مساهمة مالية. من خلال العطاء ، تسمح لنا بدعم وتنسيق وإلهام المئات من القادة الريفيين.

في عامنا الخامس والعشرين ، بمساعدتك ، حاربنا سياسات إدارة ترامب ، ونظمنا تنظيمًا ضد عملاء شركة ICE الذين يحتجزون جيراننا ، وتجمعنا ضد سيطرة اليمين المتطرف على مجتمعاتنا. قمنا بتوسيع شبكتنا وموظفينا المنظمين. بينما نتطلع إلى العام المقبل والعام الخامس والعشرين المقبل ، لدينا الكثير لنفعله. هذه أوقات عصيبة. يرجى تكريم الذكرى السنوية لنا بهدية ذات مغزى بالنسبة لك ، حيث نواصل بناء حركة قوية ومرنة في ريف ولاية أوريغون. يمكنك التبرع على موقعنا أو أرسل شيكًا إلى شرطة عمان السلطانية على PO Box 664 Cottage Grove ، أو 97424.

بحرارة
جيسيكا كامبل وكارا شوفيلت

المديرون المشاركون
نيابة عن موظفي شرطة عمان السلطانية ومجلس الإدارة

سهل الطباعة، PDF والبريد الإلكتروني
العربية

Celebrate Rural Organizing for Justice: Support ROP Today!

Make a donation today to support justice in rural Oregon
December 26th, 2017

Dear members, friends, and supporters of the Rural Organizing Project,

It’s ROP’s 25th anniversary and time to both reflect on all we have accomplished together and get ready for our next quarter century. Today we’re asking you to show up for rural Oregon by making a financial contribution to support our work in 2018 and beyond.

We began the year, like you, in the streets. We were proud to take part in the largest global demonstration ever, and even more proud that rural Oregonians showed up in record-breaking numbers in town after town. We salute the spirit of resistance that has helped guide all of us in this challenging year.

As this chaotic year winds down, let’s take a minute to celebrate the extraordinary organizing that has followed, from the formation of rural rapid response networks to the passing of Inclusion Ordinances around the state. We celebrate all of you, especially our new human dignity groups across the state, from Lake to Clatsop Counties.

Still, we can’t ignore the reality around us. Oregon topped the national charts for most hate crimes per capita—a shameful statistic we hope is never repeated. Our phones rang off the hook with requests for support this year when communities saw their neighbors being detained by Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) agents or when a community member was targeted for being an immigrant, or Muslim, or Black, or queer. Our rural communities have been ripped apart by the surge of anti-immigrant rhetoric and actions coming from the White House. Many immigrants do not feel safe leaving the house to buy groceries, or sending their children to school, or even going to their own asylum hearings, because ICE has learned to pick them up in grocery stores, schools and courthouse corridors. Vigilante violence has skyrocketed, with militia and neo-Nazi and other far-right groups emboldened by Trump’s attitude and words. Those who stood up to them were often threatened, sometimes violently.

This is part of a national trend, but in rural Oregon where our community infrastructure has collapsed, this climate feels especially dire. In some communities, we can’t even rely on basic services like calling 911 to bring safety or relief, or access to a public library and all of the resources it brings with it.

Yet, despite these threats, rural people are courageously showing up for their neighbors in inspiring ways. Every day Oregonians come together in defense of those under most threat: immigrants, LGBTQ folks, public assistance recipients, people of color. Local groups have taken on their public jails for renting beds out to ICE. Educators, elected officials and business owners have launched Welcoming Community campaigns. Groups are learning de-escalation techniques, and how to protect themselves and others who have been targeted. Our Know Your Rights workshops for immigrants and Know Your Roles workshops for documented allies provide rural groups tools and resources to respond to local ICE activity. We’ve supported groups in incorporating rapid response strategies into their organizing, both to tend to immigrants’ immediate daily needs—rides to the grocery store or accompanying people to the local courthouse—and also to mobilize for changing the bigger picture: fighting anti-immigrant ballot measures, getting ICE out of our public jails, protecting Oregon’s status as a sanctuary state and organizing actions in support of DACA and a clean Dream Act. ROP connects these local groups to each other, through newsletters and conference calls and in-person meetings. Think of it: seventy local, all-volunteer human dignity groups in rural towns, united to build a democratic and inclusive future for rural Oregon. Some are new, some are long term, and all are fiercely determined to elevate a rural politics of justice, compassion, and human dignity over one of scarcity, isolation, and exclusion. This is powerful. This is how we build power.

We are celebrating our 25th year this year and it is clear to us that our work has never been as important as it is right now. ROP has also had the opportunity to expand our staff capacity, adding two talented and committed staff to our organizing team to match the momentum of organizers across rural Oregon. We have created a model of community leadership that transcends the cynicism and division of the current political moment. Our model of local organizing supports the growth of local organizations working for meaningful, long-term change and sustainability. It links neighbors to each other to tackle the difficult questions that come when people don’t feel secure. It links communities to each other so they can work on issues bigger than one town or county. It’s nimble enough to pivot as new crises and opportunities arise. Because our model is working, organizations and leaders around the country are looking to us for leadership on how to respond to the emboldened far-right. We’ve had calls from groups in 37 states since the election, asking how we do what we do. We’ve worked with organizers from rural Kentucky to rural Washington. We are very proud to be part of a national movement of rural leadership.

You should be proud too, because we are in this together. We have all shown up in critical and inspiring ways with and for each other this year. Today we’re asking you to show up for rural Oregon by making a financial contribution. By giving, you allow us to support, coordinate, and inspire hundreds of rural leaders.

In our 25th year, with your help, we fought the policies of the Trump administration, we organized against ICE agents detaining our neighbors, and we rallied against the far right taking hold of our communities. We expanded our network and our organizing staff. As we look ahead to next year and the next 25, we have so much to do. These are troubling times. Please honor our anniversary with a gift that is meaningful for you, as we continue to build a powerful and resilient movement in rural Oregon. You can make a donation on our website or send a check to ROP at PO Box 664 Cottage Grove, OR 97424.

Warmly,
Jessica Campbell & Cara Shufelt

Co-Directors
On Behalf of the ROP Staff and Board of Directors

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English