2010 年核心小组

民主经济的家乡战略

奥尔巴尼,俄勒冈州 * 2010 年 4 月 10 日


  

周围的勇士们几乎没有想法让他们的社区变得更好,然后真正对改善他们的社区产生影响,这给了我尝试做某事的动力。在我所在的地区找到几个人就像我对南希的演讲(关于止赎防御)一样震惊,我们都带着 会做 精神。几个月来我一直没有这种感觉,我觉得我可以做这件小事,它可能会改善人们的生活。  - 罗莎莉佩德罗萨,特纳,或


今年的农村核心小组和战略会议是由奥尔巴尼和平寻求者慷慨主办的一场美丽的活动,有 130 多人代表了 26 个县的人类尊严团体,几乎是充满活力、创新和可能性的感觉。 

我们正在整理当天的笔记、参与者的反馈和反思,并根据所发生的愿景制定我们的下一步。现在,这是一天的快照,以激发您的食欲……

我们的会议 民主经济的家乡战略 研究了我们可以推进我们的双重目标的具体方法,即确保我们所有的社区成员都能在这场危机中幸存下来并建立 我们的 争取民主经济的民粹主义运动。探索的策略和问题包括:

  • 背后是什么 止赎危机?将人们留在家中并将俄勒冈州作为一个愿意承担使失去家园成为农村和小城镇家庭真正危机的系统的州的策略。
  • 组织俄勒冈州立银行的动力和下一步 转移我们的钱 这超越了个人,并考虑了将地方组织和市政当局的资金转移到信用合作社和地方银行机构的可能性。
  • 机会和需求 跨种族社区建设:我们如何共同努力,为不断变化的俄勒冈州创建安全和充满活力的社区——从停止当地执法部门和联邦移民执法部门之间的合作,到持续传播欢迎、家庭友好和积极多元化信息的农村媒体中心。
  • 策略 建立自力更生的社区 – “自力更生”并与我们的本地和全球社区紧密相连是什么意思?我们研究了用于创建弹性社区的各种工具,这些工具不仅可以满足人们的基本需求,而且还加深了我们对为什么弹性和社区对我们目前的正义运动如此重要的理解。
  • 地方和全州的创意策略 食物正义– 深入探讨当地食品生产和消费的项目和障碍,并建立一个工作团队来进一步开展这一对话。

这一天本身与一个主题编织在一起 运动建筑 从长远来看。 Project South 的 Stephanie Guilloud 开始了我们的早晨,分析了我们作为一个运动的现状。她说明了我们在俄勒冈州农村开展的当地组织如何与南部和底特律的工作相关联,并且对于建立强大的全国运动至关重要。然后,一个小组通过故事和反思将明年的酷儿组织、拉丁裔和移民行动、农村社区工人阶级的战略以及挑战结合在一起,“聚焦”了俄勒冈州社区的运动状况现在我们牢牢地扎根于两场战争,军人家庭直言不讳。全天一个丰富的主题是我们的问题与建立运动和长期愿景之间的联系,将这一切编织在一起。

也许 CAUSA 移民权利联盟的协调员弗朗西斯科·洛佩兹 (Francisco Lopez) 在周六描述了他们为向 DC 施压今年进行全面移民改革而采取的行动时对此进行了最好的总结。在描述每项行动时(从对 DeFazio 的行动到与国土安全部的会面,再到五一庆祝活动),弗朗西斯科分享道:“……我们不会就此止步……”

你可以指望! 2010 年正在推动我们前进——ROP 的成员和领导人正在解决棘手的问题并制定战略方法来建立我们的运动以应对今天的危机并为我们对明天的希望而组织起来。如果您想成为上述任何工作组的一员 家乡策略 在核心小组中塑造,通过电子邮件告诉我们 cara@rop.org

 


有关奥尔巴尼 ROP 2010 核心小组的信息:

核心小组 议程

主讲人: 斯蒂芬妮·吉尤

核心小组的乐趣

 

简体中文

Caucus 2010

Hometown Strategies for a Democratic Economy

Albany, OR * April 10th, 2010


  

Being around the warriors who have taken little ideas to make their communities better and then really having an impact on improving their communities, just gave me that oomph to try to do something. Finding a few people in my area were as blown away as I was with Nancie’s presentation (on Foreclosure Defense) and we all left with the Can and Will Do spirit. I hadn’t felt that for months and I left feeling I can do this little piece that just may change people’s lives for the better.  -Rosalie Pedroza, Turner, OR


This year’s Rural Caucus & Strategy Session was a beautiful affair generously hosted by Albany Peace Seekers, with over 130 people, representing human dignity groups in over 26 counties, and an almost electric sense of energy, innovation and possibility. 

We’re compiling notes from the day, feedback and reflections from participants, and developing our next steps out of the visioning that happened.  For now, here’s a snapshot of the day to whet your appetite…

Our sessions on Hometown Strategies for a Democratic Economy looked at specific ways that we can move forward our dual goals of making sure all of our community members survive this crisis and building our populist movement for a democratic economy.  Strategies and questions explored included:

  • What is behind the Foreclosure crisis? Strategies for both keeping people in their homes & getting Oregon on the map as a state that is willing to take on the systems that has made losing homes a true crisis in rural & small town families.
  • Momentum behind the organizing for an Oregon State Bank and next steps for Move Our Money that goes beyond individuals and considers what’s possible for moving local organizations and municipalities’ funds into credit unions and local banking institutions.
  • Opportunities and needs for cross-race community building: how we can work together to create safe and vibrant communities for a changing Oregon – from stopping collaborations between local law enforcement and federal immigration enforcement to a Rural Media Center that persistently disseminates welcoming, family friendly, and diversity-positive messages.
  • Strategies for building self reliant communities – what does it mean to be ‘self-reliant’ and also deeply connected with our local and our global community? We looked at a variety of tools for creating resilient communities that not only meet folks’ basic needs but also grow our understanding of why resiliency and community are so essential to our movement for justice right now.
  • Local and statewide creative strategies for Food Justice– diving into projects for and barriers to local food production & consumption, with the development of a working team to carry this conversation further.

The day itself was weaved together with a theme of movement building over the long haul.  Stephanie Guilloud of Project South kicked off our morning with an analysis of where we are as a movement/s.  She illustrated how the local organizing that we do in rural Oregon is connected to work in the South and in Detroit and is so vital to building a strong national movement.  A panel then "shined the spotlight" on the state of the movement in their communities in Oregon through stories and reflections that wove together queer organizing, Latino and immigrant action in this next year, strategies for working class people in rural communities, and the challenges that Military Families Speak Out face now that we are so firmly rooted in two wars.  A rich theme throughout the day was the ties between our issues and the role of building a movement and a vision for the long haul that weaves this all together.

Perhaps Francisco Lopez, coordinator of CAUSA Immigrant Rights Coalition summed it up best on Saturday when he described the actions they are taking to pressure for DC for Comprehensive Immigration Reform this year.  As each action was described (from actions on DeFazio to a meeting with Homeland Security to a May Day celebration), Francisco shared, "… and we’re not going to stop there…"

You can count on that!  2010 is moving us forward – and the members and leaders of the ROP are tackling the tough questions and developing strategic ways to build our movement to respond to the crises today and organize for our hopes for tomorrow.  If you would like to be a part of the working groups of any of the above Hometown Strategies shaped at the Caucus, let us know by emailing cara@rop.org

 


Information about the ROP 2010 Caucus in Albany:

Caucus Agenda

Keynote Speaker: Stephanie Guilloud

Caucus Fun

 

English