建立力量以释放他们所有人

今天,我们庆祝土著人民日以及整个非洲大陆土著人民强大的组织力和韧性!在庆祝这一天时,我们认识到美国的边界“跨越”了许多人,反之亦然,以及边界和移民的军事化如何影响土著人民。在 1,000 多人试图阻止移民和海关执法局 (ICE) 在本德的传统土地上阻止社区成员与家人分离之后,你们中的许多人一直在向我们询问俄勒冈州中部正在发生的事情的最新情况。 Wasco、Warm Springs 和 Paiute 人。 继续阅读以获得独家新闻! 你所在州的某个角落发生了什么?分享您的小组在做什么!我们很乐意保持联系!

就在两个月前,超过 1,000 人在本德和平地包围了移民和海关执法局 (ICE) 的装甲巴士,要求 ICE 释放他们拘留的我们的两个邻居。 对于那些没有看到这个消息的人,包括边境巡逻队在内的联邦特工突然袭击了抗议者,在路上向人们喷洒胡椒粉和拳打脚踢,以抓住里面的人并将他们带到欺骗性地称为“西北ICE处理中心”的私人监狱在塔科马。第二天早上,我们从德舒特县地方检察官约翰·胡梅尔 (John Hummel) 那里获悉,命令来自“政府最高层”,他们“不希望和平结束。”

 

这种对我们基本人权的侵犯并没有让我们慢下来! 事实上,社区支持的倾注从快速面对面动员转变为协调对受这两次拘留直接影响的两个家庭的具体支持。当 Marco 和 Josue 从本德穿梭于达尔斯的北俄勒冈地区惩教所 (NORCOR) 并前往塔科马时,人们为家人烹制了数十顿热饭,并筹集了 $40,000 以帮助支付律师费、儿童保育费、和租金。仅仅几天后,在群众运动的聚光灯下,在峡谷中建立了三年权力的组织者成功地推动了 NORCOR 董事会投票决定终止他们的 ICE 合同。

 

在俄勒冈州中部,组织者利用本德的高调拘留措施,让更多社区成员参与到尽可能保护我们自己和邻居安全的工作中。我们组织了有关主题的培训,从在面对 ICE 时如何保护您的宪法权利到如果您在杂货店听到 ICE 的谣言该怎么办(在重复任何事情之前进行验证是简短的答案!)。 我们收集了当地、区域和国家组织对 Marco 和 Josue 的法律案件的支持信,要求法院尽快将他们释放回他们的社区。 在 Marco 的案例中,这些信件使法官将他的保证金定为仅 $10,000,对于塔科马西北 ICE 处理中心的债券来说,这是一个非常低的金额。感谢所有这些令人难以置信的支持,Marco 现在和家人一起回家了,我们希望 Josue 也能尽快获释!

在我们前进的过程中,我们继续向警方提出尖锐的问题,我们看到他们向 ICE 特工提供水瓶、游乐设施和手机充电器。我们致力于让他们对我们停止分离家庭的道义责任和我们的州庇护法负责,该法禁止当地执法部门使用公共资金来帮助执行联邦移民法。我们也在建立自己的安全保障系统!

下周,ROP、麦加湾和俄勒冈中部维和人员将举办一场 对俄勒冈州中部的 ICE 突袭培训的快速反应 10 月 17 日星期六上午 10 点至 11 点 30 分提供英语和西班牙语。您是否住在俄勒冈州中部并希望在下一次 ICE 来到城镇时更好地做出回应?您可以在以下位置找到更多信息 rop.org/strategysession在这里注册!

 

Red de Respuesta Rápida Contra la Migra:Entrenamiento para Oregón Central。 Sábado, 17a de octubre 10 – 1130 AM。 ¡ 参与电话或计算机! Este entrenamiento está Organizado en colaboración con Mecca Bend y Central Oregon Peacekeepers。 El evento esta en Inglés con interprete en Español。注册阿奎!

 

我们对俄勒冈州有一个愿景,在那里每个人都可以安全而有尊严地过上自己的生活,而在 ICE、边境巡逻队和国土安全部不再将我们的社区撕裂之前,这个愿景是不可能实现的。在全州范围内,俄勒冈州的农村人正在通过互相支持、互相支持以保持安全和远大梦想,使这一愿景成为现实。 想和我们一起行动吗?

  • 加入我们 捍卫民主:阻止选民恐吓和错误信息 通过电话或电脑 10 月 15 日星期四 6:30 – 8PM!在本德采取的暴力行动表明了这次选举的风险有多大。与我们一起制定关于如何在今年秋季及以后捍卫民主的战略。 在这里注册!
  • 打电话或与您当地的警长和/或警察局长坐下来 以确保他们不与 ICE 合作。以下是帮助您入门的问题列表!
  • 组织成一个小组! 我们在一起总是更强大。召集您的朋友,制定一个计划,让您的社区更加安全和欢迎所有人。需要帮助入门?联系 ROP 艾玛@rop.org!

已经采取行动了吗? 您的团队如何努力为所有人建立一个真正安全和热情的社区?在这个选举季节,你如何捍卫民主?让我们知道在 艾玛@rop.org 我们很乐意突出并支持您的工作!

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Building Power to Free Them All

Today we celebrate Indigenous Peoples’ Day and the powerful organizing and resilience of Indigenous people all across the continent! In celebrating this day, we recognize that the borders of the United States “crossed” many people, not vise versa, and how the militarization of borders and immigration has impacted Indigenous peoples. Many of you have been asking us for an update on what’s been going on in Central Oregon after more than 1,000 people attempted to stop the separation of to community members from their families by Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) in Bend, the traditional lands of the Wasco, Warm Springs, and Paiute people. Read on to get the scoop! What’s going on in your corner of the state? Share what your group is up to! We’d love to stay in touch!

Exactly two months ago, over 1,000 people peacefully surrounded Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) armored buses in Bend, demanding that ICE release the two neighbors of ours they detained. For those of you who didn’t see the news, federal agents including Border Patrol descended upon the protesters, pepper spraying and punching people on their way to nab the people inside and take them to the private prison deceivingly called “Northwest ICE Processing Center” in Tacoma. The next morning, we learned from Deschutes County District Attorney John Hummel that the orders came from “the highest levels of government” and that they “did not want this to end peacefully.”

 

This assault on our basic human rights did not slow us down! In fact, the outpouring of community support transformed from quickly mobilizing in-person to coordinating concrete support for both families directly affected by these two detentions. As Marco and Josue were shuttled from Bend, through the Northern Oregon Regional Correctional Facility (NORCOR) in The Dalles, and on to Tacoma, people cooked dozens of hot meals for their families and fundraised $40,000 to help pay legal fees, childcare, and rent. Just days later, thanks to the spotlight shone by mass movement, organizers in the Gorge, who had been building power for 3 years, successfully pushed the NORCOR Board of Directors to vote to end their ICE contract.

 

In Central Oregon, organizers have used the high profile detentions in Bend to bring in more community members to the work of keeping ourselves and our neighbors as safe as possible. We have organized trainings on topics ranging from how to protect your constitutional rights when confronted by ICE to what to do if you hear a rumor of ICE at the grocery store (verify before repeating anything is the short answer!). We collected letters of support from local, regional, and national organizations for both Marco and Josue’s legal cases, asking the court to release them back to their community as quickly as possible. In Marco’s case, these letters made the difference in the judge setting his bond at only $10,000, a remarkably low sum for bonds at the Northwest ICE Processing Center in Tacoma. Thanks to all this incredible support, Marco is now back home with his family, and we are hopeful that Josue will be released soon as well!

As we go forward, we are continuing to ask hard questions of the police, who we saw providing ICE agents with water bottles, rides, and phone chargers. We are committed to holding them accountable to both our moral imperative to stop separating families and our State Sanctuary Law which bans local law enforcement from using public dollars to help enforce federal immigration laws. And we are building up our own systems of safety and security too!

Next week, ROP, Mecca Bend, and the Central Oregon Peacekeepers are hosting a Rapid Response to ICE Raids Training for Central Oregonians in English and Spanish from 10 – 11:30 AM on Saturday, October 17th. Do you live in Central Oregon and want to be better prepared to respond the next time ICE comes to town? You can find more information at rop.org/strategysession and register HERE!

 

Red de Respuesta Rápida Contra la Migra: Entrenamiento para Oregón Central. Sábado, 17a de octubre 10 – 1130 AM. ¡Participar por telefono o computadora! Este entrenamiento está organizado en colaboración con Mecca Bend y Central Oregon Peacekeepers. El evento esta en Inglés con interprete en Español.Registrese aqui!

 

We have a vision of Oregon where everyone can live their lives fully with safety and dignity, and that vision will not be possible until ICE, Border Patrol, and the Department of Homeland Security are no longer tearing our communities apart. Across the state, rural Oregonians are making this vision a reality, by showing up for one another, and supporting each other in staying safe and dreaming big. Want to take action with us?

  • Join us for Defending Democracy: Interrupting Voter Intimidation and Misinformation by phone or computer on Thursday, October 15th 6:30 – 8PM! The violent actions taken in Bend demonstrates how much is on the line this election. Come strategize with us about how to defend democracy this fall and beyond. Register here!
  • Call up, or sit down with your local sheriff and/or police chief to make sure they aren’t collaborating with ICE. Here’s a list of questions to get you started!
  • Organize in a group! We are always more powerful together. Get your friends together and make a plan for how to make your community more safe and welcoming for all. Need help getting started? Reach out to ROP at emma@rop.org!

Already taking action? How is your group working toward building a truly safe and welcoming community for all? How are you defending democracy this election season? Let us know at emma@rop.org and we would love to highlight and support your work!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English