建立不断增长的战斗:战略会议回顾

周五晚上,70 多名俄勒冈州农村人实际上聚集在一起 建设、发展、战斗:农村运动战略会议!我们与来自全州及其他地区的组织者共享空间,讨论未遂政变,庆祝社区组织和建立人民权力所取得的胜利,并专注于我们将如何继续发展争取人类尊严和民主的运动。我们知道,如果人们的物质需求得到满足,起义运动就不会受到关注,而且当我们都做得更好时,我们都会做得更好。我们共同承诺采取行动建设农村宽带,支持一线教师,通过对收获和输出农村财富的采掘业征税,推动我们县建立税基,以支付急需的基础设施和服务费用,和更多。 点击此处观看录音 并继续阅读更多有趣的细节! 


查看并注册任何或所有这些即将举行的农村战略会议,推动我们前进 通往繁荣的俄勒冈农村路线图:

负担得起、可用、可及:农村住房战略会议

太平洋标准时间 1 月 27 日,星期三,下午 6:30-8 点 (立即注册!)

农村住房危机对俄勒冈州的农村社区和小城镇来说是毁灭性的,并且随着大流行、经济衰退和灾难性的野火而恶化。参加此战略会议,听取农村领导人在其社区中争取经济适用房的意见,讨论工作组为组织和建立压力以减轻租金以及对无家可归和经济适用房需求的创造性反应,并分享您自己的情况农村社区! 今天就在这里注册!

建设远离国家暴力的农村社区

太平洋标准时间 2 月 10 日,星期三,下午 6:30-8 点

几十年来,组成 ROP 网络的人类尊严团体一直在努力瓦解移民和海关执法局 (ICE) 与当地执法部门之间的合作。该网络最近取得了令人难以置信的进步,通过利用当地资源来执行联邦移民政策,同时支持黑人生活运动的要求,使农村警察和治安官对不违反俄勒冈州的庇护法负责。团体正在努力创建基于社区的替代警务手段,成功驱逐腐败的警长,并正在施加压力,以满足为被警察骚扰和杀害的人伸张正义的要求。什么在起作用,我们从哪里开始? 注册加入对话!

更好的宽带,基本上

太平洋标准时间 2 月 23 日,星期二,下午 6:30-8 点

在大流行期间,宽带互联网从未像现在这样重要,由于价格高得离谱、缺乏物理基础设施,或两者兼而有之,许多社区仍在努力实现连接。我们可以做些什么来推动地方和州政府实现真正无障碍的宽带互联网?哪些基层努力已经在俄勒冈州农村获得关注? 在此处注册以通过电话或计算机加入对话。

以下是一些鼓舞人心的亮点 建设、发展、战斗:农村运动战略会议:

战略会议以一系列来自前线的故事拉开序幕 蓬勃发展的俄勒冈州农村路线图:俄勒冈州农村地区的优先事项是通过全州数百次对话确定的。

来自哈尼县的 Isabelle Fleuraud 分享了她对国会大厦叛乱行动的反应,因为她在 2016 年亲身经历了 Malheur 国家野生动物保护区及其更大社区的占领。 当时,候选人特朗普正在竞选公职和这两次收购代表伊莎贝尔特朗普时代的书挡。她分享了农村多样性联盟 (RAD) 的工作,这是哈尼县的一个新组织,该组织一直通过以下方式在社区中建立种族正义 在玛莎和沃尔特安德森没有标记的坟墓上安装墓碑, 哈尼县的第一批黑人牧场主。玛莎写了这本书 西北黑人先驱:1800-1918 年。 RAD 与当地图书馆合作携带这本书,并正在建设一个小型免费图书馆,其中包含有关这个家庭和种族正义的其他资源和信息。

经过多年的组织,与俄勒冈州 ICE 的最后一份监狱合同于 2020 年结束,但结束拘留和驱逐出境的工作仍在继续! Maru Mora Villalpando 来自 抵抗运动 加入我们,分享塔科马西北拘留中心 (NWDC) 内外的组织情况,俄勒冈州的私人拘留中心有时关押多年。随着致命的 COVID-19 疫情持续恶化,被拘留在 NWDC 的人们目前正在绝食抗议被关押在危险的环境中。

员工 – KCUW 电台

Jiselle Halfmoon-Thompson 分享了 KCUW Umatilla Reservation Community Radio,我们国家重要的社区广播电台之一,为农村人民制作媒体。 KCUW由部落政府创立并通过部落政府运作。的支柱之一 路线图 是公募社区媒体,农村领导看到这么多报刊电台倒闭,被大公司收购,或者越走越右,就把它列为重点。 Jiselle 和她在 KCUW 的团队是众多令人难以置信的媒体制造商中的一部分,他们致力于为社区成员创建一个平台,让他们发表自己的声音,并分享原本无法通过电波听到的信息。查看我们合作的其他社区电台,在此处播放 Rural Roots Rising、我们的每月广播节目和播客。您想在您所在的地区创建社区媒体吗?请通过 emma@rop.org 与我们联系!

来自俄勒冈州教育协会的 Ken Volante 分享了学校如何成为农村社区健康的基本组成部分,从与学校护士一起获得医疗保健到营养餐。目前,教师处于极其困难的境地,要为教职员工和学生寻找方法以确保安全并在大流行期间继续学习,同时面临越来越大的社区压力,要求在安全之前恢复面对面学习。肯强调了拥有强大的学校董事会等的重要性! 

Maig Tinnin 分享了杰克逊县的组织,该组织已成功阻止警察通过立即逮捕或铲除整个营地来取代无家可归的人——暂时!去年夏天,该县向没有住房的人们承诺,他们可以在特定的绿地小镇安全地避难。尽管做出了承诺,梅德福警方开始在指定区域清扫露营地,在野火期间的某个特定早晨,他们逮捕了包括一名记者在内的十几人。 由于组织继续支持无家可归的人处理不安全的野火烟雾,并在大流行中幸存下来,警察被镜头捕捉到,媒体的关注,加上诉讼的威胁,迫使警方停止这些扫荡。 该县仍然没有永久性的暖气庇护所或其他急需的资源,但麦格的团队一直在继续与无家可归的人一起工作,在一辆货车上创建一个弹出式暖气庇护所,他们希望继续合作如果/当警察再次尝试逮捕大量无家可归的人时,让他们做好准备。

在周五的电话会议上,另一个努力反击警察暴行的人是布里安娜·斯宾塞。 Briana 是前农村组织研究员,她谈到了她组织抗议活动以支持 Black Lives Matter 的多方面工作。作为彭德尔顿社区行动联盟的一部分,她的团队有意组织食物募捐、免费膳食和其他方式来满足社区成员的迫切需求,部分是为了改善她所在城镇的人们与激进主义的联系。本星期, 彭德尔顿社区行动联盟成功结束了彭德尔顿对历史同盟街道名称的保护.

海岸山脉协会的查克·威勒 (Chuck Willer) 分享了他们最近发布的关于如何为俄勒冈州西部林地实施绿色新政的提案。他分享了俄勒冈州西部私人林地的 90% 是如何由最富有的 10% 美国人拥有的,以及他们的提议将如何显着改变这一局面。 海岸山脉协会建议我们使用绿色新政来买断华尔街的所有者,并将控制权交给当地所有的合作企业,这些企业以许多俄勒冈州农村人已经熟悉的电力合作社为蓝本。 他们规划如何创建这些合作社,期望捕获碳、雇佣当地员工来管理森林、开设当地工厂,而不是像大多数企业主那样出口原木。 您可以在此处阅读更多内容或收听有关他们提案的播客!

战略会议上的人们标记了他们面临的暴力威胁。即使整个网络中的团体赢得了令人难以置信的胜利,并做出了强有力的工作,但我们中的许多人仍然面临着强烈反对的直接危险。 事实上,我们正面临威胁和恐吓 因为 我们运动的力量和我们正在赢得的胜利! 如果您的团队正面临安全威胁,请不要犹豫,寻求支持! ROP 有 英语和西班牙语的安全和安保资源 可在我们的网站上共享,我们总是乐于与面临暴力、威胁和恐吓策略的团体制定战略。

上周的战略会议有力地提醒了俄勒冈州农村人的能力。 在这里查看录音 立即注册参加即将举行的会议以加入对话!

热烈地,

艾玛和 ROP 团队

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Building Growing Fighting: Strategy Session Recap

On Friday night, more than 70 rural Oregonians virtually gathered for Build, Grow, Fight: A Rural Movement Strategy Session! We shared space with organizers from across the state and beyond to discuss the attempted coup, celebrated the victories that community organizing and building people’s power have made possible, and focused on how we’re going to keep growing the movement for human dignity and democracy. We know that insurrectionist movements don’t gain traction if people’s material needs are being met and that we all do better when we all do better. Together we committed to take action to build rural broadband, to support teachers on the frontlines, to push for building tax bases in our counties that pay for desperately needed infrastructure and services by taxing the extractive industries that are harvesting and exporting rural counties’ wealth, and more. Click here to watch the recording and read on for more of the juicy details! 


Check out and register for any or all of these upcoming rural strategy sessions that move us forward on the Roadmap to a Thriving Rural Oregon:

Affordable, Available, Accessible: Rural Housing Strategy Session

Wednesday, January 27th, 6:30-8 pm PST (REGISTER TODAY!)

The rural housing crisis has been devastating for rural communities and small towns across Oregon and is worsening with the pandemic, economic recession, and catastrophic wildfires. Join this strategy session to hear from rural leaders fighting for affordable housing in their communities, discuss the work groups are doing to organize and build pressure for rent forgiveness and creative responses to houselessness and the need for affordable housing, and share what’s happening in your own rural community! REGISTER HERE TODAY!

Building Rural Communities Safe From State Violence

Wednesday, February 10th, 6:30-8pm PST

Human dignity groups that make up the ROP network have been hard at work dismantling collaboration between Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) and local law enforcement for decades. The network has recently been making incredible strides holding rural police and sheriffs accountable to not breaking Oregon’s sanctuary law by using local resources to enforce federal immigration policy while upholding the demands coming from the Movement for Black Lives. Groups are working to create community-based alternatives to policing, successfully ousting corrupt Sheriffs, and are building pressure to meet the demands for justice for those harassed and killed by police. What’s working and where do we go from here? Register to join the conversation!

Better Broadband, Basically

Tuesday, February 23rd, 6:30-8pm PST

Broadband internet has never been more essential than during the pandemic, and many communities are still struggling to get connected because of ridiculously high prices, the lack of physical infrastructure, or both. What can we do to push local and state governments toward truly accessible broadband internet? What grassroots efforts are already gaining traction in rural Oregon? Register here to join the conversation by phone or computer.

Here are some of the inspiring highlights from Build, Grow, Fight: A Rural Movement Strategy Session:

The strategy session kicked off with a series of stories from the frontlines of the Roadmap to a Thriving Rural Oregon: Rural Oregon’s priorities set through hundreds of conversations across the state.

Isabelle Fleuraud from Harney County shared her reactions to the insurrectionist actions at the capitol as someone who experienced firsthand the occupation of the Malheur National Wildlife Refuge and of her greater community in 2016. At that time, candidate Trump was running for office and these two takeovers represented the bookends of the Trump era for Isabelle. She shared the work of Rural Alliance for Diversity (RAD), a new group in Harney County that has been building toward racial justice in their community by installing headstones at the unmarked graves of Martha and Walter Anderson, the first Black ranchers in Harney County. Martha wrote the book Black Pioneers of the Northwest: 1800-1918. RAD has collaborated with the local library to carry the book and is working on a little free library with other resources and information about this family and racial justice.

After years of organizing, the last jail contract with ICE in Oregon was ended in 2020, but the work to end detention and deportation continues! Maru Mora Villalpando from La Resistencia joined us to share about the organizing inside and outside of the Northwest Detention Center (NWDC) in Tacoma, the private detention center Oregonians are held in, sometimes for years. People in detention at NWDC are currently hunger striking to protest being held in dangerous conditions as a deadly COVID-19 outbreak continues to worsen.

Staffers – KCUW Radio

Jiselle Halfmoon-Thompson shared about the powerful work of KCUW Umatilla Reservation Community Radio, one of the vital community radio stations across our state making media by and for rural people. KCUW was founded by and is run through the tribal government. One of the pillars of the Roadmap is publicly-funded community media, which rural leaders have put forward as a priority after seeing so many newspapers and radio stations going under, getting bought up by huge corporations, or sliding further and further to the right. Jiselle and her team at KCUW are some of the many incredible media makers who are committed to creating a platform for community members to make their voices heard, and share messages that wouldn’t otherwise be heard over the airwaves. Check out the other community stations we partner with to air Rural Roots Rising, our monthly radio show and podcast here. Do you want to create community media in your area? Reach out to us at emma@rop.org!

Ken Volante from the Oregon Education Association shared how schools are basic components of rural community health, from access to healthcare with the school nurse to nutritious meals. Right now teachers are in an incredibly difficult position of finding ways for both staff and students to stay safe and keep learning through the pandemic while facing mounting community pressures to return to in-person learning before it’s safe to do so. Ken stressed the importance of having strong school boards and more! 

Maig Tinnin shared about Jackson County organizing that has successfully stopped the police from displacing houseless folks by arresting or uprooting entire encampments at once – for now! Last summer, the county promised people without housing that they could shelter in place safely in a particular greenspace town. Despite their promise, the Medford police started sweeping campsites in that designated zone, and on one particular morning during the wildfires, they arrested a dozen people including a journalist. Thanks to the organizing going on to support unhoused folks dealing with unsafe wildfire smoke, and surviving through a pandemic, the police were caught on camera, and media attention, combined with threats of lawsuits have pressured the police into stopping these sweeps. The County still doesn’t have a permanent warming shelter or other much-needed resources, but Maig’s team has been continuing to work alongside unhoused folks in creating a pop-up warming shelter in a box truck, and they are hoping the continued collaborations will keep them ready if/when the police try arresting unhoused folks in large numbers again.

Another person working hard to fight back against police brutality on the call Friday was Briana Spencer. Briana is a former Rural Organizing Fellow and talked about her multifaceted work organizing protests in support of Black Lives Matter. As part of Pendleton Community Action Coalition, her team is intentionally organizing food drives, free meals, and other ways to meet the immediate needs of community members in part to improve the association people in her town have with activism. This week, Pendleton Community Action Coalition successfully ended Pendleton’s preservation of historic Confederate Street names.

Chuck Willer with the Coast Range Association shared about their recently released proposal for how to implement the Green New Deal for Western Oregon forest lands. He shared how 90% of Western Oregon’s private forest land is owned by the wealthiest 10% of Americans and how their proposal would change that picture dramatically. Coast Range Association proposes that we use the Green New Deal to buy out Wall Street owners and put control in the hands of locally-owned, cooperatively-held businesses modeled after the electric co-ops that many rural Oregonians are already familiar with. They layout how these cooperatives should be created with the expectation of capturing carbon, hiring locally to manage the forests, and opening up local mills instead of exporting raw logs like most of the corporate owners do. You can read more or listen to a podcast about their proposal here!

Folks in the strategy session flagged the threats of violence they were facing. Even as groups across the network are winning incredible victories, and doing powerful work, many of us are still facing the immediate danger of violent backlash. In fact, we are facing threats and intimidation because of the power of our movements and the victories we are winning! If your group is experiencing threats to your safety, please don’t hesitate to reach out for support! ROP has Safety & Security resources in English and Spanish available on our website to be shared out and we are always happy to strategize with groups facing violence, threats, and intimidation tactics.

Last week’s strategy session was a powerful reminder of what rural Oregonians are capable of. Check out the recording here and register now for the upcoming sessions to join the conversation!

Warmly,

Emma and the ROP Team

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English