建设社区和粮食安全

2019 年 2 月,ROP 获得了市中心的 Cottage Grove 建筑,该建筑现在被亲切地称为社区建筑中心。当时我们不知道该中心会在 COVID-19 大流行和灾难性的野火期间发展成为一个熙熙攘攘的活动中心,将数十家服务机构和数百名志愿者聚集在一起,分享数十万磅的食物和物资。 将近两年后,我们拥有莱恩县最大的食品储藏室之一,我们的模型和示例因其可访问性和响应能力而在全州范围内共享。 继续阅读以了解更多关于 ROP 的社区食品储藏室如何每月与数千个家庭联系,以及您可以如何支持这项强大的社区建设工作!

没有您的支持,我们无法完成所有这些重要的工作。感谢您今天慷慨地支持 ROP!

2019 年,ROP 领导人着手建设社区建设中心,作为社区成员和人类尊严团体聚集在一起、组织、联系、分享故事和应对危机或机遇的安全聚会场所,以建立更强大的农村社区。 2020 年 3 月,大流行病袭来,很快就清楚地看到了大 Cottage Grove 地区的安全网受到了多么严重的侵蚀,特别是对于那些已经在努力维持生计的人、无家可归的人和有色人种,尤其是移民和难民. 数以千计依赖学校免费和减餐计划的南巷家庭突然变得无所事事。 当南巷学区的(现在的前)麦金尼-文托联络员与我们联系,希望合作创造一个空间来储存食物和用品,供学校教职员工接送学生及其家人使用,但我们没有犹豫。当学区努力排队捐赠和食物驱动器时,ROP 开始工作,将我们中心的大厨房变成一个购物中心。

当教师和教职员工在前往该县一些最偏远地区的各个方向行驶数英里,有时甚至数小时之前,在中心停下来取食物时,他们分享了家庭对食物和供应品的绝望程度。由于商店货架空空如也,去城里购物往往并不能保证你能找到消毒剂、卫生纸、洗衣粉等必需品。我们开始集思广益,讨论如何联合起来更好地满足社区的需求。 

在几周内,我们召集了一个由地区人类尊严小组领导人、教师和社区服务机构工作人员组成的多语种团队,为家庭提供每周两次的“购物”机会,从各种与文化相关的食物、当地种植的农产品、口罩、消毒剂、卫生用品、准确的 COVID-19 信息中进行选择,并有机会了解无障碍社区服务和资源,无需提问或限制人们可以吃多少拿。莱恩县的许多食品储藏室因其位置和营业时间而遥不可及,还因为它们仅提供英语资源,通过地址和收入证明等障碍限制访问,并且没有为拉丁社区成员提供资源。 很快,每个星期二和星期四,数百个家庭都在排队等候食品储藏室。 我们的露台变成了图书馆之友为孩子们阅读多语种书籍的地方,志愿者带领远离社会的折纸课程,来自不同家庭的孩子在等待购物时踢足球,并在夏天一起在洒水器中玩耍。一位志愿者指出,该中心已成为南莱恩县最具多元文化的社区空间。

现在,差不多两年后,我们是莱恩县最大的食品储藏室之一,并继续发展我们的合作伙伴关系 与窥镜农村计划、希望与安全联盟、南巷心理健康、海岸叉流域委员会、塔克橱柜、平房格罗夫第一长老会会众、Soup's On、南巷学区的社区资源专家、家庭资源的了不起的人一起中心、家庭救济托儿所、Be Your Best、Cottage Grove Mutual Aid、欢乐之树、莱恩县食品、俄勒冈州食品银行以及数百家当地企业和农场。

食品储藏室提供的一些精美产品
食品储藏室提供的一些美丽的新鲜农产品

通过野火,Cottage Grove 被包围,成为成千上万失去家园的家庭的避难所。我们的空气质量也是世界上最差的,许多机构对在恶劣条件下继续在田间工作的农场工人关闭大门。家人打电话问我们是否还在营业,因为其他地方都关门了,他们需要资源。我们的志愿者和工作人员优先为农工家庭提供 N95 和呼吸器,并加倍努力在我们致力于社区时始终保持开放。 一个家庭建议我们应该采用格言,“这些门不会关上——除非它们着火了”,我们尽职尽责地重复了这一点,并从那以后一直遵守。  

正如五年级的赞助人所说,“这是有史以来最好的食品储藏室!是的,太棒了。”这可能是受到了她那周为她父亲的生日选择的蛋糕的影响。

每周我们都会听到有关食品储藏室对个人和家庭产生的不可思议影响的故事。食品储藏室让人们可以自主决定他们想要什么食物和数量,有些人从未有机会在杂货店购物。我们提供了所需的卫生用品、宠物食品和消毒剂,为家庭节省了在整个大流行期间遇到的其他迫切需求的资金,例如不断上涨的住房成本。食品储藏室一直是人们和带着孩子的整个家庭受到欢迎和重视的地方,遗憾的是,许多人不习惯这种方式。这已经波及到人们生活的其他方面,社区建设中心帮助人们减轻了食物短缺的负担。

正是由于人类尊严团体、当地志愿者的工作以及 ROP 捐助者的慷慨解囊,我们才能够维持这项重要工作。我们已经看到,不同语言的社区成员、帮助邻居将杂货带回家的邻居以及因来到社区建设中心而与俄勒冈工人救济基金等该地区急需的服务相关的个人之间建立了联系。

为了与社区建设中心的使命保持一致,食品储藏室增加了将空间视为安全港的人数。 人们不断寻求资源和支持,因为他们知道他们可以用西班牙语、妈妈和英语提出问题并与工作人员、志愿者和社区成员建立联系。

请加入我们,通过有意义的捐赠来保持这项工作和其他重要工作的进行,并毫不犹豫地与艾米丽联系: 艾米莉@rop.org 有任何问题或开始志愿参加 ROP!

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Building Community and Food Security

In February 2019, ROP was gifted the downtown Cottage Grove building that is now known affectionately as the Community Building Center. We had no idea then that the Center would grow to become a bustling hub of activity during the COVID-19 pandemic and catastrophic wildfires, bringing together dozens of service agencies and hundreds of volunteers to share hundreds of thousands of pounds of food and supplies. Almost two years later, we hold one of the largest food pantries in Lane County and our model and example are being shared out statewide because of its accessibility and responsiveness. Read on to learn more about how ROP’s community food pantry connects with thousands of families each month and the ways you can support this powerful community building work!

We can’t do all this vital work without your support. Thank you for supporting ROP with a generous contribution today!

In 2019, ROP leaders set out to build the Community Building Center as a safe gathering space for community members and human dignity groups to come together, organize, connect, share stories, and respond to crises or opportunities to build stronger rural communities. In March 2020, the pandemic hit and soon it was made clear how badly safety nets had eroded in the greater Cottage Grove area, especially for folks who were already struggling to make ends meet, houseless folks, and folks of color, especially migrants and refugees. Thousands of South Lane families who relied on the free and reduced meals program at their schools were suddenly going without. When the (now former) McKinney-Vento liaison for South Lane School District reached out to us about collaborating to create a space to stockpile food and supplies for school faculty and teachers to pick up and deliver to students and their families, we didn’t hesitate. While the school district worked to line up donations and food drives, ROP got to work turning our Center’s large kitchen into a shopping center.

As teachers and faculty stopped by the Center to pick up food before driving miles and miles, sometimes hours, in every direction to some of the most remote parts of the county, they shared how desperate families were for food and supplies. With store shelves bare, traveling to town to shop often didn’t guarantee you could find essentials like sanitizer, toilet paper, laundry detergent, and more. We began brainstorming about how we could join together to better meet the needs of the community. 

Within a few weeks, we pulled together a multilingual team of area human dignity group leaders, teachers, and community service agency workers to hold down twice-weekly opportunities for families to “shop” for themselves, choosing from a variety of culturally relevant foods, locally grown produce, masks, sanitizer, hygiene supplies, accurate COVID-19 information, and the opportunity to learn about accessible community services and resources with no questions asked or limits on how much food folks could take. Many food pantries within Lane County were out of reach because of their location and hours, but also because they only provided resources in English, restricted access through barriers like proof of address and income, and didn’t provide resources for Latinx community members. Soon, hundreds of families were lining up for the pantry each Tuesday and Thursday. Our patio became a place where Friends of the Library would read multilingual books to kiddos, volunteers led socially-distanced origami lessons, kiddos from different families played soccer while waiting to shop, and played together in the sprinklers in the summers. One volunteer noted that the Center had become the most multicultural community space in South Lane County.

Now, almost two years later, we are one of the largest food pantries in Lane County and continue to grow our partnerships with the amazing folks at Looking Glass Rural Program, the Hope and Safety Alliance, South Lane Mental Health, the Coast Fork Watershed Council, Tucker’s Cupboard, First Presbyterian Congregation of Cottage Grove, Soup’s On, South Lane School District’s Community Resource Specialists, Family Resource Center, Family Relief Nursery, Be Your Best, Cottage Grove Mutual Aid, Tree of Joy, Food for Lane County, Oregon Food Bank, and hundreds of local businesses and farms.

Some of the beautiful produce available at the pantry
Some of the beautiful fresh produce offerings at the pantry

Through the wildfires, Cottage Grove was surrounded and became the place of refuge for thousands of families that had lost their homes. We also had the worst air quality in the world, and many agencies shut their doors to farmworkers who were continuing to work in the fields through terrible conditions. Families were calling us asking if we were still open because everywhere else had closed and they needed resources. Our volunteers and staff prioritized getting N95s and respirators to farmworking families and redoubled our efforts to always remain open when we’ve committed to the community. A family suggested we should adopt the adage, “these doors don’t shut – unless they’re on fire,” which we dutifully repeated and have lived up to since.  

As spoken by a fifth grade patron, “this is the best food pantry ever! Yeah, it’s awesome.” This may have been influenced by the cake she chose for her dad’s birthday that week.

Every week we hear stories of the incredible impact the pantry has had on individuals and families. The pantry has given folks the autonomy to decide for themselves what foods they want and in what quantity, some who have never had the opportunity to shop in a grocery store.  We’ve made available needed hygiene supplies, pet food, and disinfectant, saving families money for other dire needs experienced throughout the pandemic, like rising housing costs. The pantry has consistently been a place where people and whole families with their kids are welcomed and valued in a way that, sadly, many are not accustomed to. This has rippled out into other facets of people’s lives with the Community Building Center helping lift the weight of food scarcity off of folks’ shoulders.

It is because of the work of human dignity groups, local volunteers, and the generosity of ROP donors that we have been able to sustain this important work. We have seen bonds built between community members that do not speak the same language, neighbors helping neighbors home with their groceries, and individuals connected to much needed services in the area like the Oregon Worker Relief Fund because they came to the Community Building Center.

In keeping with the mission of the Community Building Center, the pantry has expanded the number of people who have come to see the space as a safe harbor. People consistently reach out for resources and support, knowing they can ask questions and build connections in Spanish, Mam, and English with staff members, volunteers, and community members.

Please join us in keeping this and other important work going with a meaningful donation and don’t hesitate to reach out to Emily at emiliy@rop.org with any questions or to get started volunteering with ROP!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English