立法机关大获全胜!

你听到了吗? 俄勒冈州农村今年在立法会议上赢得了一些重大胜利,包括为农场工人支付加班费;帮助缩小俄勒冈州黑人、土著和拉丁裔社区的贫富差距;确保移民法庭上的每个俄勒冈人都能接触到律师;并减少执法人员拦截的人数,仅举几例! 这些成功得到了全州人类尊严团体的告知和游说,他们确保农村立法者知道他们的地区希望这些政策通过无数的电话、电子邮件、书面证词和给编辑的信来传递。

以下是支持繁荣的俄勒冈州农村的 2022 年法案及其在会议上的结果:

俄勒冈州托儿套餐的托儿服务 
(HB 4005) 通过
既然这项法案已经通过,国家将支付更多的钱用于儿童保育
通过就业相关日托 (ERDC) 补贴为每个儿童提供服务。这一变化将为父母和监护人带来更公平的费率。
通过图形
农场工人加班
(HB 4002)通过了!
俄勒冈州农场工人工会 PCUN 领导了这项指控,以确保我们的州最终结束了将农场工人排除在加班法之外的情况。从 2023 年开始,农场工人每周工作 55 小时后将获得加班费,之后将逐步开始每周工作 40 小时。这使农场工人的权利与大多数其他俄勒冈工人已经获得的权利保持一致。 
通过图形
普遍的法律代表 
(SB 1543)通过了!
既然该法案已经通过,俄勒冈州将很快为面临被驱逐出境但自己无力聘请律师的俄勒冈州人提供具有文化敏感性的免费移民法律服务。该计划将灵活应对大规模突袭、寻求庇护者的突然涌入或移民系统的任何其他变化,例如获得合法身份的新机会。
通过图形
改变正义
(SB 1510)通过了!
既然该法案已经通过,它将减少与执法部门的不必要互动,这些互动会增加警察过度使用武力和暴力的风险。它还将提高缓刑和假释人员的成功率,并资助减少俄勒冈州刑事司法系统中普遍存在的种族差异的服务。
通过图形
股权投资法
(SB 1579)通过了!
既然该法案已经通过,俄勒冈州将创建一个拥有 $50 万现有大麻税收的股权投资基金,作为缩小俄勒冈州种族贫富差距的努力的一部分。然后,该基金将把资金投资于黑人、原住民、拉丁裔、农村和其他经济弱势社区,这些社区的财富被系统性地剥夺了 毒品战争 和过度监管。
通过图形
宽带治理、可用性和公平性
(HB 4092)通过了!
既然该法案已经通过,它将为俄勒冈州宽带办公室准备超过 $2 亿已经从联邦政府的《美国救援计划法案》中获得的资金,以解决宽带基础设施方面的差距并减少接入障碍。新法律创建了宽带战略框架、宽带补贴基金和允许图书馆获取联邦投资资金的基金。

通过图形
国库透明度法案
(HB 4115)没有通过。
如果通过,该法案将要求俄勒冈州财政部对其投资俄勒冈州公共资金所涉及的气候相关风险保持透明。该法案通过了委员会并在参议院进行了一读,但在本届会议上没有进行投票。 您可以在此处找到有关想法如何成为法律的更多信息!

虽然我们有很多事情要庆祝,但我们仍然有很多工作要做,以实现我们平等诉诸司法的愿景,并确保所有俄勒冈州农村人都拥有繁荣发展所需的一切。让我们利用这一势头继续让我们的州和民选代表对俄勒冈农村人的需求和优先事项负责! Send your elected officials a note letting them know how you feel about the ways they voted on these various bills.

ROP的指路明灯, 蓬勃发展的俄勒冈州农村路线图,来自与俄勒冈州农村地区人类尊严团体的数百次对话,讨论了我们社区最需要什么,因为 COVID-19 大流行和不稳定的经济暴露了我们社区的社会安全网中几十年来一直在扩大的巨大差距。我们继续呼吁我们的立法者将我们的社区从为生存而战转变为真正的繁荣。

您的小组希望在 2023 年的下一届立法会议上采取哪些优先政策?来年你想做什么工作?联系您当地的 ROP 组织者或发送电子邮件 monicap@rop.org.我们很乐意听取您的意见!

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Big Victories in the Legislature!

Did you hear? Rural Oregon won some big victories this year in the legislative session, including overtime pay for farmworkers; helping close the wealth gap for Oregon’s Black, Indigenous, and Latinx communities; making sure every Oregonian in immigration court has access to a lawyer; and reducing the number of people stopped by law enforcement, just to name a few! These successes were informed and lobbied for by human dignity groups around the state who made sure rural legislators knew their districts wanted these policies passed through countless phone calls, emails, written testimony, and letters to the editor.

Here are our 2022 Bills that Back a Thriving Rural Oregon and their results in the session:

Child Care For Oregon’s Child Care Package 
(HB 4005) passed
Now that this bill has passed, the state will pay more money to childcare
providers per child through Employment Related Day Care (ERDC) subsidies. This change will lead to more equitable rates for parents and guardians.
Passed graphic
Farmworker Overtime
(HB 4002) passed!
PCUN, Oregon’s Farmworker Union, led this charge to make sure that our state finally ended the exclusion of farmworkers from its overtime law. Starting in 2023, farmworkers will earn overtime pay after 55 hours of work in a week, and it will phase in after that to start after 40 hours a week. This aligns farmworkers’ rights with what most other Oregon workers already receive. 
Passed graphic
Universal Legal Representation 
(SB 1543) passed!
Now that this bill has passed, Oregon will soon provide culturally sensitive, free immigration legal services to Oregonians facing deportation who can’t afford a lawyer on their own. The program will be flexible and responsive to massive raids, sudden influxes of asylum seekers, or any other changes in the immigration system like new opportunities for legal status.
Passed graphic
Transforming Justice
(SB 1510) passed!
Now that this bill has passed, it will reduce unnecessary interactions with law enforcement that increase the risks of police using excessive force and violence. It will also improve success for people on probation and parole, and fund services that reduce the widespread racial disparities in Oregon’s criminal justice system.
Passed graphic
Equity Investment Act
(SB 1579) passed!
Now that this bill has passed Oregon will create the Equity Investment Fund with $50 million of existing cannabis tax revenue, as part of the efforts to close the racial wealth gap in Oregon. The fund will then invest money in Black, Indigenous, Latinx, rural, and other economically disadvantaged communities whose wealth was systematically stripped away through the War on Drugs and over-policing.
Passed graphic
Broadband Governance, Availability, and Equity
(HB 4092) passed!
Now that this bill has passed it will prepare the Oregon Broadband Office for more than $200 million already set to come in from the federal government’s American Rescue Plan Act to address gaps in broadband infrastructure and reduce barriers to access. The new law creates a broadband strategic framework, a broadband subsidy fund, and a fund to allow libraries to capture federal investment dollars.

Passed graphic
Treasury Transparency Bill
(HB 4115) did not pass.
If passed, this bill would have required the Oregon Treasury to be transparent about the climate-related risk involved in its investments of Oregon’s public dollars. This bill made it through committee and to a first reading in the Senate but did not come up for a vote this session. You can find more information on how an idea becomes a law here!

While we have A LOT to celebrate, we still have much work to do to realize our vision of equal access to justice and to make sure that all rural Oregonians have what we need to thrive. Let us use this momentum to continue to hold our state and elected representatives accountable to the needs and priorities of rural Oregonians! Send your elected officials a note letting them know how you feel about the ways they voted on these various bills.

ROP’s guiding light, the Roadmap to a Thriving Rural Oregon, came out of hundreds of conversations with human dignity groups across rural Oregon about what our communities need most as the COVID-19 pandemic and unstable economy lay bare the big gaps in our communities’ social safety nets that have been widening for decades. We continue to call on our legislators to move our communities from fighting for survival to truly thriving.

Which priority policies does your group want to move in the next legislative session in 2023? What do you want to work on in the coming year? Reach out to your local ROP organizer or email monicap@rop.org. We’d love to hear from you!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English