为所有人提供更好的宽带和负担得起的公用事业!

在整个网络中,农村组织者一直呼吁将宽带互联网视为一种公用事业。鉴于最近几周俄勒冈州和全国各地都发生了大规模停电,我们很高兴扩大明天关于互联网访问的战略会议,包括更广泛地改善我们的公用事业。 从电力到宽带互联网,我们如何确保所有社区成员在任何危机中都能获得基本的公共服务,无论是严冬还是全球大流行?  

全州各地的团体一直在为有需要的儿童和家庭分发热点,为无电者提供热食和共享发电机,并推动州立法机构和国会支持地方政府建设和维护这些重要的公共基础设施。 想加入对话并与其他农村组织者一起制定如何对这些问题采取行动的策略吗? 明天加入我们的全州战略会议! 

更好的宽带,基本上(以及所有人都能负担得起的公用事业!) 

太平洋标准时间 2 月 23 日,星期二,下午 6:30-8 点

带有文字的图形,上面写着:更好的宽带,基本上 + 所有人都能负担得起的公用事业! 2 月 23 日,星期二,下午 6:30 至晚上 8:30。

在大流行期间,宽带互联网从未像现在这样重要,由于价格高得离谱、缺乏物理基础设施或两者兼而有之,许多社区仍在努力连接。我们可以做些什么来推动地方和州政府实现真正无障碍的宽带互联网以及其他公用事业?我们如何与公用事业公司和民选官员合作,加强社区基础设施,并将宽带互联网纳入每个社区成员应获得的基本服务?哪些基层努力已经在俄勒冈州农村获得关注? 在此处注册以通过电话或计算机加入对话。 

你的社区发生了什么? 您的团队如何采取行动来支持从电力到互联网访问等的公共基础设施? 即使您不能加入我们,我们也希望收到您的来信!给我们发电子邮件 艾玛@rop.org 分享你在做什么!

打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Better Broadband, and Affordable Utilities for All!

Across the network, rural organizers have been calling for broadband internet to be considered a public utility. Given the massive power outages of recent weeks both in Oregon and across the country, we are excited to expand tomorrow’s strategy session about internet access to include improving our utilities more broadly. From electricity to broadband internet, how are we ensuring that all community members are connected to essential public services through any crisis, whether it be severe winter weather or a global pandemic?  

Groups across the state have been distributing hotspots to children and families in need, providing hot meals and sharing generators among those without power, and pushing both the state legislature and Congress to support local governments in building and maintaining these important pieces of public infrastructure. Want to join the conversation and strategize with other rural organizers about how to take action on these issues? Join us tomorrow for a statewide strategy session! 

Better Broadband, Basically (and Affordable Utilities for All!) 

Tuesday, February 23rd, 6:30-8 pm PST

Graphic with text that reads: Better Broadband, Basically + Affordable Utilities for All! Tuesday, Feb 23rd, 6:30 to 8:30pm.

Broadband internet has never been more essential than during the pandemic, and many communities are still struggling to get connected because of ridiculously high prices, lack of physical infrastructure, or both. What can we do to push local and state governments toward truly accessible broadband internet as well as other utilities? How can we work with our utilities and elected officials to bolster community infrastructure and include broadband internet among the essential services every community member should have access to? What grassroots efforts are already gaining traction in rural Oregon? Register here to join the conversation by phone or computer. 

What’s going on in your community? How is your group taking action to bolster public infrastructure from electric power to internet access and beyond? Even if you can’t join us we want to hear from you! Email us at emma@rop.org to share what you are up to!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English