2009 年 8 月 KTA:医疗保健 – 八月热火朝天

“正如我们所见,一个伟大国家的基础并不是建立在巨大的财富之上。其财富的核心是人民的健康、教育和福祉;那些推动工业车轮运转的人——最终为民族精神的成长和发展做出贡献。为了进一步实现医疗保健系统改革的目标,我们认为应该进行重要的范式转变,承认良好的健康是一种权利,而不是一种特权。”

佛罗伦萨变革联盟(俄勒冈州沿海巷县)

 

 

August's Kitchen Table Activism is about using this hot month to turn up the heat on our elected officials to support REAL healthcare reform.建设人民经济意味着建立经济和社会制度 满足我们社区的需求,保护我们社区的财富—— 和健康.

ROP 的许多成员已经在医疗改革方面做出了出色的工作。今年八月,当我们的参议员和众议员回到城里时,是时候将我们的集体注意力集中在医疗保健上了。 让我们确保没有混淆:公众希望每个人都能获得普遍、优质、负担得起且可及的医疗保健——年轻人、老年人、富人、穷人、有证或无证!

ROP 希望支持已经开展的伟大工作,并帮助您在国会市政厅周围组织起来。接触 cara@rop.org 连接!

还值得一提的是——本赛季华盛顿特区正在开展许多直接影响我们社区的重要问题。移民改革是我们总统和国会今年的优先事项。市政厅是要求公正和人道的移民改革的重要机会。 虽然移民和医疗保健可能看起来不同,但这两个问题在我们追求人类尊严的过程中密切相关。请把你对正义的广阔视野带到这些市政厅——让我们成为一个统一战线! 下周寻找 ROPnet,了解如何将这些问题联系起来并将它们都带到桌面上。

2009 年 8 月厨房餐桌激进主义

本月的 KTA 是多少?

参加八月休会市政厅(日历) and show our elected folks that the majority of us support using our collective resources to focus on what really matters: healthy families and a just, sustainable economy.  这被称为“追鸟”,如果我们做得好,那么我们的国会议员在州内走动时会感受到坚定和不屈不挠(但尊重)的压力。

在摆脱经济危机和建立公正经济的斗争中,房间里有两头大象:医疗保健和战争。两者都在消耗我们国家的资源和能源。在公正的经济中,我们的健康,而不是企业利润,才是治疗病人和研究治疗方法的首要任务。 

在公正的经济中,我们不会沉沦 $5000亿 每年将纳税人的钱计入我们的军事预算,而许多人在家中缺乏生存基础。当我们查看我们政府的预算时,令人惊讶的是,是时候让我们的民选官员更好地决定将我们的集体资源放在哪里——走向一个健康的社会,而不是一场无休止的战争。

 

为什么要做这个活动?

众议院和参议院现在有医疗改革法案——我们的国会议员将待在家里,想听听我们的意见。 无论法案是否通过,它们只是朝着比我们现在更好的系统迈出的第一步。 Within our elected officials there is still debate about the role of insurance companies, public plans, & employer participation.

所以现在是时候用我们的集体声音说话了, ROP 成员组已经在努力工作了。 ROP-ers 正在做的许多伟大的事情中的一些:

  • 来自 La Grande Bill Whittaker 的 ROP 董事会成员在华盛顿特区倡导单一付款人医疗保健并提供来自 Wallowa、Baker 和联合县民主委员会的支持普遍的医疗保健决议。他将参加 7 月 30 日的医疗保险:美国制造的单一付款人集会和游说日。
  •  蒂拉穆克县公民维护人类尊严 已经开始了夏季系列的医疗保健电影、讨论和论坛。从 6 月 13 日到 8 月 17 日,每个星期一都会举办一次活动,展示对我们当前系统和潜在改革的各种观点。
  • 许多 ROP 活动家帮助组织了在农村或单身付款人唱出的站点。杰克逊县的第一场俄勒冈州秀将 70 多张面孔带入了全民医疗保健的空间。
  • 佛罗伦萨的朋友们已经将他们每周的守夜活动变成了每周对单一付款人医疗保健的需求。

本月的 KTA 是将所有这些努力置于聚光灯下的一种方式!在您的市政厅,突出您在社区中所做的组织工作,以使越来越多的人加入全民医疗保健。当我们表现出我们的团结时,这些单独的活动就会成为一种强大的运动。

 

完成本月 KTA 的步骤:

  1. 召集你的船员。
    • 如果您正在与人类尊严小组合作,请将他们聚集在您最喜欢的桌子旁。如果您没有预先存在的小组,请邀请您最喜欢的 3-5 位朋友或家人参与改变对我们所有人都造成负担的损坏系统。想想你认识的那些受到医疗保健系统影响的人,他们可能有兴趣讲述他们的故事。
  2. 做好功课并制定计划。
    • 首先找出谁会来到您的城镇,他们何时何地来。 日历.
    • 了解他们是否对医疗改革采取了立场。通常最简单的方法是打电话给他们的办公室并询问!
    • 想想你还想邀请谁来市政厅。有每个人的出席名单和角色。谁有好的个人故事?谁是可以从经验中说话的医疗专业人员?谁是可以谈论他们的负担的小企业主?
    • 准备好谈话要点。和大家一起复习这些。
  1. 在市政厅外做一些明显的信息传递。
    • 不要咄咄逼人或对抗,但一些传单和一些标语牌可以大有帮助。查看佛罗伦萨的标志以获取灵感!
  2. 在市政厅,提出问题!
    • 让一群人参加并分散在房间周围。
    • 问问题!一些好的可能是:
      • 你认为医疗保健是一种权利吗?
      • 您认为过去10年健康保险费增加超过120%而保险公司利润上升是否公平? 105% 从 2003 年到 2007 年?
      • 你会投票给HR676吗?您会在众议院/参议院投票支持当前的医疗改革法案吗?
    • 如果他们没有回答,再问一次(考虑使用不同的词!)
  3. 跟进您的国会议员/参议员。
    • 给他们写一封信,告诉他们你在市政厅,让他们知道你对他们的立场/或缺乏医疗保健的看法。

 



其他参与机会和需要您支持的行动:

  •  主持一站 国家医疗保健计划大篷车的医生 从俄勒冈州到华盛顿特区。穿越美国的大篷车将于 9 月 8 日在俄勒冈州开始 所以现在就注册吧!接触 cara@rop.org 如果你感兴趣。
  • 致电您的代表. (202) 225-3121 告诉他们三件事:
    • 通过这个 第一步医疗改革 八月休会前, 人力资源 3200.
    • 让他们知道您支持全民医疗保健,让保险公司摆脱您和您的医生之间的关系。请求他们支持 HR676 用于我们的医疗保健大修。
    • 通过 库奇尼奇修正案 允许各州制定单一付款人医疗保健,众议院教育与劳工委员会已经通过了它,请确保您的众议员准备好这样做。
  • 签署医疗保健而非战争请愿书。
打印、PDF 和电子邮件
简体中文

Aug 2009 KTA: Healthcare – Turn UP the heat in August

“The foundation of a great country is not, as we’ve seen, based on great wealth.  Its wealth, at its core, is the health, education, and well-being of its people; those who keep the wheels of industry moving – eventually contributing to the growth and development of the national spirit.  To further the goal of reforming our health care system, we believe that there should be an important paradigm shift that recognizes that good health is a right, and not a privilege.”

Florence Coalition for Change (Coastal Lane County, Oregon)

 

 

August’s Kitchen Table Activism is about using this hot month to turn up the heat on our elected officials to support REAL healthcare reform. Building a People’s Economy means creating economic and social systems that meet our community’s needs, that protect our communities’ wealth — and health.

Many of ROP’s members are already doing fantastic work on healthcare overhaul. It’s time to focus our collective attention on Healthcare this August while our Senators and Representatives are back in town. Let’s make sure there is no confusion: the public wants universal, quality, affordable, and accessible healthcare for EVERY person – young, old, rich, poor, documented or undocumented!

ROP wants to support the great work already happening and help you organize around Congressional Town Halls. Contact cara@rop.org to connect!

It’s also worth a mention — There are many important issues being undertaken in Washington DC this season that directly impact our communities. Immigration reform is a priority for our President and Congress this year. The town halls are an important opportunity to demand Just and Humane Immigration Reform. While immigration and healthcare might seem different, these two issues are intimately connected in our pursuit of human dignity. Please take your broad vision of justice to these Town Halls – let’s be a united front! Look for a ROPnet next week about the ways to connect these issues & bring them both to the table.

August 2009 Kitchen Table Activism

What is this month’s KTA?

Attend an August recess Town Hall (calendar) and show our elected folks that the majority of us support using our collective resources to focus on what really matters: healthy families and a just, sustainable economy.  It’s called bird-dogging and if we do it well then our Congress people will feel the firm & unyielding (yet respectful) pressure as they go around the state.

In the struggle to dig out of the economic crisis and build a just economy there are two elephants in the room: healthcare and war. Both are draining our country of resources and energy. In a just economy, our health, not corporate profit, is the priority when treating sick people and researching cures. 

In a just economy, we don’t sink over $500 billion taxpayer dollars a year into our military budget while many at home lack survival basics. When we look at our government’s budget it becomes striking that it is time for our elected officials to make better decisions about where to put our collective resources – towards a healthy society, not an endless war.

 

Why this activity?

There are Healthcare Reform bills in the House and Senate right now – and our Congress people will be at home wanting to hear from us. Whether the bills pass or not, they are only a first step down the road to a better system than we have now. Within our elected officials there is still debate about the role of insurance companies, public plans, & employer participation.

So now is the time to speak up with our collective voice, and ROP member groups have been hard at work already.  A few of the many great things ROP-ers are doing:

  • ROP Board member from La Grande Bill Whittaker is in Washington DC advocating single-payer health care and delivering pro-universal healthcare resolutions from Wallowa, Baker & Union County Democratic Committees. He will be participating in the Medicare: Made in America single-payer rally and lobby day on July 30.
  • The Tillamook County Citizens for Human Dignity have kicked off a summer series of Health Care films, discussions and forums. There is an event each Monday from June 13 to Aug 17 presenting various perspectives on our current system & potential reform.
  • Many ROP activists helped organize stops in rural OR of the Sing Out for Single Payer. The first Oregon show in Jackson County brought over 70 faces into the room for universal healthcare.
  • Florence friends have been transformed their weekly vigil into a weekly demand for single-payer healthcare.

This month’s KTA is a way to bring all these efforts into the spotlight! At your town hall highlight the organizing you are doing in your community to bring more and more people on to the side of universal healthcare. These solitary activities become a powerful movement when we show our unity.

 

Steps to complete this months KTA:

  1. Get your crew together.
    • If you are working with a Human Dignity Group gather them around your favorite table. If you don’t have a pre-existing group, ask you 3-5 favorite friends or family members to be a part of changing a broken system that is a burden on us all. Think about people you know who’ve been affected by the healthcare system that might be interested in telling their story.
  2. Do your homework and make a plan.
    • Start by finding out who’s coming to your town, when and where they are coming. Calendar.
    • Find out if they’ve taken a position on healthcare reform. Often the easiest way is to call their office and ask!
    • Think about who else you want to invite to the Town Hall. Have an attendance list and roles for each person. Who has good personal stories? Who are the medical professionals that can speak from experience? Who are small business owners that can talk about their burdens?
    • Get talking points ready. Go over these with everyone.
  1. Do some visible messaging outside the Town Hall.
    • Don’t be aggressive or confrontational but a few fliers and some placards can go a long way. Check out the signs from Florence to get ideas!
  2. In the Town Hall, ask questions!
    • Get a crowd to attend & spread out around the room.
    • Ask questions! Some good ones might be:
      • Do you think healthcare is a right?
      • Do you think it is fair that in the last 10 yrs health insurance premiums have increased over 120% while insurance companies profits rose 105% from 2003 – 2007?
      • Will you vote for HR676? Will you vote for the current healthcare reform bills in the House/Senate?
    • If they don’t answer, ask again (consider using different words!)
  3. Follow-up with your Congress person/ Senator.
    • Write them a letter telling them you were at the Town Hall, let them know how you feel about their position/or lack of one on healthcare.

 



Other opportunities to be involved and actions that need your support:

  •  Host a stop of the Physicians for National Healthcare Program Caravan from Oregon to Washington DC. The Caravan across America starts right here in Oregon on September 8th so get signed up NOW! Contact cara@rop.org if you are interested.
  • Call your Representative. (202) 225-3121 Tell them three things:
    • Pass this first step of Healthcare Reform before August recess, HR 3200.
    • Let them know you support universal healthcare that gets insurance companies out from in between you and your doctor. Ask them to support HR676 for our healthcare overhaul.
    • Pass the Kucinich Amendment that allows states to enact single payer healthcare, the House Committee on Education & Labor has passed it already, make sure your Rep is ready to do the same.
  • Sign the Healthcare NOT Warfare petition.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English