6月1日前申请!下面的历史

今年 6 月,ROP 人类尊严领袖和 Grange 成员 Aaron Embree 将在 2012 年俄勒冈州 Grange 会议上提出一项决议,要求参与者宣布他们对占领运动的正式支持,具体体现在 纽约市占领宣言, 2011 年 9 月 29 日纽约市大会批准。Aaron 已经在马里恩县波莫纳农庄成功通过了类似的决议。这场胜利的关键是提醒格兰杰斯他们自己的历史根源。事实上,在提出决议时,兰迪·恩布里(亚伦的妻子)要求马里恩县的农庄人考虑占领声明与农庄自己的 1874 年最初的目的宣言之间的相似之处。以下是 1874 年宣言的一些节选:

……我们反对任何公司或企业的那种压迫人民、剥夺人民正当利益的精神和管理……我们反对高薪、高利率和贸易暴利。它们极大地增加了我们的负担,并且与生产者的利润没有适当的比例。我们只希望通过合法交易、合法贸易和合法利润进行自我保护和保护我们土地的每一项真正利益。

……我们渴望适当的平等、公平和公正;保护弱者;约束强者;简而言之,公平分配的负担和公平的权力分配。这些是美国的理念,是美国独立的精髓,反其道而行之,不配一个美利坚共和国的儿女。

历史是我们今天努力创造正义的强大资源和工具。这就是农村组织项目正在组织的原因 自下而上的历史:探索俄勒冈州农村的社会运动史 – 一个巡回讲习班,让俄勒冈州的农村和小镇居民参与探索 历史上的时刻,来自俄勒冈州农村的热情、有原则或只是厌倦了的人们团结在一起,希望改变历史的进程。  我们希望您的 Human Dignity Group 会考虑赞助您所在社区的旅游站! 

向下滚动以了解有关该计划的更多信息以及成为赞助商的意义。 

然后,如果您希望您的社区被视为我们的旅游站点之一(或者即使您只是认为您的团队可能感兴趣), 填写我们的 简短的在线申请 由 6月1日截止日期.

我们只会进行有限的停留,所以不要错过这个以独特方式与您的社区互动的机会!  

最好的,

莎拉




呼吁赞助

截止日期:6月1日星期五

农村组织项目正在三个农村或小城镇寻找当地团体来共同赞助我们新计划的巡回演出:

来自下方的历史:探索俄勒冈州农村的社会运动历史。

什么是 来自下方的历史?

来自下方的历史是通过农村组织项目组织的旅行历史研讨会,旨在让俄勒冈州的农村和小镇居民参与探索来自自己社区的普通和有组织的公民如何塑造历史。参与式研讨会将邀请参与者探索那些充满激情、有原则或只是厌倦了他们社区的人们团结起来希望在地方、州(或在某些情况下)国家层面改变历史进程的时刻。研讨会将侧重于与当今俄勒冈州农村社区面临的政治和社会文化动态相关的问题和历史社会运动。 (向下滚动了解更多详情!

成为赞助商意味着什么? 

这 农村组织项目 正在为旅游提供整体协调,包括:确保研讨会主持人和主持人,准备研讨会内容和材料,建立和维护旅游网站,为研讨会传单、公告、邀请、当地新闻稿等创建模板,并积极支持当地以下列出的所有后勤和外展任务的赞助商。  当地赞助商 被要求:

  • 指派某人作为 ROP 的主要联系人/联络人,以组织当地的车间巡回停留。
  • 帮助确保研讨会的位置(必须是 ADA 可访问的)。
  • 帮助为研讨会主持人/主持人提供寄宿家庭。
  • 协助进行历史研究(可选——但这部分将是最有趣的!)。
  • 为研讨会做当地的外展和宣传。这可能包括:
    • 在镇上张贴传单
    • 联系当地报纸和广播电台
    • 通过电子邮件列表服务和社交媒体传播信息
    • 联系图书馆、学校、信仰团体、专业协会等。
    • 向潜在参与者发出提醒电话
  • 帮助设置和清理车间的一天。
  • 为工作坊提供小食。
什么是时间线?

计划现在开始!研讨会的实际日期和时间将与赞助社区协调安排,但可能会在 7 月底至 10 月初之间的某个工作日晚上进行。

我们如何将“从地下的历史”之旅带到我们的城镇?

填写短 申请旅游赞助商 经过 6月1日星期五英石. ROP 将在 6 月初之前对旅游站点进行最终选择。联系我们的项目总监 Sarah K. Loose (cara@rop.org, 503-367-0157) 如果您对计划或申请有任何疑问。


下面的历史:

探索俄勒冈州农村的社会运动史

 无论是威斯康星州的工会成员和学生接管他们的国会大厦以保护组织权,茶党积极分子充斥着国会电话线以解决国债问题,还是占领华尔街的青年和失业者在过去的一年中大声疾呼反对加深的经济不平等已经看到民众抗议的高潮。全国各地的普通民众正在行使他们的言论自由和民众集会的权利,以期塑造我们国家的历史进程。俄勒冈农村人也不例外。例如,俄勒冈州在农村和小城镇的“占领”地点比全国任何其他州都多。事实上,在俄勒冈州历史的关键时刻,农村社区一直是非常规和值得注意的社会运动活动的场所。借鉴历史、社会学和政治学学科,从下面看俄勒冈州农村的历史 将建立过去和现在之间的联系,邀请各行各业的俄勒冈州农村人和政治说服力利用人文学科来了解他们自己的参与和积极的公民,当地社区在过去的不同时期是如何塑造课程的的历史。

该计划源于一个正在进行的、以社区为基础的口述历史项目,该项目通过农村组织项目协调,以集体记录、批判性分析和公开传播过去 25 年来俄勒冈州农村的基层、进步组织的历史。和 来自下方的历史,我们很高兴与不同政治背景和观点的人分享原创的历史研究并促进围绕深刻政治问题的对话。事实上,我们认为跨意识形态和身份的思想交流对于发展充满活力的民主至关重要。过去的 ROP 计划(例如我们的民主经济圆桌对话)将跨政治路线的不同部门聚集在一起,以解决关键的农村问题。最近,茶党积极分子接受了占领莫西尔的邀请,与他们一起在当地占领区喝茶聊天。时机已经成熟 来自下方的历史,这将鼓励俄勒冈小镇的人形成自己的观点和分析,并将史学作为一种有用的方法来围绕有争议的社会问题进行批判性调查和民间对话。

计划目标

  • 让参与者接触批判历史的方法,激发他们深入挖掘社区自身历史的兴趣
  • 强调“普通”的俄勒冈农村人在历史上能够并且已经在发展影响和塑造居民日常生活的思想、政策和决策方面所扮演的角色
  • 让具有不同政治观点的农村和小镇社区成员就当代社会运动关注的问题进行公民和有意义的对话

格式、内容和受众

参与式研讨会将聚集 25-50 名农村社区成员,他们各自在农庄、图书馆、历史社团或具有当地历史意义的地点,以批判性地审视他们自己社区的社会运动历史。我们希望吸引代表俄勒冈州农村社区多样性的观众,其中包括当代社会运动的积极参与者、当地社区领袖、教师、学生和当地历史爱好者。每个研讨会将在该州不同地区的农村或小镇举行。

专业档案工作者、历史学家和学者将与当地社区领袖和项目协调员合作,为每个东道社区量身定制研讨会内容。研讨会将邀请参与者探索社区中充满激情、有原则或只是厌倦的人们团结起来希望在地方、州(或在某些情况下)国家层面改变历史进程的时刻。研讨会将侧重于与当今俄勒冈州农村社区面临的政治和社会文化动态相关的问题和历史社会运动。每个 2-3 小时研讨会的粗略议程:

  1. 开场介绍
  2. 主题演讲/演讲——俄勒冈州社会运动历史概述,强调地方和农村表现(民粹主义运动、1930 年代的失业议会、农庄、奇卡诺运动等),并针对每个东道社区/县量身定制历史内容.
  3. 工作组——分成 4-6 人的小组。每个小组将收到一包与地方/农村社会运动历史的一个方面相关的主要来源文件(口述历史采访片段、报纸文章、照片、信件等)和一组问题,以指导集体、历史材料分析。
  4. 简短的报告——每个小组分享他们讨论中的 1-2 个关键见解或问题
  5. 促进讨论——项目协调员促进与整个小组进行开放的、研讨会式的讨论,探索过去和现在之间的联系。
  6. 结束语

通过这个项目,我们希望让俄勒冈农村人参与到对他们自己社区历史的积极和有意义的探索中,并就当今社会政治环境中草根组织的流行表达进行深思熟虑的对话。

扩大我们范围的文档

仔细的文档将使我们能够以多媒体、在线格式与更广泛的受众共享计划内容和补充材料。一个旅游网站将分享有关俄勒冈州农村社会运动历史的信息、档案和研究,并包括研讨会本身的视听文件。

俄勒冈人文学院 (OH) 是一个全州的非营利组织,也是国家人文基金会的独立附属机构,该组织为 OH 的拨款计划提供资金,部分原因使该计划成为可能。

简体中文

Apply by June 1st! History from Below

This June, ROP human dignity leader and Grange member Aaron Embree will present a resolution at the 2012 Oregon State Grange session asking participants to declare their official support of the Occupy movement, as embodied in the Declaration of the Occupation of NYC, approved by the NYC general assembly on September 29, 2011.  Aaron was already successful at passing a similar resolution at the Marion County Pomona Grange.  Key to that victory was reminding Grangers of their own, historic roots.  In fact, in proposing the resolution, Randi Embree (Aaron’s wife) asked grangers in Marion County to consider the similarities between the Occupy statement and the Grange’s own, original 1874 Declaration of Purpose.  Here are a few excerpts from the 1874 Declaration:

…We are opposed to such spirit and management of any corporation or enterprise as tends to oppress the people and rob them of their just profits… We are opposed to excessive salaries, high rates of interest and exorbitant profits in trade. They greatly increase our burdens and do not bear a proper proportion to the profits of producers. We desire only self-protection and the protection of every true interest of our land, by legitimate transactions, legitimate trade, and legitimate profits.

…We desire a proper equality, equity, and fairness; protection for the weak; restraint upon the strong; in short, justly distributed burdens and justly distributed power. These are American ideas, the very essence of American independence, and to advocate the contrary is unworthy of the sons and daughters of an American Republic.

History is a powerful resource and tool in our efforts to create justice today.  That’s why the Rural Organizing Project is organizing History from Below: Exploring Rural Oregon’s Social Movement History – a traveling workshop to engage rural and small town Oregonians in an exploration of moments in history when passionate, principled or simply fed-up people from rural Oregon have banded together in hopes of changing the course of history.  We hope your Human Dignity Group will consider sponsoring a tour stop in your community! 

Scroll down to learn more about the program and what it means to be a sponsor. 

Then, if you would like your community to be considered as one of our tour stops (or even if you just think your group might be interested), fill out our short online application by the June 1st deadline.

We’ll only be making a limited number of stops so don’t miss this opportunity to engage your community in a unique way!  

Best,

Sarah




CALL for SPONSORS

Deadline: Friday, June 1st

The Rural Organizing Project is looking for local groups in three rural or small towns to co-sponsor a tour stop of our new program:

History from Below: Exploring Rural Oregon’s Social Movement History.

What is History from Below?

History from Below is a traveling history workshop organized through the Rural Organizing Project to engage rural and small town Oregonians in an exploration of how ordinary and organized citizens from their own communities have shaped history.  Participatory workshops will invite participants to explore moments when passionate, principled or simply fed-up people from their community have banded together in hopes of changing the course of history at the local, state, (or in some cases) national level.   Workshops will focus on issues and historical social movements that are of relevance to the politics and socio-cultural dynamics facing rural Oregon’s communities today.  (Scroll down for for more details!

What does it mean to be a Sponsor? 

The Rural Organizing Project is providing overall coordination for the tour, including: securing workshop presenters and facilitators, preparing workshop content and materials, building and maintaining the tour website, creating templates for workshop flyers, announcements, invitations, local press releases, etc., and actively supporting local sponsors with all of the logistics and outreach tasks listed below.  Local sponsors are asked to:

  • Assign someone to be the primary contact person/liaison to ROP for organizing the local workshop tour stop.
  • Help secure a location for the workshop (must be ADA accessible).
  • Help secure homestays for workshop presenters/facilitators.
  • Assist with historical research (optional – but this part will be the most fun!).
  • Do local outreach and publicity for the workshop.  This may include:
    • posting flyers around town
    • contacting local newspapers and radio stations
    • spreading the word through e-mail listservs and social media
    • contacting libraries, schools, faith communities, professional associations, etc.
    • making reminder calls to potential participants
  • Help with set up and clean up the day of the workshop.
  • Provide light refreshments for the workshop.
What is the Timeline?

Planning starts now!  The actual date and time of the workshop will be arranged in coordination with the Sponsoring community, but will likely be on a weekday evening sometime between the end of July and the beginning of October.

How can we bring the History from Below tour to our town?

Fill out the short application for tour sponsors by Friday, June 1st. ROP will make the final selection for tour stops by early June.   Contact our project director Sarah K. Loose (cara@rop.org, 503-367-0157) if you have any questions about the program or application.


History from Below:

Exploring Rural Oregon’s Social Movement History

 Whether it’s Wisconsin’s union members and students taking over their Capitol Building to protect the right to organize, Tea Party activists flooding congressional phone lines over the national debt, or youth and the unemployed occupying Wall Street to speak out against deepening economic inequality, the past year has seen an upsurge in popular protest.  Ordinary people across the country are exercising their rights to free speech and popular assembly in the hopes of shaping the course of our nation’s history.  Rural Oregonians are no exception.  For instance, Oregon has more “Occupy” sites in rural and small towns than any other state in the nation.  Indeed, at critical moments in Oregon’s history, rural communities have been sites of unconventional and noteworthy social movement activity.  Drawing on the disciplines of history, sociology and political science,Rural Oregon’s History from Below will make the connections between past and present, inviting rural Oregonians from all walks of life and political persuasion to use the humanities to understand how an engaged and active citizenry in their own, local communities has, at different points in the past, shaped the course of history.

This program comes out of an ongoing, community-based oral history project coordinated through the Rural Organizing Project to collectively document, critically analyze and publicly disseminate the history of grassroots, progressive organizing in rural Oregon over the past 25 years.   With History from Below, we are excited about sharing original historical research and fostering dialogue around deeply political issues with people of different political backgrounds and viewpoints.  Indeed, we see the exchange of ideas across lines of ideology and identity as critical to the development of a vibrant democracy.  Past ROP programs (such as our Roundtable Dialogues for a Democratic Economy) have brought together diverse sectors, across political lines, to address critical rural issues.  More recently, Tea Party activists accepted Occupy Mosier’s invitation to join them at the local occupation for a cup of tea and conversation.  The time is ripe for History from Below, which will encourage small town Oregonians to form their own opinions and analysis, and introduce historiography as a useful method for critical inquiry and civil dialogue around controversial social issues.

Program Objectives

  • Expose participants to the critical-historical method and whet their appetite for digging deeper into their community’s own history
  • Highlight the role that “ordinary” rural Oregonians can and have played historically in evolving the ideas, policies and decisions that inform and shape residents’ daily lives
  • Engage rural and small town community members of diverse political perspectives in a civil and meaningful conversation about issues of concern to contemporary social movements

Format, Content, and Audience

Participatory workshops will bring together 25-50 rural community members each in granges, libraries, historical societies, or sites of local historical interest to critically examine their own community’s social movement history.  We hope to attract an audience representative of the diversity within Oregon’s rural communities that includes active participants in contemporary social movements, local community leaders, teachers, students and local history enthusiasts.  Each workshop will be held in a rural or small town in a different region of the state.

Professional archivists, historians, and scholars will work with local community leaders and the Project Coordinator to tailor workshop content for each host community.   Workshops will invite participants to explore moments when passionate, principled or simply fed-up people from their community have banded together in hopes of changing the course of history at the local, state, (or in some cases) national level.   Workshops will focus on issues and historical social movements that are of relevance to the politics and socio-cultural dynamics facing rural Oregon’s communities today.  A rough agenda for each 2-3 hour workshop:

  1. Opening Introductions
  2. Keynote Address/Presentation – Overview of Oregon’s social movement history, emphasizing local and rural manifestations (Populist movement, unemployed councils of the 1930s, the Granges, Chicano movement, etc.), and tailored to include historical content specific to each host community/county.
  3. Working Groups – Split into small groups of 4-6.  Each group will receive a packet of primary source documents (segments of an oral history interview, newspaper articles, photographs, letters, etc.) related to one aspect of local/rural social movement history and a set of questions to guide a collective, historical analysis of the materials.
  4. Short report-backs – each group shares 1-2 key insights or questions from their discussion
  5. Facilitated Discussion – Project Coordinator facilitates an open, seminar-style discussion with the full group, exploring the connections between past and present.
  6. Concluding Remarks

With this program, we hope to engage rural Oregonians in an active and meaningful exploration of their own communities’ histories—and in thoughtful dialogue about popular expressions of grassroots organizing in today’s sociopolitical milieu.

Documentation to Expand our Reach

Careful documentation will allow us to share program content and supplementary materials with a broader audience in a multi-media, online format.  A tour website will share information, archives and research on the history of social movements in rural Oregon, and include audio-visual documentation of the workshops themselves.

This program was made possible in part by a grant from Oregon Humanities (OH), a statewide nonprofit organization and an independent affiliate of the National Endowment for the Humanities, which funds OH’s grant program.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
English